DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claims 1-12 are examined
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamaguchi (WO 2019073942, wherein translation is used for reference).
Regarding Claim 7: Yamaguchi discloses a wireless hair straightener (see annotated figure ‘942 comprising: a first switch (22; Fig. 5), a first heating resistor (12; Fig. 5), a second heating resistor (11; Fig. 5), a second switch (23; Fig. 5), and a battery (15; Fig. 5) sequentially connected in series (see annotated figure ‘942) between a first end (see annotated figure ‘942) of an external power supply (27; Fig. 5) and a reference node (see annotated figure ‘942); and a controller (see [0048] wherein a user control the switch) configured to control on and off operations of the first switch and the second switch (see [0048]), wherein: the battery is configured to be charged by the external power supply (see path 36, 23, 15; Fig. 5), a connection point (see annotated figure ‘942) between the first heating resistor and the second heating resistor is connected to the reference node (see annotated figure ‘942), and a second end (positive terminal of 28; Fig. 5) of the external power supply is connected to the reference node.
Regarding Claim 12: Yamaguchi discloses all the limitations of Claim 7, and further discloses wherein the reference node is a ground node (see Fig.5 wherein all the return path arrives on the positive).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi (WO 2019073942) in view of Dhadwal (US 2022/0113750).
Regarding Claim 8: Yamaguchi discloses all the limitations of Claim 7, as stated above, but I silent regarding the first switch comprises a P-channel metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET), and the second switch comprises a P-channel MOSFET.
However, Dhadwal teaches a heating system (see title) having a switch comprises a P-channel metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET) ([0167]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second switches of Yamaguchi to have the first and second switches comprise P-channel transistor MOSFET, as taught by Dhadwal. Such a modification will allow to automatically turn on or off the switches.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi (WO 2019073942) in view of Persons (US 2020/0194398).
Regarding Claim 9: Yamaguchi discloses all the limitations of Claim 9, as stated above, and further discloses the first heating resistor and the second heating resistor are ceramic heaters (see [0081]), but is silent the first heating resistor having a higher resistance value than the second heating resistor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reverse the first and second heating resistors (in Fig. 5 the first resistor is shorter than the second resistor 9), since it has been held that mere relocation of an element would not have modified the operation of the device. (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)).
(In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)). (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Yamaguchi teaches all the above limitations, but is silent regarding the heating resistor using palladium as a heating element.
However, Persons a heating system (Title) having a heating resistor using palladium as a heating element ([0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second heating resistor of Yamaguchi to have the first and second heating resistor using palladium as a heating element, as taught by Persons. Such a modification will allow to have a low intrinsic resistivity.
Allowable subject matter
Regarding Claims 1-6, and 10-11:
Claims 1-6 are allowed.
Claims 10-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the above objections, if present, and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art fails to teach, “a first switch, a first heating resistor, and a second heating resistor which are sequentially connected in series between a first end of the external power supply and a reference node;a second switch, wherein a first end of the second switch is connected to a connection point between the first switch and the first heating resistor, and a second end of the second switch is connected to the reference node; a third switch, wherein a first end of the third switch is connected to a connection point between the first heating resistor and the second heating resistor, and a second end of the third switch is connected to a first end of the battery” (for Claim 1) ; “the controller is configured to: when the external power supply is not connected, control the first switch to be off and the second switch to be on, and when the external power supply is connected, control the first switch to be on and the second switch to be on” (for Claim 11); “he controller is configured to:when the external power supply is not connected, control the first switch to be off, and control switching operations of the second switch according to a pulse width modulation (PWM) duty ratio for maintaining the target temperature, and 28 when the external power supply is connected, control switching operations of the first switch according to the PWM duty ratio for maintaining the target temperature, and control the second switch to be off.” (for Claim 12)
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see notice of references cited.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see notice of references cited.
/RODOLPHE ANDRE CHABREYRIE/Examiner, Art Unit 3741