DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to an amendment filed on 6/12/2026. As directed by the amendment, claims 1, 10-11, and 20 were amended, claims 8-9 and 18-19 were cancelled and no new claims were added. Thus, claims 1-7, 10-17, and 20 are presently pending in this application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification includes section headings which are in lower case and are bolded. Section headings are required to be in all upper case font with no underline or bold text. See MPEP 37 C.F.R. 1.154(c).
Claim Interpretation
Presently, no limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Imanaka (JP-H11206867).
Regarding claim 1, Imanaka discloses a skin patch (entire patch in fig. 3, paragraphs 0003-0008 of the English translation) for delivering scent to a human nose (paragraphs 0001, 0003, 0007, 0008 of the English translation), the skin patch comprising: a flexible base member (the flexible base member is being interpreted as 1, 3 and 9, fig. 3, Imanaka discloses in paragraph 0008 that 1 is a tape substrate and is a polyvinyl chloride sheet having ventilation holes 6) configured to be adhered between a base of the nose and a vermillion border (see paragraph 0007, Imanaka discloses that the aromatherapy tape can be applied to the nose or under the nose, under the nose would be between the base and vermillion border, furthermore, the flexible base member would be capable of being adhered to between a base of the nose and a vermillion border); the flexible base member defining an outer perimeter having a left edge, a right edge, an upper edge extending from the left edge to the right edge, and a lower edge opposite the upper edge and extending from the left edge to the right edge (see the annotated-Imanaka fig. 3 above, the tape would have a height that extends from the right to the left edge, therefore, depending on how the skin patch is oriented on the wearer, there would be a top edge being between the left edge and the right edge and a bottom edge opposite of the top edge that is between the right edge and the left edge); the flexible base member including first side and a second side opposite the first side, the first side and the second side extending to the left edge, right edge, upper edge, and lower edge (see the annotated-Imanaka fig. 3 above, the first side and the second side are extending to the left edge, right edge, upper edge, and lower edge, it is noted that the first side is being defined as an side of 1, 3 and 9 relative to the orientation shown in fig. 3), the second side including a skin contact adhesive (adhesive 2, see the annotated-Imanaka fig. 3 above, paragraph 0007); a plurality of perforations (6, fig. 3, paragraph 0007) through the flexible base member extending from the first side to the second side, the perforations being distributed across the flexible base member (see the annotated-Imanaka fig. 3 above, paragraph 0007); and a non-perforated section of the flexible base member carrying a scented portion including a scent formula distributed within the flexible base member between the first side and the second side (3 and 4 form the scented portion or 3, 4, and 9 form the scented portion and as shown, the scent formula is the formula of the scented portion, the scent formula is 4 that is positioned within the gauze therefore is distributed within the flexible base member between the first side and the second side, under both of the interpretations, the scent formula is distributed within 3 of the flexible base member (1, 3 and 9) and is between the first side and the second side, see the annotated-Imanaka fig. 3 above, paragraphs 0007-0008, as shown, when 3/4/9 are being interpreted as the scented portion, the non-perforated section is the non-perforated portion adjacent to the hole 6, alternatively, when the scented portion is being interpreted as 3 and 4, the non-perforated section can be interpreted as the non-perforated portion of 9).
Regarding claim 6, Imanaka discloses that the scented portion includes a liquid absorbent material (see 3, Imanaka discloses in paragraph 0007 that the pad 3 containing a fragrance material 4 comprising essential oil, the padding material is made of gauze containing pieces of nonwoven fabric and is impregnated with rosemary essential oil).
Regarding claim 10, Imanaka discloses that the scented portion remains within the flexible base member when nasal drainage is wiped from the flexible base member (see the annotated-Imanaka fig. 3 above, as shown, if the nasal drainage is wiped from the flexible base member at the section that gets exposed to the nasal drainage, the scented portion would remain within the flexible base member).
Claims 1-2, 6, 10-12, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Block (6,090,403).
