Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Since the independent claims 1-2, and 20 remain rejected, the rejection of the dependent
claims persist.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE, et al. (US 20200344722 A1, hereinafter, "HE") in view of HWANG, et al. (US 20220095279 A1, hereinafter, "HWANG"), HAN, et al. (US 20230209644 A1, hereinafter, "HAN"), and CHENG, et al. (US 20210051587 A1, hereinafter, "CHENG").
Regarding claim 1, HE teaches a method comprising:
HE writes, “The method includes receiving a configuration for a slot offset value and receiving a physical
sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) over a number of sub-channels in a first slot (paragraph 0005).
receiving, by a first wireless device from a base station, one or more messages indicating
parameters for sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) operation, wherein the parameters
comprise:
HE writes, “Sidelink DRX parameters are configured by sidelink higher layers for out-of-coverage or in-
coverage Mode 2 UEs. For in-coverage Mode 1 UEs, DRX parameters can be configured by Uu and/or
sidelink higher layers. The Uu link and the sidelink for a UE can be configured to use a same or separate
set of DRX parameters. Sidelink DRX parameters are configured by Uu higher layers for in-coverage
Mode 1 UEs. The configuration can be provided to both the transmitter UE and the power
saving/receiver UE in their respective Uu links when RRC is established with the gNB...” (paragraph
0330). HE adds, “As described herein, RRC can control configuration of DRX operation” (paragraph
0287). HE concludes, “...the sidelink control information (SCI) messages are transmitted over physical
sidelink control channels (PSCCH)” (paragraph 0132). HE states the SL DRX parameters can be configured
by Uu and/or sidelink higher layers to use the same or separate set of DRX parameters. The
configurations can be provided when RRC is established with the gNB. HE mentions RRC can control
configuration of DRX operation. Therefore, HE indicates SL DRX parameters are sent by RRC messages
from the gNB (i.e. base station). HE ends with informing the reader the SCI messages are transmitted
over PSCCH.
an SL DRX start offset;
HE writes, “Different UEs can be configured with different drx-StartOffset values…” (paragraph 0397).
an SL DRX on-duration timer;
HE writes, “The DRX parameters that can be configured include various timers. For example, drx-
onDurationTimer is a timer for the On Duration at the beginning of a DRX Cycle…” (paragraph 0336)
and receiving, during an active time of the SL DRX and from a second wireless device, one or
more transport blocks while the SL DRX on-duration timer is running.
HE writes, “The data is transmitted in transport blocks (TBs) over physical sidelink shared channels
(PSSCH) and the sidelink control information (SCI) messages are transmitted over physical sidelink
control channels (PSCCH)” (paragraph 0132). HE continues, “In particular, drx-onDurationTimer is the
timer for the duration at the beginning of a DRX Cycle...” (paragraph 0287). HE adds, “When a DCI
format in a PDCCH indicates to the UE to wake up for sidelink, the UE monitors PSCCH in the sidelink
according to the sidelink DRX cycle configuration” (paragraph 0331). HE states the data is transmitted in
TBs over PSSCH and SCI messages are transmitted over PSCCH. The DRX on-duration timer is the timer
for the duration at the beginning of a DRX cycle. When the UE wakes up for sidelink, the UE monitors
PSCCH in the sidelink according to the SL DRX cycle configuration. Therefore, transport blocks will be
sent during the active time of the SL DRX while the SL DRX on-duration timer is running.
HE fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and an SL DRX slot offset associated with a
slot boundary for a communication link with the base station;”, “determining, based on a timing advance value of the first wireless device and the SL DRX slot offset, an SL slot offset, associated with a slot boundary for a sidelink, for a start of the SL DRX on-duration timer,”, “wherein the timing advance value is different from the SL DRX start offset;”, and “starting the SL DRX on-duration timer based on: the SL DRX start offset; and the SL slot offset;”
However, in analogous art, HWANG teaches and an SL DRX slot offset associated with a slot
boundary for a communication link with the base station;
HWANG writes, “Depending on a synchronization source for the SL, the boundary of a DL slot and/or a
UL slot and/or an SL slot may not be aligned. For example, a UE having the GNSS as a synchronization
source (reference) and a UE having the gNB as a synchronization source (reference) may not be
synchronized with each other. Further, the BS may not have information about a slot boundary at the
UE. In this situation, when a PUCCH transmission timing is set by using an SL channel as a reference
again, misalignment of an actual PUCCH transmission and reception time may occur between the BS and
the UE. Particularly, when the subcarrier size is smaller for the SL than for the DL or UL, the problem may
become serious. In the case of a PDCCH or when the BS allocates SL resources (e.g., PSCCH/PSSCH
resources), slot offset information indicated by the PDCCH or the BS may allocate PSCCH/PSSCH
resources in earliest SL resources after a corresponding slot offset value (physical value or logical value
(the number of slots in the resource pool))” (paragraph 0362). HWANG states that depending on the
synchronization source, the boundary of a DL slot and/or a UL slot and/or an SL slot may not be aligned.
