DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 21, 24-25, 27-28, 30-31, 33-39, and 41-42 are currently pending. Claims 22-23, 26, 29, 32, and 40 have been cancelled. Claims 21, 24-25, 27-28, 30, and 38 are currently amended. No new subject matter is added.
Response to Arguments
The claims are newly rejected in view of Hu et al. (EP 2821095 B1) and Toth (WO 2012078784 A1). Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent Claims 21, 30, 38 and their dependents have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 24-25, 27, 30-31, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke (WO 2019113091 A1) in view of Hu et al. (EP 2821095 B1), hereinafter referred to as “Hu” and in further view of Toth et al. (WO 2012078784 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Toth”.
Regarding Claim 21, Locke teaches a filter adaptor (in-line connector 140, see Figure 4 and 7), comprising:
a body that defines an internal passageway (internal passageway of connector 140) disposed between an inlet (connector end adjacent to wound dressing 110, see Figure 7) and an outlet (connector end adjacent to pump unit 106, see Figure 7), the passageway configured to permit passage of a fluid in a first direction defined by the inlet and the outlet (direction of fluid flowing through the connector to pump, see Figure 7);
a filter (filter 144) disposed within the passageway (see Figure 7); and
a fluid collection space (space in the connector 140) defined between outer sidewall of the body (body of connector 140) and the filter (144) disposed therein;, the visual indicator comprising:
a first color-changing line configured to provide a first visual indication of a first condition (pressure indicator 142 may include a sealed chamber configured to expand and contract responsive to the pressure within tube 104; sealed chamber can be coupled to a colored slider or other visual indicator that moves over a window when the sealed chamber expands and contracts, see Paragraph [0061]); wherein the visual indicator is configured to extend circumferentially at least partly around the filter (pressure indicator 142 extends partly around the connector 140 housing filter 144, see Figure 4).
However, Locke does not explicitly disclose oriented to define a volumetric direction that is different from the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the filter to be oriented at an angle to define a volumetric direction that is different from the first direction which read on the prior art expect with regard to the angle of the filter would not have modified the operation of the device (filtering fluids through the connector). The particular placement of the filter would be obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.). See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Locke teaches all of the limitations as discussed above and further teaches a visual indicator that is sealed circular chamber extended on the outside of the connector. However, Locke does not explicitly disclose a see-through outer sidewall of the body; a visual indicator retained within the fluid collection space by a circumferential collar; a second color-changing line configured to provide a second visual indication of a second condition; and wherein the visual indicator is at least partly cylindrical.
Hu teaches a reduced pressure treatment system (800, see Figure 8A/B) intended to deliver and maintain reduced pressure to body surfaces for application of reduced pressure wound therapy (see Abstract) comprising: a reduced pressure indicator (801) with a see-through outer sidewall of the body (the elastomeric material 804 when the material is transparent or translucent, see Paragraph [0054]); a visual indicator (direct contact of the elastomeric material with the tubing provides a physical and visual indication of reduced pressure; and the tubing in the indicator enclosure comprises regions of color or pigment, see Paragraph [0054]) retained within the fluid collection space by a circumferential collar (retained on outer surface of tubing 103); and wherein the visual indicator is at least partly cylindrical (the tubing in the indicator enclosure comprises regions of color or pigment, see Paragraph [0054]).
Locke and Hu are analogous art because both disclose a reduced pressure treatment system for negative pressure wound therapy comprising a visual indicator.
Hu teaches it may be advantageous to have an indicator to show whether reduced pressure is present in the system or has been compromised, for example by a leak in the dressing and there exists a need for a simple, inexpensive indicator to inform clinicians or patients whether reduced pressure is present at the wound or not (see Paragraph [0023]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the filter adaptor of Locke and further include a see-through outer sidewall of the body; a visual indicator retained within the fluid collection space by a circumferential collar in the fluid collection space; and wherein the visual indicator is at least partly cylindrical, as taught by Hu.
Locke and Hu teaches all of the limitations as discussed above and Hu further teaches a second color-changing line (indicator enclosure comprises regions of color or pigment, see Paragraph [0054]). However, Locke and Hu do not explicitly disclose a second color-changing line configured to provide a second visual indication of a second condition.
Toth teaches a stand-alone system for assessing wound exudates from the wound of a patient (see Abstract; Figure 1A) comprising an adaptor (wound exudate system 14) that has a visual indicator (output device 19) configured to provide a visual indication regarding a selected condition (see Paragraph [0042]-[0045]) and a second visual indicator (output device 19 can be indicators 27, see Figure 2) configured to provide a second visual indication regarding a second condition (output device can receive data from sensors 20 to provide an visual alert in the form of a visual display, see Paragraph [0045]).
