DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
As per the submission to the Office filed on 12/11/2025, the following represents the changes from the previous claims: Claims 1, 10-11, 17 and 20 were amended, and Claims 2-3 were canceled. Claims 1, and 4-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 depends on a cancelled claim, and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to reasonably ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter. For purposes of examination, it is assumed that claim 10 depends on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Massey (US 20200037514 A1) in view of Aldokimov (US 5501037 A), VETTESE (US 20200296900 A1) and Raymond (US 20210169027 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Massey teaches a hydroponic plant growth system, comprising:
one or more plant holding tubes (5a and 5b), wherein the one or more plant holding tubes comprises a plurality of angled inlet provisions (59 and figs. 3 and 4a) cut into the tube body (figs. 3 and 4a) to secure one or more plant saplings in place without external fasteners ([0027] as 59 can receive the one or more plant saplings);
at least one reservoir (63 and 57) positioned beneath the plant holding tubes (fig. 3) for storing water or liquid ([0034]);
at least one pump (93) for transferring the water or liquid from the reservoir to the one or more plant holding tubes through one or more feeder or support tubes (65 and 67 and [0037]);
at least one light source (21), mounted adjacent to the plant holding tubes (fig. 2 and [0038]), wherein the at least one light source emit light required for the growth of the one or more plant saplings ([0038]);
at least one inlet (opening of 47 in fig. 3) at top end of the one or more plant holding tubes (fig. 3), wherein the at least one inlet is for passing air, nitrogen, or other gases to roots of the plant saplings equipped in one or more provisions (intended use as the air and gasses will be added to the water when the user fills up the reservoir, and the inlet will allow for the air and other gases to pass through as the water passes through the inlet [0032]-0034]);
a frame (frame of 17 and 31) for secure, mounting of the one or more plant holding tubes, the at least one reservoir, the at least one pump, and the at least one light source (figs. 1-3), the frame (17 and 31);
one or more holding containers (49 and 5c) for receiving the water or liquid drained from the one or more plant holding tubes after it is transferred through the pump to the one or more plant saplings through the one or more plant holding tubes ([0041]), wherein, the one or more feeder or support tubes are angled in a position (fig. 3 depicts the feeder or support tubes 65 to be angled at the top and bottom) and are connected to the at least one reservoir for storing the drained water (fig 3 and [0035] as 65 and 67 are connected to the reservoir through the conduit 133 and the pump as the conduit and pump will transfer the water to 65 and 67);and
an autonomous plant growth controller (37) comprising:
at least one computer processing unit (41);
memory (43 and [0024]) coupled to at least one processor (([0024], [0040] and fig. 6 as the memory is coupled to the processor in order to operate the control system);
software (([0024] and fig. 6 as the application used to power the control system is a software) by which to operate the at least one computer processing unit ([0024] and fig. 6 as the application powers the control system, and so will operate the at least one computer processing unit);
one or more sensors (77, 83, 87, 109, 135) for tracking growth conditions of plants growing within said autonomous hydroponic plant growth system ([0032] and [0039]); and
a machine learning engine ([0048]) configured to collect data from said multiple sensors (in ([0048]) Massey recites: “The recirculation process can be continued for pre-determined time period, manually or based on machine learning from the control system 39”. Thus, Massey’s control system does have a machine learning engine that collects data from the respective sensors).
However, Massey is silent about downward-sloped feeder or support tubes; caster wheels for portable mounting, wherein the frame allows rotation of the plant holding tubes between vertical and horizontal orientations; non-transitory memory and operating software.
Aldokimov teaches downward-sloped feeder or support tubes (5,4 and 7, fig. 1 and Col. 2, lines 17-21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feeder or support tubes of Massey to be downward-sloped as taught by Aldokimov in order to increase the efficiency of applying the nutrient solution to the plants (Col. 2, lines 17-21 of Aldokimov).
