DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/14/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo et al. (US. Pub: 2022/0352268 A1~ hereinafter “Seo”).
Regarding claim 1, Seo discloses (in at least figs. 4-6) a display device comprising: a base substrate (110) including a display area (DPA) and a circuit area (NEA): a planarization layer (PLL; [0131]) disposed on the base substrate; a plurality of debossing grooves (items LE are formed in the grooves; see figs. 4-6) defined in the planarization layer (PLL) and disposed on the display area of the base substrate; at least one light-emitting element (LE; [0092]-[0093]) aligned with and disposed in the plurality of debossing grooves (see at least fig. 4), each of the at least one light-emitting element (LE) including a first semiconductor layer (SEM1; see fig. 6; [0115]), an active layer (MQW; fig. 6; [0115]), a second semiconductor layer (SME2; fig. 6; [0115]), and a first electrode (125; see fig. 6; [0117]) contacting the first semiconductor layer (SEM1); a second electrode line (CE) electrically connected to the second semiconductor layer of the light-emitting element (LE); and a first electrode line (PE) electrically connected to the first electrode of the light-emitting element (LE).
Regarding claim 2, Seo discloses (in at least figs. 4-6) an insulating layer (BNL) disposed between the first electrode line (PE) and the second electrode line (CE).
Regarding claim 3, Seo discloses (in at least figs. 4-6) the second electrode line (CE) covers a top surface of the planarization layer (PLL) between adjacent debossing grooves and a part of side surface of at least one of the plurality of debossing grooves while contacting the second semiconductor layer (see at least figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 4, Seo discloses (in at least figs. 4-6) the first electrode line (PE) covers the planarization layer (PLL) and contacts the first electrode (125) of the light-emitting element (LE).
Regarding claim 7, Seo discloses (in at least figs. 4-6) the light-emitting element (LE) includes a nanorod shape.
Regarding claim 12, Seo discloses (in at least figs. 4-6) the first electrode (125) of each light-emitting element (LE) of the at least one of light-emitting element is in contact with the bottom surface of a debossing groove receiving the light-emitting element of the plurality of debossing grooves (see at least figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 13, Seo discloses (in at least figs. 3-6; [0084]; [0090]; [0093]-[0095]) a driving transistor and a storage capacitor for driving the light-emitting element are disposed in the circuit area.
Regarding claim 14, Seo discloses (in at least figs. 4-6; [0109]) at least one of the first electrode line and the second electrode line includes a transparent metal oxide including indium-tin-oxide (ITO) or indium-zinc-oxide (IZO).
Regarding claim 15, Seo discloses (in at least figs. 4-6) at least two light-emitting elements (LE), which do not overlap with each other, are received in each of the plurality of debossing grooves (see at least figs. 4 and 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US. Pub: 2022/0352268 A1~ hereinafter “Seo”).
Regarding claim 5, Seo discloses all the claimed limitations except for the first electrode includes a magnetic material.
However, Seo discloses (in at least figs. 4-6) the first electrode may include (ITO; [0119]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use any suitable material including a magnetic material to form the first electrode of Seo, since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination. Also, it has been held that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious.
Regarding claim 6, Seo discloses (in at least figs. 4-6) an insulating layer (130) disposed under the plurality of debossing grooves and disposed in the display area.
Seo does not expressly disclose a multi-layer insulating structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider using a multi-layer insulating structure in the device of Seo instead of a single insulating layer for the benefit of providing suitable insulation to the light-emitting element.
Regarding claims 8 and 11, Seo discloses (in at least figs. 4-6) each of the plurality of debossing grooves includes a flat bottom surface (see figs. 4-6), but fails to disclose an inclined side surface inclined with respect to the bottom surface; and a length of the inclined side surface is smaller than or equal to a length of the light-emitting element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Seo such that an inclined side surface inclined with respect to the bottom surface, and a length of the inclined side surface is smaller than or equal to a length of the light-emitting element, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, Seo discloses (in at least figs. 4-6) each of the plurality of debossing grooves includes a flat bottom surface (see figs. 4-6), a protrusion (item 125) protruding from the bottom surface (see figs. 4-6), but is silent about an inclined side surface inclined with respect to the bottom surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Seo such that an inclined side surface inclined with respect to the bottom surface, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10, Seo discloses (in at least figs. 4-6) the protrusion (item 125) has an outer surface area smaller than a cross-sectional area of the light-emitting element (LE) in a diameter direction (see figs. 4-6), but fails to disclose the protrusion has an inclined side surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Seo such that the protrusion has an inclined side surface, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875