If a UE has a GNSS as a synchronization source and another UE has a gNB as a synchronization source,
the two may not be synchronized. When the BS allocates SL resources, slot offset information indicated
by the BS may allocate PSCCH/PSSCH resources in earliest SL resources after a corresponding slot offset
value. Thus, HWANG indicates, the slot offset is used to align the boundary of a DL slot and/or a UL slot
and/or an SL slot for communication with the BS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of HE to include aspects described by HWANG that “relates to a wireless communication system, and more particularly, to a method and apparatus related to a timing at which a user equipment (UE) transmits a sidelink feedback to a base station (BS).” HWANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to an embodiment, ambiguity of a feedback transmission timing, which may be caused by mismatch between synchronization between a base station (BS) and a user equipment (UE) and sidelink synchronization, may be eliminated" (paragraph 0043).
HE and HWANG fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “determining, based on a timing advance value of the first wireless device and the SL DRX slot offset, an SL slot offset, associated with a slot boundary for a sidelink, for a start of the SL DRX on-duration timer,”, “wherein the timing advance value is different from the SL DRX start offset;”, and “starting the SL DRX on-duration timer based on: the SL DRX start offset; and the SL slot offset;”
However, in analogous art, HAN teaches determining, based on a timing advance value of the first wireless device and the SL DRX slot offset, an SL slot offset, associated with a slot boundary for a sidelink, for a start of the SL DRX on-duration timer,
HAN writes, “...the DRX on-duration timer is started after sl-drx-SlotOffset from the beginning subframe,
wherein sl-drx-StartOffset is a DRX start offset value and sl-drx-SlotOffset is a DRX slot offset value”
(paragraph 0015). HAN indicates the DRX on-duration timer is started after the SL DRX slot offset from
the beginning frame. The slot offset starts after the start offset, indicating the beginning of the slot
boundary for a sidelink.
starting the SL DRX on-duration timer based on: the SL DRX start offset; and the SL slot offset;
HAN writes, “...the DRX on-duration timer is started after sl-drx-SlotOffset from the beginning subframe, wherein sl-drx-StartOffset is a DRX start offset value and sl-drx-SlotOffset is a DRX slot offset value” (paragraph 0012). HAN adds, “In an embodiment of the present application, after a DRX on-duration timer (such as sl-drx-onDurationTimer) is started according to the determined beginning position...” (paragraph 0111). HAN continues, “For example, in step 202, the UE starts the DRX on-duration timer from a beginning position of the DRX on-duration timer based on the DRX cycle and the DRX offset value” (paragraph 0107). HAN indicates the DRX on-duration timer is started after the SL DRX slot offset from the beginning frame. HAN explains the DRX on-duration timer from a beginning position of the DRX on-duration timer based on the DRX cycle and the DRX offset value. Therefore, the SL DRX on-duration timer is based on the SL DRX start offset and the SL slot offset.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of HE and HWANG to include aspects described by HAN that “relate to wireless communication technology, and especially to a method and apparatus for sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) operation.” HAN provides the motivation for modification stating, “D2D operation may provide various advantages, for example, a relatively high transfer rate, a relatively low delay, etc. Moreover, in D2D operation, traffic concentrated on a base station can be distributed. Furthermore, D2D UE may function as a relay to extend coverage of a base station" (paragraph 0003). HAN adds, "Wherein, the alignment among UEs for sidelink DRX is important, so that data is not missed at Rx UE, and it needs to minimize Rx UE’s power consumption as much as possible. The alignment for sidelink DRX not only needs to be considered between UEs communicating with each other, but also needs to be considered between Uu interface and sidelink" (paragraph 0100).
