DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the third anode layer disclosed within claim 20 must be shown or the features canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 2, claim 2 recites the limitation “the first layer” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This limitation appears to be a typographical error as “a first anode layer” was previously disclosed within line 2 of claim 1. For purposes of examination, claim 2 is dependent upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-15 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdeksakam et al. (US-10008716-B2, disclosed in IDS provided on 5 January 2024), in view of Oh et al. (US-20210202936-A1, disclosed in IDS provided on 7 November 2024).
As to claim 1, Abdeksakam discloses an anode composition (figure 2b, anode composite layers 203a and 203b(i)) comprising:
a first anode layer (figure 2b, first anode composite layer 203a) in operable contact with a second anode layer (figure 2b, second anode composite sublayer 203b(i)), the first anode layer and second anode layer each comprising:
an anode active material (column 7 lines 22-24); and
a binder (column 7 lines 22-24);
wherein the first anode layer optionally comprises a solid electrolyte material (figure 2b, first anode composite layer 203a).
However, Abdeksakam does not disclose wherein the second anode layer further comprises a solid electrolyte material.
Oh discloses an anode material used within the production of a solid-state battery, wherein the anode layer further comprises a solid electrolyte material [0024] to limit the decrease in capacity of an electrochemical cell [0015].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the anode composition as disclosed within Abdeksakam to further include the limitation that the second anode layer additionally comprises a solid electrolyte material to limit the decrease in capacity of the electrochemical cell as disclosed within Oh.
As to claim 2, modified Abdeksakam discloses the anode composition as disclosed within claim 1, and further discloses wherein the anode active material is present in the first layer in an amount of greater than or equal to about 50% by weight of the first layer (column 7 lines 33-43).
As to claim 3, modified Abdeksakam discloses the anode composition as disclosed within claim 1, and further discloses wherein the anode active material is present in the second anode layer in an amount of about 20% to about 50% by weight of the second anode layer (column 7 lines 33-53).
As to claim 4, modified Abdeksakam discloses the anode composition as disclosed within claim 1, and further discloses wherein the anode active material of the first anode layer comprises an inorganic material (column 8 lines 24-31).
As to claim 5, modified Abdeksakam discloses the anode composition as disclosed within claim 4, and further discloses wherein the inorganic material is selected from the group consisting of silicon, silicon alloys, tin, tin alloys, germanium, germanium alloys, and combinations thereof (column 8 lines 24-31, silicon).
As to claim 6, modified Abdeksakam discloses the anode composition as disclosed within claim 5, and further discloses wherein the inorganic material is silicon, silicon alloys, or combinations thereof (column 8 lines 24-31).
As to claim 7, modified Abdeksakam discloses the anode composition as disclosed within claim 1, however, Abdeksakam does not disclose wherein the first anode layer comprises about 5% or less of a solid electrolyte material.
Oh discloses an anode material used within the production of a solid-state battery, wherein the anode layer comprises about 5% or less of a solid electrolyte material [0024] to limit side reactions with the active material from occurring.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the anode composition as disclosed within Abdeksakam to additionally include the limitation that the first anode layer comprises about 5% or less of a solid electrolyte material to limit side reactions with the active material from occurring as disclosed within Oh.
As to claim 8, modified Abdeksakam discloses the anode composition as disclosed within claim 1, however, Abdeksakam does not disclose wherein the first anode layer comprises about 1% or less of a solid electrolyte material.
Oh discloses an anode material used within the production of a solid-state battery, wherein the anode layer comprises about 1% or less of a solid electrolyte material [0024] to limit side reactions with the active material from occurring.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the anode composition as disclosed within Abdeksakam to additionally include the limitation that the first anode layer comprises about 1% or less of a solid electrolyte material to limit side reactions with the active material from occurring as disclosed within Oh.
As to claim 9, modified Abdeksakam discloses the anode composition as disclosed within claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first anode layer does not include a solid electrolyte material (figure 2b, first anode composite layer 203a).
As to claim 10, modified Abdeksakam discloses the anode composition as disclosed within claim 1, however, Abdeksakam does not disclose wherein the solid electrolyte material comprises a sulfide-based solid electrolyte material.
