DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Embodiment 5, Claims 1-5 and 7-20 in the reply filed on 08/20/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the features are not mutually exclusive and that there is no serious burden to examine all embodiments. This is not found persuasive because the argued features are mutually exclusive, a particular shape or number of half shear features are mutually exclusive, for 2 features are not the same as 3 features requiring addition search and consideration. Along the same lines, examination of all the disclosed features requires additional search. Additionally, Applicant is reminded that any claimed which includes allowable subject matter will be rejoined.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Embodiment 5, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/20/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/13/2023, 08/20/2025 and 12/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ikezoe [US 2023/0275498].
Claim 1, Ikezoe discloses a haptic actuator [figure 2], comprising: a housing [1/2] having a ferromagnetic wall [1D], the ferromagnetic wall having a set of one or more half shear ferromagnetic features [1DPL/1DPC/1DPR; figures 2 and 8B] protruding from the ferromagnetic wall into the housing; a movable magnet [5] positioned within the housing [figure 2]; a pair of springs [7L and 7R; figures 2, 3A and 3B], respectively attached to opposite sides of the housing and opposite ends of the movable magnet and biasing the movable magnet toward a position of rest between the pair of springs [figure 4B]; and an electric coil [4D] attached to the set of one or more half shear ferromagnetic features [figure 8B] and positioned between the movable magnet and the set of one or more half shear ferromagnetic features [figure 9A]. The Examiner notes that the limitation of “half shear ferromagnetic features” is considered as a product-by-process limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777F, 2d 659, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); see also MPEP 2113.
Claim 2, Ikezoe discloses the haptic actuator of claim 1, wherein the pair of springs [7L and 7R] comprises a pair of flexure springs [figure 3A and 3B].
Claim 3, Ikezoe discloses the haptic actuator of claim 1, wherein the set of one or more half shear ferromagnetic features comprises at least two ribs [1DPL/1DPC/1DPR].
Claim 7, Ikezoe discloses the haptic actuator of claim 1, wherein the set of one or more half shear ferromagnetic features [1DPL/1DPC/1DPR] comprises an array of same size features [figure 2].
Claim 8, Ikezoe discloses the haptic actuator of claim 1, wherein: the ferromagnetic wall [1D] is a first ferromagnetic wall [1D], the set of one or more half shear ferromagnetic features [1DPL/1DPC/1DPR] is a first set of one or more half shear ferromagnetic features [1DPL/1DPC/1DPR], and the electric coil [4D] is a first electric coil [4D]; the housing has a second ferromagnetic wall [1U; paragraph 0071 1U is the same as 1D] opposite the first ferromagnetic wall [1D]; the second ferromagnetic wall has a second set of one or more half shear ferromagnetic features [not labeled; paragraph 0071 1U is the same as 1D]; and the haptic actuator comprises a second electric coil [4U] attached to the second set of one or more half shear ferromagnetic features [paragraph 0071 1U is the same as 1D] and positioned between the movable magnet and the second set of one or more half shear ferromagnetic features [figure 2].
Claim 9, Ikezoe discloses the haptic actuator of claim 8, wherein the first set of one or more half shear ferromagnetic features and the second set of one or more half shear ferromagnetic features include respective equal numbers of half shear ferromagnetic features [paragraph 0071 1U is the same as 1D].
Claim 11, Ikezoe discloses an electromagnetic actuator [figure 2], comprising: a housing [1/2] having a ferromagnetic wall [1D], the ferromagnetic wall having a set of one or more half shear ferromagnetic features [1DPL/1DPC/1DPR; figures 2 and 8B] protruding from the ferromagnetic wall into the housing; and an electromagnetic assembly 4/5] housed within the housing and including, a stationary component [4]; and a movable component [5]. The Examiner notes that the limitation of “half shear ferromagnetic features” is considered as a product-by-process limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777F, 2d 659, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); see also MPEP 2113.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikezoe [US 2023/0275498].
Claim 5, Ikezoe discloses the haptic actuator of claim 1, with the exception of the set of one or more half shear ferromagnetic features comprises at least four ribs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to at least four ribs instead of the three ribs as taught by Ikezoe, since applicant has not disclosed that using at least four ribs solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with three ribs.
Claim 10, Ikezoe discloses the haptic actuator of claim 8, with the exception of the first set of one or more half shear ferromagnetic features and the second set of one or more half shear ferromagnetic features include respective different numbers of half shear ferromagnetic features.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the number of shear ferromagnetic features on each wall, since applicant has not disclosed that using different number of ferromagnetic features solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the same number of ferromagnetic features as taught by Ikezoe.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. A new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ikezoe [US 2023/0275498] as applied above.
Conclusion
/BERNARD ROJAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837