HE, HWANG, and HAN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the timing advance value is different from the SL DRX start offset;”
However, in analogous art, CHENG teaches wherein the timing advance value is different from the SL DRX start offset;
CHENG writes, “...the starting time of sidelink DRX cycles for each speed range may be staggered in the time domain by a time duration TA. In some aspects, TA may be the same for each speed range (e.g., the sidelink DRX cycles for each speed range may be staggered by the same time duration). In some aspects, TA may be different for one or more speed ranges (e.g., the sidelink DRX cycles for one or more speed range may be staggered by different time durations)” (paragraph 0083). CHENG indicates the TA may be different for the sidelink DRX cycles for one or more speed range, therefore, since the TA may be different for one or more speed ranges of the sidelink DRX cycles, the TA values may be different from the SL DRX start offset.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of HE, HWANG, and HAN to include aspects described by CHENG that “relate to wireless communication and to techniques and apparatuses for discontinuous reception (DRX) operation for sidelink communication.” CHENG provides the motivation for modification stating, “...UE1 and UE2-UEn may synchronize sidelink DRX sleep modes and/or sidelink DRX on modes to increase the battery life conservation of UE1 and UE2-UEn provided by sidelink DRX operation, may decrease delays in sidelink communications and/or may decrease the quantity of dropped sidelink communications due to uncoordinated and/or unsynchronized sidelink DRX operation, and/or the like" (paragraph 0079).
Claim(s) 2, 8, 11-13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE in view of HAN and LIN (US 20200154295 A1, hereinafter, "LIN").
Regarding claim 20, HE teaches and an SL DRX slot offset for a link with a base station;
HE writes, “A communication system includes a downlink (DL) that conveys signals from transmission
points such as base stations (BSs or gNBs) to user equipments (UEs) and an uplink (UL) that conveys
signals from UEs to reception points such as gNBs. Additionally, a communication system can include a
sidelink (SL) to support transmissions and receptions among UEs or among other non-infrastructure-
based nodes” (paragraph 0081). HE adds, “The method includes receiving a configuration for a slot
offset value and receiving a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) over a number of sub-channels in a
first slot. The PSSCH includes a transport block (TB)” (paragraph 0005). HE continues, “The DRX
operation can be controlled by configuring timers” (paragraph 0287). HE states the communication
system includes a DL that conveys signals from transmission points such as BSs or gNBS, and an UL that
conveys signals from UEs to receptions points such as gNBs. The communication can also include SL to
support transmission and receptions among UEs and other nodes. The method, HE notes, includes
receiving a configuration for a slot offset value and receiving PSSCH, which includes a TB, over a number
of sub-channels in a first slot. The DRX operation, HE informs the reader, can be controlled by
configuring timers.
and receive one or more transport blocks while the timer is running.
HE writes, “A communication system includes a downlink (DL) that conveys signals from transmission
points such as base stations (BSs or gNBs) to user equipments (UEs) and an uplink (UL) that conveys
signals from UEs to reception points such as gNBs. Additionally, a communication system can include a
sidelink (SL) to support transmissions and receptions among UEs or among other non-infrastructure-
based nodes” (paragraph 0081). HE adds, “The method includes receiving a configuration for a slot
offset value and receiving a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) over a number of sub-channels in a
first slot. The PSSCH includes a transport block (TB)” (paragraph 0005). HE continues, “The DRX
operation can be controlled by configuring timers” (paragraph 0287). HE states the communication
system includes a DL that conveys signals from transmission points such as BSs or gNBS, and an UL that
conveys signals from UEs to receptions points such as gNBs. The communication can also include SL to
support transmission and receptions among UEs and other nodes. The method, HE notes, includes
receiving a configuration for a slot offset value and receiving PSSCH, which includes a TB, over a number
of sub-channels in a first slot. The DRX operation, HE informs the reader, can be controlled by
configuring timers.
HE fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “a wireless device comprising:”, “one or
more processors;”, “and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:”, “start a timer for sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) based on an SL DRX start offset; and an SL slot offset for a sidelink,”, and “wherein the SL slot offset is determined based on: a timing parameter of the wireless device, different from the SL DRX start offset;”
However, in analogous art, HAN teaches a wireless device (paragraph 0144; figure 6, apparatus:
600) comprising:
one or more processors (paragraph 0145; figure 6, processor: 605);
and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors
(paragraph 0145; figure 6, non-transitory computer-readable medium: 607), cause the wireless device
to:
start a timer for sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) based on an SL DRX start offset; and an SL slot offset for a sidelink,
HAN writes, “...the DRX on-duration timer is started after sl-drx-SlotOffset from the beginning subframe,
wherein sl-drx-StartOffset is a DRX start offset value and sl-drx-SlotOffset is a DRX slot offset value”
(paragraph 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of HE to include aspects described by HAN that “relate to wireless communication technology, and especially to a method and apparatus for sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) operation.” HAN provides the motivation for modification stating, “D2D operation may provide various advantages, for example, a relatively high transfer rate, a relatively low delay, etc. Moreover, in D2D operation, traffic concentrated on a base station can be distributed. Furthermore, D2D UE may function as a relay to extend coverage of a base station" (paragraph 0003). HAN adds, "Wherein, the alignment among UEs for sidelink DRX is important, so that data is not missed at Rx UE, and it needs to minimize Rx UE’s power consumption as much as possible. The alignment for sidelink DRX not only needs to be considered between UEs communicating with each other, but also needs to be considered between Uu interface and sidelink" (paragraph 0100).
