DETAILED ACTION
This application includes independent claims 1 and 9 and dependent claims 2-8 and 10-20.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 5, and 9-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “low-friction” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low-friction” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claim 11 recites “the one or more processors” without proper antecedent basis in the claim. Additionally, the claims recite “a bottom surface” of the/an item. The bottom surface of could be any surface since items could have a defined “bottom” at the time the item was created and that surface could be oriented in any direction based upon how the item was positioned at any defined location. Therefore, the term “bottom surface” as it is used in the claims is subject to a plurality of plausible claim constructions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 14, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujiwara et al. (JP 2019111615 A).
Regarding independent claim 1, Fujiwara discloses a robotic end effector, comprising: an end effector body (10) having an operative side (see Fig. 3, generally at 11); a pull force gripper (11) disposed on the operative side of the end effector body; and a first end effector support structure (15) that is connected to the end effector body and extends from the end effector body in a direction that is orthogonal to the operative side of the end effector body.
Regarding independent claim 9, Fujiwara discloses a robotic system for moving items, comprising: a robotic arm (4) comprising an end effector, the end effector comprising: an end effector body (10) having an operative side (see Fig. 3, generally at 11); a pull force gripper (11) disposed on the operative side of the end effector body; and a support structure (15) that is connected to the end effector body and extends from the end effector body in a direction that is orthogonal to the operative side of the end effector body; and a processor (see at least para. 9) configured to: receive an indication of an item to be moved (see at least paras. 0047); determine a plan to move the item with the robotic arm (see at least paras. 0015 and 0048-0050); and cause the robotic arm to move the item according to the plan, the plan including grasping the item on a side surface with the pull force gripper and engaging a bottom surface of the item with the support structure (see at least paras. 0048-0050); and a memory (5) configured to store the plan.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-8, 10, 11, 14, 15, and 20, Fujiwara discloses the first end effector support structure is disposed to provide support to an item grasped by the end effector by applying an upwards force on a bottom surface of the item when the item is grasped on a side substantially orthogonal to the bottom surface (see at least para. 0036). The first end effector support structure comprises a low-friction surface that engages a bottom surface of an item when being grasped by the end effector (depending on the material of the item, Fujiwara discloses a low-friction surface). Fujiwara further comprises: a second end effector support structure (16a) that is connected to the end effector body and extends from the end effector body in a direction that is orthogonal to both the operative side and a direction in which the first end effector support structure extends from the operative side (see thickness direction of 16a…length of 16a is parallel with operative side, width is parallel to the direction in which first end effector support structure extends from the operative side, thickness direction is orthogonal to both). The end effector is controlled to: engage an item on a side surface with the pull force gripper and engage the item on an orthogonal side surface with the first end effector support structure; and apply a rotational force to cause the item to rotate in a manner so that the orthogonal side surface engaged with the first end effector support structure corresponds to a bottom surface of the item (see Figs. 2, 11 and 12…the bottom surface of the item is always engaged by the first end effector support structure). The end effector is controlled to apply a rotational force to an item when the end effector is being controlled to perform a place operation (see Figs. 2, 11 and 12); and the rotational force causing the item to rotate to be placed in a placement orientation that is different from a movement orientation in which the item is moved by a robotic arm while grasped by the end effector (see Figs. 2, 11 and 12). The first end effector support structure is rotatably connected to the end effector body, and the end effector comprises a support structure actuator that causes the first end effector support structure to move the first end effector support structure to grasp an item according to a predetermined plan (see at least para. 0015). Fujiwara further comprises one or more second end effector support structures connected to the end effector body and movable to engage different parts of an item. Fujiwara further comprises a communication interface configured to receive, from one or more sensors (3) deployed in a workspace, sensor data indicative of a current state of the workspace, the workspace comprising one or more items to be moved by the robotic arm. One or more processors are further configured to: identify the item within a workspace of the robotic system (see at least para. 0010); determine the side surface of the item on which the pull force gripper is to grasp the item (see at least paras. 0019 and 0050); and determine the bottom surface of the item (see at least paras. 0036 and 0050). Determining the plan to move the item comprises determining a pick type to be implemented to grasp the item (see at least paras. 