DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an RCE filed on 09/02/2026.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 6 have been amended.
Claims 4-5 and 7 have been cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 6 and 8-10 have been objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant should file the “Amended to the claims” and “Remarks” separately form the “A.NE”. Appropriate correction is required in the future.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument filed on 09/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on pages 8-12 in the remarks with cited paragraphs form current prior arts that current prior arts in combination failed to teach claim 1.te emended limitations of claim 1 and 6. Therefore, this case should be allowed. In response the examiner disagrees with the applicant about allowing this case, because a new secondary prior art Iana Siomina (20140126403) teaches the amended limitations of claims 1 and 6. The examiner’s interpretation of amended limitation of claim 1 and 6 are using message that includes a measurement configuration to cause the mobile terminal performing measurement, physical cell identities, and frequencies of a candidate base station, the mobile terminal detects a radio link failure (RLF) between a serving base station and the mobile terminal, selects the candidate base station based on the measurement and connects to the selected base station on the frequency corresponding to the selected based station using the physical cell identity after detecting the radio link failure (RLF). Siomina’s teaching in paragraph 103 about using wireless device is equated to a mobile terminal, one of the base stations is interpreted as using a base station, his teaching in paragraphs 184 and 194 about using identification of the interference node as part of interference data is interpreted as using measurement information with physical cell identities of candidate base station, his teaching in paragraph 187 about using channel bandwidth or transmission bandwidth as part of interference data is interpreted as using frequencies of the candidate base station, his teaching in fig. 4, step 400, paragraph 184 about receiving a request for an effective measurement is interpreted as receiving an information includes a measurement configuration message to cause the mobile terminal to perform measurement physical cell identities of the candidate base station, his teaching in paragraphs 127 about using a RLM or radio link failure is equated to the radio link failure (RLF), his teaching in paragraph 106 about performing reference measurement between the wireless device and a serving cell (small cells 420) is read as the mobile terminal is configured to detect a radio link failure (RLF) between the originating base station and the mobile terminal, his teaching in paragraph 104 about using a base station in another macro or micro cell is equated to a candidate base station, his teaching in fig. 4, step 410, paragraph 211 about obtaining one or more effective measurement based on the reference measurement is interpreted as selecting one of the candidate base stations based on the measurement, paragraph, his teaching in paragraph 126 about mobility (handover threshold) or carrier switching explicitly teaches connecting to a different base station, his teaching in fig. 4, step 412,paragraph 211 about using the reference and effective measurement is interpreted as connecting to the selected candidate base station on the frequency corresponding to the selected candidate base station using the physical cell identity of the selected candidate base station. The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Siomina, in combination with OLOFSSON and Fang teaches claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (hereinafter, “Fang”; 8977325B2) in view of OLOFSSON et al.(hereinafter, “OLOFSSON”; WO2013071856) and in further view of Iana Siomina (hereinafter, “Siomina”; 20140126403).(For citation purpose, examiner has used English translation of WO2013071856. Publication date of WO 2013071856 is May/23/2013. Therefore, this foreign prior art qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C 103 (a)).
In response to claim 1,
Fang teaches a mobile communication system, which changes a communication partner of a mobile terminal from an originating base station to a destination base station (fig. 2, cell base station is equated to originating base station, Base station of neighbor cell A and B are equated to communication partner and destination base station, column 8, lines 1-25, steps 206 and 208, sending a response message a neighbor cell and expanding coverage area to compensate the coverage area of the cell that is sleeping explicitly teaches changing a communication partner of a mobile terminal from an originating base station to a destination base station),
wherein a request message requesting to become a candidate is transmitted to a plurality of candidate base stations, which are potential destination base stations, from the originating base station (fig. 2, cell base station is equated to originating base station, base station of neighbor cell A and B are equated to plurality of base stations which are potential destination base stations, column 7, lines 35-67,steps 202 and 204, sending sleeping entering request message to neighbor cells A and B is read as transmitting a request message to plurality of base stations to a become candidate, column 8, lines 1-25, steps 206 and 208, sending a response message a neighbor cell and expanding coverage area to compensate the coverage area of the cell that is sleeping explicitly teaches the neighbor cells are potential destination base stations from the originating base station),
a response message responding to the request message is transmitted from the plurality of candidate base stations to the originating base station (column 8, line 1-25, steps 206 and 208, sending sleeping entering permission is equated to response message responding to the request message, sending sleeping entering permission by cell A and B teaches this limitation),
Fang does not teach explicitly about information of the candidate base stations is transmitted from the originating base station to the mobile terminal.
