DETAILED ACTION
Please note that this application has been reassigned after restriction requirement from examiner James Wu to examiner Nhan Tran for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention II in the reply filed on 02/11/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that the claims share overlapping structural and function features such that they may be searched and examined together without serious burden. This is found persuasive. Therefore, the restriction requirement mailed on 12/29/2025 has been withdrawn. All claims 1-20 are examined in this Office Action.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/05/2024 and 07/13/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 9, 10 and 12-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,055,978.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of reasons set forth below.
Regarding claim 1, all limitations of this application claim are met by Patent claim 1. It should be noted that “a portion of the second region is a deformable region” in this claim is met by “the deformation drive part drives the second area to switch from the flattened state to a curved state through deformation” in Patent claim 1. It is clear in Patent claim 1 that the second area includes a portion that is deformable to allow the second area to be switchable between a flattened state and a curved state as described therein. Furthermore, for the reference throughout the entire Office Action, “a first region” and “a second region” in the claims of this application are respectively corresponding to “a first area” and “a second area” in Patent claims.
Regarding claims 2-7, these claims are also met by Patent claims 2-7, respectively.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, these claims are also met by Patent claims 10 and 12, respectively.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, these claims are also met by Patent claims 14 and 16, respectively.
Regarding claims 14-20, these claims are also met by Patent claims 8-11, 13, 15, 17 and 18, respectively.
The following table shows the corresponding limitations between application claims and Patent claims.
Application Claims
Patent Claims (US 12,055,978)
1. An electronic device, comprising a housing, a display screen, a deformation driving part and a camera module, wherein the display screen is disposed on the housing, a device inner cavity is formed by the display screen and the housing, the camera module and the deformation driving part are both disposed in the device inner cavity; the display screen comprises a first region and a second region which are connected, a display surface of the first region is a first plane, the second region is located on an edge of the display screen, a portion of the second region is a deformable region; the deformation driving part is connected to the deformable region, and drives, through deformation, the deformable region to be switched between a flattening state and a bending state; in a case that the deformable region is in the flattening state, a display surface of the deformable region is a second plane, and the second plane and the first plane are located within the same plane; and in a case that the deformable region is in the bending state, the deformable region is a curved surface, a light transmitting region is arranged in the deformable region; and in a case that the deformable region is in the flattening state, ambient light passing through the light transmitting region is projected to the camera module.
2. The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein orientation of the light transmitting region intersects with orientation of the camera module, a first reflective member is disposed between the light transmitting region and the camera module, and the ambient light passing through the light transmitting region is reflected to the camera module through the first reflective member.
3. The electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the first reflective member is connected to the deformation driving part, the deformation driving part drives the first reflective member to move to a working position, and the ambient light passing through the light transmitting region is reflected by the first reflective member at the working position to the camera module.
4. The electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the first reflective member is 20rotationally disposed on an inner side of the deformable region, the electronic device further comprises a driving apparatus, and the driving apparatus is connected to the first reflective member and drives the first reflective member to rotate, such that a light incident surface of the first reflective member faces the deformable region in the flattening state.
5. The electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the first reflective member is rotationally disposed on an inner side of the deformable region, the electronic device further comprises a driving mechanism, and the driving mechanism is disposed on a side of the camera module facing away from the first reflective member, and drives the camera module to push the first reflective member to rotate, such that a light incident surface of the first reflective member is closely attached to the inner side of the deformable region in the flattening state.
6. The electronic device according to claim 5, wherein the first reflective member is a triangular prism, a right-angled portion of the triangular prism is rotationally connected to the deformable region or the deformation driving part; in the flattening state, a first right-angle surface of the triangular prism is arranged towards the deformable region, and a second right-angle surface of the triangular prism is arranged towards the camera module.
7. The electronic device according to claim 5, wherein the first region has an inner surface facing away from the first plane, the inner surface is parallel to the first plane, and the camera module is disposed on the inner surface in a sliding manner.
9. The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the electronic device further comprises a first folding mechanism, the first folding mechanism forms a sealing connection between the deformable region and the housing; in a case that the deformable region is in the flattening state, the first folding mechanism is in a first unfolding state; and in a case that the deformable region is in the bending state, the first folding mechanism is in a first folding state.
