DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2 are presented for examination. Claims 21-23 are new. Claims 1, 3, 5-6 and 8-11 are amended. This office action is response to the submission on 12/17/2025.
Response to Arguments
With respect to Abstract Objections:
Applicant’s arguments, see page 1 of applicant response filed 12/17/2025, with respect to the abstract have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments to the abstract. The objections to the abstract have been withdrawn.
With respect to 35 USC § 112 (b) Rejections:
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-2 of applicant response filed 12/17/2025, with respect to the 35 USC § 112 (b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments to the claim. The 35 USC § 112 (b) rejections of the claims have been withdrawn.
With respect to 35 USC § 102 and 103 Rejections:
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 2 of applicant response filed 12/17/2025, with respect to claims 1-23 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Nunn et al. (US20190231084A1) in view of Gunn et al. (US5306116A).
Claim 1:
Nunn teaches “A system with features to protect an air-mattress from over-pressure events, the system comprising: a bed having a mattress comprising one or more air-chambers;” (Nunn [0011] "FIG. 1 is a diagrammatic representation of air bed system 10 in an example embodiment. System 10 can include bed 12, which can comprise at least one air chamber 14 surrounded by a resilient border 16 and encapsulated by bed ticking 18."
),
“a pressure adjuster configured to adjust pressure in the mattress;” (Nunn teaches a pump 20 i.e. pressure adjuster configured to adjust pressure in the mattress in Nunn [0012] "As illustrated in FIG. 1, bed 12 can be a two chamber design having a first air chamber 14A and a second air chamber 14B. First and second air chambers 14A and 14B can be in fluid communication with pump 20. Pump 20 can be in electrical communication with a remote control 22 via control box 24. Remote control 22 can communicate via wired or wireless means with control box 24. Control box 24 can be configured to operate pump 20 to cause increases and decreases in the fluid pressure of first and second air chambers 14A and 14B based upon commands input by a user through remote control 22. "),
“one or more pressure sensors, each sensor configured to: sense a pressure of the mattress; transmit, to a controller, pressure readings;” (Nunn teaches a pressure transducer 46 i.e. pressure sensor that transmits the readings to a processor 36 in Nunn [0019] "While air is being delivered to the designated air chamber in order to increase the firmness of the chamber, pressure transducer 46 can sense pressure within pump manifold 43. Again, pressure transducer 46 can send pressure readings to processor 36 via A/D converter 40. Processor 36 can use the information received from A/D converter 40 to determine the difference between the actual pressure in air chamber 14A or 14B and the desired pressure."; Nunn teaches that the pressure in the pump manifold approximates the pressure within the air chamber i.e. the mattress in Nunn [0020] "Generally speaking, during an inflation or deflation process, the pressure sensed within pump manifold 43 provides an approximation of the pressure within the air chamber. An example method of obtaining a pump manifold pressure reading that is substantially equivalent to the actual pressure within an air chamber is to turn off pump 20, allow the pressure within the air chamber 14A or 14B and pump manifold 43 to equalize, and then sense the pressure within pump manifold 43 with pressure transducer 46. Thus, providing a sufficient amount of time to allow the pressures within pump manifold 43 and chamber 14A or 14B to equalize may result in pressure readings that are accurate approximations of the actual pressure within air chamber 14A or 14B. In various examples, the pressure of 48A/B is continuously monitored using multiple pressure sensors"),
“and a controller comprising a processor and memory, the controller configured to: store a maximum-target-pressure value and a minimum-target-pressure value that define a range of pressures to be chosen;“ (Nunn teaches a control box 24 i.e. controller including a processor 36 and memory 37 in Nunn [0013] "As shown in FIG. 2, control box 24 can include power supply 34, processor 36, memory 37, switching means 38, analog to digital (A/D) converter 40, and radios for communication with remotes and smartphones."; Nunn teaches a user set pressure value of 0-100 i.e. a range of pressures to be chosen in Nunn [0050] "In an example, the auto-fill pressure preference is a numerical value associated with a pressure of the air mattress to use when the auto-fill feature is engaged. The auto-fill pressure may be limited to a range (e.g., 0-100). For example, a “100” setting may be the maximum pressure allowed in the air mattress as indicated in a storage device of central controller 302 or firmness controller 304."),
“receive, from each of the pressure sensors, pressure readings; determine a pressure value for the mattress;” (Nunn teaches a pressure transducer 46 that transmits the readings to the processor 36 and that it determines the difference between the actual air pressure and desired pressure i.e. it determines the pressure value for the air mattress in Nunn [0019] "While air is being delivered to the designated air chamber in order to increase the firmness of the chamber, pressure transducer 46 can sense pressure within pump manifold 43. Again, pressure transducer 46 can send pressure readings to processor 36 via A/D converter 40. Processor 36 can use the information received from A/D converter 40 to determine the difference between the actual pressure in air chamber 14A or 14B and the desired pressure."