Locke, Hu, and Toth are analogous art because all disclose an adaptor having an indicator used for fluid flow lines.
Toth teaches the adaptor (14) is advantageous in that it provides a functional add-on approach for monitoring a wound already being treated by a wound therapy device. In instances when a wound therapy device, such as an NPWT, is already in use and the wound therapy device does not provide wound monitoring, the system (14) may provide a useful monitoring and treatment solution (see Paragraph [0046]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the visual indicators of Modified Locke and replace them with the visual indicators including a second color-changing line configured to provide a second visual indication of a second condition, as taught by Toth.
Regarding Claim 24, Modified Locke teach all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 21 and Toth further teaches wherein the first color-changing line relates the need for dressing change (certain threshold measurements may necessitate a device 19 capable to provide an a visual display, see Paragraph [0045]; i.e. visual alert or indicator for a dressing change based on a pressure threshold measurement); and
wherein the second color-changing line relates to blockage (certain threshold measurements may necessitate a device capable to provide an visual alert in the form of a visual display, see Paragraph [0045], i.e. system 18 is configured monitor flow rate, see Paragraph [0048]; it is to be understood that a flow rate threshold can determine blockage).
Regarding Claim 25, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 21 and Hu further teaches the visual indicator further comprises a third color-changing line (indicator enclosure comprises regions of color or pigment, see Paragraph [0054]; therefore having multiple regions of color changing lines). However, Modified Lock does not explicitly disclose wherein the third color-changing line is configured to provide a visual indication regarding a pH of a fluid passing through the filter adaptor.
Toth teaches a stand-alone system for assessing wound exudates from the wound of a patient (see Abstract; Figure 1A) comprising an adaptor (wound exudate system 14) that has a visual indicator (output device 19 displaying different information) configured to provide a visual indication regarding a pH of a fluid passing through the filter adaptor (output device 19 can provide a visual alert based on sensors 20, see Paragraph [0045]; the sensors 20 may be of any type commonly known in the art, including but not limited to pressure, temperature, and pH sensors, see Paragraph [0042]).
Locke, Hu, and Toth are analogous art because all disclose an adaptor used for fluid flow lines.
Toth teaches the adaptor (14) is advantageous in that it provides a functional add-on approach for monitoring a wound already being treated by a wound therapy device. In instances when a wound therapy device, such as an NPWT, is already in use and the wound therapy device does not provide wound monitoring, the system (14) may provide a useful monitoring and treatment solution (see Paragraph [0046]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the third color changing line of Modified Locke and further include wherein the third color-changing line is configured to provide a visual indication regarding a pH of a fluid passing through the filter adaptor, as taught by Toth.
Regarding Claim 27, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above claim 21, and Toth further teaches wherein the first color-changing line and the second color changing line are configured to change color to provide the first visual indication and the second visual indication (indicators 27 may be visual indicators when a particular event has been detected, see Paragraph [0061]; including indicators that change color).
Regarding Claim 30, Locke teaches a filter adaptor (in-line connector 140, see Figure 4 and 7) configured for use in a negative pressure wound therapy system (see Abstract), the filter adaptor comprising: a tubular body (tube 104, see Figure 7) defining an internal passageway (an internal volume of tube 104 acts as a negative pressure reservoir 148m see Paragraph [0068]) that is disposed between an inlet (connector end adjacent to wound dressing 110, see Figure 7) and an outlet (connector end adjacent to pump unit 106, see Figure 7), wherein the internal passageway is configured to permit passage of a fluid in a first direction defined by the inlet and the outlet (see arrows in Figure 7); and a filter (filter 144) disposed in the internal passageway such that the fluid flows through the filter (see Figure 7); and
a visual indicator configured to provide a visual indication regarding a selected condition (pressure indicator 142), the visual indicator comprising:
a first color-changing line configured to provide a first visual indication of a first condition (pressure indicator 142 may include a sealed chamber configured to expand and contract responsive to the pressure within tube 104; sealed chamber can be coupled to a colored slider or other visual indicator that moves over a window when the sealed chamber expands and contracts, see Paragraph [0061]).
However, Locke does not explicitly teach a planar filter.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Locke to have a planar filter since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative filter shape of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative filter shape would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). In the instant case, the device of Locke would not operate differently with the claimed filter shape and since the shape of the filter is used for the purpose of filtering fluids through the connector. The device would function appropriately having the claimed shape. Further, applicant places no criticality on the shape of the device claimed, indicating simply that the filter “can have” various shapes (specification pp. [0033]).
