DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed on 06/30/2026.
Claim Objection
Following claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 lines 4-6 “a lower section including an arm extending downwardly from the upper section to a nostril opening when the upper section is adhered to the nose… when the upper section is adhered to the nose, the terminal end of the arm hangs laterally across the nostril opening toward a septum of the nose in such a way that the scented portion is positioned over the nostril opening” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is -- a lower section including an arm extending downwardly from the upper section to a nostril opening [[when]] while the upper section is adhered to the nose…[[when]] while the upper section is adhered to the nose, the terminal end of the arm hangs laterally across the nostril opening toward a septum of the nose in such a way that the scented portion is positioned over the nostril opening -- to avoid conditional limitation recitation which would raise question as to what actually occurs when the condition is not met.
Claim 8 “wherein, when the upper section is adhered to the nose, the arm extends down an ala of the nose and the scented portion is bent upwardly toward the nostril opening” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is -- wherein, [[when]] while the upper section is adhered to the nose, the arm extends down an ala of the nose and the scented portion is bent upwardly toward the nostril opening-- to avoid conditional limitation recitation which would raise question as to what actually occurs when the condition is not met.
Claim 16 “a left arm extending downwardly from the upper section to a left nostril opening when the upper section is adhered to the nose, … (b) a right arm extending downwardly from the upper section to a right nostril opening when the upper section is adhered to the nose … the left scent member being scented and, when the upper section is adhered to the nose, … the right scent member being scented and, when the upper section is adhered to the nose” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is --a left arm extending downwardly from the upper section to a left nostril opening [[when]] while the upper section is adhered to the nose, … (b) a right arm extending downwardly from the upper section to a right nostril opening [[when]] while the upper section is adhered to the nose … the left scent member being scented and, [[when]] while the upper section is adhered to the nose, … the right scent member being scented and, [[when]] while the upper section is adhered to the nose--.
Claim 20 “wherein, when the upper section is adhered to the nose, the left arm extends down a left ala of the nose” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is -- wherein, [[when]] while the upper section is adhered to the nose, the left arm extends down a left ala of the nose-- to avoid conditional limitation recitation which would raise question as to what actually occurs when the condition is not met.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims terms where relevant are being interpreted in light of definitions enumerated in instant application specification as-filed para.[0047], [0049], [0066-0069], [0074-0075], [0077].
Please note that USPTO personnel are to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim should not be read into the claim. E-Pass Techs., Inc. v. 3Com Corp., 343 F.3d 1364, 1369, 67 USPQ2d 1947, 1950 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (claims must be interpreted "in view of the specification" without importing limitations from the specification into the claims unnecessarily). In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969). See also In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321-22, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989) ("During patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow.... The reason is simply that during patent prosecution when claims can be amended, ambiguities should be recognized, scope and breadth of language explored, and clarification imposed.... An essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 16-19, 20are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guyuron et al. (Pub. No.: US 20070255309 A1, hereinafter referred to as "Guyuron") in view of Pepper et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170172783 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Pepper”).
As per independent Claim 1, Guyuron discloses a nasal dilator (Guyuron in at least abstract, fig. 6-15, 18-31, [0001], [0006-0010], [0046-0059], [0061], [0063], [0066], [0068-0069], [0078], [0080-0086], [0088-0092], [0095-0096], [0099-0100] for example discloses relevant subject-matter. More specifically, Guyuron in at least fig. 6-7, abstract, [0001], [0006], [0083-0084] for example discloses nasal dilator 60. See at least Guyuron [0006] “ nasal dilator for temporary attachment to a nose of a person” ) comprising
a nose attachment member (Guyuron in at least [0006-0010], fig. 6-7, [0047-0048], [0083] for example discloses a nose attachment member 12, 14. See at least Guyuron [0083] “nasal dilator 60 has an upper resilient member 12 and a lower resilient member 14 to dilate the nasal valve and the nostrils, respectively, as described with respect to FIG. 1 … Generally, the overall construction of the nasal dilator 60 is similar to the nasal dilator 10, and includes the same or similar layers, such as the substrate 20, the resilient members 12, 14, the adhesive layer 34, and the release film 36”) having
(a) an upper section configured to apply a recoil force to a nasal cavity of a human nose via adhesive attachment of the nose attachment member to the human nose (Guyuron in at least fig. 6-7, [0006-0007], [0047-0048], [0050-0051],[0083-0084] for example discloses an upper section 12 configured to apply a recoil force to a nasal cavity of a human nose via adhesive attachment of the nose attachment member to the human nose. See at least Guyuron [0083] “nasal dilator 60 has an upper resilient member 12 and a lower resilient member 14 to dilate the nasal valve and the nostrils, respectively… construction of the nasal dilator 60 is similar to the nasal dilator 10, and includes the same or similar layers, such as the substrate 20, the resilient members 12, 14, the adhesive layer 34, and the release film 36”; [0084] “In use, the nasal dilator 60 may be secured to the nose with adhesive”; [0051] “attachment of the nasal dilator 10 to the skin, in part with a spring like force from the resilient members, tends to dilate the nasal passage by gently lifting or pulling the skin away from the face. The pulling of the skin, even a slight distance away from the face, tends to cause the nasal valve and nostrils to dilate”) and