Regarding claim 1, Block discloses a skin patch (see patch 10 as 11 in fig. 2, col 4, line 66 to col 5, line 27) for delivering scent to a human nose (see fig. 2, col 2, lines 11-35, Block discloses a nasal decongestion that is aromatic), the skin patch comprising: a flexible base member (16, figs. 1-2, col 4, lines 10-36) configured to be adhered between a base of the nose and a vermillion border (see fig. 2); the flexible base member defining an outer perimeter having a left edge, a right edge, an upper edge extending from the left edge to the right edge, and a lower edge opposite the upper edge and extending from the left edge to the right edge; the flexible base member including a first side and a second side opposite the first side, the first side and the second side extending to the left edge, right edge, upper edge, and lower edge (see the annotated-Block figs. 2 and 6 above), the second side including a skin contact adhesive (14, fig. 6, col 4, lines 10-65); a plurality of perforations through the flexible base member extending from the first side to the second side, the perforations being distributed across the flexible base member (see abstract and col 2, lines 11-35 and col 3, lines 27-47 and full disclosure, Block discloses that the aromatic, vaporizable decongestant are supported on a foraminous carrier composed typically of a perforated plastic film which is perforated by many minute apertures/perforations, therefore, 16 is the foraminous carrier which is in the form of a perforated plastic film which would comprises perforations that are distributed across the flexible base member 16, see figs. 6-6A); and a non-perforated section of the flexible base member carrying a scented portion including a scent formula distributed within the flexible base member between the first side and the second side (the scented portion is a portion of the flexible base member that has the perforations and material forming the perforations that carry the nasal decongestant agent, the material that define the perforations would be a non-perforated section, see col 3, lines 27-47, Block discloses that the decongestant agents are applied within the minute apertures/perforations, therefore, the nasal decongestant would have a scent formula that is being carried by the non-perforated section and is within the perforations).
Regarding claim 2, Block discloses that the scented portion includes menthol, or camphor or eucalyptus (see col 2, lines 61-67).
Regarding claim 6, Block discloses that the scented portion includes a liquid absorbent material (see the explanation in claim 1, the portion of the flexible base member that carries the scented portion would be a liquid absorbent material since it is made of minute apertures/perforations).
Regarding claim 10, Block discloses that the scented portion remains within the flexible base member when nasal drainage is wiped from the flexible base member (see fig. 2, depending on where the nasal drainage is wiped from, if the nasal drainage is wiped from a section that is not considered as the scented portion, then the scented portion remains within the flexible base member when nasal drainage is wiped from the flexible base member).
Regarding claim 11, Block discloses a method comprising delivering scent to a human nose (see fig. 2, col 4, lines 10-66 and col 5, lines 1-27), by adhering a skin patch (see patch 10 as 11 in fig. 2, col 4, line 66 to col 5, line 27) to an upper lip (col 2, lines 11-35, Block discloses a nasal decongestion that is aromatic), the skin patch comprising: a flexible base member (16, figs. 1-2, col 4, lines 10-36) configured to be adhered between a base of the nose and a vermillion border (see fig. 2); the flexible base member defining an outer perimeter having a left edge, a right edge, an upper edge extending from the left edge to the right edge, and a lower edge opposite the upper edge and extending from the left edge to the right edge; the flexible base member including a first side and a second side opposite the first side, the first side and the second side extending to the left edge, right edge, upper edge, and lower edge (see the annotated-Block figs. 2 and 6 above), the second side including a skin contact adhesive (14, fig. 6, col 4, lines 10-65); a plurality of perforations through the flexible base member extending from the first side to the second side, the perforations being distributed across the flexible base member (see abstract and col 2, lines 11-35 and col 3, lines 27-47 and full disclosure, Block discloses that the aromatic, vaporizable decongestant are supported on a foraminous carrier composed typically of a perforated plastic film which is perforated by many minute apertures/perforations, therefore, 16 is the foraminous carrier which is in the form of a perforated plastic film which would comprises perforations that are distributed across the flexible base member 16, see figs. 6-6A); and a non-perforated section of the flexible base member carrying a scented portion including a scent formula distributed within the flexible base member between the first side and the second side (the scented portion is a portion of the flexible base member that has the perforations and material forming the perforations that carry the nasal decongestant agent, the material that define the perforations would be a non-perforated section, see col 3, lines 27-47, Block discloses that the decongestant agents are applied within the minute apertures/perforations, therefore, the nasal decongestant would have a scent formula that is being carried by the non-perforated section and is within the perforations).
Regarding claim 12, Block discloses that the scented portion includes menthol, or camphor or eucalyptus (see col 2, lines 61-67).
Regarding claim 16, Block discloses that the scented portion includes a liquid absorbent material (see the explanation in claim 11, the portion of the flexible base member that carries the scented portion would be a liquid absorbent material since it is made of minute apertures/perforations).