VETTESE teaches caster wheels (70 as swivel wheels are a form of caster wheels) for portable mounting ([0019]), wherein the frame (20 and 60) allows rotation of the plant holding tubes between vertical and horizontal orientations ([0019]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include caster wheels for portable mounting, wherein the frame allows rotation of the plant holding tubes between vertical and horizontal orientations as taught by VETTESE into the system of Massey in order to make the plant device mobile to easily change its orientation to best suit the architecture of the room ([0019] of VETTESE).
Raymond teaches a non-transitory memory ([0054]) and operating software ([0013]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory and software of Massey to be a non-transitory memory and operating software as taught by Raymond in order to have the operating software control all the hardware to help the controller run smoothly and provide data persistence and a more reliable form of memory.
Regarding claim 5, Massey as modified by Aldokimov, VETTESE and Raymond teaches the hydroponic plant growth system of Claim 1, and Massey further teaches wherein the at least one light source is at least one of LED or any other light emitting device ([0026]).
Regarding claim 6, Massey as modified by Aldokimov, VETTESE and Raymond teaches the hydroponic plant growth system of Claim 1, and Massey further teaches wherein the holding containers (49 and 5c) receive drained water through gravity from the one or more plant holding tubes without any additional electronic equipment (fig. 3, [0035] and [0041]).
Regarding claim 7, Massey as modified by Aldokimov, VETTESE and Raymond teaches the hydroponic plant growth system of Claim 1, and Massey further teaches wherein the plant holding tubes is at least one of in various cylindrical shapes (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Massey as modified by Aldokimov, VETTESE and Raymond teaches the hydroponic plant growth system of Claim 1, and Massey further teaches wherein the one or more plant saplings are placed into plant containers for easy accessibility (61).
Regarding claim 10, Massey as modified by Aldokimov, VETTESE and Raymond teaches the hydroponic plant growth system of Claim 2, but is silent about wherein the frame is made of materials comprising metal, wood, bamboo or combinations thereof.
VETTESE teaches wherein the frame is made of materials comprising metal, wood or combinations thereof ([0021]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the frame of Massey as modified by Aldokimov, VETTESE and Raymond to be made of materials comprising metal, wood or combinations thereof as taught by VETTESE, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (depending on the users preference, they may want a specific material). In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Massey (US 20200037514 A1) in view of VETTESE (US 20200296900 A1) and Raymond (US 20210169027 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Massey teaches an autonomous hydroponic plant growth system for plants, comprising:
one or more plant holding tubes (5a and 5b), wherein the one or more plant holding tubes comprises angled inlet provisions (59 and figs. 3 and 4a) cut into the tube body (figs. 3 and 4a) to secure one or more plant saplings in place without external fasteners ([0027] as 59 can receive the one or more plant saplings);
at least one reservoir (63 and 57) for storing water or liquid ([0034]);
at least one pump (93) for transferring the water or liquid from the reservoir to the one or more plant holding tubes through one or more feeder or support tubes (65 and 67 and [0037]);
at least one light source (21), wherein the at least one light source emit light required for the growth of the one or more plant saplings ([0038]);
at least one inlet (opening of 47 in fig. 3) at top end of the one or more plant holding tubes (fig. 3), wherein the at least one inlet is for passing air, nitrogen, or other gases to roots of the plant saplings equipped in one or more provisions ([0032]-0034] as the air and gasses will be added to the water when the user fills up the reservoir, and the inlet will allow for the air and other gases to pass through as the water passes through the inlet);
a frame (frame of 17 and 31) for secure, mounting of the one or more plant holding tubes, the at least one reservoir, the at least one pump, and the at least one light source (figs. 1-3), the frame (17 and 31);
one or more holding containers (49 and 5c) for receiving the water or liquid drained from the one or more plant holding tubes after it is transferred through the pump to the one or more plant saplings through the one or more plant holding tubes ([0041]), wherein, the one or more feeder or support tubes are angled in a position (fig. 3 depicts the feeder or support tubes 65 to be angled at the top and bottom) and are connected to the at least one reservoir for storing the drained water (fig 3 and [0035] as 65 and 67 are connected to the reservoir through the conduit 133 and the pump as the conduit and pump will transfer the water to 65 and 67); and
