DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16-36 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 20190318488 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lim, in view of Wang et al. (US 20210112281 A1), hereinafter referred to as Wang, further, in view of Mammou et al. (US 20190087979 A1), hereinafter referred to as Mammou.
Regarding claim 19, Lim discloses method for generating three-dimensional data, comprising (See Abstract - the data structure 400 may represent a portion of a bitstream generated by an encoder and received by a decoder):
generating a unit of geometry information (See [0104] - The code indicates the content of embedded data which indicates a PCC header parameter set the content can include information from the stream header as well as information relative to one of the 2D frames (such as the geometry frame 420));
generating a unit of attribute information; (See [0104]- or the texture frame)
generating a unit of a first parameters set including first parameters used for encoding the unit of geometry information and (See [0104]- or geometry component); and
encoding a unit of a second parameter set including second parameters used for encoding the unit of attribute information (See [0104]- color component).
Lim does not explicitly disclose each of the unit of geometry information, the unit of attribute information, the unit of a first parameter set, and the unit of a second parameters set includes information indicating whether data included in the unit is one of the geometry information, the attribute information, the first parameter set, and the second parameter set; corresponding to the unit of geometry information and bitstream includes identification information indicating the unit of the encoded geometry information corresponding to the unit of the encoded attribute information.
However, Wang from the same or similar endeavor of point cloud coding discloses each of the unit of geometry information, the unit of attribute information, the unit of a first parameter set, and the unit of a second parameters set includes information indicating whether data included in the unit is one of the geometry information, the attribute information, the first parameter set, and the second parameter set (See [0088]- The data unit 402 includes a payload 406; [0091] – [0094] - The type indicator may be, for example, 5 bits. The type indicator specifies the type of content carried in the payload 406. See also Examiner’s response above).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Lim to add the teachings of Wang as above, in order to utilize a type indicator in a data unit header (a.k.a., a PCC network access layer (NAL) header) to specify the type of content in the payload of the PCC NAL unit and utilize a group of frames header NAL unit to carry the group of frames header parameters and used to signal the profile and level of each geometry or texture bitstream (Wang, [0044]).
Further, Mammou from the same or similar endeavor of point cloud coding discloses generating a unit of attribute information corresponding to the unit of geometry information (¶ [0095] - patch images associated with the geometry/texture/attributes, respectively, of the point cloud at a given patch location; [0365] Such information is then copied at the co-located locations on separate image sequences with each now containing only the geometry information, the texture information, and any other remaining attributes respectively);and
bitstream includes identification information indicating the unit of the encoded geometry information corresponding to the unit of the encoded attribute information (¶ [0376] PCCNAL POC. This index can identify each NAL unit and permit grouping of different NAL units based on its value. For example, a geometry and an attribute frame that correspond to the same Point Cloud. See also ¶[0410]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Lim and Wang to add the teachings of Mammou as above, in order to reduce time delay and enable parallel decoding (Mammou, [0367]).
Regarding claim 20, Lim and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 19, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Lim does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 19, wherein the unit of geometry information includes a first header and a first payload.
However, Wang from the same or similar endeavor of point cloud coding discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein the unit of geometry information includes a first header (See [0087]-[0089] -a data unit header 404 (is added for each data unit 402 ) and a first payload (See [0088]- The data unit 402 includes a payload 406; See also [0091] – [0094] - The type indicator may be, for example, 5 bits. The type indicator specifies the type of content carried in the payload 406).
The motivation for combining Lim and Wang has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 21, Lim and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 20, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Lim does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 20, wherein the unit of attribute information includes a second header and a second payload
However, Wang from the same or similar endeavor of point cloud coding discloses the method according to claim 20, wherein the unit of attribute information includes a second header (See [0087]-[0089] -a data unit header 404 (is added for each data unit 402 ) and a second payload (See [0088]- The data unit 402 includes a payload 406; See also [0091] – [0094] - The type indicator may be, for example, 5 bits. The type indicator specifies the type of content carried in the payload 406).
The motivation for combining Lim and Wang has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 22, Lim and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 21, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Lim does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 21, wherein the unit of a first parameter set includes a third header and a third payload.
However, Wang from the same or similar endeavor of point cloud coding discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein the unit of a first parameter set includes a third header (See [0087]-[0089] -a data unit header 404 (is added for each data unit 402 ) and a third payload (See [0088]- The data unit 402 includes a payload 406; See also [0091] – [0094] - The type indicator may be, for example, 5 bits. The type indicator specifies the type of content carried in the payload 406).