(b) a lower section including an arm extending downwardly from the upper section to a nostril opening when the upper section is adhered to the nose (This “when” encompassing limitation is being broadly yet reasonably interpreted under MPEP 2111.04 as a conditional/contingent limitation and thus, if the prior art system possesses the physical structure to execute the conditional action if the event arises, prior art system would read on the claim as now explicitly, positively and specifically recited by the Applicants (see MPEP 2111.04). Guyuron in at least fig. 6-7, [0006], [0007-0010], [0047-0048], [0050-0051],[0083-0084] for example discloses a lower section 14 including an arm 62 extending downwardly from the upper section 12 to a nostril opening when the upper section is adhered to the nose as seen in fig. 6. See at least Guyuron [0084] “nasal dilator 60 includes bendable hooks 62, which extend downwardly from the lower portion 24 of the substrate 20, and in the general direction of the nostril openings 64. As shown in FIG. 6, the bendable hooks 62 may be bent and inserted into the … bendable hooks 62 may be bent … or "J" configuration around the inner and outer skin that forms the nostril and may extend into the nostril opening. …In use, the nasal dilator 60 may be secured to the nose with adhesive and the hooks 62 may be bent by the user in to the nostrils.”),
when the upper section is adhered to the nose, the terminal end of the arm hangs laterally across the nostril opening toward a septum of the nose (This “when” encompassing limitation is being broadly yet reasonably interpreted under MPEP 2111.04 as a conditional/contingent limitation and thus, if the prior art system possesses the physical structure to execute the conditional action if the event arises, prior art system would read on the claim as now explicitly, positively and specifically recited by the Applicants (see MPEP 2111.04). Guyuron in at least fig. 6 disclose the upper section is adhered to the nose 12, 14 and in at least fig. 6-7, [0006], [0066], [0083-0085] for example discloses nasal dilator made of flexible substrate (i.e. possesses the physical structure) that allows terminal end of the arm 62 to hang laterally across the nostril opening toward a septum of the nose for example as would occur when terminal end of the arm is bent in a “J” configuration around the inner and outer skin that forms the nostril as now explicitly, positively and specifically recited by the Applicants. See at least Guyuron [0066] “substrate 20 may be may be made from a flexible material”; [0084] “nasal dilator 60 includes bendable hooks 62, which extend downwardly from the lower portion 24 of the substrate 20, and in the general direction of the nostril openings 64. As shown in FIG. 6, the bendable hooks 62 may be bent and inserted into the nostrils to mechanically minimize, reduce or inhibit nostril collapse. The bendable hooks 62 may be bent in a … "J" configuration around the inner and outer skin that forms the nostril. …In use, the nasal dilator 60 may be secured to the nose with adhesive and the hooks 62 may be bent by the user in to the nostrils.”).
Guyuron does not explicitly disclose arm having a scented portion feature.
However, in an analogous nasal dilator field of endeavor, Pepper discloses a nasal dilator (Pepper in at least abstract, fig. 1A, fig. 4A, fig. 6-7, [0001], [0050-0051], [0090], [0098-0099], [0114], [0120-0125], [0200-0203] for example discloses relevant subject-matter. More specifically, Pepper in at least [0001], [0090] for example discloses a nasal dilator. See at least Pepper [0090] “nasal dilator devices including agent delivery mechanisms for delivery of fragrances and/medicaments to the nose during respiration”), comprising
a nose attachment member with arms having a scented portion thereon (Pepper in at least fig. 3B, [0001], [0050-0051], [0098-0099], [0114], [0120-0125] for example discloses a nose attachment member with arms and arm ends having a scented portion 602 thereon within [a] respective sockets 408a,408b or [b] under fibre film layer 702 or [c] within blister formed by two fibre film layers or [e] within an aperture disposed in each of the first and second nostril engaging elements and arranged to receive an agent, a compound, a medicament, a capsule, and/or a housing or compact arranged to receive an agent, medicament and/or a fragrance or aromatic agent or [f] a medicament, a fragrance or an aromatic agent infused into nasal dilator substrate material;);
the scented portion includes a scent member positioned proximal to a terminal end of the arm, the scent member being scented (Guyuron in at least fig. 6-7 discloses nasal dilator with arms with terminal ends while Pepper in at least [0051], [0120-0125], for example discloses the scented portion includes a scent member attached proximal to a terminal end of the arm, the scent member being scented. Thus, combination of applied art as a whole disclose the limitation as now explicitly, positively and specifically recited by the Applicants. See at least Pepper [0051] “nasal dilator device may further comprise an overmould disposed on at least one of the central portion, the leg members, the intermediate sections and the arcuate cantilever rib members. The overmould may be infused with a compound, a medicament, a fragrance or an aroma. The nasal dilator device may be composed of a substrate material infused with a medicament, a fragrance or an aromatic agent.”; [0120] “nasal dilator device 600 comprises at least one capsule 602 disposed within respective sockets 408a, 408b. The capsule 602 may include an agent such as a medicament and/or a fragrance or aromatic agent… agent may be an aromatic scent such as an essential oil blend or synthetic fragrance blend to provide an olfactory and/or physiological response such as decongesting the nasal passages 318, promoting relaxation, promoting sleepiness, suppressing appetite or a medicament such as a drug to reduce pain such as a migraine”; [0121] “nasal dilator device 700 comprises at least one coating or film 702 arranged to release a fragrance, aroma or medicament”;[0122-0123] “a fragrance, aroma or medicament may be provided or retained between two strips or films 702 forming a blister… coating or film 702 may be comprise a polymer or a fibre”; [0124-0125] “coating or film 702 may be disposed on … the first and second leg members 106a, 106b, the first and second intermediate sections 108a, 108b, the rib members 110a, 110b, and/or the first and second nostril engaging elements 112a, 112b… an aperture (not shown) is disposed in each of the first and second nostril engaging elements and is arranged to receive an agent, a compound, a medicament, a capsule, and/or a housing or compact arranged to receive an agent, medicament and/or a fragrance or aromatic agent”);