Locke teaches all of the limitations as discussed above and Locke further teaches the filter disposed in the internal passageway such that the fluid flows through the filter (see Figure 7). However, Locke does not explicitly disclose a filter disposed in the internal passageway such that the fluid flows through the filter in a volumetric direction that is different from the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the filter to be oriented at an angle to define a volumetric direction that is different from the first direction which read on the prior art expect with regard to the angle of the filter would not have modified the operation of the device (filtering fluids through the connector). The particular placement of the filter would be obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.). See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Locke teaches all of the limitations as discussed above. However, Locke a second color-changing line configured to provide a second visual indication of a second condition.
Toth teaches a stand-alone system for assessing wound exudates from the wound of a patient (see Abstract; Figure 1A) comprising an adaptor (wound exudate system 14) that has a visual indicator (output device 19) configured to provide a visual indication regarding a selected condition (see Paragraph [0042]-[0045]) and a second visual indicator (output device 19 can be indicators 27, see Figure 2) configured to provide a second visual indication regarding a second condition (output device can receive data from sensors 20 to provide an visual alert in the form of a visual display, see Paragraph [0045]).
Locke and Toth are analogous art because all disclose an adaptor having an indicator used for fluid flow lines.
Toth teaches the adaptor (14) is advantageous in that it provides a functional add-on approach for monitoring a wound already being treated by a wound therapy device. In instances when a wound therapy device, such as an NPWT, is already in use and the wound therapy device does not provide wound monitoring, the system (14) may provide a useful monitoring and treatment solution (see Paragraph [0046]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the visual indicators of Modified Locke and replace them with the visual indicators including a second color-changing line configured to provide a second visual indication of a second condition, as taught by Toth.
Locke and Toth teaches all of the limitations as discussed above. However, Locke and Toth do not explicitly disclose wherein the visual indictor is retained in the internal passageway by a circumferential collar.
Hu teaches a reduced pressure treatment system (800, see Figure 8A/B) intended to deliver and maintain reduced pressure to body surfaces for application of reduced pressure wound therapy (see Abstract) comprising: a visual indicator (direct contact of the elastomeric material with the tubing provides a physical and visual indication of reduced pressure; and the tubing in the indicator enclosure comprises regions of color or pigment, see Paragraph [0054]) retained within the fluid collection space by a circumferential collar (retained on outer surface of tubing 103).
Locke, Toth, and Hu are analogous art because both disclose a reduced pressure treatment system for negative pressure wound therapy comprising a visual indicator.
Hu teaches it may be advantageous to have an indicator to show whether reduced pressure is present in the system or has been compromised, for example by a leak in the dressing and there exists a need for a simple, inexpensive indicator to inform clinicians or patients whether reduced pressure is present at the wound or not (see Paragraph [0023]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the visual indictor of Locke and further include the visual indicator retained within the fluid collection space by a circumferential collar in the fluid collection space, as taught by Hu.
Regarding Claim 31, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 30 and Locke further teaches wherein the internal passageway comprises:
an inlet passageway in fluid communication with the inlet (see below); and
an outlet passageway in fluid communication with the outlet (see below); and
wherein the planar filter is positioned between the inlet passageway and the outlet passageway such that the fluid flows through the planar filter (as described in claim 1) in the volumetric direction (filter 144 is positioned between the inlet and outlet passageways, see Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 36, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 30 and Locke further teaches the apparatus further comprising a conduit comprising an internal lumen (internal lumen of connector 140, see Figure 7);
wherein the tubular body is positioned within the internal lumen (tube 104 positioned within connector 140, see Figure 7)
Claims 28, 33-35, 37, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke Hu, and Toth, as applied in claim 21 and 30, and further in view of Ciccone (US 10350401 B2).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke (WO 2019113091 A1) in view of Ciccone et al. (US 10350401 B2), hereinafter referred to as “Ciccone”.
Regarding Claim 28, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 21. However, Modified Lock does not explicitly disclose wherein the body comprises: a housing component comprising the inlet; a body component comprising the outlet; and wherein the housing component and the body component are releasably coupled to one another.
Ciccone teaches a connector system for releasably connecting together tubes (see Abstract; Figures 1-3H) wherein the body (1) comprises:
a housing component comprising the inlet (female coupler 4 having a inlet 61, see Figure 3A-H);
a body component comprising the outlet (male coupler 6 having outlet 62); and
wherein the housing component and the body component are releasably coupled to one another (female and male coupler can be attached via catch assembly 2 having a catch 14 engaged with the catch-receiving element 15 to fix an axial position of the female coupler 4 in relation to the male coupler 6, thereby achieving the connected condition of the connector system 1, see Col 3 ln 32-36; a release element 32 is used to disengage catch 14, see Col. 5 ln 56-61, Figure 3H).
