DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogata et al. (JP 2015195191A, machine translation, provided in the IDS received on 26 November 2024, is used for rejection below) in view of Lee et al. (KR 102729830B1, English equivalent US20240063476, provided in the IDS received on 26 August 2024, is used for the rejection below).
As to claim 1, Ogata discloses a power storage device [0009] comprising:
an electrode body [0013]; and
an exterior body that accommodates the electrode body (figure 1, exterior material 1) and that is made of a laminate film (figure 1, exterior material 1), wherein:
the laminate film includes a metal layer (figure 1, intermediate layer 5, [0060]), a resin layer laminated on an inner surface of the metal layer facing the electrode body (innermost layer 6, [0060]), and a protective layer laminated on an outer surface of the metal layer opposite the inner surface (figure 1, outermost layer 4); and
a through hole penetrating the metal layer in a thickness direction is provided in the metal layer (figure 1, hole 2); wherein:
the laminate film further includes a resin portion disposed in the through hole (figure 1, embedded portion 7, [0063]).
However, Ogata does not disclose wherein the diameter of the through hole disposed through the metal layer of the laminate film is 3 mm or more and 10 mm or less, or wherein the protective layer covers the through hole.
Lee discloses a power storage device having a through hole (figure 2, degassing hole 113a) disposed through a metal layer in the laminate film that has a diameter of 1 mm to 9 mm [0025]. The range of 1 mm to 9 mm of the degassing hole in Lee includes the range of 3 mm or more and 10 mm or less diameter disclosed within the present application, and is used to facilitate diffusion of gas out of the power storage device [0027]. Lee additionally discloses wherein the protective layer covers the through hole (figure 2, nylon layer 112, [0066-0067]) to prevent electrolyte from leaking from the battery.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power storage device disclosed within Ogata to further include that through hole extending through the metal layer has a diameter between 3mm and 10mm to facilitate gas diffusion and that the protective layer covers the through hole to prevent electrolyte from leaking out as disclosed by Lee.
As to claim 3, modified Ogata discloses the power storage device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the resin portion includes a resin material of a kind different from a material used for the resin layer [0063-0064]. Ogata discloses that the embedded portion 7 can be formed from polyolefin resins such as polyethylene and polypropylene while the innermost layer 6 can be formed from polyethylene, polypropylene, and ethylen-propylen copolymers to allow gas to diffuse through the laminate film. As such, Ogata teaches that the resin portion and the resin layer can be formed from different resins and still facilitate diffusion of the gas through the laminar film.
As to claim 4, modified Ogata discloses the power storage device of claim 3, and further discloses a resin material having a lower moisture permeability than the material used for the resin layer [0063-0064]. Ogata discloses that the embedded portion 7 and the innermost layer 6 can each be constructed from polyethylene or polypropylene while maintaining the diffusion of gas out of the laminate film. As polyethylene and polypropylene are different polymers with different moisture permeabilities, and can be used interchangeably for the embedded portion and the innermost layer, Ogata discloses where the resin material used for the resin portion can have a lower moisture permeability than the resin material used for the innermost layer.
As to claim 5, modified Ogata discloses the power storage device of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein an area ratio of the through hole to an area of the metal layer is 3% or more and 40% or less.
However, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In re Rose , 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Also see MPEP 2144.
As to claim 6, modified Ogata discloses the power storage device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein a hole that is macroscopically visible is not provided in the resin layer (figure 1, innermost layer 6). As shown in figure 1 of Ogata, the innermost layer 6 has no holes extending through the layer that are macroscopically visible. Additionally, Lee also discloses a resin layer (figure 2, polymer layer 16) that has macroscopically visible holes extending through the resin layer.
As to claim 8, modified Ogata discloses the power storage device of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein no macroscopically visible holes are formed in the protective layer.
Lee discloses a power storage device, wherein a protective layer (figure 2, nylon layer 112) is laminated over a metal sheet (figure 2, aluminum sheet 113) having a through hole (degassing hole 113a) wherein the protective layer does not have any macroscopically visible holes (figure 2, nylon layer 112) to prevent electrolyte from leaking out of the through hole [0066-0067].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the power storage device disclosed within Ogata to additionally include that the protective layer does not have any macroscopically visible holes to prevent electrolyte from leaking out of the hole as disclosed by Lee.
As to claim 9, modified Ogata discloses the power storage device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the protective layer is formed of a material different from a material used for the resin layer [0064-0065].
4. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogata et al. (JP 2015195191A, machine translation, provided in the IDS received on 26 November 2024, is used for rejection below) in view of Lee et al. (KR 102729830B1, an English equivalent US20240063476, provided in the IDS received on 26 August 2024, is used for the rejection below) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Naritomi et al. (US 20140065472A1).
As to claim 2, modified Ogata discloses the power storage device of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein a part of the resin layer protruding into the through hole serves as the resin portion.
Naritomi discloses a power storage device having a metal layer and a resin layer with a part of the resin layer protruding into a through hole of the metal layer to serve as the resin portion (figure 11, resin composition 64). As disclosed in Naritomi, the resin composition 64 is used to seal gaps within the lid 61 to assist in limiting the flow of gas out of the battery to extend the life of the battery [0128]-[0129].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the power storage device disclosed by Ogata to additionally include that a part of the resin layer protrudes into the through hole to serve as the resin portion to better control the flowrate of the gas out of the battery module as disclosed within Naritomi.
5. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogata et al. (JP 2015195191A, machine translation, provided in the IDS received on 26 November 2024, is used for rejection below) in view of Lee et al. (KR 102729830B1, an English equivalent US20240063476, provided in the IDS received on 26 August 2024, is used for the rejection below) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Hah et al. (US-20160156007-A1, disclosed within IDS received on 13 July 2023).
As to claim 7, modified Ogata discloses the power storage device of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the protective layer includes microscopic porosity.
Hah discloses a lithium secondary battery having a gas permeable membrane, wherein the protective layer (figure 2, outer coating layer 20C) includes microscopic porosity (figure 2, pores 20D, [0118]) to allow gas generated within the battery to be diffused outside of the battery.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the power storage device disclosed by Ogata to additionally include that the protective layer includes microscopic porosity to allow gas generated within the battery to be diffused outside of the battery as disclosed within Hah.
Response to Amendment
6. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 filed 17 June 2026 have been fully considered but are not considered persuasive. The Applicant states that the amendments to claim 1 to include a protective layer laminated on an outer surface of the metal layer opposite the inner surface along with the limitation that the protective layer covers the through hole are not taught by Ogata, Lee, or Naritomi either individually or in combination. In response, it is appreciated that Ogata does disclose a protective layer laminated on the outer surface of the metal layer (figure 1, outermost layer 4) while Lee discloses a protective layer covering the through hole (figure 2, nylon layer 112, [0066-0067]). Thus, the limitations found within claim 1 are taught by Ogata in combination with Lee.
Conclusion
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/Maria Laios/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727