HE and HAN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the SL slot offset is determined based on: a timing parameter of the wireless device, different from the SL DRX start offset;”
However, in analogous art, LIN teaches wherein the SL slot offset is determined based on: a timing parameter of the wireless device, different from the SL DRX start offset;
LIN writes, “drx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer” (paragraph 0090). LIN adds, “...drx-StartOffset which defines the subframe where the Long and Short DRX Cycle starts” (paragraph 0094). LIN explains the DRX slot offset is the delay before starting the on duration timer, thereby, the slot offset is based on the on duration timer. The DRX start offset is the subframe where the long and short DRX cycle starts, therefore the DRX start offset is different from the DRX slot offset.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of HE and HAN to include aspects described by LIN that “relates to wireless communication networks, and more particularly, to a method and apparatus for improving Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring pattern in a wireless communication system.” LIN provides the motivation for modification stating, “It may be appreciated that applying one or more of the techniques presented herein may result in one or more benefits including, but not limited to, improving efficiency and/or reducing power consumption by more efficiently adapting PDCCH monitoring patterns for various functionalities and/or operations of a device, such as in a DRX related procedure" (paragraph 0332).
Claim 2 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 20 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 20. Claim 2 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 20.
Regarding claim 8, HE, HAN, and LIN teach the method of claim 2,
Additionally, HAN teaches wherein the receiving is during an active time of the SL DRX.
HAN writes, “Accordingly, one objective for power saving in R17 is achieved by performing sidelink DRX.
DRX refers to a working mode for saving power consumption of a UE. For example, generally, in the DRX
mode, the UE alternates between an active state and a sleep state (or an inactive state). The UE only
turns on the receiver to monitor and receive control information or data when it is in the active state,
and turns off the receiver to stop receiving the control information or data when it is in the sleep state”
(paragraph 0007).
Regarding claim 11, HE, HAN, and LIN teach the method of claim 2, wherein the timer is at least one of:
Additionally, HAN teaches an SL DRX on-duration timer; a SL DRX inactivity timer; or a SL DRX
retransmission timer.
HAN writes, “In an embodiment of the present application, the active time includes a time while one
of sl-drx-onDurationTimer, sl-drx-InactivityTimer and sl-drx-RetransmissionTimer is running” (paragraph
0019).
Regarding claim 12, HE, HAN, and LIN teach the method of claim 2, further comprising
Additionally, HAN teaches determining that an active time of the SL DRX occurs while the timer is running.
HAN writes, “In an embodiment of the present application, the active time includes a time while
one of sl-drx-onDurationTimer, sl-drx-InactivityTimer and sl-drx-RetransmissionTimer is running”
(paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 13, HE, HAN, and LIN teach the method of claim 2,
Additionally, HAN teaches wherein the timing parameter is a timing advance value of the
wireless device.
HAN writes, “The DRX information may include values of DRX timers, DRX cycle, and DRX offset value, or
the like. For example, the DRX timers may include a DRX on-duration timer, a DRX inactivity timer, a
HARQ round-trip time (RTT) timer, a DRX retransmission timer, or the like. The value of the DRX timers
may be indicated by the number of slots or symbols or sub-milliseconds or milliseconds. The DRX cycle
may include short DRX cycle (such as sl-drx-ShortCycle) and long DRX cycle (such as sl-drx-LongCycle).
The DRX offset value may include a DRX start offset (sl-drx-StartOffset) and a DRX slot offset (sl-drx-
SlotOffset)” (paragraph 0104).
Claim(s) 3 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE, HAN, and LIN as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of TSENG, et al. (US 20200107236 A1, hereinafter, "TSENG").
Regarding claim 3, HE, HAN, and LIN teach the method of claim 2, wherein the timing parameter is at least one of:
HE, HAN, and LIN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “a timing advance of the wireless device; or a time offset associated with a global navigation satellite system (GNSS).”
However, in analogous art, TSENG teaches a timing advance of the wireless device; or a time
offset associated with a global navigation satellite system (GNSS).