),
“determine if the pressure value for the mattress is above a maximum-target-pressure,” (Nunn teaches determining whether the pressure is within a threshold of a baseline pressure i.e. maximum-target-pressure in Nunn [0071] "In various examples, assuming the conditions of the user preferences have been met, central controller 302 determines if the difference between the baseline reading and sampled reading has changed beyond a set threshold (e.g., 2 PSI). If the pressure exceeds the threshold, central controller 302 may send a signal to the pump to increase/decrease the pressure back to the baseline."), and
“and responsive to determining that the pressure value for the mattress value is above the maximum-target-pressure value, send instructions to the pressure adjuster to reduce the pressure of the mattress.” (Nunn teaches determining whether the pressure is within a threshold of a baseline pressure, and if it is outside of the threshold, it sends a signal to increase/decrease pressure back to baseline i.e. if the pressure is high, the signal will reduce pressure in Nunn [0071] "In various examples, assuming the conditions of the user preferences have been met, central controller 302 determines if the difference between the baseline reading and sampled reading has changed beyond a set threshold (e.g., 2 PSI). If the pressure exceeds the threshold, central controller 302 may send a signal to the pump to increase/decrease the pressure back to the baseline.").
Nunn does not appear to explicitly teach “store a maximum operational value describing a greatest pressure value at which the system functions normally, wherein the maximum operational value is above the maximum-target-pressure value;” However, Gunn does teach this claim limitation (Gunn teaches a maximum safe pressure ratio i.e. a maximum operational value describing a greatest pressure value at which the system functions normally in Gunn [Column 12 lines 23-32] "The maximum safe pressure ratio, PR2, is calculated by the multiply function 178, and is compared to the actual ratio, PR, in the surge avoidance function 177. The surge avoidance portion 148, as flowcharted in FIG. 21, permits a quick reset of the blowoff valve 52 to a more open position if the actual compressor pressure ratio rises above the target value and reaches the maximum safe operating pressure ratio, as explained in further detail hereinafter."; Gunn teaches that if the pressure ratio increases past target pressure PR1 and maximum safe pressure ratio PR2, it will open the blowoff valve in order to reduce the pressure in Gunn [Column 7 lines 39-47] "If some external event, such as the quick closing of the service valve 48, causes compressor pressure ratio to increase above the target value of PR1 to as high as PR2 (see FIG. 11), the controller 130 will sense this increase in pressure ratio and cause the blowoff valve 52 to quickly open to some higher value. Opening the blowoff valve reduces the pressure of the working fluid at the discharge port 30 thereby reducing the pressure ratio."; Gunn Fig. 11 teaches PR2 being greater than PR1
[AltContent: rect]
).
Nunn and Gunn are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of controlling pressure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Nunn and Gunn before him/her, to modify the teachings of an Inflatable Air Mattress Autofill and Off Bed Pressure Adjustment of Nunn to include the maximum safe pressure ratio and reduction of pressure if the detected pressure is greater than the maximum safe pressure ratio of Gunn because adding the Surge control and recovery of Gunn would allow for the pressure to be maintained below a critical pressure ratio as described in Gunn [Column 7 lines 12-29] “The apparatus of the present invention is also operable to prevent surge in the first instance by modulating the blowoff valve 52 to maintain the pressure ratio well below the critical pressure ratio PR3 where surge occurs. The critical pressure ratio PR3 is the surge point in FIG. 5 which is defined by the intersection of a particular corrected speed line and the actual surge line. FIG. 5 shows two additional lines 81 and 82 set at a predetermined distance away from, and generally aligned with, the actual surge line 80. The intersection of the corrected speed line 78 and the line 81 defines the maximum safe pressure ratio PR2. During periods of reduced flow demand, the controller 130 will modulate the blowoff valve 52 to maintain compressor pressure ratio at a target value slightly below the safe maximum pressure ratio of PR2. This actual target pressure ratio is defined as pressure ratio PR1 and is shown on FIG. 5 as dashed line 82.”
Claim 2:
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 1, wherein the instructions sent to the pressure adjuster to adjust the pressure of the mattress comprise instructions to reduce the pressure to the maximum-target-pressure.” (Nunn teaches determining whether the pressure is within a threshold of a baseline pressure e.g. the maximum-target-pressure, and if it is higher than the threshold it sends a signal to decrease pressure in Nunn [0071] "In various examples, assuming the conditions of the user preferences have been met, central controller 302 determines if the difference between the baseline reading and sampled reading has changed beyond a set threshold (e.g., 2 PSI). If the pressure exceeds the threshold, central controller 302 may send a signal to the pump to increase/decrease the pressure back to the baseline.").
