DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed 8/3/2026 has been entered. The previous objection to the claims is withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments. The previous rejection under 35 USC 112 is withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments. Claims 1-19 remain pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to applicant’s argument that Bjarnason does not disclose a tubular stretchable fabric layer comprising a breathable fiber having at least one sealing element bonded thereto that extends radially outward, the examiner disagrees. Though Bjarnason refers to the tubular shaped elasticized fabric defining an open-ended sleeve in paragraph 0012, Bjarnason also acknowledges that liners may be fabricated of elastic or elasticized materials (paragraph 0002). More particularly, it is clear that Bjarnason discloses a silicone elastomer forming the internal surface of the liner shown in fig. 22 (paragraph 0087). Bjarnason also clearly discloses an elasticity controlling matrix material provided on the exterior of the liner (paragraph 0088), which may be an elasticized fabric secured to the silicone elastomer layer and defining the external surface of the liner which forms at least one peripheral profile portion (claim 7). Further still, Bjarnason discloses that the external surface of the liner defines a plurality of peripheral profiles (106) that extend across the proximal portion (104) to a seal portion (sealing element; 110) (fig. 22). The examiner therefore maintains that the claimed limitations are met by Bjarnason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0267599 A1 to Bjarnason (Bjarnason).
Regarding at least claim 1
Bjarnason teaches a close-ended residual limb suspension liner that includes a center portion extending between the distal and proximal portions (abstract).
Bjarnason meets the limitations of a suspension interface (fig. 22) comprising: a tubular stretchable fabric layer (102) comprising a breathable fiber having an open proximal end and closed distal end (paragraph 0012 discloses a tubular shaped elasticized fabric defining an open-ended tubular sleeve; fabric is defined as: a cloth produced by weaving or knitting fibers, and therefore comprises a breathable fiber as claimed); at least one sealing element (110) bonded to the tubular stretchable fabric layer at an intermediate region and comprising a sealing element base (112) and a single engaging member (114) which extends radially outward (paragraphs 0081-0083 and fig. 22); and an internal grip layer located on an inner face of the tubular stretchable fabric layer further comprising an impermeable elastomeric material (paragraph 0087 discloses a layer of silicone elastomer formed on the internal surface of the liner).
Regarding at least claim 4
Bjarnason teaches the suspension interface of Claim 1 wherein the impermeable elastomeric material is silicone (paragraph 0087 discloses that the elastomeric material is silicone).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 7, 9-12, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjarnason in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0149202 A1 to Schaffer et al. (Schaffer).
Regarding at least claim 9
Bjarnason meets the limitations of a suspension interface (fig. 22) comprising: a tubular stretchable fabric layer comprising a breathable fiber having an open proximal end and closed distal end (paragraph 0012 discloses a tubular shaped elasticized fabric defining an open-ended tubular sleeve; fabric is defined as: a cloth produced by weaving or knitting fibers, and therefore comprises a breathable fiber as claimed); at least one sealing element (110) bonded to the tubular stretchable fabric layer at an intermediate region (fig. 22) and comprising a sealing element base (112) and a single engaging member (114) which extends radially outward (paragraphs 0081-0083 and fig. 22); and an external grip layer located on an exterior face of the tubular stretchable fabric layer above the sealing element (paragraph 0088 discloses an elasticity controlling matrix material provided on the exterior of the liner which prevents movement of liner when a prosthesis is worn thereover). However, Bjarnason does not explicitly teach that the external grip layer further comprises silicone.
Schaffer teaches an improved liner for covering a residual limb of an amputee (abstract). Schaffer further teaches that the liner includes a coating (external grip layer; 200), for the purpose of limiting the elasticity of the liner at its distal end portion to thereby increase wear characteristics of the liner during normal use (paragraph 0062). Schaffer also teaches that suitable materials for the coating include silicones (paragraph 0067).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify that the external grip layer of Bjarnason, which is substantially rigid in an axial direction for preventing movement of liner when a prosthesis is worn thereover, further comprises silicone, in order to limit the elasticity of the liner to thereby increase wear characteristics of the liner during normal use, as taught by Schaffer.
