Status of Claims
This office action is responsive to claims filed on 07/17/2023.
Claims 1-20 are examined in this office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Connection keeper (claims 2-3)
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation – 35 USC §112f
The following elements are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
For convenience, reference to the PG Publication US 2019/0047781 A1 will be made for support for the following claimed elements interpreted under 35 USC 112(f).
connection keeper – Claims 2-3; The structure of this element is insufficiently described in the specification, since there is no recited structure for performing the claimed function other than a simple recitation of the function that this element performs.
If the applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre -AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre –AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §112(b)
Claims 2, and 3-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2-3, the claim recites in part, “a connection keeper” in lines 2-3 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what is referred to as a connection keeper as the structure is not reasonable described and depicted in the drawings. Clarification is required.
Claim limitations “Connection Keeper,” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. As described in the section above, the disclosure is devoid of any structure that performed the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 / 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Ringler et al. (US 20240116160 A1) hereinafter referred to as Ringler or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ringler et al. (US 20240116160 A1) in view of Schadow et al. (US 20180272494 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ringler discloses an electrically drivable device (1), comprising: a device body (2); and
an attachment (5) attachable to and detachable (via 10a; implicit) from the device body (2), the attachment including:
a connector (11) connectable with the device body (1); at least one pressure receiver (12) displaceable inward (Fig. 4b) in response to a gripping force with which a user grips the attachment (Fig. 4b);
a permanent magnet (14; [0046]);
a magnet control mechanism (10) configured to move the permanent magnet (14) or change an orientation thereof in conjunction with the displacement of the at least one pressure receiver (12; Figs. 2a-2c); and
a frame (Frame of 11) holding the at least one pressure receiver (12) in such a manner that the at least one pressure receiver (12) is displaceable (Figs. 2a-2c), and containing the magnet control mechanism (10),
the device body (2) including a magnetic sensor (13; [0016]) configured to, in response to the at least one pressure receiver (12) being displaced with the attachment (5) attached to the device body (2), detect magnetism that the permanent magnet (14) applies through at least a portion of the connector ([0049]-[0051]).
Wherein the Applicant may argue that Ringler fails to disclose an attachment attachable to and detachable from the device body, the Office alternatively points to Schadow.
Schadow teaches an attachment (3 and 4) attachable to and detachable (via pins 8 and 9) from the device body (Figs. 1 and 3).
Given the teachings of Schadow, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify an attachment of Ringler to be attachable to and detachable from the device body so as to readily and easily replace the handle in the case of damages, repairs or maintenance .
Ringler as modified further teaches:
Regarding claim 2, wherein the device body (2 of Ringler) includes a connection keeper (D1) configured to be coupled with a coupler (2a of Ringler) of the attachment to allow the attachment to be coupled with the device body (Fig. 4a of Ringler).
Regarding claim 19, wherein the attachment (5 of Ringler) includes in the frame an urging member (second spring element; [0057] of Ringler) configured to, in response to the at least one pressure receiver (12 of Ringler) being displaced, urge the at least one pressure receiver (12 of Ringler) away from a frame axis of the frame which frame axis extends in a longitudinal direction of the frame ([0057] of Ringler).
Regarding claim 20, wherein the urging member includes at least one of an elastomer, a coil spring, or a plate spring ([0057] of Ringler).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited. Those references not relied upon are directed mainly toward the general field of electrically drivable device having an attachment including a permanent magnet.
/NICHOLAS E IGBOKWE/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/ANDREW M TECCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731