an autonomous plant growth controller (37) comprising:
at least one computer processing unit (41);
memory (43 and [0024]) coupled to at least one processor ([0024], [0040] and fig. 6 as the memory is coupled to the processor in order to operate the control system);
software (([0024] and fig. 6 as the application used to power the control system is a software) by which to operate the at least one computer processing unit ([0024] and fig. 6 as the application powers the control system, and so will operate the at least one computer processing unit);
one or more sensors (77, 83, 87, 109, 135) for tracking growth conditions of plants growing within said autonomous hydroponic plant growth system ([0032] and [0039]);
a machine learning engine ([0048]) configured to:
collect data from said multiple sensors;
form a data set from said collected data;
produce an estimate about a pattern in said data set;
make a prediction about the data set;
evaluate said prediction;
optimize the prediction for accuracy;
produce commands for autonomous execution; and
autonomously execute said commands within system (in ([0048]) Massey recites: “The recirculation process can be continued for pre-determined time period, manually or based on machine learning from the control system 39”. Thus, Massey’s control system does have a machine learning engine that collects data from the respective sensors, form a data set, produce an estimate about a pattern in said data set, make a prediction about the data set, evaluate said prediction, optimize the prediction for accuracy, produce commands for autonomous execution, and autonomously execute said commands within system).
However, Massey is silent about caster wheels for portable mounting, wherein the frame allows rotation of the plant holding tubes between vertical and horizontal orientations; non-transitory memory and operating software.
VETTESE teaches caster wheels (70 as swivel wheels are a form of caster wheels) for portable mounting ([0019]), wherein the frame (20 and 60) allows rotation of the plant holding tubes between vertical and horizontal orientations ([0019]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include caster wheels for portable mounting, wherein the frame allows rotation of the plant holding tubes between vertical and horizontal orientations as taught by VETTESE into the system of Massey in order to make the plant device mobile to easily change its orientation to best suit the architecture of the room ([0019] of VETTESE).
Raymond teaches a non-transitory memory ([0054]) and operating software ([0013]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory and software of Massey to be a non-transitory memory and operating software as taught by Raymond in order to have the operating software control all the hardware to help the controller run smoothly and provide data persistence and a more reliable form of memory.
Regarding claim 12, Massey as modified by VETTESE and Raymond teaches the autonomous hydroponic plant growth system for plants as in claim 11, and Massey further teaches further comprising a computer server ([0024]) operably connected to said autonomous plant growth controller ([0024]).
Regarding claim 13, Massey as modified by VETTESE and Raymond teaches the autonomous hydroponic plant growth system for plants as in claim 11, and Massey further teaches further comprising a relay board (99) operatively connected to said autonomous plant growth controller (intended use as the relay board is connected to the control system, and so is operatively connected to said autonomous plant growth controller [0040]).
Regarding claim 14, Massey as modified by VETTESE and Raymond teaches the autonomous hydroponic plant growth system for plants as in claim 11, and Massey further teaches further comprising multiple sensors (77, 83, 87, 109, 135) for monitoring plant growth within plant growing area ([0032] and [0039]), said multiple sensors being operatively connected to said machine learning engine and delivering collected data to said machine learning engine (intended use as Massey is capable of having the multiple sensors being operatively connected to said machine learning engine and delivering collected data to said machine learning engine [0032, 0039, 0048]).
Regarding claim 15, Massey as modified by VETTESE and Raymond teaches the autonomous hydroponic plant growth system for plants as in claim 11, and Massey further teaches further comprising a plant watering system ([0032]) positioned about plant growing area (fig. 3), said plant watering system being operatively connected to a relay board (intended use as Massey is capable of teaching the plant watering system being operatively connected to a relay board as the relay board is connected to the control system which controls the plant watering system [0032] and [0040]).