wherein, when coupled to the nose, the terminal end of the arm hangs laterally across the nostril opening toward a septum of the nose in such a way that the scented portion is positioned over the nostril opening (Pepper in at least fig. 3B, [0001], [0050-0051], [0098-0099], [0114], [0120-0125] for example discloses a nose attachment member with arms and arm ends having a scented portion 602 thereon; and when coupled to the nose the terminal end of the arm in use hangs at least partially laterally across the nostril opening toward a septum of the nose in such a way that the scented portion 602 is positioned over the nostril opening. See at least Pepper [0051] “nasal dilator device may further comprise an overmould disposed on at least one of the central portion, the leg members, the intermediate sections and the arcuate cantilever rib members. The overmould may be infused with a compound, a medicament, a fragrance or an aroma. The nasal dilator device may be composed of a substrate material infused with a medicament, a fragrance or an aromatic agent.”; [0120] “nasal dilator device 600 comprises at least one capsule 602 disposed within respective sockets 408a, 408b. The capsule 602 may include an agent such as a medicament and/or a fragrance or aromatic agent… agent may be an aromatic scent such as an essential oil blend or synthetic fragrance blend to provide an olfactory and/or physiological response such as decongesting the nasal passages 318, promoting relaxation, promoting sleepiness, suppressing appetite or a medicament such as a drug to reduce pain such as a migraine”; [0121] “nasal dilator device 700 comprises at least one coating or film 702 arranged to release a fragrance, aroma or medicament”;[0122-0123] “a fragrance, aroma or medicament may be provided or retained between two strips or films 702 forming a blister… coating or film 702 may be comprise a polymer or a fibre”; [0124-0125] “coating or film 702 may be disposed on … the first and second leg members 106a, 106b, the first and second intermediate sections 108a, 108b, the rib members 110a, 110b, and/or the first and second nostril engaging elements 112a, 112b… an aperture (not shown) is disposed in each of the first and second nostril engaging elements and is arranged to receive an agent, a compound, a medicament, a capsule, and/or a housing or compact arranged to receive an agent, medicament and/or a fragrance or aromatic agent”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the arm end positioned near the nostril opening of the nasal dilator as taught by Guyuron, by further including scented portion on the arm end positioned near the nostril opening, as taught by Pepper. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the advantage of further providing an olfactory and/or physiological response based therapy to user such as decongesting the nasal passages, promoting relaxation, promoting sleepiness, suppressing appetite or a medicament such as a drug to reduce pain such as a migraine (Pepper, [0120]).
As per dependent Claim 4, the combination of Guyuron and Pepper as a whole further discloses nasal dilator wherein the arm is curved in such a way that an upper end of the arm proximal to the upper section curves outwardly away from a center of the upper section and a lower end of the arm curves inwardly toward the center (Guyuron in at least fig. 6, [0084], [0050-0051] for example discloses the arm 62 is curved in such a way that an upper end of the arm proximal to the upper section 12 curves outwardly away from a center of the upper section and a lower end of the arm 12 curves inwardly toward the center as seen in fig. 6. See Guyuron [0084] “bendable hooks 62 may be bent and inserted into the nostrils …bendable hooks 62 may be bent in a … "J" configuration around the inner and outer skin that forms the nostril and may extend into the nostril opening… In use, the nasal dilator 60 may be secured to the nose with adhesive and the hooks 62 may be bent by the user in to the nostrils”;).
As per dependent Claim 6, the combination of Guyuron and Pepper as a whole further discloses nasal dilator wherein the scented portion includes a scented material, the scented material being a gel and/or liquid absorbent material (Guyuron in at least [0051], [0120-0125] for example discloses the scented portion includes a scented material, the scented material being a gel and/or liquid absorbent material/fibre including essential oil. See at least Pepper [0051] “nasal dilator device may further comprise an overmould … infused with a compound, a medicament, a fragrance or an aroma. The nasal dilator device may be composed of a substrate material infused with a medicament, a fragrance or an aromatic agent.”; [0120] “nasal dilator device 600 comprises at least one capsule 602 disposed within respective sockets 408a, 408b. The capsule 602 may include an agent such as a medicament and/or a fragrance or aromatic agent… agent may be an aromatic scent such as an essential oil blend or synthetic fragrance blend to provide an olfactory and/or physiological response”; [0121] “nasal dilator device 700 comprises at least one coating or film 702 arranged to release a fragrance, aroma or medicament”;[0122-0123] “a fragrance, aroma or medicament may be provided or retained between two strips or films 702 forming a blister… coating or film 702 may be comprise a polymer or a fibre”; [0124-0125] “coating or film 702 may be disposed on … the first and second leg members 106a, 106b, the first and second intermediate sections 108a, 108b, the rib members 110a, 110b, and/or the first and second nostril engaging elements 112a, 112b… an aperture (not shown) is disposed in each of the first and second nostril engaging elements and is arranged to receive an agent, a compound, a medicament, a capsule, and/or a housing or compact arranged to receive an agent, medicament and/or a fragrance or aromatic agent”).
