DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendment dated 4 September 2023 is acknowledged. Claims 1-4 as amended are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is directed to an application (use) of the film. It is unclear as to whether this claim is directed to a process or to a package. To the extent this is purported to set forth a process for packaging and storing fruits and vegetables, no positive steps are set forth for such a process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 101805474 A (“Ma”) as evidenced by US 2009/0062494 (“Ernst”).
A partial machine translation of CN 101805474 A is enclosed. The additional reference is used to show that certain features are inherent. See MPEP 2131.01.
As to claims 1 and 4, Ma teaches a bag film for fruit and vegetable shelves, which can be applied to storing fruits and vegetables as required by claim 4, including at controlled temperature (para. 0034). Ma teaches linear polyethylene resin (LLDPE) 40-50 parts, low density polyethylene (LLDPE) resin in 20-25 parts, and ethylene vinyl acetate resin in 16-20 parts (paras. 0010-0012), the latter of which is within the recited range for polyethylene vinyl acetate resin required by claim 1.
Ma does not state whether the polyethylenes are branched or hyperbranched. However, as acknowledged by applicant at specification, p. 5, LLDPE resin is branched, being formed from copolymerization of ethylene and other olefins that provide branching structure. Furthermore, LDPE is understood to be hyperbranched, as evidenced by Ernst, para. 0220. As such, the composition of Ma meets the recited amounts of branched and hyperbranched polyethylene.
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 105542291 A (“Chen”) as evidenced by US 2009/0062494 (“Ernst”) and US 2006/0155080 (“Fell”).
A partial machine translation of CN 105542291 A is enclosed. The additional references are used to show that certain features are inherent. See MPEP 2131.01.
As to claim 1, Chen teaches a polyethylene film for packaging bags (para. 0002), the film composed of 20 to 40 parts of EVA resin, which meets the recited amount of polyethylene vinyl acetate resin, 30-40 parts of LLDPE resin and 10-30 parts of MLLDPE resin, and 20-35 parts of LDPE resin (paras. 0005-0006).
While Chen does not discuss branched or hyperbranched polyethylene, as acknowledged by applicant, specification, para. 0005 LLDPE is formed from copolymerization of ethylene and other olefins, and thus has branched structure. As evidenced by Fell, para. 0004, MLLDPE (metallocene LLDPE) is also branched polyethylene. As such, the combined MLLDPE and LLDPE (40 to 70 parts total) overlap the recited amount of branched polyethylene as required by claim 1.
Furthermore, LDPE is understood to be hyperbranched, as evidenced by Ernst, para. 0220. The formula of Chen therefore meets the recited amount of hyperbranched polyethylene.
Chen exemplifies a composition having 35 parts of LDPE (hyperbranched polyethylene), 55 parts combined of LLDPE and MLLDPE, thus 55 parts of branched polyethylene, and 30 parts of EVA (paras. 0030-0031), which are within the recited ranges.
Chen does not state the film is a controlled atmosphere fresh keeping film. However, the film of Chen is for packaging, and has the recited composition, and is therefore deemed to be suitable for the intended use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 101805474 A (“Ma”) as evidenced by US 2009/0062494 (“Ernst”).
The discussion of Ma with respect to claim 1 is incorporated by reference. While not exemplified, Ma teaches 20-25 parts of LDPE, which includes 25 parts, which is in the recited range for hyperbranched polyethylene. Ma teaches 16 to 20 parts of EVA, which includes 20 parts, which is within the recited range for polyethylene vinyl acetate resin, and 40 to 50 parts of LLDPE, which includes amounts within the recited range for branched polyethylene. Given that Ma teaches that each of these are preferred amounts for providing a fruit and vegetable packaging film, the modification of the film of Ma, including using the recited amounts of the three polymers, is an obvious modification.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 105542291 A (“Chen”) as evidenced by US 2009/0062494 (“Ernst”) and US 2006/0155080 (“Fell”).
The discussion of Chen with respect to claim 1 is incorporated by reference.
As to claims 2 and 3, while not exemplified, Chen teaches Chen teaches 20 to 35 parts of LDPE (hyperbranched polyethylene), which substantially overlaps the recited range of claim 2, and includes the amount of claim 3 (paras. 0005-0006). The same general formula includes 40 to 70 parts of LLDPE and MLLDPE (branched polyethylenes), which overlaps the recited range of claim 2, and includes the recited amount of claim 3. Chen teaches 20 to 40 parts of EVA, which includes the recited amount of 20 to 30 parts of polyethylene vinyl acetate of claim 2, and the amount of claim 3. As such, given that Chen teaches the recited amount of each of the components is suitable for forming thin films for packaging, the use of the recited amounts is an obvious modification suggested by Chen.
Conclusion
/KREGG T BROOKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764