TSENG writes, “An OffsetDFN value, in some of the present implementations, may indicate a timing
offset for a UE to determine a Direct Frame Number (DFN) timing when the UE selects the GNSS as the
synchronization source” (paragraph 0094).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of HE, HAN, and LIN to include aspects described by TSENG that “relates to wireless communications, and more particularly, to multi-Radio Access Technology (RAT) sidelink communication between a first User Equipment (UE) and a second UE in the next generation wireless networks.” TSENG provides the motivation for modification stating, “The UE 1230 may also adjust its sidelink radiation power for the UE 1220 during the sidelink packet exchange based on the received measurement report in some of the present implementations" (paragraph 0159).
Regarding claim 16, HE, HAN, and LIN teach the method of claim 2,
HE, HAN, and LIN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the timing parameter is a time offset associated with a global navigation satellite system (GNSS).”
However, in analogous art, TSENG teaches wherein the timing parameter is a time offset
associated with a global navigation satellite system (GNSS).
TSENG writes, “An OffsetDFN value, in some of the present implementations, may indicate a timing
offset for a UE to determine a Direct Frame Number (DFN) timing when the UE selects the GNSS as the
synchronization source” (paragraph 0094).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of HE, HAN, and LIN to include aspects described by TSENG that “relates to wireless communications, and more particularly, to multi-Radio Access Technology (RAT) sidelink communication between a first User Equipment (UE) and a second UE in the next generation wireless networks.” TSENG provides the motivation for modification stating, “The UE 1230 may also adjust its sidelink radiation power for the UE 1220 during the sidelink packet exchange based on the received measurement report in some of the present implementations" (paragraph 0159).
Regarding claim 17, HE, HAN, LIN, and TSENG teach the method of claim 16,
Additionally, TSENG teaches wherein the time offset associated with GNSS is a direct frame
number (DFN) offset.
TSENG writes, “An OffsetDFN value, in some of the present implementations, may indicate a timing
offset for a UE to determine a Direct Frame Number (DFN) timing when the UE selects the GNSS as the
synchronization source” (paragraph 0094).
Regarding claim 18, HE, HAN, LIN, and TSENG teach the method of claim 17,
Additionally, TSENG teaches wherein the DFN offset is used to determine a DFN timing based on a GNSS being a synchronization reference.
TSENG writes, “An OffsetDFN value, in some of the present implementations, may indicate a timing
offset for a UE to determine a Direct Frame Number (DFN) timing when the UE selects the GNSS as the
synchronization source” (paragraph 0094).
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE, HAN, and LIN as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of HWANG.
Regarding claim 4, HE, HAN, and LIN teach the method of claim 2, further comprising receiving one or more messages indicating parameters for the SL DRX operation, wherein the parameters comprise:
Additionally, HAN teaches the timer for SL DRX;
HAN writes, “The DRX information may include values of DRX timers, DRX cycle, and DRX offset value, or
the like” (paragraph 0104).
HE, HAN, and LIN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and the SL DRX offset associated with the link with the base station.”
However, in analogous art, HWANG teaches and the SL DRX offset associated with the link with
the base station.
HWANG writes, “Depending on a synchronization source for the SL, the boundary of a DL slot and/or a
UL slot and/or an SL slot may not be aligned. For example, a UE having the GNSS as a synchronization
source (reference) and a UE having the gNB as a synchronization source (reference) may not be
synchronized with each other. Further, the BS may not have information about a slot boundary at the
UE. In this situation, when a PUCCH transmission timing is set by using an SL channel as a reference
again, misalignment of an actual PUCCH transmission and reception time may occur between the BS and
the UE. Particularly, when the subcarrier size is smaller for the SL than for the DL or UL, the problem may
become serious. In the case of a PDCCH or when the BS allocates SL resources (e.g., PSCCH/PSSCH
resources), slot offset information indicated by the PDCCH or the BS may allocate PSCCH/PSSCH
resources in earliest SL resources after a corresponding slot offset value (physical value or logical value
(the number of slots in the resource pool))” (paragraph 0362). HWANG states that depending on the
synchronization source, the boundary of a DL slot and/or a UL slot and/or an SL slot may not be aligned.
If a UE has a GNSS as a synchronization source and another UE has a gNB as a synchronization source,
the two may not be synchronized. When the BS allocates SL resources, slot offset information indicated
by the BS may allocate PSCCH/PSSCH resources in earliest SL resources after a corresponding slot offset
value. Thus, HWANG indicates, the slot offset is used to align the boundary of a DL slot and/or a UL slot
and/or an SL slot for communication with the BS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of HE, HAN, and LIN to include aspects described by HWANG that “relates to a wireless communication system, and more particularly, to a method and apparatus related to a timing at which a user equipment (UE) transmits a sidelink feedback to a base station (BS).” HWANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to an embodiment, ambiguity of a feedback transmission timing, which may be caused by mismatch between synchronization between a base station (BS) and a user equipment (UE) and sidelink synchronization, may be eliminated" (paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 5, HE, HAN, and LIN teach the method of claim 2,
HE, HAN, and LIN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the SL DRX slot offset is associated with a slot boundary for the link with the base station.”