0052-0053). The pick type comprises a front-on pick type according to which the pull force gripper engages the item on a front surface and the support structure supports a bottom surface (see Fig. 5). The robotic system comprises a second robotic arm (14b); and causing the robotic arm to move the item according to the plan includes collaboratively controlling the robotic arm and the second robotic arm to grasp the item at different locations and to collaboratively move the item along a predetermined path (see Figs. 11 and 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara et al. (JP 2019111615 A) in view of Wicks (US 20190344447). Fujiwara discloses a robotic system for moving items, comprising: a robotic arm (4) comprising an end effector, the end effector comprising: an end effector body (10) having an operative side (see Fig. 3, generally at 11); a pull force gripper (11) disposed on the operative side of the end effector body; and a support structure (15) that is connected to the end effector body and extends from the end effector body in a direction that is orthogonal to the operative side of the end effector body; and a processor (see at least para. 9) configured to: receive an indication of an item to be moved (see at least paras. 0047); determine a plan to move the item with the robotic arm (see at least paras. 0015 and 0048-0050); and cause the robotic arm to move the item according to the plan, the plan including grasping the item on a side surface with the pull force gripper and engaging a bottom surface of the item with the support structure (see at least paras. 0048-0050); and a memory (5) configured to store the plan. One or more processors are further configured to: identify the item within a workspace of the robotic system (see at least para. 0010); determine the side surface of the item on which the pull force gripper is to grasp the item (see at least paras. 0019 and 0050); and determine the bottom surface of the item (see at least paras. 0036 and 0050). Fujiwara discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose that the side surface and the bottom surface are determined based at least in part on a labelling of item sides based on a normalized labelling process that ensures that an item side facing a certain direction is consistently labeled with a corresponding side label. However, Wicks discloses a similar system in which the side surface and the bottom surface of an item are determined based at least in part on a labelling of item sides based on a normalized labelling process that ensures that an item side facing a certain direction is consistently labeled with a corresponding side label (see at least Fig. 16) for the purpose of ensuring that a label is at a same location on all items. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to have the side surface and the bottom surface determined based at least in part on a labelling of item sides based on a normalized labelling process that ensures that an item side facing a certain direction is consistently labeled with a corresponding side label, as disclosed by Wicks, for the purpose of ensuring that a label is at a same location on all items.
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara et al. (JP 2019111615 A). Fujiwara discloses a robotic system for moving items, comprising: a robotic arm (4) comprising an end effector, the end effector comprising: an end effector body (10) having an operative side (see Fig. 3, generally at 11); a pull force gripper (11) disposed on the operative side of the end effector body; and a support structure (15) that is connected to the end effector body and extends from the end effector body in a direction that is orthogonal to the operative side of the end effector body; and a processor (see at least para. 9) configured to: receive an indication of an item to be moved (see at least paras. 0047); determine a plan to move the item with the robotic arm (see at least paras. 0015 and 0048-0050); and cause the robotic arm to move the item according to the plan, the plan including grasping the item on a side surface with the pull force gripper and engaging a bottom surface of the item with the support structure (see at least paras. 0048-0050); and a memory (5) configured to store the plan. Fujiwara further discloses a conveyance structure comprising: a belt (24) that is controlled to move the item within a workspace within an item pickup zone (see Fig. 2); and one or more conveyance support structures (see at least para. 0020) disposed at the item pickup zone, wherein the one or more conveyance support structure provide support for the item while the end effector is controlled to grasp the item. The one or more conveyance support structures are configured to rotate around an axis (A-2) that is substantially parallel with a width of the belt (see at least para. 0020). The one or more conveyance support structures comprises a first conveyance support structure and a second conveyance support structure (see Fig. 2 and para. 0020); and the first conveyance support structure and the second conveyance support rotate around the axis independently (see Fig. 2 and para. 0020). During a pick operation: the belt is controlled to move the item within the pickup zone at which at least one of the first conveyance support structure and the second conveyance support structure is extended (see Fig. 2); the end effector is controlled to grasp the item on a side surface with the pull force gripper and engage a bottom surface of the item with the support structure (see Fig. 2); and at least one of the first conveyance support structure and the second conveyance support structure is configured in a retracted position when the end effector is positioned to engage the bottom surface of the item with the support structure (see Fig. 2). Fujiwara discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose that the belt is controlled to move the item to an item pickup zone. Rather, Fujiwara discloses that the belt is controlled to move the item from an item pickup zone. However, moving items on a belt to an item pickup zone is notoriously known in the art for the purpose of stacking items. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to have the belt controlled to move the item to the item pickup zone for the purpose of stacking the items.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nakayama (US 10,226,865) and Schmatz et al. (US 6,652,014) disclose robotic end effectors having a pull force grippers and end effector support structures.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653