10. The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the electronic device further comprises a first elastic connection mechanism, the first elastic connection mechanism forms a sealing connection between the deformable region and the housing; in a case that the deformable region is in the flattening state, the first elastic connection mechanism is in a first stretching state; and in a case that the deformable region is in the bending state, the first elastic connection mechanism is in a first shrinking state.
12. The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the housing comprises a rear cover, the rear cover comprises a plane portion and a bending portion that are connected, and in a case that the deformable region is in the bending state, the bending portion is in linkage with the second region, and tangent lines at a joint of the bending portion and the second region are collinear.
13. The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein both the first region and the second region are display regions, and light transmittance of the deformable region is greater than that of the first region.
14. A control method of an electronic device, applicable to the electronic device according to claim 1, the control method comprising: receiving an input; controlling, in a case that the input is a first input, the deformation driving part to drive the deformable region to be in the flattening state and controlling the camera module to shoot; and controlling, in a case that the input is a second input, the deformation driving part to drive the deformable region to be in the bending state.
15. A control method of an electronic device, applicable to the electronic device according to claim 2, the control method comprising: receiving an input; controlling, in a case that the input is a first input, the deformation driving part to drive the deformable region to be in the flattening state and controlling the camera module to shoot; and controlling, in a case that the input is a second input, the deformation driving part to drive the deformable region to be in the bending state.
16. A control method of an electronic device, applicable to the electronic device according to claim 3, the control method comprising: receiving an input; controlling, in a case that the input is a first input, the deformation driving part to drive the deformable region to be in the flattening state and controlling the camera module to shoot; and controlling, in a case that the input is a second input, the deformation driving part to drive the deformable region to be in the bending state.
17. A control method of an electronic device, applicable to the electronic device according to claim 4, the control method comprising: receiving an input; controlling, in a case that the input is a first input, the deformation driving part to drive the deformable region to be in the flattening state and controlling the camera module to shoot; and controlling, in a case that the input is a second input, the deformation driving part to drive the deformable region to be in the bending state.
18. A control method of an electronic device, applicable to the electronic device according 23to claim 5, the control method comprising: receiving an input; controlling, in a case that the input is a first input, the deformation driving part to drive the deformable region to be in the flattening state and controlling the camera module to shoot; and controlling, in a case that the input is a second input, the deformation driving part to drive the deformable region to be in the bending state.
19. A control method of an electronic device, applicable to the electronic device according to claim 6, the control method comprising: receiving an input; controlling, in a case that the input is a first input, the deformation driving part to drive the deformable region to be in the flattening state and controlling the camera module to shoot; and controlling, in a case that the input is a second input, the deformation driving part to drive the deformable region to be in the bending state.
20. A control method of an electronic device, applicable to the electronic device according to claim 7, the control method comprising: receiving an input; controlling, in a case that the input is a first input, the deformation driving part to drive the deformable region to be in the flattening state and controlling the camera module to shoot; and controlling, in a case that the input is a second input, the deformation driving part to drive the deformable region to be in the bending state.
1.An electronic device, comprising a housing, a display screen, a deformation drive part, and a camera module, wherein:
the display screen is disposed on the housing, the display screen and the housing form an inner cavity, the camera module and the deformation drive part are disposed in the inner cavity;
the display screen comprises a first area and a second area connected to each other, the first area is a first plane area, the second area is located on an edge of the display screen, the deformation drive part is connected to the second area, the deformation drive part drives the second area to switch between a flattened state and a curved state through deformation;
in a case that the second area is in the flattened state, the second area is a flat second plane area, and the second plane area is located in a same plane as the first plane area;
in a case that the second area is in the curved state, the second area is curved; a light-transmitting area is disposed in the second area; and in the case that the second area is in the flattened state, ambient light passing through the light-transmitting area is projected onto the camera module.
2. The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the orientation of the light-transmitting area intersects with the orientation of the camera module, a reflection component is disposed between the light-transmitting area and the camera module, and the ambient light passing through the light-transmitting area is reflected to the camera module by the reflection component.
