Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “adapter” in claim (synonymous with “means for adapting” or “that nonspecific thing that adapts”, a nonce with no generally accepted meaning in this context and is defined only by the function “adapt.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Muller (US 20100190392 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Muller discloses an electromotive sail drive comprising: a drive unit (Element P); an electromotive motor that is configured to drive the drive unit; and a pump (Element 1) that is configured to circulate, via the electromotive motor, a lubricant oil inside the drive unit (Element 3) wherein the electromotive motor has a motor cool oil path configured to enable flow of the lubricant oil. (Element F)
Regarding Claim 12, Muller discloses an ship comprising the electromotive sail drive according to claim 1. (paragraph 001)
Claim 1, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Li (US 20190249590 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Li discloses an electromotive sail drive comprising: a drive unit (Element 800); an electromotive motor (Element 101) that is configured to drive the drive unit; and a pump (Element 100) that is configured to circulate, via the electromotive motor, a lubricant oil inside the drive unit (Element 4), wherein the electromotive motor has a motor cool oil path configured to enable flow of the lubricant oil. (See Fig. 3.)
Regarding Claim 3, Li discloses an electromotive sail drive according to claim 1, further comprising: a motor control unit configured to control the electromotive motor, and wherein the pump is configured to circulate the lubricant oil via the motor control unit (paragraph 52, circuit board).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller (US 20100190392 A1) in view of Sewell (US 20220315174 A1)
Regarding Claim 3, Muller disclose the electromotive sail drive according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: a motor control unit configured to control the electromotive motor, and wherein the pump is configured to circulate the lubricant oil via the motor control unit.
Sewell discloses an electromotive sail drive further comprising: a motor control unit configured to control the electromotive motor, and wherein the coolant is circulated the lubricant oil via the motor control unit. (paragraph 64) It would have been obvious at the time of filing for a person of ordinary skill in the marine art to use the oil system of Muller to also circulate oil to a motor controller which can be accomplished with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify Muller is that the motor controller also generates heat that needs dissipating. (Sewell, paragraph 56)
Regarding Claim 5, Muller in view of Sewell discloses electromotive sail drive according to claim 3, wherein the motor control unit includes: an inverter that is configured to supply power to the electromotive motor; and a controller that is configured to control the inverter. (Sewell, paragraph 57)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 Dec 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that feature of “a pump that is configured to circulate, via the electromotive motor, a lubricant oil inside the drive unit". Applicant neglected to attempt any claim construction the phrase “is configured to circulate, via the electromotive motor”. Applicant neglected to attempt to explain how the phrase is satisfied by Applicant’s invention. Instead, as evidence Applicant argues “Muller also does not describe that the hydrodynamic clutch 3 circulates the oil inside the drive motor 1” This is true. It is also unclaimed. Applicant also argues Mueller does not disclose “that the drive motor 1 circulates the oil inside the hydrodynamic clutch 3” which is untrue. The clutch that acts as a pump is on the motor’s shaft and driven by the motor’s shaft. The pump circulates the oil via the motor via the shaft. In Mueller oil is in the interior space 4, 4’ which is adjacent to and cools the motor. The space adjacent to the motor is the path where the oil flows. The claim language does not require the cool oil path be inside the motor. The Examiner maintains the rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-19 are allowed.
Claims 4, 6-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW POLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615 6 May 2026