As per dependent Claim 7, the combination of Guyuron and Pepper as a whole further discloses nasal dilator wherein the arm includes a shapeable material configured to be bent toward the septum in such a way that the shapeable material maintains the position of the scented portion over the nostril opening (Guyuron in at least [0006], [0009], fig. 6-7, [0066], [0068], [0084] for example discloses the arm 62 includes a shapeable material configured to be bent toward the septum in such a way that the shapeable material maintains the position of the over the nostril opening while Pepper discloses that nasal dilator with scented portion including arm terminal end . Thus, combination of applied art as a whole discloses the subject-matter as now explicitly, positively and specifically recited by the Applicants. See at least Guyuron [0084] “nasal dilator 60 includes bendable hooks 62…bendable hooks 62 may be bent and inserted into the nostrils … bendable hooks 62 may be bent in … "J" configuration around the inner and outer skin that forms the nostril … The hooks 62 include a support member 63 (FIG. 7) that holds the bent shape of the hook 62 so that the bendable hooks 62 support the outer wall of the nostril”)
As per dependent Claim 8, the combination of Guyuron and Pepper as a whole further discloses nasal dilator wherein, when the upper section is adhered to the nose, the arm extends down an ala of the nose and the scented portion is bent upwardly toward the nostril opening (This “when” encompassing limitation is being broadly yet reasonably interpreted under MPEP 2111.04 as a conditional/contingent limitation and thus, if the prior art system possesses the physical structure to execute the conditional action if the event arises, prior art system would read on the claim as now explicitly, positively and specifically recited by the Applicants (see MPEP 2111.04). Guyuron in at least fig. 6, [0084] for example discloses when the upper section 12 is adhered to the nose as in fig. 6, the arm 62 extends down an ala of the nose while Pepper in at least [0051], [0120-0125], for example discloses scented portion located on nostril engagement elements is bent upwardly toward the nostril opening. Thus, the combination of applied art as a whole discloses the limitation as now explicitly, positively and specifically recited by the Applicants. See at least Guyuron [0084] “nasal dilator 60 includes bendable hooks 62, which extend downwardly from the lower portion 24 of the substrate 20, and in the general direction of the nostril openings 64. As shown in FIG. 6, the bendable hooks 62 may be bent and inserted into the nostrils … bendable hooks 62 may be bent in a … "J" configuration around the inner and outer skin that forms the nostril and may extend into the nostril opening…In use, the nasal dilator 60 may be secured to the nose with adhesive and the hooks 62 may be bent by the user in to the nostrils”; [0124-0125] “coating or film 702 may be disposed on … the first and second leg members 106a, 106b, the first and second intermediate sections 108a, 108b, the rib members 110a, 110b, and/or the first and second nostril engaging elements 112a, 112b… an aperture (not shown) is disposed in each of the first and second nostril engaging elements and is arranged to receive an agent, a compound, a medicament, a capsule, and/or a housing or compact arranged to receive an agent, medicament and/or a fragrance or aromatic agent”).
As per independent Claim 16, Guyuron discloses a nasal dilator (Guyuron in at least abstract, fig. 6-15, 18-31, [0001], [0006-0010], [0046-0059], [0061], [0063], [0066], [0068-0069], [0078], [0080-0086], [0088-0092], [0095-0096], [0099-0100] for example discloses relevant subject-matter. More specifically, Guyuron in at least fig. 6-7, abstract, [0001], [0006], [0083-0084] for example discloses nasal dilator 60. See at least Guyuron [0006] “ nasal dilator for temporary attachment to a nose of a person” ) comprising:
a nose attachment member that is attachable to a human nose, the nose attachment member including a left end region that is adhereable to an outer wall of a left nasal passage and a right end region that is adhereable to an outer wall of a right nasal passage (Guyuron in at least [0006-0010], fig. 6-7, [0047-0048], [0083] for example discloses a nose attachment member 12, 14 that is attachable to a human nose as in fig. 6, the nose attachment member including a left end region that is adhereable to an outer wall of a left nasal passage and a right end region that is adhereable to an outer wall of a right nasal passage as seen in fig. 6. See at least Guyuron [0083] “nasal dilator 60 has an upper resilient member 12 and a lower resilient member 14 to dilate the nasal valve and the nostrils, respectively, as described with respect to FIG. 1 … Generally, the overall construction of the nasal dilator 60 is similar to the nasal dilator 10, and includes the same or similar layers, such as the substrate 20, the resilient members 12, 14, the adhesive layer 34, and the release film 36”; [0084] “nasal dilator 60 includes bendable hooks 62, which extend downwardly from the lower portion 24 of the substrate 20, and in the general direction of the nostril openings 64. As shown in FIG. 6, the bendable hooks 62 may be bent and inserted into the nostrils to … bendable hooks 62 may be bent in a … "J" configuration around the inner and outer skin that forms the nostril and may extend into the nostril opening. …In use, the nasal dilator 60 may be secured to the nose with adhesive and the hooks 62 may be bent by the user in to the nostrils.”);
an upper section of the nose attachment member including a resilient member extending from the left end region to the right end region, the resilient member being configured to apply a recoil force to the left nasal passage and right nasal passage (Guyuron in at least fig. 6-7, [0006-0007], [0047-0048], [0050-0051],[0083-0084] for example discloses upper section 12 of the nose attachment member including a resilient member extending from the left end region to the right end region, the resilient member being configured to apply a recoil force to the left nasal passage and right nasal passage. See at least Guyuron [0047] “nasal dilator 10 has two separate resilient members 12, 14 that extend transversely (e.g., laterally or horizontally) across a mid-line portion 15 of the nose to dilate the nasal valve and the nostrils, respectively.”; [0083] “nasal dilator 60 has an upper resilient member 12 and a lower resilient member 14 to dilate the nasal valve and the nostrils, respectively… construction of the nasal dilator 60 is similar to the nasal dilator 10, and includes the same or similar layers, such as the substrate 20, the resilient members 12, 14, the adhesive layer 34, and the release film 36”; [0084] “In use, the nasal dilator 60 may be secured to the nose with adhesive”; [0051] “attachment of the nasal dilator 10 to the skin, in part with a spring like force from the resilient members, tends to dilate the nasal passage by gently lifting or pulling the skin away from the face. The pulling of the skin, even a slight distance away from the face, tends to cause the nasal valve and nostrils to dilate”); and
a lower section of the nose attachment member including (a) a left arm extending downwardly from the upper section to a left nostril opening when the upper section is adhered to the nose, (b) a right arm extending downwardly from the upper section to a right nostril opening when the upper section is adhered to the nose (This “when” encompassing limitation is being broadly yet reasonably interpreted under MPEP 2111.04 as a conditional/contingent limitation and thus, if the prior art system possesses the physical structure to execute the conditional action if the event arises, prior art system would read on the claim as now explicitly, positively and specifically recited by the Applicants (see MPEP 2111.04). Guyuron in at least fig. 6-7, [0006], [0007-0010], [0047-0048], [0050-0051],[0083-0084] for example discloses a lower section 14 of the nose attachment member including (a) a left arm 62 on one side extending downwardly from the upper section to a left nostril opening when the upper section is adhered to the nose as seen in fig. 6, (b) a right arm 62 on the other side extending downwardly from the upper section to a right nostril opening when the upper section is adhered to the nose as seen in fig. 6. See at least Guyuron [0084] “nasal dilator 60 includes bendable hooks 62, which extend downwardly from the lower portion 24 of the substrate 20, and in the general direction of the nostril openings 64. As shown in FIG. 6, the bendable hooks 62 may be bent and inserted into the … bendable hooks 62 may be bent in a … "J" configuration around the inner and outer skin that forms the nostril and may extend into the nostril opening. …In use, the nasal dilator 60 may be secured to the nose with adhesive and the hooks 62 may be bent by the user in to the nostrils.”).