However, in analogous art, HWANG teaches wherein the SL DRX slot offset is associated with a slot boundary for the link with the base station.
HWANG writes, “Depending on a synchronization source for the SL, the boundary of a DL slot and/or a
UL slot and/or an SL slot may not be aligned. For example, a UE having the GNSS as a synchronization
source (reference) and a UE having the gNB as a synchronization source (reference) may not be
synchronized with each other. Further, the BS may not have information about a slot boundary at the
UE. In this situation, when a PUCCH transmission timing is set by using an SL channel as a reference
again, misalignment of an actual PUCCH transmission and reception time may occur between the BS and
the UE. Particularly, when the subcarrier size is smaller for the SL than for the DL or UL, the problem may
become serious. In the case of a PDCCH or when the BS allocates SL resources (e.g., PSCCH/PSSCH
resources), slot offset information indicated by the PDCCH or the BS may allocate PSCCH/PSSCH
resources in earliest SL resources after a corresponding slot offset value (physical value or logical value
(the number of slots in the resource pool))” (paragraph 0362). HWANG states that depending on the
synchronization source, the boundary of a DL slot and/or a UL slot and/or an SL slot may not be aligned.
If a UE has a GNSS as a synchronization source and another UE has a gNB as a synchronization source,
the two may not be synchronized. When the BS allocates SL resources, slot offset information indicated
by the BS may allocate PSCCH/PSSCH resources in earliest SL resources after a corresponding slot offset
value. Thus, HWANG indicates, the slot offset is used to align the boundary of a DL slot and/or a UL slot
and/or an SL slot for communication with the BS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of HE, HAN, and LIN to include aspects described by HWANG that “relates to a wireless communication system, and more particularly, to a method and apparatus related to a timing at which a user equipment (UE) transmits a sidelink feedback to a base station (BS).” HWANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to an embodiment, ambiguity of a feedback transmission timing, which may be caused by mismatch between synchronization between a base station (BS) and a user equipment (UE) and sidelink synchronization, may be eliminated" (paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 6, HE, HAN, LIN, and HWANG teach the method of claim 5,
Additionally, HE teaches wherein the slot boundary is associated with a Uu link with the base station.
HE writes, “When a DCI format in a PDCCH indicates to the UE to wake up for Uu link, the UE monitors
PDCCH in Uu link according to the Uu link DRX cycle configuration” (paragraph 0331). HE continues, “For
in-coverage Mode 1 UEs, a DCI format in a PDCCH can provide power saving information for both Uu
and sidelink” (paragraph 0331). HE adds, “In Mode 1, transmissions on sidelink are scheduled by a gNB.
The UE detects a DCI format from the gNB that indicates resources for PSCCH/PSSCH transmission and
then the UE transmits a PSCCH with a SCI format scheduling a PSSCH transmission over resources
indicated by the DCI format” (paragraph 0113). HE states a DCI format in a PDCCH indicates to the UE to
wake up for Uu link, the UE monitors PDCCH in Uu link according to the Uu link DRX cycle configuration.
A DCI format in a PDCCH can provide power saving information for both Uu and sidelink. HE explains
that in Mode 1, transmissions on sidelink are scheduled by a gNB. The UE detects a DCI format from the
gNB that indicates resources for PSCCH/PSSCH transmission and then the UE transmits a PSCCH with a
SCI format scheduling a PSSCH transmission over resources indicated by the DCI format. HE indicates the UE monitors PDCCH inn Uu link according to DRX cycle configurations specified by the Uu link, since,
cycle configuration is associated with slot boundary, Uu link is also associated with slot boundary.
Regarding claim 7, HE, HAN, and LIN teach the method of claim 2, further comprising determining the SL slot offset for the start of the timer based on:
HE, HAN, and LIN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “the timing parameter; and the SL DRX slot offset for the link with the base station.”
However, in analogous art, HWANG teaches the timing parameter; and the SL DRX slot offset
for the link with the base station.