Locke, Hu, Toth, and Ciccone are all analogous art because all teach an adaptor used for fluid flow lines.
Ciccone teaches a device to provide a connector system for releasably connecting together tubes, for example medical tubing and the connector system can be relatively easily and securely connected, and yet relatively easily intentionally disconnected (see Col. 1 ln 12-13; Col. 3 ln 4-6). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the adaptor of Modified Locke and further include wherein the body is divided into a housing and body component releasably coupled to one another, as taught by Ciccone.
Regarding Claim 33, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 30. However, Modified Locke does not explicitly disclose wherein the tubular body further comprises: an inlet connector defining the inlet; and an outlet connector defining the outlet.
Ciccone teaches a connector system for releasably connecting together tubes (see Abstract; Figures 1-3H) wherein a tubular body (1) further comprises:
an inlet connector defining the inlet; and
an outlet connector defining the outlet (connector system first and/or second ends 61,62 can be configured as a luer lock fitting, a threaded fitting which can be threaded externally or internally, or any conventional or non-conventional end fitting which may be useful for coupling a tube 3 to a connector system end 61,62, see Col. 8 ln 41-46).
Locke, Hu, Toth, and Ciccone are all analogous art because all teach an adaptor used for fluid flow lines.
Ciccone teaches a device to provide a connector system for releasably connecting together tubes, for example medical tubing and the connector system can be relatively easily and securely connected, and yet relatively easily intentionally disconnected (see Col. 1 ln 12-13; Col. 3 ln 4-6). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the adaptor of Modified Locke and further include wherein the tubular body comprised an inlet connector and outlet connector, as taught by Ciccone.
Regarding Claim 34, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations of claim 33 and Ciccone further teaches wherein at least one of the inlet connector or the outlet connector comprises a threaded luer connector (first and/or second ends 61,62 can be configured as a threaded fitting, see Col. 8 ln 41-46).
Regarding Claim 35, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations of claim 33 and Ciccone further teaches
an inlet conduit removably coupled to the inlet connector (tube 3 connected to first end 61 may be luer lock fitting or threaded fitting, see Col. 8 ln 41-46; luer lock fittings or threaded fittings can be removably coupled); and
an outlet conduit removably coupled to the outlet connector (tube 3 connected to first end 61 may be luer lock fitting or threaded fitting, see Col. 8 ln 41-46; luer lock fittings or threaded fittings can be removably coupled).
Regarding Claim 37, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations of claim 36. However, Modified Locke does not explicitly disclose a seal that forces fluid flowing through the conduit to travel through the internal passageway.
Ciccone teaches a connector system for releasably connecting together tubes (see Abstract; Figures 1-3H) wherein the body (1) comprises a seal (connector system ends 61 and 62, see Figure 2A) that forces fluid flowing through the conduit to travel through the internal passageway (a first tube can be coupled to connector system first end (61) and a second tube can be coupled to the connector system second end (62), wherein the connector system (1) functions to fluidically connect the first and second tubes via barbs to form a fluid flow path, see Col. 8 ln 29-40).
Locke, Hu, Toth, and Ciccone are all analogous art because all teach an adaptor used for fluid flow lines.
Ciccone teaches wherein the connector system functions to fluidically connect the first and second tubes. (see Col. 8 ln 39-40). Accordingly, It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the adaptor of Modified Locke and further include a seal that forces fluid flowing through the conduit to travel through the internal passageway., as taught by Ciccone.
Regarding Claim 42, Modified Locke teaches all of the limitations of claim 33. However Modified Locke does not explicitly disclose wherein the outlet connector has an external diameter in a range of about 3mm to about 15mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Modified Locke to have an outlet connector with an external diameter in a range of about 3mm to about 15mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Modified Locke would not operate differently with the claimed diameter and since the outlet connector is intended to couple to a tubing with an approximate largest diameter of 15mm the device would function appropriately having the claimed diameter. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the diameter “is from about” 3 mm to about 15 mm (specification pp. [0005]).
Claims 38-39 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Offer et al. (US 4166792 A), hereinafter referred to as “Offer” in view of Toth (WO 2012078784 A1) and in further view of Ciccone (US 10350401 B2).