when the upper section is adhered to the nose, the terminal end of the left arm hangs laterally across the left nostril opening toward a septum of the nose; and when the upper section is adhered to the nose, the terminal end of the right arm hangs laterally across the right nostril opening toward the septum of the nose (This “when” encompassing limitation is being broadly yet reasonably interpreted under MPEP 2111.04 as a conditional/contingent limitation and thus, if the prior art system possesses the physical structure to execute the conditional action if the event arises, prior art system would read on the claim as now explicitly, positively and specifically recited by the Applicants (see MPEP 2111.04). Guyuron in at least fig. 6 disclose the upper section is adhered to the nose 12, 14 and in at least fig. 6-7, [0006], [0066], [0083-0085] for example discloses nasal dilator made of flexible substrate (i.e. possesses the physical structure) that allows the terminal end of the left arm (see fig. 7 “62” on left side of nostril) hangs laterally across the left nostril opening toward a septum of the nose; and when the upper section is adhered to the nose, the terminal end of the right arm (see fig. 7 “62” on right side of nostril) hangs laterally across the right nostril opening toward the septum of the nose for example as would occur when each respective arm terminal end is bent in a “J” configuration around the inner and outer skin that forms the respective nostril. See at least Guyuron [0066] “substrate 20 may be may be made from a flexible material”; [0084] “nasal dilator 60 includes bendable hooks 62, which extend downwardly from the lower portion 24 of the substrate 20, and in the general direction of the nostril openings 64. As shown in FIG. 6, the bendable hooks 62 may be bent and inserted into the nostrils to mechanically minimize, reduce or inhibit nostril collapse. The bendable hooks 62 may be bent in a … "J" configuration around the inner and outer skin that forms the nostril. …In use, the nasal dilator 60 may be secured to the nose with adhesive and the hooks 62 may be bent by the user in to the nostrils.”).
Guyuron does not explicitly disclose scented portion features.
However, in an analogous nasal dilator field of endeavor, Pepper discloses a nasal dilator (Pepper in at least abstract, fig. 1A, fig. 4A, fig. 6-7, [0001], [0050-0051], [0090], [0098-0099], [0114], [0120-0125], [0200-0203] for example discloses relevant subject-matter. More specifically, Pepper in at least [0001], [0090] for example discloses a nasal dilator. See at least Pepper [0090] “nasal dilator devices including agent delivery mechanisms for delivery of fragrances and/medicaments to the nose during respiration”), comprising
a nose attachment member with the left arm having a left scented portion proximal to a terminal end of the left arm, the left scented portion includes a left scent member positioned proximal to the terminal end of the left arm, the left scent member being scented, and when coupled to the nose, the terminal end of the left arm hangs laterally across the left nostril opening toward a septum of the nose in such a way that the left scented portion is positioned over the left nostril opening (Pepper in at least [0001], [0050-0051], [0098-0099], [0114], [0120-0125] for example discloses a nose attachment member with the left arm having a left scented portion 602 proximal to a terminal end of the left arm, the left arm having a left scented portion 602 proximal to a terminal end of the left arm within [a] respective left socket 408a or [b] under fibre film layer 702 on left side or [c] within blister formed by two fibre film layers on left or [e] within an aperture disposed in each of the first and second nostril engaging elements on left side and arranged to receive an agent, a compound, a medicament, a capsule, and/or a housing or compact arranged to receive an agent, medicament and/or a fragrance or aromatic agent or [f] a medicament, a fragrance or an aromatic agent infused into nasal dilator substrate material present left side and when coupled to the nose, the terminal end of the left arm in use would hang at least partially laterally across the left nostril opening toward a septum of the nose in such a way that the left scented portion 602 is positioned over the left nostril opening); and
the right arm having a right scented portion proximal to a terminal end of the right arm ,the right scented portion includes a right scent member positioned proximal to the terminal end of the right arm, the right scent member being scented, and when coupled to the nose, the terminal end of the right arm hangs laterally across the right nostril opening toward the septum of the nose in such a way that the right scented portion is positioned over the right nostril opening (Pepper in at least [0001], [0050-0051], [0098-0099], [0114], [0120-0125] for example discloses a nose attachment member with the right arm having a right scented portion 602 proximal to a terminal end of the right arm, the right arm having a right scented portion 602 proximal to a terminal end of the right arm within [a] respective right socket 408b or [b] under fibre film layer 702 on right side or [c] within blister formed by two fibre film layers on right side or [e] within an aperture disposed in each of the first and second nostril engaging elements on right side and arranged to receive an agent, a compound, a medicament, a capsule, and/or a housing or compact arranged to receive an agent, medicament and/or a fragrance or aromatic agent or [f] a medicament, a fragrance or an aromatic agent infused into nasal dilator substrate material present on right side and when coupled to the nose, the terminal end of the right arm in use hangs at least partially laterally across the