3. The electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the reflection component is connected to the deformation drive part, the deformation drive part drives the reflection component to move to a working position, and the ambient light passing through the light-transmitting area is reflected to the camera module by the reflection component at the working position.
4. The electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the reflection component is rotatably disposed on an inner side of the second area, the electronic device further comprises a drive apparatus, the drive apparatus is connected to the reflection component, and the drive apparatus drives the reflection component to rotate, so that an incident surface of light of the reflection component corresponds to the second area in the flattened state.
5. The electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the reflection component is rotatably disposed on an inner side of the second area, the electronic device further comprises a drive mechanism, the drive mechanism is disposed on a side of the camera module facing away from the reflection component, and the drive mechanism drives the camera module to push the reflection component to rotate, so that an incident surface of light of the reflection component is closely attached to the inner side of the second area in the flattened state.
6. The electronic device according to claim 5, wherein the reflection component is a triangular prism, a right-angle part of the triangular prism is rotatably connected to the second area or the deformation drive part; and in the flattened state, a first right-angle surface of the triangular prism faces the second area, and a second right-angle surface of the triangular prism faces the camera module.
7. The electronic device according to claim 5, wherein in the flattened state, an inner surface of the first area is parallel to the first plane area, and the camera module is slidably disposed on the inner surface of the first area.
10. The electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising a folding mechanism, wherein the folding mechanism is connected in a sealed manner between the second area and the housing;
the folding mechanism is in an unfolded state in the case that the second area is in the flattened state; and
the folding mechanism is in a folded state in the case that the second area is in the curved state.
12. The electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising an elastic connection mechanism, wherein the elastic connection mechanism is connected in a sealed manner between the second area and the housing; the elastic connection mechanism is in an extended state in the case that the second area is in the flattened state; and the elastic connection mechanism is in a retracted state in the case that the second area is in the curved state.
14. The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the housing comprises a back cover, the back cover comprises a flat part and a curved part, the curved part is jointed with the flat part, and in the case that the second area is in the curved state, the curved part is jointed with the second area, and tangents at a joint between the curved part and the second area are collinear.
16. The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first area and the second area are display areas, and a transmittance of the second area is greater than a transmittance of the first area.
8. A control method of an electronic device, applied to the electronic device according to claim 5, and the control method comprising: receiving an input; in a case that the input is a first input, controlling the deformation drive part to drive the second area to be in the flattened state, and controlling the camera module to shoot; and in a case that the input is a second input, controlling the deformation drive part to drive the second area to be in the curved state.
9. A control method of an electronic device, applied to the electronic device according to
claim 2, and the control method comprising: receiving an input; in a case that the input is a first input, controlling the deformation drive part to drive the second area to be in the flattened state, and controlling the camera module to shoot; and in a case that the input is a second input, controlling the deformation drive part to drive the second area to be in the curved state.
11. A control method of an electronic device, applied to the electronic device according to claim 10, and the control method comprising: receiving an input; in a case that the input is a first input, controlling the deformation drive part to drive the second area to be in the flattened state, and controlling the camera module to shoot; and in a case that the input is a second input, controlling the deformation drive part to drive the second area to be in the curved state.
13. A control method of an electronic device, applied to the electronic device according to claim 12, and the control method comprising: receiving an input; in a case that the input is a first input, controlling the deformation drive part to drive the second area to be in the flattened state, and controlling the camera module to shoot; and in a case that the input is a second input, controlling the deformation drive part to drive the second area to be in the curved state.
15. A control method of an electronic device, applied to the electronic device according to claim 14, and the control method comprising: receiving an input; in a case that the input is a first input, controlling the deformation drive part to drive the second area to be in the flattened state, and controlling the camera module to shoot; and in a case that the input is a second input, controlling the deformation drive part to drive the second area to be in the curved state.
17. A control method of an electronic device, applied to the electronic device according to claim 16, and the control method comprising: receiving an input; in a case that the input is a first input, controlling the deformation drive part to drive the second area to be in the flattened state, and controlling the camera module to shoot; and in a case that the input is a second input, controlling the deformation drive part to drive the second area to be in the curved state.