Regarding claim 20, Block discloses that the scented portion remains within the flexible base member when nasal drainage is wiped from the flexible base member (see fig. 2, depending on where the nasal drainage is wiped from, if the nasal drainage is wiped from a section that is not considered as the scented portion, then the scented portion remains within the flexible base member when nasal drainage is wiped from the flexible base member).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imanaka (JP-H11206867) in view of Cressman (2022/0193351).
Regarding claim 2, Imanaka discloses that the scented portion includes essentials oil made from herbs and fruits (see paragraphs 0007-0008), but fails to disclose that the scented portion includes menthol, camphor, and/or eucalyptus.
However, Cressman teaches a scented portion includes menthol or eucalyptus (see paragraphs 0003-0015 and 0054-0057).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scented portion of Imanaka to have menthol or eucalyptus as taught by Cressman for the purpose of providing aromatherapy to alleviate various symptoms related to the respiratory system, such as restricted nasal patency, thereby, providing comfort to the wearer (see paragraph 0003 and 0054-0057 of Cressman).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imanaka (JP-H11206867) in view of Pohjola (2,595,606).
Regarding claim 3, Imanaka fails to specifically disclose that the non-perforated section is disc-shaped and is positioned at a center of the flexible base member.
However, Pohjola teaches a non-perforated section that is disc-shaped and is positioned at a center of the flexible base member (see the annotated-Pohjola fig. 2 above, as shown, the section on 10 that is not perforated (without 16) can be defined as a disc-shaped, see col 4, lines 48-64, it is noted, that disc-shaped is interpreted in the same manner as the applicant’s instant disclosure, in that the disc-shaped section is an arbitrary section being imaginarily sectioned off).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scented portion and the perforations of Imanaka to be carried by a non-perforated section that is disc-shaped and is positioned at a center of the flexible base member of Imanaka as taught by Pohjola for the purpose of providing a perforations arrangement that would allow the scented portion of Imanaka to be supported by the flexible base member and to also provide the predictable result of allowing the flexible base member to be breathable, thereby preventing stuffiness and rashes (see col 4, lines 48-64 of Pohjola and see paragraph 0007 of Imanaka).
Furthermore, if there is any doubt that the non-perforated section is disc-shaped, the feature of choosing to have the perforations arranged such that the non-perforated section of the modified Imanaka is a disc-shaped is considered as an obvious design choice, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component or an arrangement of perforations. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imanaka (JP-H11206867) in view of Pohjola (2,595,606).
Regarding claim 4, Imanaka discloses perforations (6), but fails to disclose that the perforations are circular.
However, Pohjola teaches discloses perforations are circular (see perforations 16, fig. 2, see col 4, lines 48-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the perforations of Imanaka to be circular as taught by Pohjola for the purpose of providing a shape for the perforations that would allow the perforations of the modified Imanaka to be breathable, thereby preventing stuffiness and rashes (see col 4, lines 48-64 of Pohjola and paragraph 0007 of Imanaka).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imanaka (JP-H11206867) in view of Zhang (CN 109199699).
Regarding claim 5, Imanaka discloses perforations (6), but fails to disclose that the perforations are evenly distributed across the flexible base member.
However, Zhang teaches a plurality of ventilated holes that are evenly distributed on a base member (paragraphs 0010 and 0031 of the English translation and fig. 1, see holes 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the perforations of Imanaka to be evenly distributed as taught by Zhang for the purpose of providing an arrangements of perforations that would provide the predictable result of allowing the perforations of the modified Imanaka to provide breathability, thereby, would prevent stuffiness and rashes (see paragraphs 0010 and 0031 of Zhang and paragraph 0007 of Imanaka).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imanaka (JP-H11206867) in view of Doshi (10,335,322).
Regarding claim 7, Imanaka discloses that the flexible base member can comprise any shape (see paragraph 0007), but fails to disclose that the outer perimeter defines a trapezoid with the upper edge being longer than the lower edge.
However, Doshi teaches that a tape comprising an outer perimeter that defines a trapezoid with the upper edge being located than the lower edge (see col 32, lines 43-67, Doshi discloses that the holdfast shape may be a square, rectangle or trapezoid with reference to figs. 9A-9C and col 27, line 60 to col 28, line 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of layer 1 of the flexible base member of Imanaka to be a trapezoid as taught by Doshi for the purpose of providing an alternative shape that would perform equally well in allowing the flexible base member to be placed under the nose to provide the aromatherapy to the wearer.
Claims 11, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Imanaka (JP-H11206867) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Imanaka (JP-H11206867) in view of Cressman (2022/0193351).