Oh discloses an anode material used within the production of a solid-state battery, wherein the solid electrolyte material comprises a sulfide-based solid electrolyte material [0024] to limit the decrease in capacity of an electrochemical cell [0015].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the anode composition as disclosed within Abdeksakam to additionally include the limitation that the solid electrolyte material comprises a sulfide-based solid electrolyte material to limit the decrease in capacity of the electrochemical cell as disclosed within Oh.
As to claim 11, modified Abdeksakam discloses the anode composition as disclosed within claim 1, and further discloses wherein the binder of the first anode layer is different from the binder in the second anode layer (column 12, lines 26-43).
As to claim 12, modified Abdeksakam discloses the anode composition as disclosed within claim 1, and further discloses wherein the binder comprises one or more of styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVdF), carboxymethylcellulose (CMC), or combinations thereof or derivatives thereof (column 12, lines 55-67).
As to claim 13, modified Abdeksakam discloses the anode composition as disclosed within claim 1, and further discloses wherein the anode composition further comprises a current collector in operable contact with the first anode layer (figure 2b, anode current collector layer 201).
As to claim 14, modified Abdeksakam discloses the anode composition as disclosed within claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first anode layer or the second anode layer further comprises a carbon-based conductive additive (column 23, lines 20-30).
As to claim 15, modified Abdeksakam discloses the anode composition as disclosed within claim 14, and further discloses wherein the carbon-based conductive additive is selected from the group consisting of graphite, graphene, carbon black, carbon nanotubes, carbon nanowires, vapor grown carbon fiber, activated carbon, and combinations thereof (column 23, lines 20-30).
As to claim 20, modified Abdeksakam discloses the anode composition as disclosed within claim 1, and further discloses wherein the anode composition further comprises a third anode layer (figure 2b, anode sublayer 203b(ii)), the third anode layer comprising:
an anode active material (column 7 lines 22-24 and 60-67, column 8 lines 1-6);
a binder (column 7 lines 22-24 and 60-67, column 8 lines 1-6);
a conductive additive (column 23, lines 20-30); and
wherein the weight percent amount of anode active material, binder, conductive additive, and/or solid electrolyte material in the third anode layer is different from the amounts in the first anode layer and second anode layer (column 7 lines 60-67, column 8 lines 1-6).
However, Abdeksakam does not disclose wherein the third anode layer further comprises a solid electrolyte material.
Oh discloses an anode material used within the production of a solid-state battery, wherein the anode layer further comprises a solid electrolyte material [0024] to limit the decrease in capacity of an electrochemical cell [0015].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the anode composition as disclosed within Abdeksakam to additionally include the limitation that the third anode layer additionally comprises a solid electrolyte material to limit the decrease in capacity of an electrochemical cell as disclosed within Oh.
As to claim 21, Abdeksakam discloses a method of making the anode composition of claim 1 (column 13 lines 33-42), the method comprising:
a) forming a first anode layer slurry by: mixing an anode active material, optionally at least one solid electrolyte material (column 7 lines 22-24, column 13 lines 33-42), at least one binder material (column 7 lines 22-24, column 13 lines 33-42), and a solvent (column 13 lines 33-42);
b) forming a second anode layer slurry by: mixing an anode active material (column 7 lines 22-24, column 13 lines 33-42), at least one binder material (column 7 lines 22-24, column 13 lines 33-42), optionally at least one plasticizer, optionally at least one tackifier, and a solvent (column 13 lines 33-42),
c) casting the first anode layer slurry onto a substrate (column 24 lines 54-58);
d) casting the second anode layer slurry onto the first anode layer slurry (column 24 lines 59-67); and
e) drying the first anode layer slurry and the second anode layer slurry to form the anode composition (column 5 lines 56-60).
However, Abdeksakam does not disclose wherein the second anode layer further comprises at least one solid electrolyte material.
Oh discloses an anode material used within the production of a solid-state battery, wherein the anode layer further comprises at least one solid electrolyte material [0024] to limit the decrease in capacity of an electrochemical cell [0015].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the anode composition as disclosed within Abdeksakam to further include the limitation that the second anode layer additionally comprises at least one solid electrolyte material to limit the decrease in capacity of an electrochemical cell as disclosed within Oh.
As to claim 22, modified Abdeksakam discloses the method of making the anode composition as disclosed within claim 21, and further discloses wherein the mixing in step a) comprises mixing an anode active material, at least one solid electrolyte material, and at least one binder material, wherein substantially no solid electrolyte material is included in the combining (figure 2b, first anode composite layer 203a).