Regarding Claim 38, Offer teaches a filter adaptor filter assembly 2), comprising:
a first component (inlet end portion 4) defining a first port (inlet 40), the first component comprising a shaft (tube 6) including a hole (opening 7);
a second component (outlet end portion 5) defining a second port (outlet 43), the second component comprising a tubular wall (support washer 18) in which at least a portion of the shaft is received (receiving tube 6, see Figure 1); and
a circumferential collar (a perforated element outer shell 21),
a tubular filter (filter 14 comprising annular filter medium 20, see Figure 1) positioned between the shaft and the tubular wall (see Figure 1); wherein fluid flow in a first direction is defined by the first port and the second port (fluid flows in the lateral direction indicated by arrows, see Figure 1); and
wherein the hole (7) is configured to permit fluid to flow through the tubular filter (14) in a volumetric direction that is different from the first direction (filter 14 comprises medium 20 which is annular, see Col. 2 ln 35-44; therefore fluid is forced to flow radially outwardly through filter medium 20 into cavity 42 then flows substantially laterally, relative to the axis of tube 6 through outlet openings 8, see Col. 3 ln 8-17).
Offer teaches all of the limitations as discussed above. However, Offer does not explicitly disclose a visual indicator retained between the first component and the second component, the visual indicator comprising: a first color-changing line configured to provide a first visual indication of a first condition; and a second color-changing line configured to provide a second visual indication of a second condition.
Toth teaches a stand-alone system for assessing wound exudates from the wound of a patient (see Abstract; Figure 1A) comprising an adaptor (wound exudate system 14) that has a visual indicator (output device 19) configured to provide a visual indicator retained between the first component and the second component (within the inlet and outlet of attachment element 21, see Figure 2) the visual indicator comprising: a first color-changing line configured to provide a first visual indication of a first condition (the system 14 may optionally contain one or more light sources 22 and detectors and or sensors 20 for emitting and detecting light at various wavelengths, see Paragraph [0042]-[0045]); and a second color-changing line configured to provide a second visual indication of a second condition (the system 14 may optionally contain one or more light sources 22 and detectors and or sensors 20 for emitting and detecting light at various wavelengths, see Paragraph [0042]-[0045]).
Offer and Toth are analogous art because all disclose an adaptor used for fluid flow lines.
Toth teaches the adaptor (14) is advantageous in that it provides a functional add-on approach for monitoring a wound already being treated by a wound therapy device. In instances when a wound therapy device, such as an NPWT, is already in use and the wound therapy device does not provide wound monitoring, the system (14) may provide a useful monitoring and treatment solution (see Paragraph [0046]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the adaptor of Offer and further include visual indicators including a second color-changing line configured to provide a second visual indication of a second condition, as taught by Toth.
Offer and Toth teaches all of the limitations as discussed above. However, Offer and Toth does not explicitly disclose wherein the first component and the second component are releasably coupled to one another.
Ciccone teaches a connector system for releasably connecting together tubes (see Abstract; Figures 1-3H) wherein the body (1) comprises:
a first component comprising the inlet (female coupler 4 having a inlet 61, see Figure 3A-H);
a second component comprising the outlet (male coupler 6 having outlet 62); and
wherein the first component and the second component are releasably coupled to one another (female and male coupler can be attached via catch assembly 2 having a catch 14 engaged with the catch-receiving element 15 to fix an axial position of the female coupler 4 in relation to the male coupler 6, thereby achieving the connected condition of the connector system 1, see Col 3 ln 32-36; a release element 32 is used to disengage catch 14, see Col. 5 ln 56-61, Figure 3H).
Offer, Toth, and Ciccone are all analogous art because all teach an adaptor used for fluid flow lines.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the adaptor of Modified Offer and further include wherein the body is divided into a first and second component releasably coupled to one another, as taught by Ciccone. Ciccone teaches a device to provide a connector system for releasably connecting together tubes, for example medical tubing and the connector system can be relatively easily and securely connected, and yet relatively easily intentionally disconnected (see Col. 1 ln 12-13; Col. 3 ln 4-6).
Regarding Claim 39, Modified Offer teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 38 and Offer further teaches wherein the hole (7) is formed on a circumferential wall of the shaft (see Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 41, Modified Offer teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 38 and Ciccone further teaches wherein the first component and the second component are separable from one another (female and male coupler can be attached via catch assembly 2 having a catch 14 engaged with the catch-receiving element 15 to fix an axial position of the female coupler 4 in relation to the male coupler 6, thereby achieving the connected condition of the connector system 1, see Col 3 ln 32-36; a release element 32 is used to disengage catch 14, see Col. 5 ln 56-61, Figure 3H).
Conclusion
/ERIC RASSAVONG/ (5/7/2026)Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/CATHARINE L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781