Response to Amendments
The amendment filed 06/11/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1 and 5-10 have been amended.
Claims 1-19 remain pending in the application.
The amendment filed 06/11/2026 is sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) claim rejections. The previous rejections have been withdrawn.
The amendment filed 06/11/2026 is sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-19 over Oshima in view of Nakajima. The previous rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Argument 1, regarding the 112(b) rejections, applicant argues that the 112(b) rejections should be withdrawn in view of amendments made to claims 5-9. Examiner agrees and the 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Argument 2, regarding the prior art rejections, applicant argues that none of the cited art teaches “coupling a plurality of frequency channels selectively”.
Examiner notes that Ishiguro et al (Pub. No.: US 20180092099 A1), hereafter Ishiguro teaches coupling a plurality of frequency channels selectively (radio frequencies are selectively coupled based on channel frequency, channel bandwidth, and selective coupling settings with the use of a path channel multiplexer, P0028, P0032).
The full prior art rejections are outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshima et al (Pub. No.: US 20220101099 A1), hereafter Oshima in view of Nakajima et al (Pub. No.: US 20210026220 A1), hereafter Nakajima and Ishiguro et al (Pub. No.: US 20180092099 A1), hereafter Ishiguro.
Regarding claim 1, Oshima teaches receiving an input symbol (Sensor 200 receives input, P0046); applying a time mask to the input symbol to produce a plurality of time multiplexed time nodes (Time division multiplexing is performed on input data, P0135); modulating, using the plurality of time nodes, the plurality of frequency channels to produce a plurality of frequency nodes (Server 104 may perform spectrum sensing on a frequency region using frequency channels and time-division broadcasts in order to produce frequency bands, P0094-P0095); multiplexing the plurality of frequency nodes to produce a plurality of multiplexed frequency nodes (Frequency division multiplexing and code division multiplexing results in multiplexed transmission and reception by child devices, P0097-P0098); coupling the multiplexed frequency nodes into a reservoir (Frequency-division multiplexing is performed on reservoir 102, P0121, P0135), … receiving a delayed plurality of multiplexed frequency nodes from the reservoir (Data is transmitted from child devices after multiplexing, P0099); demultiplexing the delayed plurality of multiplexed frequency nodes to produce a plurality of delayed time nodes (Time-division broadcasts are used to divide and transmit data using frequency channels, P0094. Low frequency and high frequency components from transmitted data are separated, P0099); modulating, using the plurality of delayed time nodes and the input time nodes, the plurality of frequency channels (Server 104 instructs the frequency channels using frequency bands based on analysis of time series data, P0094, P0067-P0070); and outputting a response, the response based on the plurality of delayed time nodes (Server 104 may collect time-series data and analyze time series data using deep neural network 101 before outputting the solution, feature amount, or feature data through output unit 300, P0067-P0070).
Oshima does not appear to explicitly teach “the reservoir including a non- linear element”.
Nakajima teaches the reservoir including a non-linear element (Reservoir computing network includes a non-linear element, P0008).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of
Oshima and before them, to include Nakajima’s specific teaching of a reservoir computing network including a non-linear element in Oshima’s system of information processing. One would have been motivated to make such a combination of implementing a reservoir computing network with a nonlinear element and optical delay line (see Nakajima P0008) and using reservoir computing to perform tasks for time-series signals (see Oshima P0060, P0063) for improved learning performance (see Nakajima P0056).
Oshima in view of Nakajima does not appear to explicitly teach “coupling a plurality of frequency channels selectively”.
Ishiguro teaches coupling a plurality of frequency channels selectively (radio frequencies are selectively coupled based on channel frequency, channel bandwidth, and selective coupling settings with the use of a path channel multiplexer, P0028, P0032).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of
Oshima, Nakajima, and Ishiguro before them, to include Ishiguro’s specific teaching of selectively coupling radio frequencies based on channel frequency, channel bandwidth, and selective coupling settings in Oshima’s system of information processing. One would have been motivated to make such a combination of selectively coupling radio frequencies based on channel frequency, channel bandwidth, and selective coupling settings using a path channel multiplexer (see Ishiguro P0028, P0032) and using frequency-division multiplexing for synchronizing data (see Oshima P0121) for improved performance metrics (see Ishiguro P0028).
Regarding claim 10, Oshima teaches a frequency multiplexer portion receiving a plurality of virtual nodes of an input symbol (Sensor 200 receives input, P0046), the frequency multiplexer portion outputting a modulated wavelength division multiplexing signal include the plurality of virtual nodes (Server 104 may perform spectrum sensing on a frequency region using frequency channels and time-division broadcasts in order to produce frequency bands, P0094-P0095), the plurality of virtual nodes including a plurality of time nodes and a plurality of frequency nodes (Time division multiplexing is performed on input data, P0135);… a delay line coupled to the frequency multiplexer portion and the modulator portion, the delay line receiving the plurality of modulated frequency nodes and producing a plurality of delayed frequency nodes (Data is transmitted from child devices after multiplexing, P0099); a demultiplexer portion receiving the plurality of delayed frequency nodes and producing a plurality of coupling matrix inputs, each of the plurality of inputs being derived from a demultiplexed one of the plurality of delayed frequency nodes (Time-division broadcasts are used to divide and transmit data using frequency channels, P0094. Low frequency and high frequency components from transmitted data are separated, P0099).
