DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abari US 20220066002 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Abari teaches a method comprising:
detecting, by a perception sensor of an automated vehicle, a calibration target (autonomous vehicle’s lidar detects statically mapped objects which act as calibration targets , [0003-5, 48, 59, 65-74]);
generating, by the perception sensor, position information for the calibration target, the position information including a predicted position of the calibration target relative to the perception sensor (generates point cloud data of object in local coordinate system of lidar, Figs. 3-5, [0049, 59, 68-74]);
generating, by a processor (processor of computing device 602, Fig. 6, [0090-101]), a position correction of the sensor based upon comparing the predicted position of the calibration target against an expected location of the calibration target indicated by preconfigured location data (determines transformation matrices, [0074-78]);
calculating, by the processor, a sensor offset and a sensor orientation for the sensor using the position correction and the predicted position of the calibration target (determines transformation matrices and calibration error, [0074-78]); and
updating, by the processor, one or more calibrated settings for the sensor using at least one of the sensor offset, sensor orientation, the position correction, the predicted position, or the expected location (updates the transformation matrix which includes sensor orientation, sensor offset, and position correction information ([0074-78]).
Regarding claim 2, Abari teaches method according to claim 1, wherein updating the one or more calibrated settings includes storing, by the processor, the one or more calibrated settings for the sensor into a non-transitory memory (transformation matrix data can be stored in non-transitory media in data storage 618 or memory 610, [097-100, 118-119]).
Regarding claim 3, Abari teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
generating, by the processor, a predicted vehicle position relative to each calibration target of one or more calibration targets (point cloud generation for each object and iterative redetermination of transformation matrix based on each statically mapped object, [0053, 78]); and calculating, by the processor, a vehicle position for the automated vehicle using the position correction generated for each sensor of one or more sensors of the automated vehicle and the predicted vehicle position (iterative redetermination of transformation matrix based on each statically mapped object, [0053, 78]).
Regarding claim 4, Abari teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein updating the one or more calibrated settings includes updating, by the processor, a vehicle location for the automated vehicle in the one or more calibrated settings (GPS IMU will continually update vehicle location for use in the second transformation matrix, [0052]).
Regarding claim 5, Abari teaches the method according to claim 1, identifying, by the processor, that the sensor is miscalibrated in response to determining that a difference between the predicted position of the sensor and the sensor offset fails a calibration threshold (Figs. 3-5, [0054, 58, 75-78]).
Regarding claim 7, Abari teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein generating the position correction of the sensor includes querying, by the processor, map data indicating the expected location for the calibration target, the map data stored in non-transitory memory in communication with the processor (map data including information on statically mapped objects, [0050]; data storage 618 and memory 610 can contain static map data, [0100]).
Regarding claim 8, Abari teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the non-transitory memory containing the map data is situated at the automated vehicle (computing device 602 (including memory 610 and data storage 618) can include devices integrated with a vehicle, Fig. 6, [0089]).
Regarding claim 9, Abari teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the non-transitory memory containing the map data is situated at a remote computing device in networked communication with the processor of the automated vehicle (computing device 602 (including memory 610 and data storage 618) can include devices provided remotely from a vehicle, Fig. 6, [0089]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abari US 20220066002 A1 in view of Aguiar US 20200184236 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Abari teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising generating, by the processor, a notification indicating an amount of calibration correction for the sensor based upon the at least one of the sensor offset, the sensor orientation, the position correction, the predicted position, or the expected location.
Aguiar teaches generating a notification that a calibration error is above a threshold ([0167, 186, 196]; calibration error above a threshold is an indication of an amount of calibration correction needed for the sensor and, based on Abari, is based on the sensor offset, orientation, correction, predicted position, and expected location).
Additionally, Abari teaches communication of sensor offset, orientation, and correction values (Fig. 6, transformation matrix data, [0089, 100])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Abari to include generating, by the processor, a notification indicating an amount of calibration correction for the sensor based upon the at least one of the sensor offset, the sensor orientation, the position correction, the predicted position, or the expected location similar to Aguiar with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing a technician to have necessary information before the vehicle arrives so that repairs or re-calibration may be quicker.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Torres US 20240393431 A1 teaches online calibration of sensors (Fig. 2)
Bordoley US 20240092375 A1 teaches updating sensor calibration (Fig. 3)
/J.C.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645