Regarding at least claim 14
Bjarnason meets the limitations of a suspension interface (fig. 22) comprising: a tubular stretchable fabric layer (102) comprising a breathable synthetic fiber having an open proximal end and closed distal end (paragraph 0012 discloses a tubular shaped elasticized fabric defining an open-ended tubular sleeve; fabric is defined as: a cloth produced by weaving or knitting fibers, and therefore comprises a breathable fiber as claimed); at least one sealing element (110) bonded to the tubular stretchable fabric layer at an intermediate region (fig. 22) and comprising a sealing element base (112) and a single engaging member (114) which extends radially outward (fig. 22); an internal grip layer located on an inner face of the tubular stretchable fabric layer and comprising silicone (paragraph 0087 discloses an elastomeric material that is silicone formed on the internal surface of the liner); and an external grip layer located on an exterior face of the tubular stretchable fabric layer (paragraph 0088 discloses an elasticity controlling matrix material provided on the exterior of the liner which is substantially rigid in an axial direction for preventing movement of liner when a prosthesis is worn thereover). However, Bjarnason does not explicitly teach that the external grip layer further comprises silicone.
Schaffer teaches an improved liner for covering a residual limb of an amputee (abstract). Schaffer further teaches that the liner includes a coating (external grip layer; 200) for the purpose of limiting the elasticity of the liner at its distal end portion to thereby increase wear characteristics of the liner during normal use (paragraph 0062). Schaffer also teaches that suitable materials for the coating include silicones (paragraph 0067).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify that the external grip layer of Bjarnason, which is substantially rigid in an axial direction for preventing movement of liner when a prosthesis is worn thereover, further comprises silicone, in order to limit the elasticity of the liner to thereby increase wear characteristics of the liner during normal use, as taught by Schaffer.
Regarding at least claims 2, 10, and 15
Bjarnason teaches the suspension interface of Claim 1, and Bjarnason in view of Schaffer teaches the suspension interface of claims 9 and 14. Bjarnason also teaches a tubular stretchable fabric layer comprising a breathable fiber. However, Bjarnason does not explicitly teach that the breathable fiber is nylon.
Schaffer teaches a liner made of textile material, such as nylon and polyester, for the purpose of permitting stretch during normal application of the liner to the residual limb and as the wearer moves the prosthetic limb (paragraphs 0044 and 0046).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify that the breathable fiber of Bjarnason is nylon, since this material is well known in the art for permitting stretch during normal application of the liner to the residual limb and as the wearer moves the prosthetic limb, as taught by Schaffer.
Regarding at least claims 3, 11, and 16
Bjarnason teaches the suspension interface of Claim 1, and Bjarnason in view of Schaffer teaches the suspension interface of claims 9 and 14. Bjarnason also teaches a tubular stretchable fabric layer comprising a breathable fiber. However, Bjarnason does not explicitly teach wherein the breathable fiber is polyester.
Schaffer teaches a liner made of textile material, such as nylon and polyester, for the purpose of permitting stretch during normal application of the liner to the residual limb and as the wearer moves the prosthetic limb (paragraphs 0044 and 0046).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify that the breathable fiber of Bjarnason is polyester, since this material is well known in the art for permitting stretch during normal application of the liner to the residual limb and as the wearer moves the prosthetic limb, as taught by Schaffer.
Regarding at least claims 7 and 17
Bjarnason teaches the suspension interface of Claim 1 and Bjarnason in view of Schaffer teaches the suspension interface of claim 14. Bjarnason also teaches the internal grip layer having a thickness. However, Bjarnason does not teach wherein the thickness is between is 1/64 inch (0.015 inch) and 1 inch.
Schaffer teaches applying a cushioning material (120; internal grip layer) to the interior surfaces of the a liner while controlling the thickness of the material, for the purpose of permitting contouring of the cushioning material to provide additional comfort to the wearer as is the case in some of the sensitive interface locations between the residual limb and the prosthetic device, etc. (paragraph 0050). Schaffer also teaches a thickness of the liner from about 0.010 inch to about 0.200 inch (paragraph 0048).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify that the internal grip layer thickness is controlled when being applied such that the liner maintains a thickness from about 0.010 inch to about 0.200 inch, in order to permit contouring and thereby provide additional comfort to the wearer as necessary, as taught by Schaffer.