Claim 3:
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 1, wherein the instructions sent to the pressure adjuster to adjust the pressure of the mattress comprise instructions to reduce the pressure value to a pressure corresponding to a selected sleeper-value that is less than the maximum-target-pressure value.” (Nunn teaches that the baseline pressure correlates to the user set value in Nunn [0067] "At block 506, in various embodiments, the pressure of the bed is monitored (e.g., via the transducer of the air mattress) when it is indicated that no one is on the bed. This may be done, for example, by central controller 302. Central controller 302 may use a baseline pressure reading (e.g., the pressure that correlates to the user set value)"; Nunn teaches a user set pressure value of 0-100 i.e. the user may set the pressure setting to less than 100, the maximum value for firmness of the mattress in Nunn [0050] "In an example, the auto-fill pressure preference is a numerical value associated with a pressure of the air mattress to use when the auto-fill feature is engaged. The auto-fill pressure may be limited to a range (e.g., 0-100). For example, a “100” setting may be the maximum pressure allowed in the air mattress as indicated in a storage device of central controller 302 or firmness controller 304."; Nunn teaches determining whether the pressure is within a threshold of a baseline pressure e.g. the user selected pressure value, and if it is higher than the threshold it sends a signal to decrease pressure in Nunn [0071] "In various examples, assuming the conditions of the user preferences have been met, central controller 302 determines if the difference between the baseline reading and sampled reading has changed beyond a set threshold (e.g., 2 PSI). If the pressure exceeds the threshold, central controller 302 may send a signal to the pump to increase/decrease the pressure back to the baseline.").
Claim 4:
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more air-chambers of the mattress are configured to increase in pressure due to influence of one or more of the group consisting of environmental temperature, (Nunn teaches the pressure of the air mattress changing due to temperature and air pressure in Nunn [0060] "A user may have initially set the pressure of an air mattress (e.g., using one or more remotes as described herein) to a value of “50.” The user set value may correspond to a PSI level of the air mattress. Thus, after a user sets the value, the user may expect the air mattress to feel the same the next time he or she sleeps on the bed. However, due to environmental changes (e.g., temperature, pressure of the air in the room) or possible mechanical failures (e.g., a leak) the pressure in the air mattress may change over time.").
Claim 5:
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: determine that a sleeper has entered the bed;” (Nunn teaches that pressure data may be used to determine whether a user is on the bed in Nunn [0053] "In an example, central controller 302 may detect user presence via gross pressure changes. For example, the central controller 302 and pressure transducer 46 (of FIG. 2) may be used to monitor the air pressure in the air mattress of bed 301. If the user sits or lies down on the air mattress, the air pressure in the air mattress changes, e.g., increases, due to the additional weight of the user, which results in a gross pressure change. Central controller 302 may determine whether the user is now on the bed based on the gross pressure change, e.g., over some time period. For example, by determining a rate of change of pressure, e.g., over one to ten minutes, and comparing the determined rate of change to a threshold value, central controller 302 may determine whether the user is now on the bed."), and
“and responsively determine if the pressure value for the mattress is above the maximum-target-pressure value.” (Nunn teaches a user set pressure value of 0-100 i.e. the user may set the pressure value to 100, the maximum target pressure value in Nunn [0050] "In an example, the auto-fill pressure preference is a numerical value associated with a pressure of the air mattress to use when the auto-fill feature is engaged. The auto-fill pressure may be limited to a range (e.g., 0-100). For example, a “100” setting may be the maximum pressure allowed in the air mattress as indicated in a storage device of central controller 302 or firmness controller 304."; Nunn teaches monitoring the air pressure of the mattress and whether the pressure exceeds a threshold in Nunn [0051-0052] “For example, firmness controller 304 or central controller 302 may monitor the pressure of the air mattress and if a pressure change exceeds a threshold, firmness controller 304 may classify the change as an “empty bed” event—the label “empty bed” is used for illustration purposes only and other terms may be used without departing from the scope of this disclosure. In various examples, central controller 302 may receive an indication from external network device 310 that an “empty bed” has been detected. For example, external network device 310 may process the pressure readings from transducer 46 to determine the presence of one or more people on the air mattress. Similarly, the pressure data may be transmitted to an external server for further processing. Based on the processing in external network device 310 alone or in combination with the external server, external network device 310 may transmit data back to central controller 302 indicating whether or not a person is believed to be on the air mattress.”; Nunn teaches monitoring the pressure of the bed in order to detect user presence on the bed i.e. if a user enters the bed while it is set to 100, the pressure will increase past the maximum pressure in Nunn [0053] “In an example, central controller 302 may detect user presence via gross pressure changes. For example, the central controller 302 and pressure transducer 46 (of FIG. 2) may be used to monitor the air pressure in the air mattress of bed 301. If the user sits or lies down on the air mattress, the air pressure in the air mattress changes, e.g., increases, due to the additional weight of the user, which results in a gross pressure change. Central controller 302 may determine whether the user is now on the bed based on the gross pressure change, e.g., over some time period. For example, by determining a rate of change of pressure, e.g., over one to ten minutes, and comparing the determined rate of change to a threshold value, central controller 302 may determine whether the user is now on the bed.”).
Claim 6:
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 1, wherein the maximum-target-pressure value is 100 representing a greatest firmness for the mattress selectable by a user.” (Nunn teaches a user set pressure value of 0-100 in Nunn [0050] "In an example, the auto-fill pressure preference is a numerical value associated with a pressure of the air mattress to use when the auto-fill feature is engaged. The auto-fill pressure may be limited to a range (e.g., 0-100). For example, a “100” setting may be the maximum pressure allowed in the air mattress as indicated in a storage device of central controller 302 or firmness controller 304.").
