DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 1/7/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beer et al. (DE102016113348) of which the attached its corresponding English translation is cited.
Regarding Claim 1, Beer teaches a rotary tool (Fig. 20) comprising:
a main blade (Fig. 1, 30);
a chip flute (Fig. 1, 34);
a lateral surface (Fig. 1, 40); and
a flank (Fig. 1, 28-1, 28-2) trailing after the main blade (Fig. 1, 30), wherein the flank (Fig. 1, 28-1, 28-2) first drops off proceeding from the main blade (Fig. 1, 30) and then rises again, such that a sink (Figs. 6 & 14, 50) is formed, to which a ridge (Fig. 1, 32) adjoins, which extends up to the lateral surface (Fig. 1, 40) and the chip flute (Fig. 1, 34) (Figs. 16 and 17 show a sink (50) with a thickness T50 and width (B50).) (Figs. 6 & 14 show a sink adjoining a ridge.).
Regarding Claim 3, Beer teaches the rotary tool according to claim 1, wherein the sink (Figs 16 & 17, 50) is concave (Figs. 16 & 17 show the sink in the shape of concave.).
Regarding Claim 6, Beer teaches the rotary tool according to claim 1, wherein the sink (Fig. 10, 50) extends from the lateral surface up to the chip flute (Fig. 10, 34) ([0052]: the recess 50 is designed … leads over … to the chip groove 34).
Regarding Claim 7, Beer teaches the rotary tool according to claim 1, having a center (Fig. 1, area surrounding 24) and a tip (Fig. 1, 24), wherein the sink reaches into the center and passes by the tip (Figs. 6, 12 & 14 shows a sink (50) passes by the tip (24).).
Regarding Claim 8, Beer teaches the rotary tool according to claim 1, comprising a coolant channel having a mouth (Figs. 6, 13 & 14, 22) that lies within the sink (Figs. 6, 13 & 14, 50).
Regarding Claim 9, Beer teaches the rotary tool according to claim 8, wherein the flank (Fig. 1, 28-1, 28-2) comprises a notch (Figs. 9 & 10, 50) for outputting coolant towards the chip flute or the lateral surface (Figs. 9 and 10 show a notch 50 leading to the outer surface and flute 34 respectively.).
Regarding Claim 11, Beer teaches the rotary tool according to claim 1, wherein the latter is a drill ([0001]: drilling tool).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beer et al. (DE102016113348) of which the attached its corresponding English translation is cited.
Regarding Claim 2, although Beer does not explicitly teach that the ridge is configured as a plateau, Fig. 1 appears to show the ridge (32) as a plateau.
Regarding Claim 10, although Beer does not explicitly teach that an angle between the ridge and the sink surfaces is at least 90°, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine a desired angle (including at least 90°) between these two surfaces that would result in an optimal performance of the rotary tool in terms of heat, torque and stability.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beer et al. (DE102016113348) of which the attached corresponding English translation is cited in view of Kauper et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0213543).
Regarding Claim 5, Beer teaches the rotary tool according to claim 1, but, does not teach wherein the flank is configured without edges proceeding from the main blade up to the ridge.
Kauper teaches the rotary tool (Fig. 1, 2), wherein the flank (Fig. 1, 20) is configured without edges proceeding from the main blade (Fig.1, 8) up to the ridge (Fig. 1, 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the flank surface of the tool of Beer without an edge such that it would improve centering of the drill as suggested in Kauper [0006].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUN S YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 1/24/2026