right nostril opening toward the septum of the nose in such a way that the right scented portion 602 is positioned over the right nostril opening. See at least Pepper [0051] “nasal dilator device may further comprise an overmould disposed on at least one of the central portion, the leg members, the intermediate sections and the arcuate cantilever rib members. The overmould may be infused with a compound, a medicament, a fragrance or an aroma. The nasal dilator device may be composed of a substrate material infused with a medicament, a fragrance or an aromatic agent.”; [0120] “nasal dilator device 600 comprises at least one capsule 602 disposed within respective sockets 408a, 408b. The capsule 602 may include an agent such as a medicament and/or a fragrance or aromatic agent… agent may be an aromatic scent such as an essential oil blend or synthetic fragrance blend to provide an olfactory and/or physiological response such as decongesting the nasal passages 318, promoting relaxation, promoting sleepiness, suppressing appetite or a medicament such as a drug to reduce pain such as a migraine”; [0121] “nasal dilator device 700 comprises at least one coating or film 702 arranged to release a fragrance, aroma or medicament”;[0122-0123] “a fragrance, aroma or medicament may be provided or retained between two strips or films 702 forming a blister… coating or film 702 may be comprise a polymer or a fibre”; [0124-0125] “coating or film 702 may be disposed on … the first and second leg members 106a, 106b, the first and second intermediate sections 108a, 108b, the rib members 110a, 110b, and/or the first and second nostril engaging elements 112a, 112b… an aperture (not shown) is disposed in each of the first and second nostril engaging elements and is arranged to receive an agent, a compound, a medicament, a capsule, and/or a housing or compact arranged to receive an agent, medicament and/or a fragrance or aromatic agent).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify each respective left and right arm end positioned near the nostril opening of the nasal dilator as taught by Guyuron, by further including scented portion on the respective left and right arm end positioned near the respective left and right nostril opening, as taught by Pepper. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the advantage of further providing an olfactory and/or physiological response based therapy to user such as decongesting the nasal passages, promoting relaxation, promoting sleepiness, suppressing appetite or a medicament such as a drug to reduce pain such as a migraine (Pepper, [0120]).
As per dependent Claim 18, the combination of Guyuron and Pepper as a whole further discloses nasal dilator wherein the left arm and right arm, respectively, is curved in such a way that an upper end of the left arm or right arm proximal to the upper section curves outwardly away from a center of the upper section and a lower end of the left arm or right arm curves inwardly toward the center (Guyuron in at least fig. 6, [0084], [0050-0051] for example discloses wherein the left arm 62 and right arm 62, respectively, is curved in such a way that an upper end of the left arm or right arm proximal to the upper section curves outwardly away from a center of the upper section 12 and a lower end of the left arm or right arm curves inwardly toward the center as seen in fig. 6. See Guyuron [0084] “bendable hooks 62 may be bent and inserted into the nostrils …bendable hooks 62 may be bent in a … "J" configuration around the inner and outer skin that forms the nostril and may extend into the nostril opening… In use, the nasal dilator 60 may be secured to the nose with adhesive and the hooks 62 may be bent by the user in to the nostrils”;).
As per dependent Claim 19, the combination of Guyuron and Pepper as a whole further discloses nasal dilator wherein the left scent member and the right scent member, respectively, include a scented material, the scented material being a gel and/or liquid absorbent material (Guyuron in at least [0051], [0120], [0123] for example discloses the left scent member and the right scent member, respectively, include a scented material, the scented material being a gel and/or liquid absorbent material/fibre including essential oil on respective first and second nostril engaging elements 112a, 112b. See at least Pepper [0051] “nasal dilator device may further comprise an overmould … infused with a compound, a medicament, a fragrance or an aroma. The nasal dilator device may be composed of a substrate material infused with a medicament, a fragrance or an aromatic agent.”; [0120] “nasal dilator device 600 comprises at least one capsule 602 disposed within respective sockets 408a, 408b. The capsule 602 may include an agent such as a medicament and/or a fragrance or aromatic agent… agent may be an aromatic scent such as an essential oil blend or synthetic fragrance blend to provide an olfactory and/or physiological response”; [0121] “nasal dilator device 700 comprises at least one coating or film 702 arranged to release a fragrance, aroma or medicament”;[0122-0123] “a fragrance, aroma or medicament may be provided or retained between two strips or films 702 forming a blister… coating or film 702 may be comprise a polymer or a fibre”; [0124-0125] “coating or film 702 may be disposed on … the first and second leg members 106a, 106b, the first and second intermediate sections 108a, 108b, the rib members 110a, 110b, and/or the first and second nostril engaging elements 112a, 112b… an aperture (not shown) is disposed in each of the first and second nostril engaging elements and is arranged to receive an agent, a compound, a medicament, a capsule, and/or a housing or compact arranged to receive an agent, medicament and/or a fragrance or aromatic agent”).