OLOFSSON in view of Fang teaches information of the candidate base stations is transmitted from the originating base station to the mobile terminal (page 5, step 201,(last paragraph on page 5 continued on page 6), source base station is equated to originating base station, first target base station is equated to candidate base station, UE is equated to mobile terminal, CIO (cell individual offset) is equated to information of the candidate base station, sending an identification information (like CIO) with a handover command by the source base station to an UE explicitly teaches transmitting from the originating base station to the mobile terminal), and
It would have been obvious within the scope of a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fang for using a information of the candidate base stations is transmitted from the originating base station to the mobile terminal as taught by OLOFSSON because it would allow using an optimized algorithm to ensure correctness of an optimized result with a link failure statistic method for performing an abnormal switching of classified statistics by distinguishing a CIO (cell individual offset) configuration reason that cause a wireless link failure.
Fang and OLOFSSON don’t teach explicitly about using the information includes a measurement configuration message to cause the mobile terminal to perform measurement physical cell identities of the candidate base station, and frequencies of the candidate base station, the mobile terminal is configured to detect a radio link failure (RLF) between the originating base station and the mobile terminal, and when detecting the RLF, select one of the candidate base stations based on the measurement and connect to the selected candidate base station on the frequency corresponding to the selected candidate base station using the physical cell identity of the selected candidate base station.
Siomina in view of Fang and OLOFSSON teaches the information includes a measurement configuration message to cause the mobile terminal to perform measurement physical cell identities of the candidate base station, and frequencies of the candidate base station (paragraph 103, wireless device is equated to a mobile terminal, one of the base stations is interpreted as using a base station, paragraphs 184 and 194, using identification of the interference node as part of interference data is interpreted as using measurement information with physical cell identities of candidate base station, paragraph 187, using channel bandwidth or transmission bandwidth as part of interference data is interpreted as using frequencies of the candidate base station, fig. 4, step 400, paragraph 184, receiving a request for an effective measurement is interpreted as receiving an information includes a measurement configuration message to cause the mobile terminal to perform measurement physical cell identities of the candidate base station), and
the mobile terminal is configured to detect a radio link failure (RLF) between the originating base station and the mobile terminal (paragraphs 127, RLM or radio link failure is equated to the radio link failure (RLF),paragraph 106, performing reference measurement between the wireless device and a serving cell (small cells 420) is read as the mobile terminal is configured to detect a radio link failure (RLF) between the originating base station and the mobile terminal), and
when detecting the RLF, select one of the candidate base stations based on the measurement and connect to the selected candidate base station on the frequency corresponding to the selected candidate base station using the physical cell identity of the selected candidate base station (paragraph 104,a base station in another macro or micro cell is equated to a candidate base station, fig. 4, step 410, paragraph 211, obtaining one or more effective measurement based on the reference measurement is interpreted as selecting one of the candidate base stations based on the measurement, paragraph, paragraph 126,mobility (handover threshold) or carrier switching explicitly teaches connecting to a different base station, fig. 4, step 412,paragraph 211,using the reference and effective measurement is interpreted as connecting to the selected candidate base station on the frequency corresponding to the selected candidate base station using the physical cell identity of the selected candidate base station).