HWANG writes, “Depending on a synchronization source for the SL, the boundary of a DL slot and/or a
UL slot and/or an SL slot may not be aligned. For example, a UE having the GNSS as a synchronization
source (reference) and a UE having the gNB as a synchronization source (reference) may not be
synchronized with each other. Further, the BS may not have information about a slot boundary at the
UE. In this situation, when a PUCCH transmission timing is set by using an SL channel as a reference
again, misalignment of an actual PUCCH transmission and reception time may occur between the BS and
the UE. Particularly, when the subcarrier size is smaller for the SL than for the DL or UL, the problem may
become serious. In the case of a PDCCH or when the BS allocates SL resources (e.g., PSCCH/PSSCH
resources), slot offset information indicated by the PDCCH or the BS may allocate PSCCH/PSSCH
resources in earliest SL resources after a corresponding slot offset value (physical value or logical value
(the number of slots in the resource pool))” (paragraph 0362). HWANG states that depending on the
synchronization source, the boundary of a DL slot and/or a UL slot and/or an SL slot may not be aligned.
If a UE has a GNSS as a synchronization source and another UE has a gNB as a synchronization source,
the two may not be synchronized. When the BS allocates SL resources, slot offset information indicated
by the BS may allocate PSCCH/PSSCH resources in earliest SL resources after a corresponding slot offset
value. Thus, HWANG indicates, the slot offset is used to align the boundary of a DL slot and/or a UL slot
and/or an SL slot for communication with the BS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of HE, HAN, and LIN to include aspects described by HWANG that “relates to a wireless communication system, and more particularly, to a method and apparatus related to a timing at which a user equipment (UE) transmits a sidelink feedback to a base station (BS).” HWANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to an embodiment, ambiguity of a feedback transmission timing, which may be caused by mismatch between synchronization between a base station (BS) and a user equipment (UE) and sidelink synchronization, may be eliminated" (paragraph 0043).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE, HAN, and LIN as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of WU, et al. (US 20230362896 A1, hereinafter, "WU").
Regarding claim 9, HE, HAN, and LIN teach the method of claim 8, wherein the active time of the SL DRX comprises:
HE, HAN, and LIN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “monitoring, while the timer is
running, one or more sidelink channels for sidelink signals;” and “and decoding, while the timer is running, control information that is detected based on the monitoring.”
However, in analogous art, WU teaches monitoring, while the timer is running, one or more
sidelink channels for sidelink signals;
WU writes, “Some embodiments include sensing measurements during SL-DRX Active Times 435a. 435b,
435c, and 435d and recording the sensed measurements in memory (e.g., memory 235. For example,
UE 110 awakens in period 410a during SL-DRX Active Time 435a and monitors the Physical SL Control
Channel (PSCCH) of a configured minimum number of slots (e.g., slots 810) to be sensed (e.g., greater
than SL-DRX ON Duration 430a.) UE 110 can decode a PSCCH of given candidate slot 820 for example, to
determine whether UE 110 should take any actions with regard to given candidate slot 820. The
decoded PSCCH of given candidate slot 820 (as well as the decoded PSCCH of the remaining candidate
slots of the configured minimum number of slots) during SL-DRX Active Time 435a can be stored in
memory such as memory 235 of system 200. Similar processes occur during SL-DRX Active Times 435b-
435d” (paragraph 0041).
and decoding, while the timer is running, control information that is detected based on the monitoring.
WU writes, “Some embodiments include sensing measurements during SL-DRX Active Times 435a. 435b,
435c, and 435d and recording the sensed measurements in memory (e.g., memory 235. For example,
UE 110 awakens in period 410a during SL-DRX Active Time 435a and monitors the Physical SL Control
Channel (PSCCH) of a configured minimum number of slots (e.g., slots 810) to be sensed (e.g., greater
than SL-DRX ON Duration 430a.) UE 110 can decode a PSCCH of given candidate slot 820 for example, to
determine whether UE 110 should take any actions with regard to given candidate slot 820. The
decoded PSCCH of given candidate slot 820 (as well as the decoded PSCCH of the remaining candidate
slots of the configured minimum number of slots) during SL-DRX Active Time 435a can be stored in
memory such as memory 235 of system 200. Similar processes occur during SL-DRX Active Times 435b-
435d” (paragraph 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of HE, HAN, and LIN to include aspects described by WU that “relate generally to 5G wireless communication, for user equipment (UE.)” WU provides the motivation for modification stating, "As described above, aspects of the present technology may include the gathering and use of data available from various sources. e.g., to improve or enhance functionality" (paragraph 0097). WU continues, "The present disclosure recognizes that the use of such personal information data, in the present technology, may be used to the benefit of users" (paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 10, HE, HAN, LIN, and WU teach the method of claim 9, wherein the one or more sidelink channels comprise at least one of:
Additionally, WU teaches physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH); or physical sidelink shared
channel (PSSCH).