Claim 7:
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 6, wherein a selected sleeper-value is entered by the user into a user interface as an integer in the range of one of the group consisting of i) 1 to 100 and ii) and wherein the selected sleeper-value is not associated with a unit value, and wherein the pressure value for the mattress is a non-integer number associated with a unit of pressure.” (Nunn teaches a user interface where the user may input preferences related to the auto-adjust method in Nunn [0061] “At block 502, in various examples, user preferences related to the auto-adjust method are received at central controller 302. The preferences may be received from one or more of remotes 312, 314, and 316. For example, using an application running on smart phone app 312, a user interface (UI) may be presented to the user. The UI may include input indicia (check boxes, radio buttons, input forms, etc.) for the preferences related to the auto-adjust method. A user may interact with the input indicia to set the preferences. The preferences may be stored in a storage device of remote 312 or transmitted to central controller 302 for storage.”; Nunn teaches a user setting for pressure between 0 and 100 in Nunn [0050] “In an example, the auto-fill pressure preference is a numerical value associated with a pressure of the air mattress to use when the auto-fill feature is engaged. The auto-fill pressure may be limited to a range (e.g., 0-100). For example, a “100” setting may be the maximum pressure allowed in the air mattress as indicated in a storage device of central controller 302 or firmness controller 304. This setting may be used, for example, when the user wants to have a full bed for easier bed making. A ‘0’ setting may be the lowest allowable pressure as indicated in a storage device of central controller 302 or firmness controller 304. Thus, a ‘0’ setting may not directly correlate to having no pressure in the air mattress.”).
Claim 8:
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 1, wherein, based on a schedule, the controller is configured to disable and enable operations of: determining if the pressure value for the mattress is above the maximum-target-pressure value,” (Nunn teaches disabling the auto-fill feature at certain time periods in Nunn [0049] "In an example, the time preference indicates one or more time periods of day when the auto-fill feature can be used. For example, the user may indicate that from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM the auto-fill feature can be used. Thus, if during the set time period the other auto-fill conditions are met, then the air mattress may auto-fill to the set pressure. If the conditions are otherwise met, but the current time of day is not within the user's defined period, auto-filling may not occur."; Nunn teaches a "100" setting being the highest pressure allowed, which may be the user setting in Nunn [0050] "In an example, the auto-fill pressure preference is a numerical value associated with a pressure of the air mattress to use when the auto-fill feature is engaged. The auto-fill pressure may be limited to a range (e.g., 0-100). For example, a “100” setting may be the maximum pressure allowed in the air mattress as indicated in a storage device of central controller 302 or firmness controller 304."), and
“and responsive to determining that the pressure value for the mattress is above the maximum-target-pressure value, sending instructions to the pressure adjuster to reduce the pressure of the mattress.” (Nunn teaches determining whether the pressure is within a threshold of a baseline pressure e.g. the maximum-target-pressure, and if it is higher than the threshold it sends a signal to decrease pressure in Nunn [0071] "In various examples, assuming the conditions of the user preferences have been met, central controller 302 determines if the difference between the baseline reading and sampled reading has changed beyond a set threshold (e.g., 2 PSI). If the pressure exceeds the threshold, central controller 302 may send a signal to the pump to increase/decrease the pressure back to the baseline.").
Claim 9:
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to: activate a heat routine at the bed;” (Nunn teaches a temperature controller 308 that may increase the temperature of a user i.e. activate a heat routine at the bed in Nunn [0032] "In various examples, temperature controller 308 is configured to increase, decrease, or maintain the temperature of a user. For example, a pad may be placed on top of or be part of the air mattress. Air may be pushed through the pad and vented to cool off a user of the bed. Conversely, the pad may include a heating element that may be used to keep the user warm. In various examples, temperature controller 308 receives temperature readings from the pad."), and
“determine an increase in the pressure value for the mattress based on activation of the heat routine; and responsively determine if the increased pressure value for the mattress is above the maximum-target-pressure value; and responsively send instructions to the pressure adjuster to reduce the increased pressure value to a pressure corresponding to the maximum-target-pressure value.” (Nunn teaches that temperature may affect the pressure and the controller may detect the change and that the method will adjust pressure in within a range i.e. if the pressure is above the range, it will send instructions to reduce pressure in Nunn [0060] "However, due to environmental changes (e.g., temperature, pressure of the air in the room) or possible mechanical failures (e.g., a leak) the pressure in the air mattress may change over time. Thus, the user may feel the need to increase the value to achieve the same pressure. In various examples, method 500 automatically adjust the pressure in the air mattress to maintain pressure within a specified range to compensate for these environmental and possible mechanical factors such that the when the user sleeps in the bed from night to night the bed maintains the same pressure.").
