CTNF 18/221,532 CTNF 99487 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims Claims 1-4 are pending. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1-4 objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding Claim 1 : Claim 1 contains many sentences. According to MPEP section 608.01(m): “Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations.” Regarding Claim 2 : Claim 2 recites “The telescope rangefinder according to in claim 1” and can be corrected to recite --The telescope rangefinder according to claim 1--. Regarding Claim 3 : Claim 3 contains many sentences. According to MPEP section 608.01(m): “Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations.” Furthermore, claim 3 recites “The telescope rangefinder according to in claim 1” and can be corrected to recite --The telescope rangefinder according to claim 1--. Regarding Claim 4 : Claim 4 recites “The telescope rangefinder according to in claim 1” and can be corrected to recite --The telescope rangefinder according to claim 1 --. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding Claim 1 : Lines 7-9 recite “The second prism comprises a second light input surface, a third reflector, and a laser output surface, which are parallel to the second reflector.” It is unclear whether (1) a second light input surface, (2) a third reflector, or (3) a laser output surface, is intended to be parallel to the second reflector. They cannot all be parallel to the second reflector because they are three different sides of the same prism. See applicant’s own specifications in paragraph [0022] and in Fig. 3, which show the second optical input surface 421, the third reflector surface 422, and the laser output surface 423, being three sides of one prism, where none of these sides are parallel to each other. Lines 9-11 recite “The third prism comprises a third optical input surface, a fourth reflector, and a fifth reflector, which are parallel to the first reflector”. It is unclear whether (1) third optical input surface, (2) fourth reflector, or (3) fifth reflector, is intended to be parallel to the first reflector. Line 13 recites the limitation of “the first optical input surface” but there is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation. It is unclear whether this is intended to refer to “a first light input surface” or introduce a new “first optical input surface”. Regarding Claim 3 : Line 3 recites the limitation of “a second light input surface” but the limitation of “second light input surface” is already recited by claim 1 in line 7. It is unclear if the recitation of “a second light input surface” in claim 3 introduces a new “second light input surface,” or if it is intended to refer to the “second light input surface” recited by claim 1. Furthermore, it is unclear whether the recitation of “a second light reflector” in line 3 is intended to be directed to the recitation of “second reflector” recited in claim 1, or if it introduces a new, second light reflector that is separate from the first, second, third, fourth, and fifth light reflectors recited in claim 1. For examination purposes, “a second light reflector” is being interpreted to be the same as the “second reflector” recited by claim 1, and “a second light input surface” is being interpreted to be the same “second light input surface” recited by claim 1. Regarding Claim 4 : Line 2 recites the limitation of “the laser transmitting module” but there is a lack of antecedent basis for this claim limitation. It is unclear whether this was intended to be directed to the recitation of “the laser emission module” recited by claim 1 in line 2, or if this introduces a new “laser transmitting module”. Claim 2 is rejected by virtue of dependency. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 20230359014 A1), in view of Zhou (US 20230221095 A1) . Regarding Claim 1 : Zhu discloses a telescope rangefinder (Figs. 1 and 2, ranging telescope) comprises an objective lens group (Fig. 1, objective lenses 6) a laser receiver (Fig. 1, laser receiver 8) a laser emission module (Fig. 1, laser device 7), a spectroscope group ([0023] and Fig. 1, composite prism with prisms 2, 3, 4, and 5), a display element and an eyepiece group (Fig. 1, display 9-1 and eye lens 1). These are characterized in that: the spectroscope group comprises a first prism, a second prism, and a third prism ([0023] and Fig. 1, composite prism with prisms 2, 3, 4). The first prism comprises a first light input surface, a first reflector, and a second reflector (Fig. 1 and [0026] light enters through surface I 201, is reflected by second surface I 202 and third surface I 203). The second prism is located below the first prism (Fig. 1, prism 4 is located below prism 2). The second prism comprises a second light input surface, a third reflector, and a laser output surface, which are parallel to the second reflector (Fig. 1 and [0026] first surface III 401, second surface III 402, and third surface III 403. Third surface III 403 in the second prism is parallel to the third surface I 203 in the first prism). The third prism comprises a third optical input surface, a fourth reflector, […] which are parallel to the first reflector (Fig. 1 and [0026] first surface II 301 and roof surface 302. First surface II 301 in the third prism is parallel to second surface I 202 in the first prism); The light path received by the objective lens group enters the first prism through the first optical input surface and enters the third prism through the third optical input surface after the reflection of the first reflector and the second reflector ([0026] and Fig. 1, light enters lens group 6, then enters the first prism 2, through first surface I 201. The light is reflected by second surface I 202 and then third surface I 203, before subsequently entering prism 3 through first surface II 301). Then, the light path enters the eyepiece group through the reflection of the fourth reflector, […], and the third optical input surface ([0026] – [0027] and Fig. 1, after entering prism 3 through first surface II 301, the light reflects off). The laser light path received by the objective lens group enters the first prism and enters the second prism through the first reflector ([0028] light is gathered by the objective lens and enters the first prism 3 through first surface I 201, then is reflected by second