As per dependent Claim 20, the combination of Guyuron and Pepper as a whole further discloses nasal dilator wherein, when the upper section is adhered to the nose, the left arm extends down a left ala of the nose, the right arm extends down a right ala of the nose, the left scented portion is bent upwardly toward the left nostril opening, and the right scented portion is bent upwardly toward the right nostril opening (This “when” encompassing limitation is being broadly yet reasonably interpreted under MPEP 2111.04 as a conditional/contingent limitation and thus, if the prior art system possesses the physical structure to execute the conditional action if the event arises, prior art system would read on the claim as now explicitly, positively and specifically recited by the Applicants (see MPEP 2111.04). Guyuron in at least fig. 6, [0084] for example discloses wherein, when the upper section 12 is adhered to the nose as in fig. 6, the left arm extends down a left ala of the nose and is bent upwardly toward the left nostril opening, the right arm extends down a right ala of the nose and is bent upwardly toward the right nostril opening s seen in fig. 6 while Pepper in at least [0051], [0120-0125], for example discloses the left scented portion is bent upwardly toward the left nostril opening, and the right scented portion is bent upwardly toward the right nostril opening. Thus, the combination of applied art as a whole discloses the limitation as now explicitly, positively and specifically recited by the Applicants. See at least Guyuron [0084] “nasal dilator 60 includes bendable hooks 62, which extend downwardly from the lower portion 24 of the substrate 20, and in the general direction of the nostril openings 64. As shown in FIG. 6, the bendable hooks 62 may be bent and inserted into the nostrils … bendable hooks 62 may be bent in a …"J" configuration around the inner and outer skin that forms the nostril and may extend into the nostril opening…In use, the nasal dilator 60 may be secured to the nose with adhesive and the hooks 62 may be bent by the user in to the nostrils”; [0124-0125] “coating or film 702 may be disposed on … the first and second leg members 106a, 106b, the first and second intermediate sections 108a, 108b, the rib members 110a, 110b, and/or the first and second nostril engaging elements 112a, 112b… an aperture (not shown) is disposed in each of the first and second nostril engaging elements and is arranged to receive an agent, a compound, a medicament, a capsule, and/or a housing or compact arranged to receive an agent, medicament and/or a fragrance or aromatic agent”).
Response to Amendment
According to the Amendment, filed 06/30/2026, the status of the claims is as follows:
Claims 1, 6, 7, 16, 19 are currently amended;
Claims 4, 8, 18, 20 are as originally filed;
Claims 2-3, 5, 17, 9-15 are cancelled.
By the current amendment, as a result, claims 1, 4, 6-8, 16-19, 20 are now pending in this application and are being examined on the merits as being drawn to elected invention/species.
Response to Arguments
Issues Raised and Arguments/Remarks to Rejections/Objections Not Based On Prior Art presented on Page 6 of Applicant’s Amendment dated 06/30/2026
The Examiner agrees with the Applicant, and in light of the amendments/arguments, withdraws the following non prior art related objections/rejections raised in Office Action dated 05/08/2026: [1] The objection to claims is withdrawn in view of the amendment and arguments, filed 06/30/2026.
Issues Raised and Arguments/Remarks to Rejections Based On Prior Art presented on Pages 6-8 of Applicant’s Amendment dated 06/30/2026 where Applicant’s’ remarks inter alia that:
35 U.S.C. § 103 Rejection of the Amended Independent Claim 1 and 16
[A] The Examiner rejected claims 1-8 and 16-20 as being unpatentable over Guyuron (Pub. No.: US 20070255309) in view of Pepper (Pub. No.: US 20170172783.
[B]Claim 1 and 16 are being amended to make them further distinguishable from Guyuron and Pepper. Specifically, these claims now focus on the embodiments shown in FIGS. 5 and 6 of the application in which the respective terminal end of the left and right arm is bent such that the scent member 150 is hanging over the nostril opening.
[C] Guyuron's nasal dilator is constructed differently than this. In the embodiments of Guyuron's nasal dilator shown in FIGS. 6, 9, 20, 22, 24, 26, 28, and 30, there is a bendable hook for insertion into the nostril to reduce nostril collapse.
[D] A person having ordinary skill in the art would not have modified Guyuron's hooks by adding a scent member. Under MPEP 2143.01 V and VI, if a proposed modification would render the prior art invention being modified unsatisfactory for its intended purpose or change the principle of operation of the prior art invention being modified, then the teachings of the references are not sufficient to render the claims obvious.
[E] Claims 1, 16, are patentable over the cited references for these reasons.
Applicant’s arguments [A-E] above with respect to the above claim limitation in Claim 1 have been considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons:
With respect to Applicant’s arguments [B] above, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention claimed in amended independent claim 1 and claim 16, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “embodiments shown in FIGS. 5 and 6 of the application in which the respective terminal end of the left and right arm is bent”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Examiner suggests amending the claims 1 and 16 to explicitly, positively and specifically include such features which the Applicant consider are critical, patentably novel, non-obvious and distinguish over prior art.