It would have been obvious within the scope of a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fang and OLOFSSON for using a information includes a measurement configuration message to cause the mobile terminal to perform measurement physical cell identities of the candidate base station, and frequencies of the candidate base station, the mobile terminal is configured to detect a radio link failure (RLF) between the originating base station and the mobile terminal, and when detecting the RLF, select one of the candidate base stations based on the measurement and connect to the selected candidate base station on the frequency corresponding to the selected candidate base station using the physical cell identity of the selected candidate base station as taught by Siomina because it would allow using a reference and an effective measurement procedure in case of performing communication between an enhanced receiver and a conventional receiver.
In response to claim 2,
Fang teaches wherein the originating base station is an energy saving base station capable of energy saving operation (fig. 2, cell base station is equated to originating base station, column 7, step 202 and 204, sending a sleeping entering request explicitly teaches the originating base station is an energy saving base station).
In response to claim 3,
Fang teaches wherein the destination base stations are compensating base stations compensating operation of the originating base station (fig. 2, Base station of neighbor cell A and B are equated to communication partner and destination base station, column 8, step 208, sending a message by a neighbor cell for a coverage compensation explicitly teaches destination base stations are compensating base stations compensating operation of the originating base station).
In response to claim 6,
Fang teaches a mobile terminal in a mobile communication system in which a communication partner of a mobile terminal is changed from an originating base station to a destination base station (fig. 2, cell base station is equated to originating base station, Base station of neighbor cell A and B are equated to communication partner and destination base station, column 8, lines 1-25, steps 206 and 208, sending a response message a neighbor cell and expanding coverage area to compensate the coverage area of the cell that is sleeping explicitly teaches changing a communication partner of a mobile terminal from an originating base station to a destination base station), wherein
to a plurality of candidate base stations, which are potential destination base stations, a request message requesting to become the candidate is transmitted from the originating base station (fig. 2, cell base station is equated to originating base station, base station of neighbor cell A and B are equated to plurality of base stations which are potential destination base stations, column 7, lines 35-67,steps 202 and 204, sending sleeping entering request message to neighbor cells A and B is read as transmitting a request message to plurality of base stations to a become candidate, column 8, lines 1-25, steps 206 and 208, sending a response message a neighbor cell and expanding coverage area to compensate the coverage area of the cell that is sleeping explicitly teaches the neighbor cells are potential destination base stations from the originating base station),
a response message responding to the request message is transmitted from the plurality of candidate base stations to the originating base station (column 8, line 1-25, steps 206 and 208, sending sleeping entering permission is equated to response message responding to the request message, sending sleeping entering permission by cell A and B teaches this limitation), and
Fang does not teach explicitly about the mobile terminal is configured to receive information of the candidate base station form the original base station.
OLOFSSON in view of Fang teaches the mobile terminal is configured to receive information of the candidate base station form the original base station (page 5, step 201,(last paragraph on page 5 continued on page 6), source base station is equated to originating base station, first target base station is equated to candidate base station, UE is equated to mobile terminal, CIO (cell individual offset) is equated to information of the candidate base station, sending an identification information (like CIO) with a handover command by the source base station to an UE explicitly teaches the mobile terminal is configured to receive information of the candidate base station form the original base station).
It would have been obvious within the scope of a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fang for receiving information of the candidate base station form the original base station by a mobile terminal as taught by OLOFSSON because it would allow using an optimized algorithm to ensure correctness of an optimized result with a link failure statistic method for performing an abnormal switching of classified statistics by distinguishing a CIO (cell individual offset) configuration reason that cause a wireless link failure.
Fang and OLOFSSON don’t teach explicitly about using the information includes a measurement configuration message to cause the mobile terminal to perform measurement physical cell identities of the candidate base station, and frequencies of the candidate base station, the mobile terminal is configured to detect a radio link failure (RLF) between the originating base station and the mobile terminal, and when detecting the RLF, select one of the candidate base stations based on the measurement and connect to the selected candidate base station on the frequency corresponding to the selected candidate base station using the physical cell identity of the selected candidate base station.