surface I 202 to enter second prism 4). The laser light path enters the laser receiver through the third reflector ([0028] light that has entered prism 4 is “is reflected by the second surface III 402 of the third prism, and is emitted from the first surface III 401 of the prism to enter the laser receiver.” Note that the “third prism” (prism 4) disclosed by Zhu is mapped to applicant’s “second prism”). Zhu does not disclose a fifth reflector in the third prism, and that the light path enters the eyepiece group after reflection by the fourth reflector and the fifth reflector . Zhou teaches a telescope rangefinder that has an objective lens group, a laser receiver, a laser transmitter, a spectroscope group, a display element, and an eyepiece group (Figs. 14 and 15, front objective lens assembly 53, receiver 73, emitter 46, prism assembly 34, reticle device 38, and ocular lens assembly 60); wherein the spectroscope group comprises a first, second, and third prism (Figs. 14 and 15, first prism 76, second prism 78, and third prism 80); wherein the first prism comprises a first light input surface, a first reflector, and a second reflector (Fig. 15, surface 76C, first reflective surface 76A, surface 76B); the second prism comprises a second light input surface and a laser output surface that is parallel to the second reflector (Fig. 15, prism 78 where light enters surface 78A and exits via surface 78B; surfaces 78A and 76B are parallel); The third prism comprises a third optical input surface, a fourth reflector, and a fifth reflector which are parallel to the first reflector (Fig. 15, prism 80 with surface 80C, first reflective surface 80A, and second reflective surface 80B; [0041] the third optical input surface 80C is parallel to first reflective surface 76A); wherein the light path received by the objective lens group enters the first prism though the first optical input surface (Figs. 14 and 15, light takes optical pathway 35A from the objective lens group 53 and enters first prism 76) and reflects off the first and second reflector to enter the third prism through the third optical input surface (Figs. 14 and 15, light reflects off surfaces 76A and 76B, then enters third prism 80 through surface 80C); Then the light path enters the eyepiece group through the reflection of the fourth reflector, the fifth reflector, and the third optical input surface (Figs. 14 and 15, the light path enters third prism 80 through surface 80C, is reflected off surface 80A, then reflected off surface 80B, and then is reflected off surface 80C. The light, after exiting third prism 80, is then directed toward ocular lens assembly 60); and the laser light path received by the objective group enters the first prism and enters the second prism through the first reflector (Fig. 14, light from path 35A enters first prism 76, and then is reflected off surface 76A, and then enters second prism 78). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the telescope rangefinder disclosed by Zhu by replacing Zhu’s third prism, with the third prism taught by Zhou, which contains both a fourth and a fifth reflective surface. Both these references teach a telescope rangefinder with an arrangement of three prisms. Replacing the third prism disclosed by Zhu, with the third prism taught by Zhou, would be a simple substitution of one type of prism for another type of prism, to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale B). Regarding Claim 2 : Zhu, in view of Zhou, teaches the telescope rangefinder according to claim 1 . Zhu further discloses that the laser emission module comprises a laser emitter and a transmitting lens group on its transmitting optical path (Fig. 1 and [0024] the laser emission system has a laser device 7 and has objective lens 6. This objective lens is separate from the objective lens that is on the same path as the receiver 8). Regarding Claim 3 : Zhu, in view of Zhou, teaches the telescope rangefinder according to claim 1 . Zhu further discloses that the first prism and the second prism are fixed through [the] second reflector and [the] second light input surface (Fig. 1 and [0023] third surface I 203 of the first prism 2, is glued to the third surface III 403 of the third prism 4). A penetrating film layer conducive to laser input and output is plated between the second light reflector and the second light input surface ([0023] “A third surface III 403 of the third prism 4 is glued with a third surface I 203 of the first prism 2, and a beam splitting film which reflects light with first wavelength and transmits light with second wavelength and light with third wavelength is coated to the glued surface”). Regarding Claim 4 : Zhu, in view of Zhou, teaches the telescope rangefinder according to claim 1 . Zhu further discloses that the laser transmitting module is interchangeable with the laser receiver (Fig. 1 and [0010] the laser emission system contains the laser device, the composite prism, and the objective lens. The laser receiving system contains the laser receiver, the composite prism, and the objective lens. The arrangement of the composite prism and objective lens in both the transmitting and receiving modules are the same, making them interchangeable) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lancaster (US 11460296 B2) : This is a telescope rangefinder that has three prisms. These prisms have reflective surfaces that internally reflect light. See Fig. 1. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ISABELLE LIN BOEGHOLM whose telephone number is (571)270-0570. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 7:30am-5pm, Fridays 8am-12pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yuqing Xiao can be reached at (571) 270-3603. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ISABELLE LIN BOEGHOLM/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645 /YUQING XIAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/221,532 Page 2 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/221,532 Page 3 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/221,532 Page 4 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/221,532 Page 6 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/221,532 Page 7 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/221,532 Page 8 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/221,532 Page 9 Art Unit: 3645