WU writes, “Some embodiments include sensing measurements during SL-DRX Active Times 435a. 435b,
435c, and 435d and recording the sensed measurements in memory (e.g., memory 235. For example,
UE 110 awakens in period 410a during SL-DRX Active Time 435a and monitors the Physical SL Control
Channel (PSCCH) of a configured minimum number of slots (e.g., slots 810) to be sensed (e.g., greater
than SL-DRX ON Duration 430a.) UE 110 can decode a PSCCH of given candidate slot 820 for example, to
determine whether UE 110 should take any actions with regard to given candidate slot 820. The
decoded PSCCH of given candidate slot 820 (as well as the decoded PSCCH of the remaining candidate
slots of the configured minimum number of slots) during SL-DRX Active Time 435a can be stored in
memory such as memory 235 of system 200. Similar processes occur during SL-DRX Active Times 435b-
435d” (paragraph 0041).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE, HAN, and LIN as applied to claim13 above, and further in view of HANDE, et al. (US 20200404604 A1, hereinafter, "HANDE").
Regarding claim 14, HE, HAN, and LIN teach the method of claim 13,
HE, HAN, and LIN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the timing advance value is a time offset value between uplink transmissions and downlink receptions with the base station.”
However, in analogous art, HANDE teaches wherein the timing advance value is a time offset
value between uplink transmissions and downlink receptions with the base station.
HANDE writes, “Referring again to FIG. 1, in certain aspects, the base station 180 may be configured to
align the uplink transmissions and downlink receptions for UEs. For example, the base station 180 of FIG.
1 may include an offset time component 198 configured to select an offset time...” (paragraph 0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of HE, HAN, and LIN to include aspects described by HANDE that “relates generally to communication systems, and more particularly, to wireless communication associated with extended reality (XR) traffic.” HANDE provides the motivation for modification stating, “At least one advantage of the disclosure is that synchronizing the 5G system and the edge server may optimize allocation of downlink and/or uplink resources" (paragraph 0070). HANDE continues, "It would be advantageous to reduce the age of the pose, in order to limit or minimize the staleness of the pose information" (paragraph 0073).
Regarding claim 15, HE, HAN, and LIN teach the method of claim 13,
HE, HAN, and LIN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the timing advance value is received from the base station.”
However, in analogous art, HANDE teaches wherein the timing advance value is received from
the base station.
HANDE writes, “The base station 180 may send the time offset” (paragraph 0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of HE, HAN, and LIN to include aspects described by HANDE that “relates generally to communication systems, and more particularly, to wireless communication associated with extended reality (XR) traffic.” HANDE provides the motivation for modification stating, “At least one advantage of the disclosure is that synchronizing the 5G system and the edge server may optimize allocation of downlink and/or uplink resources" (paragraph 0070). HANDE continues, "It would be advantageous to reduce the age of the pose, in order to limit or minimize the staleness of the pose information" (paragraph 0073).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE, HAN, LIN, and TSENG as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of HWANG.
Regarding claim 19, HE, HAN, LIN, and TSENG teach the method of claim 17, further comprising
HE, HAN, LIN, and TSENG fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “determining an SL slot boundary based on the DFN offset and a timing obtained from the GNSS.”
However, in analogous art, HWANG teaches determining an SL slot boundary based on the DFN
offset and a timing obtained from the GNSS.
HWANG writes, “When the GNSS is configured as a synchronization source, the UE may calculate a
direct subframe number (DFN) and a subframe number by using a coordinated universal time (UTC) and
a (pre)determined DFN offset” (paragraph 0315). HWANG adds, “For example, when the BS configures a
PUCCH slot offset value and indicates the PUCCH slot offset value to the UE on the assumption that a DL
and/or UL and/or SL slot boundary is aligned, the UE may apply the offset by subtracting, from the
offset, a slot difference between a reference point derived when the boundary of an actual SL slot is
aligned with that of a UL slot and a reference point derived based on the boundary of the actual SL slot”
(paragraph 0363).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of HAN, HE, LIN, and TSENG to include aspects described by HWANG that “relates to a wireless communication system, and more particularly, to a method and apparatus related to a timing at which a user equipment (UE) transmits a sidelink feedback to a base station (BS).” HWANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to an embodiment, ambiguity of a feedback transmission timing, which may be caused by mismatch between synchronization between a base station (BS) and a user equipment (UE) and sidelink synchronization, may be eliminated" (paragraph 0043).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 2/3/2026
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475