As to claim 23, modified Abdeksakam discloses the method of making the anode composition as disclosed within claim 21, and further discloses wherein the mixing in step a) does not include at least one solid electrolyte material (figure 2b, first anode composite layer 203a).
As to claim 24, Abdeksakam discloses a composition comprising a solid bilayer anode (figure 2b, anode composite layers 203a and 203b(i)), the bilayer anode comprising:
a first anode layer (figure 2b, first anode composite layer 203a), the first anode layer comprising:
a first anode active material (column 7 lines 22-24), wherein the first anode active material is present in the first anode layer in an amount of greater than or equal to about 50% by weight of the first anode layer (column 7 lines 33-43);
a first binder (column 7 lines 22-24); and
a first conductive additive (column 23 lines 20-30);
a second anode layer (figure 2b, second anode composite layer 203b(i)), the second anode layer comprising:
a second anode active material (column 7 lines 22-24), wherein the second anode active material is present in the second anode layer in an amount of about 20% to about 50% by weight of the second anode layer (column 7 lines 33-53);
a second binder (column 7 lines 22-24); and
a second conductive additive (column 23 lines 20-30).
However, Abdeksakam does not disclose wherein the second anode layer further comprises a solid electrolyte material.
Oh discloses an anode material used within the production of a solid-state battery, wherein the anode layer further comprises a solid electrolyte material [0024] to limit the decrease in capacity of an electrochemical cell [0015].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the anode composition as disclosed within Abdeksakam to further include the limitation that the second anode layer additionally comprises a solid electrolyte material to limit the decrease in capacity of an electrochemical cell as disclosed within Oh.
7. Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdeksakam et al. (US-10008716-B2, disclosed in IDS provided on 5 January 2024), in view of Oh et al. (US-20210202936-A1, disclosed in IDS provided on 7 November 2024) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Southee et al. (US-20100129710-A1).
As to claim 16, modified Abdeksakam discloses the anode composition as disclosed within claim 1, however, Abdeksakam does not disclose wherein the second anode layer further comprises a tackifier.
Southee discloses an anode layer used within a battery, wherein the anode layer further comprises a tackifier ([00084] and [0090-0092]) to improve the ability of printing the anode layer onto another surface.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the anode composition as disclosed within Abdeksakam to additionally include a tackifier to improve the ability of printing the anode layer onto another surface as disclosed within Southee.
As to claim 17, modified Abdeksakam discloses the anode composition as disclosed within claim 16, however, Abdeksakam does not disclose wherein the tackifier comprises a hydrocarbon resin.
Southee discloses an anode layer used within a battery, wherein the anode layer further comprises hydrocarbon resin as the tackifier ([00084] and [0090-0092]) to improve the ability of printing the anode layer onto another surface.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the anode composition as disclosed within Abdeksakam to additionally include hydrocarbon resin as a tackifier to improve the ability of printing the anode layer onto another surface as disclosed within Southee.
8. Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdeksakam et al. (US-10008716-B2, disclosed in IDS provided on 5 January 2024), in view of Oh et al. (US-20210202936-A1, disclosed in IDS provided on 7 November 2024) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Loch al. (US-6143216-A).
As to claim 18, modified Abdeksakam discloses the anode composition as disclosed within claim 1, however, Abdeksakam does not disclose wherein the second anode layer further comprises a plasticizer.
Loch discloses an anode layer used within a battery, wherein the anode layer further comprises a plasticizer (column 2 lines 36-46, column 8 lines 12-29) to serve as a diluent to induce a phase transition during production of the anode.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the anode composition as disclosed within Abdeksakam to additionally include a plasticizer to function as a diluent to induce a phase transition during production of the anode as disclosed within Loch.
As to claim 19, modified Abdeksakam discloses the anode composition as disclosed within claim 18, however, Abdeksakam does not disclose wherein the plasticizer comprises dioctyl phthalate, dibutyl sebecate, mineral oil, or combinations thereof.
Loch discloses an anode layer used within a battery, wherein the anode layer further comprises a mineral oil as a plasticizer (column 2 lines 36-46, column 8 lines 12-29) to serve as a diluent to induce a phase transition during production of the anode.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the anode composition as disclosed within Abdeksakam to additionally include mineral oil as a plasticizer to function as a diluent to induce a phase transition during production of the anode as disclosed within Loch.
Conclusion
/J.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/Maria Laios/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727