DETAILED ACTION
This communication responds to the application filed July 14, 2023, and the Response to Restriction Requirement and amended claim set filed March 26, 2026. Claims 1-12 are currently pending.
Non-elected claims 1-3, 7, 8, and 10 are WITHDRAWN. New claims 11 and 12 are also treated as WITHDRAWN for the reasons set forth below.
Elected claims 4-6 and 9 are REJECTED for the reasons set forth below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 4-6 and 9 in the reply filed on March 26, 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant also filed an amended claim set adding new claims 11 and 12, which depend from claim 4. However, the process in claim 11 results in a supported titanium complex, whereas the elected Group II relates to an unsupported titanium complex. Claim 11 is essentially a restatement of withdrawn claim 7, which recites a process of preparing a supported titanium complex. As such, claim 11 is more appropriately part of Group III, which is withdrawn. Similarly, claim 12 corresponds to withdrawn claim 10, which is also part of Group III. As such, new claims 11 and 12 are also WITHDRAWN. Elected claims 4-6 and 9 are under examination.
Priority
This application claims priority to IN 2022-21040672, filed July 15, 2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Initial Comments
The examiner notes that references are cited in its Specification, and that corresponding foreign prosecutions refer to various references. The examiner asks that Applicant disclose these references in an IDS to ensure completeness of the record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation that m and n are real numbers ranging from 1 to 4 results in nonsensical titanium halide compounds. The examiner suggests that the titanium compounds are more appropriately Ti(III) and Ti(IV) compounds, and the formula of claim 4 should be written as such.
Claims 5, 6, and 9 depend from claim 4 and do not correct its deficiencies. Thus, they are also indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ch. Gagieva et al., “First example of cationic titanium (III) complexes with crown ether as catalysts for ethylene polymerization,” Eur. Polym. J. 170 (2022) 111166.
Regarding claim 4, Ch. Gagieva teaches the following process:
(Ch. Gagieva, p. 2.)
Regarding claim 9, Ch. Gagieva teaches that its Ti(III) complexes are contacted with ethylene monomer to produce UHMWPE. (p. 3.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ch. Gagieva et al., “First example of cationic titanium (III) complexes with crown ether as catalysts for ethylene polymerization,” Eur. Polym. J. 170 (2022) 111166.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Ch. Gagieva teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. (See paragraph 15 above, which is incorporated by reference herein.)
The difference between the Method 1 of Ch. Gagieva and the present claims is that the reaction temperatures of Method 1 and the temperatures of claim differ. However, differences in temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. (MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).) "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.).) In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized through routine experimentation the reaction temperatures of the process of Ch. Gagieva.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kortbeek et al. (US 4,195,069) in view of Ch. Gagieva et al., “First example of cationic titanium (III) complexes with crown ether as catalysts for ethylene polymerization,” Eur. Polym. J. 170 (2022) 111166.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Kortbeek teaches the following process:
(Kortbeek, Abstract.) Regarding claim 5 specifically, the temperature of the reaction of complexing agent and TiCl4 is preferably 90°C. (See Table 1.)
The difference between the teachings of Kortbeek and claim 4 is that Kortbeek does not disclose the recited complexing agents. However, such complexing agents used for forming unsupported titanium complexes are known in the art. For example, Ch. Gagieva teaches forming a TiCl3 complex by mixing TiCl4 with a crown ether. (Ch. Gagieva, p. 2.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the crown ether of Ch. Gagieva in place of the preferred diethyl ethers of Kortbeek (see col. 2, lines 65-68) because both are known to be useful complexing agents for Ti halides. (See MPEP 2143(I)(B).)
Regarding claim 6, the organoaluminum compound of Kortbeek is preferably triethylaluminum and diethylaluminum chloride. (col. 3, lines 18-20.)
Conclusion
CATHERINE S. BRANCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763