DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a control device for executing temperature control” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishibashi (US 2016/0200214 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ishibashi discloses an apparatus comprising: a plurality of battery modules each including a battery and connected in parallel to each other (paragraph 8); and a control unit 11 in bidirectional communication with both the battery control unit 101 and the battery control unit 201 (paragraph 52), wherein the control unit 11 can execute temperature control on the batteries (paragraphs 91 & 92) wherein the battery modules include a first battery unit including an LFP battery (paragraph 37), and a second battery unit including a ternary battery (paragraph 38). The Office interprets the limitation of “when a temperature of the battery management system is equal to or lower than a reference temperature, the control unit executes first temperature control such that a temperature of the LFP battery is higher than a temperature of the ternary battery” as a functional recitation for the control unit. Structure capable of performing this function is sufficient to meet the limitation. Ishibashi discloses a heating unit 131 associated with the controller and LFP battery (paragraph 92) and a temperature measuring unit 123 associated with the control unit (paragraph 91). See MPEP 2114 IV.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Ishibashi discloses that the control unit can increase charge for the battery units (paragraph 120). See MPEP 2114 IV.
Regarding claim 4, Ishibashi discloses a heating unit 131 associated with the control unit and LFP battery (paragraph 92) and a temperature measuring unit 123 associated with the control unit (paragraph 91). See MPEP 2114 IV.
Regarding claim 5, Ishibashi discloses a heating unit 131 associated with the control unit and LFP battery (paragraph 92) and a temperature measuring unit 125 associated with the control unit (paragraph 78). See MPEP 2114 IV.
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725