Claim 10:
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 9, wherein the controller is further configured to: detect user bed entrance;” (Nunn teaches that pressure data may be used to determine whether a user is on the bed in Nunn [0053] "In an example, central controller 302 may detect user presence via gross pressure changes. For example, the central controller 302 and pressure transducer 46 (of FIG. 2) may be used to monitor the air pressure in the air mattress of bed 301. If the user sits or lies down on the air mattress, the air pressure in the air mattress changes, e.g., increases, due to the additional weight of the user, which results in a gross pressure change. Central controller 302 may determine whether the user is now on the bed based on the gross pressure change, e.g., over some time period. For example, by determining a rate of change of pressure, e.g., over one to ten minutes, and comparing the determined rate of change to a threshold value, central controller 302 may determine whether the user is now on the bed."), and
“determine that the user bed entrance caused an increase in the increased pressure value for the mattress; and responsively send instructions to the pressure adjuster to reduce the increased pressure value to a pressure corresponding to the maximum-target-pressure value.” (Nunn teaches determining whether the pressure is within a threshold of a baseline pressure, and if it is higher than the threshold it sends a signal to decrease pressure in Nunn [0071] "In various examples, assuming the conditions of the user preferences have been met, central controller 302 determines if the difference between the baseline reading and sampled reading has changed beyond a set threshold (e.g., 2 PSI). If the pressure exceeds the threshold, central controller 302 may send a signal to the pump to increase/decrease the pressure back to the baseline.").
Claim 11:
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: activate a heat routine at the bed;” (Nunn teaches a temperature controller 308 that may increase the temperature of a user i.e. activate a heat routine at the bed in Nunn [0032] "In various examples, temperature controller 308 is configured to increase, decrease, or maintain the temperature of a user. For example, a pad may be placed on top of or be part of the air mattress. Air may be pushed through the pad and vented to cool off a user of the bed. Conversely, the pad may include a heating element that may be used to keep the user warm. In various examples, temperature controller 308 receives temperature readings from the pad."),
“determine an increase in the pressure value for the mattress based on activation of the heat routine;” (Nunn teaches that temperature may affect the pressure and the controller may detect the change in Nunn [0060] "However, due to environmental changes (e.g., temperature, pressure of the air in the room) or possible mechanical failures (e.g., a leak) the pressure in the air mattress may change over time. Thus, the user may feel the need to increase the value to achieve the same pressure. In various examples, method 500 automatically adjust the pressure in the air mattress to maintain pressure within a specified range to compensate for these environmental and possible mechanical factors such that the when the user sleeps in the bed from night to night the bed maintains the same pressure."), and
“responsively determine if the increased pressure value for the mattress is above a selected sleeper-value, the selected sleeper-value being less than the maximum-target-pressure value; and responsively send instructions to the pressure adjuster to reduce the increased pressure value to a pressure corresponding to the selected sleeper-value.” (Nunn teaches that the baseline pressure correlates to the user set value in Nunn [0067] "At block 506, in various embodiments, the pressure of the bed is monitored (e.g., via the transducer of the air mattress) when it is indicated that no one is on the bed. This may be done, for example, by central controller 302. Central controller 302 may use a baseline pressure reading (e.g., the pressure that correlates to the user set value)"; Nunn teaches a user set pressure value of 0-100 i.e. the user may set the pressure setting to less than 100, the maximum value for firmness of the mattress in Nunn [0050] "In an example, the auto-fill pressure preference is a numerical value associated with a pressure of the air mattress to use when the auto-fill feature is engaged. The auto-fill pressure may be limited to a range (e.g., 0-100). For example, a “100” setting may be the maximum pressure allowed in the air mattress as indicated in a storage device of central controller 302 or firmness controller 304."; Nunn teaches that temperature may affect the pressure and the controller may detect the change and that the method will adjust pressure in within a range i.e. if the pressure is above the range, it will send instructions to reduce pressure in Nunn [0060] "However, due to environmental changes (e.g., temperature, pressure of the air in the room) or possible mechanical failures (e.g., a leak) the pressure in the air mattress may change over time. Thus, the user may feel the need to increase the value to achieve the same pressure. In various examples, method 500 automatically adjust the pressure in the air mattress to maintain pressure within a specified range to compensate for these environmental and possible mechanical factors such that the when the user sleeps in the bed from night to night the bed maintains the same pressure.").
Claim 12:
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 11, wherein the controller is further configured to: detect user bed entrance;” (Nunn teaches that pressure data may be used to determine whether a user is on the bed in Nunn [0053] "In an example, central controller 302 may detect user presence via gross pressure changes. For example, the central controller 302 and pressure transducer 46 (of FIG. 2) may be used to monitor the air pressure in the air mattress of bed 301. If the user sits or lies down on the air mattress, the air pressure in the air mattress changes, e.g., increases, due to the additional weight of the user, which results in a gross pressure change. Central controller 302 may determine whether the user is now on the bed based on the gross pressure change, e.g., over some time period. For example, by determining a rate of change of pressure, e.g., over one to ten minutes, and comparing the determined rate of change to a threshold value, central controller 302 may determine whether the user is now on the bed."), and
“determine that the user bed entrance caused an increase in the increased pressure value for the mattress; and responsively send instructions to the pressure adjuster to reduce the increased pressure value to a pressure corresponding to the selected sleeper-value.” (Nunn teaches determining whether the pressure is within a threshold of a baseline pressure, and if it is higher than the threshold it sends a signal to decrease pressure in Nunn [0071] "In various examples, assuming the conditions of the user preferences have been met, central controller 302 determines if the difference between the baseline reading and sampled reading has changed beyond a set threshold (e.g., 2 PSI). If the pressure exceeds the threshold, central controller 302 may send a signal to the pump to increase/decrease the pressure back to the baseline.").