Regarding claim 11, Imanaka discloses a method comprising delivering scent to a human nose (see paragraphs 00003-0008 of the English translation) by adhering a skin patch (entire patch in fig. 3, paragraphs 0001, 0003, 0007, 0008 of the English translation) to an upper lip (see paragraphs 0001 and 0007-0008, Imanaka discloses that the patch is placed on the nose or under the nose, adhering to a portion that is under the nose would be adhering to an upper lip), the skin patch including: a flexible base member (the flexible base member is being interpreted as 1, 3 and 9, fig. 3, Imanaka discloses in paragraph 0008 that 1 is a tape substrate and is a polyvinyl chloride sheet having ventilation holes 6) configured to be adhered between a base of the nose and a vermillion border (see paragraph 0007, Imanaka discloses that the aromatherapy tape can be applied to the nose or under the nose, under the nose would be between the base and vermillion border, furthermore, the flexible base member would be capable of being adhered to between a base of the nose and a vermillion border); the flexible base member defining an outer perimeter having a left edge, a right edge, an upper edge extending from the left edge to the right edge, and a lower edge opposite the upper edge and extending from the left edge to the right edge (see the annotated-Imanaka fig. 3 above, the tape would have a height that extends from the right to the left edge, therefore, depending on how the skin patch is oriented on the wearer, there would be a top edge being between the left edge and the right edge and a bottom edge opposite of the top edge that is between the right edge and the left edge); the flexible base member including first side and a second side opposite the first side, the first side and the second side extending to the left edge, right edge, upper edge, and lower edge (see the annotated-Imanaka fig. 3 above, the first side and the second side are extending to the left edge, right edge, upper edge, and lower edge, it is noted that the first side is being defined as an side of 1, 3 and 9 relative to the orientation shown in fig. 3), the second side including a skin contact adhesive (adhesive 2, see the annotated-Imanaka fig. 3 above, paragraph 0007); a plurality of perforations (6, fig. 3, paragraph 0007) through the flexible base member extending from the first side to the second side, the perforations being distributed across the flexible base member (see the annotated-Imanaka fig. 3 above, paragraph 0007); and a non-perforated section of the flexible base member carrying a scented portion including a scent formula distributed within the flexible base member between the first side and the second side (3 and 4 form the scented portion or 3, 4, and 9 form the scented portion and as shown, the scent formula is the formula of the scented portion, the scent formula is 4 that is positioned within the gauze therefore is distributed within the flexible base member between the first side and the second side, under both of the interpretations, the scent formula is distributed within 3 of the flexible base member (1, 3 and 9) and is between the first side and the second side, see the annotated-Imanaka fig. 3 above, paragraphs 0007-0008, as shown, when 3/4/9 are being interpreted as the scented portion, the non-perforated section is the non-perforated portion adjacent to the hole 6, alternatively, when the scented portion is being interpreted as 3 and 4, the non-perforated section can be interpreted as the non-perforated portion of 9). However, if there is any doubt that Imanaka discloses that the method comprising delivering scent to a human nose, by adhering the skin patch to an upper lip.
However, Cressman teaches a method comprising delivering scent to a human nose, by placing a band to an upper lip (see 1 and 2 being secured to an upper lip (see figs. 1-2, paragraphs 0016-0017 and 0033).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and the skin patch of Imanaka to be placed to an upper lip as taught by Cressman for the purpose of providing a position where the skin patch of Imanaka can provide aromatherapy to the user (see paragraphs 0016-0017 and 0033 of Cressman and paragraphs 0007-0008 of Imanaka).
Regarding claim 16, Imanaka or the modified Imanaka discloses that the scented portion includes a liquid absorbent material (see 3 of Imanaka, Imanaka discloses in paragraph 0007 of Imanaka that the pad 3 containing a fragrance material 4 comprising essential oil, the padding material is made of gauze containing pieces of nonwoven fabric and is impregnated with rosemary essential oil).
Regarding claim 20, Imanaka or the modified Imanaka discloses that the scented portion remains within the flexible base member when nasal drainage is wiped from the flexible base member (see the annotated-Imanaka fig. 3 above, as shown, if the nasal drainage is wiped from the flexible base member at the section that gets exposed to the nasal drainage, the scented portion would remain within the flexible base member 1 of Imanaka).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imanaka (JP-H11206867) and alternatively in view of Cressman (2022/0193351) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Cressman (2022/0193351).
Regarding claim 12, Imanaka or the modified Imanaka discloses that the scented portion includes essentials oil made from herbs and fruits (see paragraphs 0007-0008 of Imanaka), but fails to disclose that the scented portion includes menthol, camphor, and/or eucalyptus.