Regarding claim 16, Massey as modified by VETTESE and Raymond teaches the autonomous hydroponic plant growth system for plants as in claim 11, and Massey further teaches further comprising a climate control system (73) positioned about plant growing area, said climate control system being operatively connected to a relay board (Massey is capable of teaching said climate control system being operatively connected to a relay board as the relay board is connected to the control system which controls the climate control system [0039] and [0040]).
Regarding claim 17, Massey as modified by VETTESE and Raymond teaches the autonomous hydroponic plant growth system for plants as in claim 11, and Massey further teaches further comprising a lighting system (115) positioned about plant growing area ([0023] and fig. 2), said lighting system being operatively connected to a relay board (intended use as Massey is capable of teaching the lighting system being operatively connected to a relay board as the relay board is connected to the control system which controls the lighting system [0024] and [0040]).
Regarding claim 18, Massey as modified by VETTESE and Raymond teaches the autonomous hydroponic plant growth system for plants as in claim 11, and Massey further teaches further comprising a plant nutrient delivery system ([0034]) positioned about a plant growing area ([0034]), said plant nutrient delivery system being operatively connected to a relay board (intended use as Massey is capable of teaching said plant nutrient delivery system being operatively connected to said relay board as the relay board is connected to the control system which controls the plant nutrient delivery system [0024], [0040], [0044]).
Regarding claim 19, Massey as modified by VETTESE and Raymond teaches the autonomous hydroponic plant growth system for plants as in claim 11, and Massey further teaches further comprising a personal wireless device ([0024]) having a graphical interface for use by a user wherein said personal wireless device is in operative communication with said system to grow plants through said graphical interface ([0024]).
Regarding claim 20, Massey teaches an autonomous hydroponic plant growth system for plants, comprising:
one or more plant holding tubes (5a and 5b), wherein the one or more plant holding tubes comprises angled inlet provisions (59 and figs. 3 and 4a) cut into the tube body (figs. 3 and 4a) to secure one or more plant saplings in place without external fasteners ([0027] as 59 can receive the one or more plant saplings);
at least one reservoir (63 and 57) for storing water or liquid ([0034]);
at least one pump (93) for transferring the water or liquid from the reservoir to the one or more plant holding tubes through one or more feeder or support tubes (65 and 67 and [0037]);
at least one light source (21), wherein the at least one light source emit light required for the growth of the one or more plant saplings ([0038]);
at least one inlet (opening of 47 in fig. 3) at top end of the one or more plant holding tubes (fig. 3), wherein the at least one inlet is for passing air, nitrogen, or other gases to roots of the plant saplings equipped in one or more provisions ([0032]-0034] as the air and gasses will be added to the water when the user fills up the reservoir, and the inlet will allow for the air and other gases to pass through as the water passes through the inlet);
a frame (frame of 17 and 31) for secure, mounting of the one or more plant holding tubes, the at least one reservoir, the at least one pump, and the at least one light source (figs. 1-3), the frame (17 and 31);
one or more holding containers (49 and 5c) for receiving the water or liquid drained from the one or more plant holding tubes after it is transferred through the pump to the one or more plant saplings through the one or more plant holding tubes ([0041]), wherein, the one or more feeder or support tubes are angled in a position (fig. 3 depicts the feeder or support tubes 65 to be angled at the top and bottom) and are connected to the at least one reservoir for storing the drained water (fig 3 and [0035] as 65 and 67 are connected to the reservoir through the conduit 133 and the pump as the conduit and pump will transfer the water to 65 and 67);
and an autonomous plant growth controller (37) comprising:
at least one computer processing unit (41);
memory (43 and [0024]) coupled to at least one processor ([0024], [0040] and fig. 6 as the memory is coupled to the processor in order to operate the control system);
software (([0024] and fig. 6 as the application used to power the control system is a software) by which to operate the at least one computer processing unit ([0024] and fig. 6 as the application powers the control system, and so will operate the at least one computer processing unit);
one or more sensors (77, 83, 87, 109, 135) for tracking growth conditions of plants growing within said autonomous hydroponic plant growth system ([0032] and [0039]);
a machine learning engine ([0048]) configured to:
collect data from said multiple sensors;