Claim 13:
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: detect a decrease in the pressure value for the mattress as a result of an environmental change;” (Nunn teaches that temperature may affect the pressure and the controller may detect the change in order to counteract the change in Nunn [0060] "However, due to environmental changes (e.g., temperature, pressure of the air in the room) or possible mechanical failures (e.g., a leak) the pressure in the air mattress may change over time. Thus, the user may feel the need to increase the value to achieve the same pressure. In various examples, method 500 automatically adjust the pressure in the air mattress to maintain pressure within a specified range to compensate for these environmental and possible mechanical factors such that the when the user sleeps in the bed from night to night the bed maintains the same pressure."),
“detect user bed entrance; determine an increase in the pressure value for the mattress based on the user bed entrance;” (Nunn teaches that pressure data may be used to determine whether a user is on the bed in Nunn [0053] "In an example, central controller 302 may detect user presence via gross pressure changes. For example, the central controller 302 and pressure transducer 46 (of FIG. 2) may be used to monitor the air pressure in the air mattress of bed 301. If the user sits or lies down on the air mattress, the air pressure in the air mattress changes, e.g., increases, due to the additional weight of the user, which results in a gross pressure change. Central controller 302 may determine whether the user is now on the bed based on the gross pressure change, e.g., over some time period. For example, by determining a rate of change of pressure, e.g., over one to ten minutes, and comparing the determined rate of change to a threshold value, central controller 302 may determine whether the user is now on the bed."), and
“responsively determine if the increased pressure value for the mattress is less than a selected sleeper-value; and responsively send instructions to the pressure adjuster to increase the increased pressure value to a pressure corresponding to the selected sleeper-value.” (Nunn teaches determining whether the pressure is within a threshold of a baseline pressure, and if it is lower than the threshold, it sends a signal to increase pressure in Nunn [0071] "In various examples, assuming the conditions of the user preferences have been met, central controller 302 determines if the difference between the baseline reading and sampled reading has changed beyond a set threshold (e.g., 2 PSI). If the pressure exceeds the threshold, central controller 302 may send a signal to the pump to increase/decrease the pressure back to the baseline.").
Claim 14:
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 13, wherein the environmental change is a decrease in barometric pressure in an environment surrounding the bed.” (Nunn teaches that pressure of the air in the room may affect the pressure and the controller may detect the change in Nunn [0060] "However, due to environmental changes (e.g., temperature, pressure of the air in the room) or possible mechanical failures (e.g., a leak) the pressure in the air mattress may change over time. Thus, the user may feel the need to increase the value to achieve the same pressure. In various examples, method 500 automatically adjust the pressure in the air mattress to maintain pressure within a specified range to compensate for these environmental and possible mechanical factors such that the when the user sleeps in the bed from night to night the bed maintains the same pressure.").
Claim 15:
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 13, wherein the environmental change is a decrease in temperature in an environment surrounding the bed.” (Nunn teaches that temperature may affect the pressure and the controller may detect the change in Nunn [0060] "However, due to environmental changes (e.g., temperature, pressure of the air in the room) or possible mechanical failures (e.g., a leak) the pressure in the air mattress may change over time. Thus, the user may feel the need to increase the value to achieve the same pressure. In various examples, method 500 automatically adjust the pressure in the air mattress to maintain pressure within a specified range to compensate for these environmental and possible mechanical factors such that the when the user sleeps in the bed from night to night the bed maintains the same pressure.").
Claim 17:
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 13, wherein the environmental change is activation of a cooling routine in an environment surrounding the bed.” (Nunn teaches activation of a cooling routine, which would affect the temperature surrounding the mattress i.e. the environment surrounding the bed which would affect the pressure in Nunn [0032] "In various examples, temperature controller 308 is configured to increase, decrease, or maintain the temperature of a user. For example, a pad may be placed on top of or be part of the air mattress. Air may be pushed through the pad and vented to cool off a user of the bed.").
Claim 18
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 13, wherein the environmental change is activation of a cooling routine at the bed.” (Nunn teaches activation of a cooling routine, which would affect the temperature surrounding the mattress which would affect the pressure in Nunn [0032] "In various examples, temperature controller 308 is configured to increase, decrease, or maintain the temperature of a user. For example, a pad may be placed on top of or be part of the air mattress. Air may be pushed through the pad and vented to cool off a user of the bed.").
Claim 19
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 13, wherein the controller is further configured to detect the environmental change.” (Nunn teaches the temperature controller 308 receiving temperature readings i.e. environmental changes from the pad in Nunn [0032] "In various examples, temperature controller 308 is configured to increase, decrease, or maintain the temperature of a user. For example, a pad may be placed on top of or be part of the air mattress. Air may be pushed through the pad and vented to cool off a user of the bed. Conversely, the pad may include a heating element that may be used to keep the user warm. In various examples, temperature controller 308 receives temperature readings from the pad.").