Siomina in view of Fang and OLOFSSON teaches the information includes a measurement configuration message to cause the mobile terminal to perform measurement physical cell identities of the candidate base station, and frequencies of the candidate base station (paragraph 103, wireless device is equated to a mobile terminal, one of the base stations is interpreted as using a base station, paragraphs 184 and 194, using identification of the interference node as part of interference data is interpreted as using measurement information with physical cell identities of candidate base station, paragraph 187, using channel bandwidth or transmission bandwidth as part of interference data is interpreted as using frequencies of the candidate base station, fig. 4, step 400, paragraph 184, receiving a request for an effective measurement is interpreted as receiving an information includes a measurement configuration message to cause the mobile terminal to perform measurement physical cell identities of the candidate base station), and
the mobile terminal is configured to detect a radio link failure (RLF) between the originating base station and the mobile terminal (paragraphs 127, RLM or radio link failure is equated to the radio link failure (RLF),paragraph 106, performing reference measurement between the wireless device and a serving cell (small cells 420) is read as the mobile terminal is configured to detect a radio link failure (RLF) between the originating base station and the mobile terminal), and
when detecting the RLF, select one of the candidate base stations based on the measurement and connect to the selected candidate base station on the frequency corresponding to the selected candidate base station using the physical cell identity of the selected candidate base station (paragraph 104,a base station in another macro or micro cell is equated to a candidate base station, fig. 4, step 410, paragraph 211, obtaining one or more effective measurement based on the reference measurement is interpreted as selecting one of the candidate base stations based on the measurement, paragraph, paragraph 126,mobility (handover threshold) or carrier switching explicitly teaches connecting to a different base station, fig. 4, step 412,paragraph 211,using the reference and effective measurement is interpreted as connecting to the selected candidate base station on the frequency corresponding to the selected candidate base station using the physical cell identity of the selected candidate base station).
It would have been obvious within the scope of a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fang and OLOFSSON for using a information includes a measurement configuration message to cause the mobile terminal to perform measurement physical cell identities of the candidate base station, and frequencies of the candidate base station, the mobile terminal is configured to detect a radio link failure (RLF) between the originating base station and the mobile terminal, and when detecting the RLF, select one of the candidate base stations based on the measurement and connect to the selected candidate base station on the frequency corresponding to the selected candidate base station using the physical cell identity of the selected candidate base station as taught by Siomina because it would allow using a reference and an effective measurement procedure in case of performing communication between an enhanced receiver and a conventional receiver.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (hereinafter, “Fang”; 8977325B2) in view of OLOFSSON et al.(hereinafter, “OLOFSSON”; WO2013071856) in view of Iana Siomina (hereinafter, “Siomina”; 20140126403) and in further view of He et al. (hereinafter, “He”;20130288672).
In response to claim 8,
Fang, OLOFSSON and Siomina do not teach explicitly about claim 8.
He in view of Fang OLOFSSON and Nishio teaches wherein the information of the candidate base stations is included in a neighbor cell list notified to the mobile terminal over radio resource control (RRC) signaling (paragraph 31, information with frequencies, bandwidth and other information is equated to information, eNBs associate with neighboring cels are equated to candidate base station, neighbor cell list is equated to a neighbor cell list, UE is equated to a mobile terminal, sending a RRC message with neighbor cell list (with an information element as a MeansObjectEUTRA) by a base station from a serving case explicitly teaches this limitation).
It would have been obvious within the scope of a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fang, OLOFSSON and Siomina for using an i information of the candidate base stations is included in a neighbor cell list notified to the mobile terminal over radio resource control (RRC) signaling as taught by He because it would allow enhancing the existing wireless system by improving bandwidth utilization and efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As for claims 9-10, these claims are objected because these is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein the mobile terminal is configured to connect to the selected candidate base station without transmitting a measurement report to the originating base station after performing the measurement.”
The closet prior art in the record Xu et al. (CN103313328) teaches on page 8, steps 801-804 about sending a cell ID list to by a RAN toa UE, performing measurement by the UE using the cell ID lest, sending a measurement report to the RAN and switching from one performing handover based on the reported cell list, but he fails to teach the above cited limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO2011132721…………page 25, paragraph 2.
/ABUSAYEED M HAQUE/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466