DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant’s amendments, filed on 1/21/26 and on 2/6/26, the allowance of the claims has been withdrawn. And upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art as below.
Double Patenting
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,616,788. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claims are anticipated by the reference claim(s). Claims 1, 6 and 9 of the Patent contains every element of claim 2 of the instant application as shown in the table below and as such anticipate(s) the claim of the instant application.
Claim 2 is rejected similarly as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,110,614.
“A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). “ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
Instant Application
Patent No. 11,616,788
2. A computer-implemented method for performing domain name system resolution, comprising: obtaining, by a parent zone authoritative name server, a resiliency policy for one or more domains;
receiving, at the parent zone authoritative name server, a resiliency policy inquiry from a domain name system (DNS) recursive resolver; and
transmitting, from the parent zone authoritative name server, the resiliency policy to the DNS recursive resolver,
wherein the resiliency policy permits the DNS recursive resolver to adjust one or more parameters of one or more of DNS records stored in the DNS recursive resolver.
1. A computer-implemented method of resolving a Domain Name System (DNS) query for a domain name record, the method comprising: enabling a capability offered by a resolver to be determined by a relying party, wherein the capability relates to a predetermined set of domains; obtaining the DNS query at the resolver; determining, by the resolver, whether the DNS query is for a domain within the predetermined set of domains; and resolving the DNS query using a first recursion process when the DNS query is for the domain within the predetermined set of domains.
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising: determining whether to provide the first recursion process or the second recursion process, wherein the determining comprises consulting a stored policy.
9. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the predetermined set of domains comprises a zone of related domains.
---
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-11 and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ben-Shaul et al. (2002/0010798).
As per claim 2, Ben-Shaul et al. teaches a computer-implemented method for performing domain name system resolution, comprising: obtaining, by a parent zone authoritative name server, a resiliency policy for one or more domains [paragraphs 0142 and 0146];
receiving, at the parent zone authoritative name server, a resiliency policy inquiry from a domain name system (DNS) recursive resolver [paragraphs 0360 and 0362]; and
transmitting, from the parent zone authoritative name server, the resiliency policy to the DNS recursive resolver [paragraphs 0361 and 0364],
wherein the resiliency policy permits the DNS recursive resolver to adjust one or more parameters of one or more of DNS records stored in the DNS recursive resolver [paragraphs 0363-0364 and page 30, Listings 13-15].
As per claim 3, Ben-Shaul et al. teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the resiliency policy comprises information that specifies authorized time-to-live (TTL) extensions for DNS records associated with a zone which a zone authoritative name server is responsible, wherein the zone comprises the one or more domains [paragraph 0316].
As per claim 4, Ben-Shaul et al. teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the resiliency policy specifies a single duration by which to adjust the one or more parameters [paragraph 0361].
As per claim 5, Ben-Shaul et al. teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the resiliency policy specifies a plurality of durations by which to adjust the one or more parameters, wherein each duration is associated with a time-to-live (TTL) of one or more DNS records [paragraph 0172].
As per claim 6, Ben-Shaul et al. teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising: receiving, at the parent zone authoritative name server, an inquiry from the DNS recursive resolver requesting status of a zone authoritative name server, and providing, at the parent zone authoritative name server and in reply to the inquiry, information of a third party notification service that provides status of the zone authoritative name server [paragraph 0176].
As per claim 7, Ben-Shaul et al. teaches a system for performing domain name system resolution, comprising: a memory storing instructions; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, wherein, when the instructions are executed by the one or more processors, the instructions configure the one or more processors to perform a method comprising: obtaining, by a parent zone authoritative name server, a resiliency policy for one or more domains [paragraphs 0142 and 0146];
receiving, at the parent zone authoritative name server, a resiliency policy inquiry [paragraphs 0360 and 0362]; and
transmitting, from the parent zone authoritative name server, the resiliency policy [paragraphs 0361 and 0364],
wherein the resiliency policy permits a recursive resolver to adjust one or more parameters of one or more of domain name system (DNS) records stored in the recursive resolver [paragraphs 0363-0364 and page 30, Listings 13-15].
As per claim 22, Ben-Shaul et al. teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the resiliency policy is determined by the zone authoritative name server [paragraph 0142].
As per claim 23, Ben-Shaul et al. teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the one or more resiliency parameters comprise one or more time-to-live (TTL) parameters of the one or more DNS records stored in the DNS recursive resolver [paragraph 0174].
As per claim 24, Ben-Shaul et al. teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 23, wherein the resiliency policy specifies a single duration to extend the one or more TTL parameters of the one or more DNS records stored in the DNS recursive resolver [paragraph 0176].
As per claim 25, Ben-Shaul et al. teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 23, wherein the resiliency policy specifies multiple durations to extend the one or more TTL parameters of the one or more DNS records stored in the DNS recursive resolver [paragraph 0182].
As per claim 26, Ben-Shaul et al. teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 23, wherein the one or more DNS records are stored in a cache of the DNS recursive resolver [paragraph 0119].
Claims 8-11 have similar limitations as to the rejected claims above therefore they are being rejected under the same rationale.
There are prior art made of record not relied upon but is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached.
Conclusion
Ranodhi N. Serrao
/RANODHI SERRAO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444