With respect to Applicant’s arguments [C] above, amended claim 1 explicitly, positively and specifically recites “when the upper section is adhered to the nose, the terminal end of the arm hangs laterally across the nostril opening toward a septum of the nose in such a way that the scented portion is positioned over the nostril opening”. In this case, This “when” encompassing limitation is being broadly yet reasonably interpreted under MPEP 2111.04 as a conditional/contingent limitation and thus, if the prior art system possesses the physical structure to execute the conditional action if the event arises, prior art system would read on the claim as now explicitly, positively and specifically recited by the Applicants (see MPEP 2111.04). Guyuron in at least fig. 6 disclose the upper section is adhered to the nose 12, 14 and in at least fig. 6-7, [0006], [0066], [0083-0085] for example discloses nasal dilator made of flexible substrate (i.e. possesses the physical structure) that allows terminal end of the arm 62 to hang laterally across the nostril opening toward a septum of the nose for example as would occur when terminal end of the arm is bent in a “J” configuration around the inner and outer skin that forms the nostril as now explicitly, positively and specifically recited by the Applicants. See at least Guyuron [0066] “substrate 20 may be may be made from a flexible material”; [0084] “nasal dilator 60 includes bendable hooks 62, which extend downwardly from the lower portion 24 of the substrate 20, and in the general direction of the nostril openings 64. As shown in FIG. 6, the bendable hooks 62 may be bent and inserted into the nostrils to mechanically minimize, reduce or inhibit nostril collapse. The bendable hooks 62 may be bent in a … "J" configuration around the inner and outer skin that forms the nostril. …In use, the nasal dilator 60 may be secured to the nose with adhesive and the hooks 62 may be bent by the user in to the nostrils.”. While does not explicitly disclose arm having a scented portion feature, Pepper discloses the scented portion features i.e. Guyuron in at least fig. 6-7 discloses nasal dilator with arms with terminal ends while Pepper in at least [0051], [0120-0125], for example discloses the scented portion includes a scent member attached proximal to a terminal end of the arm, the scent member being scented. Thus, combination of applied art as a whole disclose the limitation as now explicitly, positively and specifically recited by the Applicants. Pepper also discloses a nose attachment member with arms and arm ends having a scented portion 602 thereon; and when coupled to the nose the terminal end of the arm in use hangs at least partially laterally across the nostril opening toward a septum of the nose in such a way that the scented portion 602 is positioned over the nostril opening. See at least Pepper [0051] “nasal dilator device may further comprise an overmould disposed on at least one of the central portion, the leg members, the intermediate sections and the arcuate cantilever rib members. The overmould may be infused with a compound, a medicament, a fragrance or an aroma. The nasal dilator device may be composed of a substrate material infused with a medicament, a fragrance or an aromatic agent.”; [0120] “nasal dilator device 600 comprises at least one capsule 602 disposed within respective sockets 408a, 408b. The capsule 602 may include an agent such as a medicament and/or a fragrance or aromatic agent… agent may be an aromatic scent such as an essential oil blend or synthetic fragrance blend to provide an olfactory and/or physiological response such as decongesting the nasal passages 318, promoting relaxation, promoting sleepiness, suppressing appetite or a medicament such as a drug to reduce pain such as a migraine”; [0121] “nasal dilator device 700 comprises at least one coating or film 702 arranged to release a fragrance, aroma or medicament”;[0122-0123] “a fragrance, aroma or medicament may be provided or retained between two strips or films 702 forming a blister… coating or film 702 may be comprise a polymer or a fibre”; [0124-0125] “coating or film 702 may be disposed on … the first and second leg members 106a, 106b, the first and second intermediate sections 108a, 108b, the rib members 110a, 110b, and/or the first and second nostril engaging elements 112a, 112b… an aperture (not shown) is disposed in each of the first and second nostril engaging elements and is arranged to receive an agent, a compound, a medicament, a capsule, and/or a housing or compact arranged to receive an agent, medicament and/or a fragrance or aromatic agent.
The combination of Guyuron and Pepper as a whole also claim 16 limitations when claim is broadly and reasonably interpreted in light of MPEP 2111.04 as detailed above. More specifically, Guyuron in at least fig. 6-7, [0006], [0066], [0083-0085] for example discloses nasal dilator made of flexible substrate (i.e. possesses the physical structure) that allows the terminal end of the left arm (see fig. 7 “62” on left side of nostril) hangs laterally across the left nostril opening toward a septum of the nose; and when the upper section is adhered to the nose, the terminal end of the right arm (see fig. 7 “62” on right side of nostril) hangs laterally across the right nostril opening toward the septum of the nose for example as would occur when each respective arm terminal end is bent in a “J” configuration around the inner and outer skin that forms the respective nostril while Pepper disclose the scented portion features as detailed above. Thus, the combination of Guyuron and Pepper as a whole discloses all the limitations of claim 16 as now explicitly, positively and specifically recited by the Applicants, when claim 16 is broadly and reasonably interpreted in light of MPEP 2111.04 as detailed above. Examiner suggests amending the claims 1 and 16 to explicitly, positively and specifically include such features which the Applicant consider are critical, patentably novel, non-obvious and distinguish over prior art.
With respect to Applicant’s arguments [D] above stating “person having ordinary skill in the art would not have modified Guyuron's hooks …proposed modification would render the prior art invention being modified unsatisfactory for its intended purpose or change the principle of operation of the prior art invention”, i.e. primary reference teaches away from modification, please note it has been held that “the prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed….” In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). In order for a reference to teach away from the invention (i) prior art must criticize, discredit or otherwise discourage" the combination of the references;(ii) one or more references expressly exclude combining the references; and (iii) secondary reference destroys the functionality of the primary reference. Here, neither Guyuron nor Pepper, criticize, discredit or otherwise discourage the combination of the references, neither reference, Guyuron nor Pepper criticize, expressly exclude combining the references; and (iii) secondary reference, Pepper, does NOT destroys the functionality of the primary reference as the scent portion is an addition to the nasal dilator frame end portion.
With respect to Applicant’s arguments [A-E] above, for the above reasons, the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of claims 1 and 16 is proper, still applies and is being maintained at this time and thus, claim 1 and 16 as now explicitly, positively and specifically recite by the Applicants are not allowable at this time. Please also cross-reference detailed claim 1 and 16 interpretation, claim limitation mapping to prior art disclosed features and detailed explanations above. Examiner suggests amending the claims 1 and 16 to explicitly, positively and specifically include such features which the Applicant consider are critical, patentably novel, non-obvious and distinguish over prior art.
Issues Raised and Arguments/Remarks to Rejections Based On Prior Art presented on Page 8 of Applicant’s Amendment dated 06/30/2026 where Applicant’s’ remarks inter alia that:
35 U.S.C. § 103 Rejection of Dependent Claims 4, 6-8, 17-19, 20.
[a] Claims 1, 16, and their dependent claims are patentable over the cited references for these reasons.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to dependent claims 4, 6-8, 17-19 been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the dependent claims 4, 6-8, 17-19 define a patentable invention based on their dependency on base claims without specifically pointing out how the language of the dependent claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Therefore, that argument above is not persuasive either.
For the above reasons, the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of dependent claims 4, 6-8, 17-19 is proper, still applies and is being maintained at this time. Please also cross-reference detailed claim 4, 6-8, 17-19 interpretation, claim limitation mapping to prior art disclosed features and detailed explanations above.
Conclusion
Applicant’s’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUNITA REDDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791