Claim 20
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: determine a decrease in the pressure value for the mattress as a result of an environmental change;” (Nunn teaches that pressure is continuously monitored i.e. it will detect the decrease of pressure as a result of the environmental change in Nunn [0020] "Thus, providing a sufficient amount of time to allow the pressures within pump manifold 43 and chamber 14A or 14B to equalize may result in pressure readings that are accurate approximations of the actual pressure within air chamber 14A or 14B. In various examples, the pressure of 48A/B is continuously monitored using multiple pressure sensors"), and
“responsively determine if the decreased pressure value for the mattress is less than a selected sleeper-value; and responsively send instructions to the pressure adjuster to increase the decreased pressure value to a pressure corresponding to the selected sleeper-value.” (Nunn teaches determining whether the pressure is within a threshold of a baseline pressure, and if it is lower than the threshold, it sends a signal to increase pressure in Nunn [0071] "In various examples, assuming the conditions of the user preferences have been met, central controller 302 determines if the difference between the baseline reading and sampled reading has changed beyond a set threshold (e.g., 2 PSI). If the pressure exceeds the threshold, central controller 302 may send a signal to the pump to increase/decrease the pressure back to the baseline.").
Claim 21:
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: send instructions to the pressure adjuster to reduce the pressure of the mattress regardless of whether a responsive air feature is activated or deactivated when the pressure value for the mattress value is above the maximum-target-pressure value.” (Nunn teaches determining whether the pressure is within a threshold of a baseline pressure, and if it is exceeds the threshold, it sends a signal to decrease pressure i.e. regardless of what pressure the user has set the mattress to, it will reduce pressure when above the greatest user pressure setting in Nunn [0071] "In various examples, assuming the conditions of the user preferences have been met, central controller 302 determines if the difference between the baseline reading and sampled reading has changed beyond a set threshold (e.g., 2 PSI). If the pressure exceeds the threshold, central controller 302 may send a signal to the pump to increase/decrease the pressure back to the baseline.").
Claim 22:
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: determine whether a responsive air feature is activated or deactivated;” (Nunn teaches that a user may set preferences related to an auto-adjust method i.e. a responsive air feature in Nunn [0061] "At block 502, in various examples, user preferences related to the auto-adjust method are received at central controller 302. The preferences may be received from one or more of remotes 312, 314, and 316. For example, using an application running on smart phone app 312, a user interface (UI) may be presented to the user. The UI may include input indicia (check boxes, radio buttons, input forms, etc.) for the preferences related to the auto-adjust method. A user may interact with the input indicia to set the preferences."; Nunn teaches determining whether the responsive air feature is activated in Nunn [0063] "In an example, the time preference indicate one or more time periods of day when the auto-adjust feature can be used. For example, the user may indicate that from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM the auto-adjust feature can be used. Thus, if during the set time period that other auto-adjust conditions are met, then the air mattress may auto-adjust the pressure in the bed. If the conditions are otherwise met, but the current time of day is not within the user's defined period, auto-adjusting will not occur.”),
“responsively send instructions to the pressure adjuster to reduce the pressure of the mattress when (i) the responsive air feature is activated and (ii) the pressure value for the mattress is above the maximum-target-pressure value;” (Nunn teaches determining whether the responsive air feature is activated in Nunn [0063] "In an example, the time preference indicate one or more time periods of day when the auto-adjust feature can be used. For example, the user may indicate that from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM the auto-adjust feature can be used. Thus, if during the set time period that other auto-adjust conditions are met, then the air mattress may auto-adjust the pressure in the bed. If the conditions are otherwise met, but the current time of day is not within the user's defined period, auto-adjusting will not occur."; Nunn teaches determining whether the pressure is within a threshold of a baseline pressure, and if it is exceeds the threshold, it sends a signal to decrease pressure i.e. regardless of what pressure the user has set the mattress to, it will reduce pressure when above the maximum-target-pressure-value in Nunn [0071] "In various examples, assuming the conditions of the user preferences have been met, central controller 302 determines if the difference between the baseline reading and sampled reading has changed beyond a set threshold (e.g., 2 PSI). If the pressure exceeds the threshold, central controller 302 may send a signal to the pump to increase/decrease the pressure back to the baseline."), and
“and responsively send instructions to the pressure adjuster to reduce the pressure of the mattress when (i) the responsive air feature is deactivated and (ii) the pressure value for the mattress is above the maximum operational value.” (Nunn teaches determining whether the pressure is within a threshold of a baseline pressure, and if it is exceeds the threshold, it sends a signal to decrease pressure i.e. regardless of what pressure the user has set the mattress to, it will reduce pressure when above the maximum operational value, which is greater than the maximum-target-pressure-value in Nunn [0071] "In various examples, assuming the conditions of the user preferences have been met, central controller 302 determines if the difference between the baseline reading and sampled reading has changed beyond a set threshold (e.g., 2 PSI). If the pressure exceeds the threshold, central controller 302 may send a signal to the pump to increase/decrease the pressure back to the baseline.").
