DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 08/12/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dufour (US 4,457,708)
Regarding claims 1,2,4 and 5: Dufour discloses a removable therapeutic dental orthotic (20) comprising: a one-piece body (Figs 1-9) adapted and configured to be worn over a user's lower dentition (Fig. 9) the body comprising lefthand and righthand occlusally protruding fulcrum regions (21) each fulcrum region being so positioned relative to the user's lower dentition and is capable of initially contacting the user's upper dentition only on the user's corresponding left and right first molar of the upper dentition (column 1 line 67) when the user's upper dentition includes such left or right first molar, when the orthotic is so worn during the user's jaw closure movement (column 2, lines 40-56);the orthotic is capable of permitting the user's lower dentition to pivot sagittally relative to the user's upper dentition, while the fulcrum regions remain in contact with the upper dentition, about the respective locations of such contact.
Dufour further discloses wherein the body further comprises lefthand and righthand pivotal clearance regions (Figs. 4,11,25) disposed mesially and distally of the corresponding fulcrum regions (Figs. 2,9), the pivotal clearance regions is capable of being separated from the user's upper dentition by a pivotal clearance when the user's first dentition is at the position of said initial contact by the orthotic on the user's upper dentition (Figs. 11 and 25). Kittelsen teaches the structure as claimed and is capable of performing the intended use as claimed.
Regarding Claim 3: Dufour discloses a method of using a removable therapeutic dental orthotic comprising a one-piece body (20) and lefthand and righthand occlusally protruding fulcrum regions (21), the method comprising: a user wearing the orthotic body over a lower dentition of the user (Fig. 9); the user's jaw moving along an arc of closure from an open position to an initial contact position, the upper dentition in the open position being out of contact with the orthotic and the lower dentition (column 1, lines 62-64; column 2, lines 53-56), the upper dentition in the initial contact position contacting the fulcrum regions and contacting no other part of the orthotic body or the first dentition (the space provided by the orthotic device ensures that user’s upper and lower teeth do not contact but instead rests on the ortho device); the user's jaw moving so as to pivot the first dentition sagittally relative to the upper dentition from the initial contact position to a sagittally pivoted position while the fulcrum regions remain in contact with the upper dentition (jaw can move and is guided by the appliance to help correct jaw alignment and relative symptoms).
Claim(s) 1,2,4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bons (US 2016/0120619)
Bons discloses a removable therapeutic dental orthotic (10) comprising: a one-piece body (Figs. 1 and 2 – one piece formed by multiple layers) adapted and configured to be worn over a user's lower dentition [0021]; the body comprising lefthand and righthand occlusally protruding fulcrum regions(40, Fig. 1), each fulcrum region being so positioned relative to the user's lower dentition and is capable of initially contacting the user's upper dentition only on the user's corresponding left or right first molar of the upper dentition (Fig. 3 and 5) [0040], when the user's upper dentition includes such left or right first molar, when the orthotic is so worn during the user's jaw closure movement [0041,0042]; the orthotic is capable of permitting the user's first dentition to pivot sagittally relative to the user's upper dentition, while the fulcrum regions remain in contact with the upper dentition, about the respective locations of such contact.
Bons further discloses wherein the body further comprises lefthand and righthand pivotal clearance regions (Figs. 1 and 2) disposed mesially and distally of the corresponding fulcrum regions (Figs. 1 and 2), the pivotal clearance regions is capable of being separated from the user's upper dentition by a pivotal clearance when the user's first dentition is at the position of said initial contact by the orthotic on the user's upper dentition. Bons teaches the structure as claimed and is capable of performing the intended use as claimed.
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kittelsen (US 6,471,758).
Regarding Claims 1,2,4 and 5: Kittelsen discloses a removable therapeutic dental orthotic (70) comprising: a one-piece body (column 1, line 10) adapted and configured to be worn over a user's lower dentition (Fig. 11 and 25) the body comprising lefthand and righthand occlusally protruding fulcrum regions (72, Fig. 4), each fulcrum region being so positioned relative to the user's lower dentition and is capable of initially contacting the user's upper dentition only on the user's corresponding left or right first molar of the upper dentition (Figs. 11 and 25) when the user's upper dentition includes such left or right first molar, when the orthotic is so worn during the user's jaw closure movement (Figs. 11 and 25);the orthotic is capable of permitting the user's first dentition to pivot sagittally relative to the user's upper dentition, while the fulcrum regions remain in contact with the upper dentition, about the respective locations of such contact.
Kittelsen further discloses wherein the body further comprises lefthand and righthand pivotal clearance regions (Figs. 4,11,25) disposed mesially and distally of the corresponding fulcrum regions (Fig. 4), the pivotal clearance regions is capable of being separated from the user's upper dentition by a pivotal clearance when the user's first dentition is at the position of said initial contact by the orthotic on the user's upper dentition (Figs. 11 and 25). Kittelsen teaches the structure as claimed and is capable of performing the intended use as claimed.
Regarding Claim 3: Kittelsen discloses a method of using a removable therapeutic dental orthotic comprising a one-piece body (column 1, line 10) and lefthand and righthand occlusally protruding fulcrum regions (72, Fig. 4), the method comprising: a user wearing the orthotic body over a lower dentition of the user (Figs. 11, 25); the user's jaw moving along an arc of closure from an open position to an initial contact position, the upper dentition in the open position being out of contact with the orthotic and the lower dentition (Figs. 11, 25), the upper dentition in the initial contact position contacting the fulcrum regions and contacting no other part of the orthotic body or the first dentition (Figs. 11, 25); the user's jaw moving so as to pivot the first dentition sagittally relative to the upper dentition from the initial contact position to a sagittally pivoted position while the fulcrum regions remain in contact with the upper dentition (column 6, lines 20-28 – the ortho appliance can be adjusted while affixed thus allowing for sagittal movement).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the both Bons and Kittelsen contacts multiple teeth and not the just the molars. However, the applicant did not provide any specifications or dimension of the device but rather functionally claimed the intended use/fit. It is the examiner’s position that the devices are capable of being placed on individuals with bigger size dentition so that it can only fit on the molars of that individual dentition. The examiner encourages providing more structural limitation to get around the prior art of record.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUNIL K SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3722