However, Cressman teaches a scented portion includes menthol or eucalyptus (see paragraphs 0003-0015 and 0054-0057).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scented portion of Imanaka or the modified Imanaka to have menthol or eucalyptus as taught by Cressman for the purpose of providing aromatherapy to alleviate various symptoms related to the respiratory system, such as restricted nasal patency, thereby, providing comfort to the wearer (see paragraph 0003 and 0054-0057 of Cressman).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imanaka (JP-H11206867) and alternatively in view of Cressman (2022/0193351) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Pohjola (2,595,606).
Regarding claim 13, Imanaka or the modified Imanaka fails to specifically disclose that the non-perforated section is disc-shaped and is positioned at a center of the flexible base member.
However, Pohjola teaches a non-perforated section that is disc-shaped and is positioned at a center of the flexible base member (see the annotated-Pohjola fig. 2 above, as shown, the section on 10 that is not perforated (without 16) can be defined as a disc-shaped, see col 4, lines 48-64, it is noted, that disc-shaped is interpreted in the same manner as the applicant’s instant disclosure, in that the disc-shaped section is an arbitrary section being imaginarily sectioned off).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scented portion and the perforations of Imanaka or the modified Imanaka to be carried by a non-perforated section that is disc-shaped and is positioned at a center of the flexible base member of Imanaka as taught by Pohjola for the purpose of providing a perforations arrangement that would allow the scented portion of Imanaka to be supported by the flexible base member and to also provide the predictable result of allowing the flexible base member to be breathable, thereby preventing stuffiness and rashes (see col 4, lines 48-64 of Pohjola and see paragraph 0007 of Imanaka).
Furthermore, if there is any doubt that the non-perforated section is disc-shaped, the feature of choosing to have the perforations arranged such that the non-perforated section of the modified Imanaka is a disc-shaped is considered as an obvious design choice, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component or an arrangement of perforations. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imanaka (JP-H11206867) and alternatively in view of Cressman (2022/0193351) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Pohjola (2,595,606).
Regarding claim 14, Imanaka or the modified Imanaka discloses perforations (6 of Imanaka), but fails to disclose that the perforations are circular.
However, Pohjola teaches discloses perforations are circular (see perforations 16, fig. 2, see col 4, lines 48-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the perforations of Imanaka or the modified Imanaka to be circular as taught by Pohjola for the purpose of providing a shape for the perforations that would allow the perforations of the modified Imanaka to be breathable, thereby preventing stuffiness and rashes (see col 4, lines 48-64 of Pohjola and paragraph 0007 of Imanaka).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imanaka (JP-H11206867) and alternatively in view of Cressman (2022/0193351) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Zhang (CN 109199699).
Regarding claim 15, Imanaka or the modified Imanaka discloses perforations (6 of Imanaka), but fails to disclose that the perforations are evenly distributed across the flexible base member.
However, Zhang teaches a plurality of ventilated holes that are evenly distributed on a base member (paragraphs 0010 and 0031 of the English translation and fig. 1, see holes 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the perforations of Imanaka or the modified Imanaka to be evenly distributed as taught by Zhang for the purpose of providing an arrangements of perforations that would provide the predictable result of allowing the perforations of the modified Imanaka to provide breathability, thereby, would prevent stuffiness and rashes (see paragraphs 0010 and 0031 of Zhang and paragraph 0007 of Imanaka).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imanaka (JP-H11206867) and alternatively in view of Cressman (2022/0193351) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Doshi (10,335,322).
Regarding claim 17, Imanaka or the modified Imanaka discloses that the flexible base member can comprise any shape (see paragraph 0007 of Imanaka), but fails to disclose that the outer perimeter defines a trapezoid with the upper edge being longer than the lower edge.
However, Doshi teaches that a tape comprising an outer perimeter that defines a trapezoid with the upper edge being located than the lower edge (see col 32, lines 43-67, Doshi discloses that the holdfast shape may be a square, rectangle or trapezoid with reference to figs. 9A-9C and col 27, line 60 to col 28, line 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the flexible base member of Imanaka or the modified Imanaka to be a trapezoid as taught by Doshi for the purpose of providing an alternative shape that would perform equally well in allowing the flexible base member to be placed under the nose to provide the aromatherapy to the wearer.
Response to Arguments
The arguments to the newly added claim limitations in claims 1-7, 10-17, and 20 has been addressed in the above rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TU A VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785