18. A control method of an electronic device, applied to the electronic device according to claim 1, and the control method comprising: receiving an input; in a case that the input is a first input, controlling the deformation drive part to drive the second area to be in the flattened state, and controlling the camera module to shoot; and in a case that the input is a second input, controlling the deformation drive part to drive the second area to be in the curved state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu Guiqi et al. (CN 111739414 A, hereinafter “Liu”. Note that this document is cited by the Applicant in the IDS filed on 07/05/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses an electronic device (camera phone shown in Figs. 1 & 2, par. [0030]), comprising a housing (a display device body, par. [0033]), a display screen (a flexible display panel 3, par. [0032]), a deformation driving part (a driving part 4 to move the flexible display panel 3, par. [0015]) and a camera module (camera 2, Figs. 1 & 2 and par. [0032]),
wherein the display screen is disposed on the housing, a device inner cavity is formed by the display screen (3) and the housing, the camera module and the deformation driving part are both disposed in the device inner cavity (Figs. 1 & 2 shows that the camera module 2 and the deformation driving part 4 are disposed in the device inner cavity);
the display screen comprises a first region (33) and a second region (32) which are connected, a display surface of the first region is a first plane, the second region is located on an edge of the display screen, a portion of the second region is a deformable region (see Figs. 1 & 2 and par. [0036]);
the deformation driving part is connected to the deformable region, and drives, through deformation, the deformable region to be switched between a flattening state (Fig. 2B) and a bending state (Figs. 1, 2A or 2C and par. [0033]);
in a case that the deformable region is in the flattening state (Fig. 2B), a display surface of the deformable region is a second plane, and the second plane and the first plane are located within the same plane (see Fig. 2B where both regions 32 and 33 of the flexible display panel are on the same plane); and
in a case that the deformable region is in the bending state (Figs. 2A or 2C), the deformable region is a curved surface, a light transmitting region (31) is arranged in the deformable region; and in a case that the deformable region is in the flattening state (Fig. 2B), ambient light passing through the light transmitting region is projected to the camera module (see Figs. 2A-2C and par. [0033]).
Regarding claim 14, the subject matter of this claim is also met by Liu as discussed in claim 1. Furthermore, Liu discloses receiving an input (from a user); controlling, in a case that the input is a first input, the deformation driving part to drive the deformable region to be in the flattening state (Fig. 2B) and controlling the camera module to shoot (see par. [0033]); and controlling, in a case that the input is a second input, the deformation driving part to drive the deformable region to be in the bending state (Figs. 2A or 2C; par. [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Ma et al. (US 2021/0385365 A1, hereinafter “Ma”).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses that orientation of the light transmitting region interests with orientation of the camera module (Fig. 2A-2C). Liu fails to teach that a first reflective member is disposed between the light transmitting region and the camera module, and the ambient light passing through the light transmitting region is reflected to the camera module through the first reflective member. However, as taught by Ma in Fig. 3, a prism (320) having a reflective surface (430) is arranged between a light transmitting region and a camera module (315) so that the ambient light passing through the light transmitting region is reflected to the camera module through the reflective surface (see Ma, Fig. 3 and par. [0068]-[0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to configure the device in Liu including a first reflective member in view of Ma to obtain the features being claimed so that the thickness of the device would be reduced while maintaining maximum display area of the device.
Regarding claim 15, this claim is met by the discussion in claims 1, 2 and 8 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, the prior art references of record, either alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest: “a second reflective member is attached to a bevel edge of the first reflective member, and is a T-lens structural member; the ambient light passing through the light transmitting region sequentially passes through the first reflective member and the second reflective member to be reflected to the camera module; and the second reflective member, in a power-on state, adjusts an angel of the ambient light through thickness adjustment.”
Regarding claim 11, the prior art references of record, either alone or in combination, also fail to teach or suggest: “the second region further comprises a rigid region, the rigid region and the deformable region are in a sealing connection through a second elastic connection mechanism; in a case that the deformable region is in the flattening state, the second elastic connection mechanism is in a second stretching state and seals a gap between the deformable region and the rigid region; and in a case that the deformable region is in the bending state, the second elastic connection mechanism is in a second shrinking state and is folded between the deformable region and the rigid region.”
Conclusion
/NHAN T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638