Claim 23:
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: determine if the pressure value (Gunn teaches a maximum safe pressure ratio in Gunn [Column 12 lines 23-32] "The maximum safe pressure ratio, PR2, is calculated by the multiply function 178, and is compared to the actual ratio, PR, in the surge avoidance function 177. The surge avoidance portion 148, as flowcharted in FIG. 21, permits a quick reset of the blowoff valve 52 to a more open position if the actual compressor pressure ratio rises above the target value and reaches the maximum safe operating pressure ratio, as explained in further detail hereinafter."; Gunn teaches that if the pressure ratio increases past target pressure PR1 and maximum safe pressure ratio PR2, it will open the blowoff valve in order to reduce the pressure in Gunn [Column 7 lines 39-47] "If some external event, such as the quick closing of the service valve 48, causes compressor pressure ratio to increase above the target value of PR1 to as high as PR2 (see FIG. 11), the controller 130 will sense this increase in pressure ratio and cause the blowoff valve 52 to quickly open to some higher value. Opening the blowoff valve reduces the pressure of the working fluid at the discharge port 30 thereby reducing the pressure ratio."; Gunn Fig. 11 [As shown above in claim 1] teaches PR2 being greater than PR1.), and
“The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: determine if the pressure value for the mattress is above the maximum (Nunn teaches determining whether the pressure is within a threshold of a baseline pressure, and if it is exceeds the threshold, it sends a signal to decrease pressure i.e. when above the target pressure, it reduces the pressure of the mattress in Nunn [0071] "In various examples, assuming the conditions of the user preferences have been met, central controller 302 determines if the difference between the baseline reading and sampled reading has changed beyond a set threshold (e.g., 2 PSI). If the pressure exceeds the threshold, central controller 302 may send a signal to the pump to increase/decrease the pressure back to the baseline.").
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nunn et al. (US20190231084A1), in view of Gunn et al. (US5306116A), further in view of Sayadi et al. (US20200205580A1).
Claim 16:
Nunn in view of Gunn teaches “The system of claim 13,” as described above.
Nunn and Gunn do not appear to explicitly teach “wherein the environmental change is a change in humidity in an environment surrounding the bed.” However, Sayadi does teach this claim limitation (Sayadi teaches a humidity sensor in Sayadi [0200] "The other sensors 2016 can communicate with the UI 1906 through one or more application program interfaces (APIs) that serve as an integration layer to request, access, retrieve, store, or modify data related to the other sensors 2016. Data transmitted through the APIs can include, but is not limited to user-data such as alarms, calendar events, personal medical history, and medication information. The data can also include, but is not limited to data sensed about the user and environment such as temperature readings, humidity, air-quality, exercise, steps, calories consumed or burned, weight, sound, light, user interactions with a device like a phone, health related data (from medical devices or non-medical devices) such as CPAPs, PPGs, SP02s, blood pressures, or blood sugars. The data can also include, but is not limited to, geographic data such as weather, lunar phase, humidity, heat index, wind, earthquake activity, and disease epidemics.").
Nunn, Gunn, and Sayadi are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of controlling pressure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Nunn, Gunn, and Sayadi before him/her, to modify the teachings of an Inflatable Air Mattress Autofill and Off Bed Pressure Adjustment of Nunn modified to include the maximum safe pressure ratio and reduction of pressure if the detected pressure is greater than the maximum safe pressure ratio of Gunn to include the humidity sensing of Sayadi because adding the Home automation with features to improve sleep of Sayadi would allow for determining sleep quality and provide insight on improving sleep quality as described in Sayadi [0219] “Data is processed 2604 for analysis. For example, a strict subset of all available data may be identified and used for analysis, while other data is not used for analysis. Data that is identified may include data that was previously identified as useful for determining sleep quality or providing insights or automated behavior that is designed to improve the user's sleep. These determinations include, but are not limited to, the result of machine learning processes performed for the user or on population and subpopulation studies.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Flocard et al. (US20080109964A1) teaches an inflatable mattress that can withstand a higher pressure than it is inflated to during modes of operation in Flocard [0060] “The maximum inflation pressure is a target pressure that is typically higher than the pressures to which layer 20 and/or underlays 24, 26 are inflated during other modes of operation of system 10 and it should be understood that layer 20 and underlays 24, 26 are capable of withstanding even higher pressures than the one referred to as the maximum inflation pressure in this disclosure."
Mahoney (US20100206051A1) teaches an inflatable mattress that a user may set a pressure to the maximum pressure the chamber is programmed to withstand in Mahoney [0034] "The sequence begins at step 102 when start button 30 on remote control 22 is actuated in order to increase the pressure in chamber 14 to a predetermined pressure value. Once again, the predetermined pressure value may be the maximum pressure (or firmness) that chamber 14 is programmed to withstand, or some other pressure value that is less than the maximum value."
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Z.A.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116