Oshima does not appear to explicitly teach “a modulator portion coupled to the frequency multiplexer portion for modulating the plurality of virtual nodes to produce a plurality of modulated frequency nodes… and a coupling network coupled to the demultiplexer portion and the modulator portion, the coupling network receiving the coupling matrix inputs and producing a plurality of modulator driving signals”.
Nakajima teaches a modulator portion coupled to the frequency multiplexer portion for modulating the plurality of virtual nodes to produce a plurality of modulated frequency nodes (optical multiplexing is used with optical modulation for modulating multiplexed signals, P0015);…and a coupling network coupled to the demultiplexer portion and the modulator portion, the coupling network receiving the coupling matrix inputs and producing a plurality of modulator driving signals (A neural network may take inputs of a coupling matrix for the purpose of modulating reservoir computing circuit with an optical modulator, P0043, P0048, P0056. NN for reservoir computing may include demodulating signals, P0031).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of
Oshima and Nakajima before them, to include Nakajima’s specific teachings of an optical multiplexing and optical modulation in Oshima’s system of information processing. One would have been motivated to make such a combination of implementing optical multiplexing and optical modulation in a time domain in a reservoir computing network (see Nakajima P0015) and using reservoir computing to perform tasks for time-series signals (see Oshima P0060, P0063) for improved learning performance (see Nakajima P0056).
Oshima in view of Nakajima does not appear to explicitly teach “A coupling element for selectively coupling a plurality of frequency channels”.
Ishiguro teaches a coupling element for selectively coupling a plurality of frequency channels (radio frequencies are selectively coupled based on channel frequency, channel bandwidth, and selective coupling settings with the use of a path channel multiplexer, P0028, P0032).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of
Oshima, Nakajima, and Ishiguro before them, to include Ishiguro’s specific teaching of selectively coupling radio frequencies based on channel frequency, channel bandwidth, and selective coupling settings in Oshima’s system of information processing. One would have been motivated to make such a combination of selectively coupling radio frequencies based on channel frequency, channel bandwidth, and selective coupling settings using a path channel multiplexer (see Ishiguro P0028, P0032) and using frequency-division multiplexing for synchronizing data (see Oshima P0121) for improved performance metrics (see Ishiguro P0028).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Oshima in view of Nakajima and Ishiguro teaches the limitations of claim 1 and 10 as outlined above. Oshima further teaches wherein the plurality of frequency channels are modulated after being multiplexed to form the plurality of multiplexed frequency nodes (Frequency bands may be produced by performing spectrum sensing using frequency channels after code division multiplexing, P0094-P0095, P0097).
Regarding claim 3 and 12, Oshima in view of Nakajima and Ishiguro teaches the limitations of claim 1 and 10 as outlined above. Oshima further teaches wherein the plurality of frequency channels are modulated before being multiplexed to form the plurality of multiplexed frequency nodes (Frequency bands may be produced by performing spectrum sensing using frequency channels before frequency division multiplexing, P0094-P0095, P0098).
Regarding claim 4, Oshima in view of Nakajima and Ishiguro teaches the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Nakajima further teaches wherein the plurality of delayed time nodes are input to a coupling network, the coupling network outputting a plurality of modulator driving signals (neural network may take inputs of a coupling matrix for the purpose of modulating a reservoir computing circuit with an optical modulator, P0043, P0048, P0056).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Oshima in view of Nakajima and Ishiguro teaches the elements of claims 4 and 10 as outlined above. Nakajima further teaches wherein the plurality of modulator driving signals are outputs of electronic circuits (Signals may be output from electric signal processing circuit 210, P0030).
Regarding claim 6 and 14, Oshima in view of Nakajima and Ishiguro teaches the elements of claims 4 and 10 as outlined above. Nakajima further teaches wherein the plurality of modulator driving signals are outputs of optical circuits (Optical circulation circuit may output signals, P0015).
Regarding claim 7 and 15, Oshima in view of Nakajima and Ishiguro teaches the elements of claims 4 and 10 as outlined above. Nakajima further teaches a modulator profile compensator to receive the plurality of delayed time nodes, the output of the modulator profile compensator being provided as inputs to the coupling network (Electrical processing circuit 220 may receive time-step data as input and provide output, the result of formula 2, to reservoir computing network as input, P0041, P0005-P0006).
Regarding claim 8 and 16, Oshima in view of Nakajima and Ishiguro teaches the elements of claims 4 and 10 as outlined above. Nakajima further teaches wherein a demultiplexing module and the coupling network are combined in an optical circuit (Optical circulation circuit may include both optical coupler 218 and coherent optical receiver 219 used to demodulate signals, P0031).
Regarding claim 9, Oshima in view of Nakajima and Ishiguro teaches the elements of claim 4 as outlined above. Nakajima further teaches wherein the plurality of modulator driving signals are based on the plurality of delayed time nodes and a masked data input, the masked data input being an input to the coupling network (Modulated signals are based on a mask function and a time series signal, the output of the mask function being input to the reservoir computing network, P0056).
Regarding claim 19, Oshima in view of Nakajima and Ishiguro teaches the elements of claim 10 as outlined above. Nakajima further teaches wherein the coupling network further receives a masked data input, the plurality of modulator driving signals being based on both the coupling matrix inputs and the masked data input (Reservoir computing network may receive the output of a mask function with modulated signals being based on a coupling matrix and the mask function output, P0056).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/I.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2141
/MATTHEW ELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2141