DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 7-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sunagawa (US Pub 2021/0275794 -cited by applicant) in view of Radman et al (US Pub 2017/0055908-cited by applicant).
Re claims 1, 11, 12, 16, 17, 19, 20: Sunagawa discloses a percutaneous circulatory support device, comprising:
a housing comprising an inlet and an outlet [0034, fig 4A; see outer housing of pump 400/410];
an impeller disposed within the housing, the impeller configured to rotate relative to the housing to cause blood to flow into the inlet, through the housing, and out of the outlet [0034, fig 4A; see impeller pump 410];
a motor operably coupled to the impeller, the motor configured to rotate the impeller relative to the housing; a catheter coupled to the motor [0034, fig 4A; see motor 412]; and
a pressure sensor disposed within the catheter [0034, fig 4A; see pressure sensor 432].
Sunagawa further discloses the principles of a method of manufacturing the device which necessarily including steps of positioning an impeller within a housing such that the impeller is rotatable relative to the housing; operably coupling a motor to the impeller; coupling a catheter to the motor; and providing a pressure sensor [0028; see the “manufacture” and see the above citations].
Sunagawa discloses all features except a collar coupled to the catheter and disposed proximally relative to the housing, the collar comprising an internal chamber, a distally facing aperture and a transversely facing aperture each opening into the chamber with the distally facing aperture being distal to the transversely facing aperture, a proximally facing aperture coupled to the chamber; and an optical or electrical pressure sensor disposed within the internal chamber of the collar with a sensor cable extending through the proximally facing aperture. However, Radman teaches of a device for monitoring fluid pressure within a blood vessel including a collar coupled to the catheter and disposed proximally relative to the housing, the collar comprising an internal chamber, a distally facing aperture and a transversely facing aperture each opening into the chamber with the distally facing aperture being distal to the transversely facing aperture, a proximally facing aperture coupled to the chamber; and an optical pressure sensor disposed within the internal chamber of the collar with a sensor cable extending through the proximally facing aperture [0097, figure 5; see the cavity containing pressure sensor 226 wherein the cavity includes a distal aperture 230 and several side apertures 232]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Sunagawa to incorporate the collar with sensor as taught by Radman, as such is a well known manner in which to couple a sensor and catheter and would facilitate sensor measurement within a blood vessel. The combination further provides for manufacture steps of coupling the sensor to a collar, coupling the collar and the pressure sensor to the catheter proximally of the motor by distally advancing the collar and the pressure sensor along the catheter [0028; see Sunagawa’s manufacture application wherein modification with Radman’s collar and sensor within the chamber necessarily results in coupling the collar and distally advancing the collar in order to configure the device].
Re claims 4, 7, 8, 13-15: Sunagawa discloses all features except the collar further comprises an outer surface, the outer surface comprising a tapering distal portion forming the distally-facing aperture with a slope and the outer surface comprising a tapering proximal portion with a slope forming the proximally-facing aperture, and wherein the aperture is a first transversely-facing aperture and wherein one or more additional second transverse aperture is coupled to the chamber. However, Radman teaches the collar further comprises an outer surface, the outer surface comprising a tapering distal portion forming the distally-facing aperture and a tapering portion of a proximal aperture, the tapering portions having slopes with the distal slope is greater than the proximal slope, and wherein the aperture is a first transversely-facing aperture extending at an acute angle relative the longitudinal axis of the chamber and one or more additional transverse aperture is coupled to the chamber [0097, figure 5; see the distal aperture 230, transverse apertures 232, and proximal aperture at the proximal end, wherein the distal end is tapered with sloping portions (i.e. the rounded distal end) forming the distal aperture]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Sunagawa to incorporate the collar with sensor as taught by Radman, as such is a well known manner in which to couple a sensor and catheter and would facilitate sensor measurement within a blood vessel.
Re claims 9, 10: Sunagawa discloses all features except for a sensor mount disposed within the internal chamber of the collar and adhered to the pressure sensor. However, Radman teaches a sensor mount disposed within the internal chamber of the collar and adhered to the pressure sensor (figure 5; see the sensor 226 mounted within the collar and including a cable 228). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Sunagawa to incorporate the collar with sensor as taught by Radman, as such is a well known manner in which to couple a sensor and catheter and would facilitate sensor measurement within a blood vessel.
Re claim 18: Sunagawa nor Radman teach that the pressure sensor is disposed apart from an outer surface of the catheter by at least 0.001 inches. However, the combination results in the sensor disposed within the chamber and it would have been obvious to dispose these components by at least 0.001 inches as a design consideration in order to permit an arrangement to be inserted in a blood vessel.
Re claims 21-24: Sunagawa discloses all features except for a central longitudinal axis extending through the internal chamber also extends through the distally-facing aperture, at least a portion of the transversely-facing aperture is radially over a portion of the pressure sensor, wherein the collar defines an outer surface parallel to a longitudinal axis of the catheter, wherein an entirety of the transversely-facing aperture extends through the outer surface of the collar, or wherein a central longitudinal axis extending through the internal chamber also extends through the distally-facing aperture. However, Radman teaches a central longitudinal axis extending through the internal chamber also extends through the distally-facing aperture, at least a portion of the transversely-facing aperture is radially over a portion of the pressure sensor, wherein the collar defines an outer surface parallel to a longitudinal axis of the catheter, wherein an entirety of the transversely-facing aperture extends through the outer surface of the collar, or wherein a central longitudinal axis extending through the internal chamber also extends through the distally-facing aperture [0097, figure 5; see the chamber 224 of the collar with its axis extending through the distal aperture, see the transverse apertures which are radially over the sensor, see the collar outer surface that is parallel to the catheter axis]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Sunagawa to incorporate the collar with sensor as taught by Radman, as such is a well known manner in which to couple a sensor and catheter and would facilitate sensor measurement within a blood vessel.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, and 7-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8-11, 16-19, 21, and 25 of copending Application No. 17/988,164. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘164 includes a support device and method of manufacture of a housing, impeller, motor, catheter, and pressure sensor disposed within an internal chamber with apertures. While ‘164 refers to other features such as the “wall”, it would have been obvious to conclude that the instant claims are an obvious variant.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4, and 7-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/618,554. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘554 includes a support device and method of manufacture of a housing, impeller, motor, and pressure sensor disposed within an internal chamber with apertures. While the instant application refers to a catheter, it would have been obvious to conclude that the instant claims are an obvious variant.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4, and 7-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The double patenting rejections are maintained and held in abeyance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL T ROZANSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797