The motivation for combining Lim and Wang has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 23, Lim and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 20, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Lim does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 22, wherein the unit of a second parameter set includes a fourth header and a fourth payload.
However, Wang from the same or similar endeavor of point cloud coding discloses the method according to claim 22, wherein the unit of a second parameter set includes a fourth header (See [0087]-[0089] -a data unit header 404 (is added for each data unit 402 ) and a fourth payload (See [0088]- The data unit 402 includes a payload 406; See also [0091] – [0094] - The type indicator may be, for example, 5 bits. The type indicator specifies the type of content carried in the payload 406).
The motivation for combining Lim and Wang has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 19.
Examiner notes that it was known in the art that video compression involves a complementary pair of systems, an encoder (e.g., the encoder 410 disclosed by Lim in Fig 4A) and a decoder (e.g., the decoder 450 disclosed by Lim in Fig 4A). The encoder converts the source data (e.g., the 3D point cloud 412 disclosed by Lim in FIG. 4B) into a compressed form (e.g., the container 430 disclosed by Lim in FIG. 4B) occupying a reduced number of bits, prior to transmission or storage, and the decoder converts the compressed form back into a representation of the original video data by performing the reverse function to the encoder. (As illustrated by Lim in FIG. 4C).
Regarding claim 25-28, claim 25-28 are rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claims 20-23.
Regarding claim 29, claim 29 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 19.
Furthermore, Lim discloses a processor; and memory and using the memory, the processor performs the encoding method of claim 19 (See FIG. 2)
Regarding claim 30, claim 30 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 24.
Furthermore, Lim discloses a processor; and memory and using the memory, the processor performs the encoding method of claim 24 (See FIG. 3)
Regarding claim 31, this claim is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 19.
Furthermore, Lim discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein the unit of geometry information includes an encoded geometry data (See [0104]).
Regarding claim 32, this claim is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 31.
Furthermore, Lim discloses the method according to claim 31, wherein the unit of attribute information includes an encoded attribute data (See [0104]).
Regarding claim 33, this claim is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 24.
Furthermore, Lim discloses the method according to claim 24, wherein the unit of geometry information includes an encoded geometry data (See [0104]).
Regarding claim 34, this claim is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 33.
Furthermore, Lim discloses the 33, wherein the unit of attribute information includes an encoded attribute data (See [0104]).
Regarding claim 35, Lim and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 19, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Lim does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 19, further comprising: generating a unit of a third parameter set that is common among a plurality of frames, wherein each of the unit of geometry information, the unit of attribute information, the unit of a first parameter set, the unit of a second parameter set, and the unit of a third parameter set includes information indicating whether data included in the unit is one of the geometry information, the attribute information, the first parameter set, the second parameter set, and the third parameter set.
However, Wang from the same or similar endeavor of point cloud coding discloses the method according to claim 19, further comprising: generating a unit of a third parameter set that is common among a plurality of frames(See [0044] - a group of frames header NAL unit to carry the group of frames header parameters. The group of frames header NAL unit may also be used to signal the profile and level of each geometry or texture bitstream - See also Examiner’s response above).
wherein each of the unit of geometry information, the unit of attribute information, the unit of a first parameter set, the unit of a second parameter set, and the unit of a third parameter set includes information indicating whether data included in the unit is one of the geometry information, the attribute information, the first parameter set, the second parameter set, and the third parameter set. (See [0091] - each data unit may carry a type indicator (e.g. 5 bits) to specify that the payload contains geometry, texture or other data information. Examiner submits that extending this flexible type indicator system to distinguish the identified “ third parameter set,” in addition to geometry, attribute, first parameter set and second parameter set would be an obvious and predictable variation to a person of ordinary skill in the art. See also Examiner’s response above).
The motivation for combining Lim and Wang has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 36, claim 36 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 35.
Examiner notes that it was known in the art that video compression involves a complementary pair of systems, an encoder (e.g., the encoder 410 disclosed by Lim in Fig 4A) and a decoder (e.g., the decoder 450 disclosed by Lim in Fig 4A). The encoder converts the source data (e.g., the 3D point cloud 412 disclosed by Lim in FIG. 4B) into a compressed form (e.g., the container 430 disclosed by Lim in FIG. 4B) occupying a reduced number of bits, prior to transmission or storage, and the decoder converts the compressed form back into a representation of the original video data by performing the reverse function to the encoder. (As illustrated by Lim in FIG. 4C).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FABIO S LIMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486