However, Schaffer does not explicitly wherein the thickness between is 1/64 inch (0.015 inch) and 1 inch.
It would further have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify that the controlled thickness of the internal grip layer of Schaffer is between 1/64 inch (0.015 inch) and 1 inch as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see pp. [0073] indicating the thickness “can” be within the claimed range) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding at least claims 12 and 18
Bjarnason in view of Schaffer teaches the suspension interface of Claims 9 and 14. Bjarnason also teaches the external grip layer having a thickness. However, Bjarnason does not explicitly teach wherein the thickness is between 1/64 inch (0.015 inch) and 1 inch.
Schaffer also teaches a coating (external grip layer) on the external surface of a liner that has a thickness on the order of about 0.010 inch to about 0.090 inch, for the purpose of having an ability to change shape and also strength the fabric liner (paragraph 0066).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of the external grip layer of Bjarnason to be on the order of about 0.010 inch to about 0.090 inch, in order to ensure the ability of the liner to change shape while also strengthening the fabric liner, as taught by Schaffer.
It would further have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of Schaffer from between about 0.010 inch to about 0.090 to between 1/64 inch (0.015 inch) and 1 inch as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see pp. [0019] indicating the thickness “can” be within the claimed range) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjarnason, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0274363 A1 to Laghi et al. (Laghi).
Regarding at least claim 5
Bjarnason teaches the suspension interface of Claim 1, including the impermeable elastomeric material. However, Bjarnason does not teach wherein the impermeable elastomeric material is a thermoplastic elastomer comprising styrene blocks.
Laghi teaches preferred fabrics for a liner that comprises a layer of elastomeric material, for example polyurethanes and block copolymers such as styrene block copolymers, for the purpose of enduring long periods of dynamic wearer contact (paragraph 0035).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify that the impermeable elastomeric material of Bjarnason is a thermoplastic elastomer comprising styrene blocks, in order to endure long periods of dynamic wearer contact, as taught by Laghi.
Regarding at least claim 6
Bjarnason teaches the suspension interface of Claim 1, including the impermeable elastomeric material. However, Bjarnason does not teach wherein the impermeable elastomeric material is urethane.
Laghi teaches preferred fabrics for a liner that comprises a layer of elastomeric material, for example polyurethanes and block copolymers such as styrene block copolymers, for the purpose of enduring long periods of dynamic wearer contact (paragraph 0035).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify that the impermeable elastomeric material of Bjarnason is urethane, in order to endure long periods of dynamic wearer contact, as taught by Laghi.
Regarding at least claim 8
Bjarnason teaches the suspension interface of Claim 1, including the tubular stretchable fabric layer. However, Bjarnason does not explicitly teach wherein the tubular stretchable fabric layer further comprises an elastic yarn at the closed distal end to conform to a residual limb.
Laghi teaches preferred fabrics for a liner that include knit fabrics made from stretchable yarns, for the purpose of allowing the fabric to stretch in the longitudinal direction without causing measurable contraction in the transverse direction (paragraphs 0014 and 0038).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify that the tubular fabric of Bjarnason comprises an elastic yarn at the closed distal end to conform to a residual limb, in order to allow the fabric to stretch in the longitudinal direction without causing measurable contraction in the transverse direction, as taught by Laghi.
Claim(s) 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjarnason in view of Schaffer, as applied to claims 9 and 14 above, and further in view of Laghi.
Bjarnason in view of Schaffer teaches the interface of claims 9 and 14. Bjarnason also teaches that the liner includes the tubular stretchable fabric layer. However, Bjarnason does not explicitly teach wherein the tubular stretchable fabric layer further comprises an elastic yarn at the closed distal end to conform to a residual limb.
Laghi teaches preferred fabrics for a liner that include knit fabrics made from stretchable yarns, for the purpose of allowing the fabric to stretch in the longitudinal direction without causing measurable contraction in the transverse direction (paragraphs 0014 and 0038).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify that the tubular fabric of Bjarnason comprises an elastic yarn at the closed distal end to conform to a residual limb, in order to allow the fabric to stretch in the longitudinal direction without causing measurable contraction in the transverse direction, as taught by Laghi.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.A.H/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/BRIAN A DUKERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774