form a data set from said collected data;
produce an estimate about a pattern in said data set;
make a prediction about the data set;
evaluate said prediction;
optimize the prediction for accuracy;
produce commands for autonomous execution; and
autonomously execute said commands within system (in ([0048]) Massey recites: “The recirculation process can be continued for pre-determined time period, manually or based on machine learning from the control system 39”. Thus, Massey’s control system does have a machine learning engine that collects data from the respective sensors, form a data set, produce an estimate about a pattern in said data set, make a prediction about the data set, evaluate said prediction, optimize the prediction for accuracy, produce commands for autonomous execution, and autonomously execute said commands within system);
a computer server ([0024]) operably connected to said autonomous plant growth controller ([0024]);
a relay board (99) operatively connected to said autonomous plant growth controller (intended use as the relay board is connected to the control system, and so is operatively connected to said autonomous plant growth controller [0040]);
multiple sensors (77, 83, 87, 109, 135) for monitoring plant growth within plant growing area ([0032] and [0039]), said multiple sensors being operatively connected to said machine learning engine and delivering collected data to said machine learning engine (intended use as Massey is capable of having the multiple sensors being operatively connected to said machine learning engine and delivering collected data to said machine learning engine [0032, 0039, 0048]);
a plant watering system ([0032]) positioned about said plant growing area (fig. 3), said plant watering system being operatively connected to said relay board (intended use as Massey is capable of teaching the plant watering system being operatively connected to said relay board as the relay board is connected to the control system which controls the plant watering system [0032] and [0040]);
a climate control system (73) positioned about said plant growing area, said climate control system being operatively connected to said relay board (intended use as Massey is capable of teaching said climate control system being operatively connected to said relay board as the relay board is connected to the control system which controls the climate control system [0039] and [0040]);
a lighting system (115) positioned about said plant growing area ([0023] and fig. 2), said lighting system being operatively connected to said relay board (intended use as Massey is capable of teaching the lighting system being operatively connected to said relay board as the relay board is connected to the control system which controls the lighting system [0024] and [0040]); and
a plant nutrient delivery system ([0034]) positioned about said plant growing area ([0034]), said plant nutrient delivery system being operatively connected to said relay board (intended use as Massey is capable of teaching said plant nutrient delivery system being operatively connected to said relay board as the relay board is connected to the control system which controls the plant nutrient delivery system [0024], [0040], [0044]).
However, Massey is silent about caster wheels for portable mounting, wherein the frame allows rotation of the plant holding tubes between vertical and horizontal orientations; non-transitory memory and operating software.
VETTESE teaches caster wheels (70 as swivel wheels are a form of caster wheels) for portable mounting ([0019]), wherein the frame (20 and 60) allows rotation of the plant holding tubes between vertical and horizontal orientations ([0019]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include caster wheels for portable mounting, wherein the frame allows rotation of the plant holding tubes between vertical and horizontal orientations as taught by VETTESE into the system of Massey in order to make the plant device mobile to easily change its orientation to best suit the architecture of the room ([0019] of VETTESE).
Raymond teaches a non-transitory memory ([0054]) and operating software ([0013]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the memory and software of Massey to be a non-transitory memory and operating software as taught by Raymond in order to have the operating software control all the hardware to help the controller run smoothly and provide data persistence and a more reliable form of memory.
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Massey as modified by Aldokimov, VETTESE and Raymond as applied to claim 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Moffitt (US 11089744 B2).
Regarding claim 4, Massey as modified by Aldokimov, VETTESE and Raymond teaches the hydroponic plant growth system of Claim 1, but is silent about wherein the plant holding tubes are made of plastic materials comprising PVC, hard plastic, or high-density polyethylene.
Moffitt teaches wherein the plant holding tubes (102) are made of plastic materials comprising PVC, hard plastic, or high-density polyethylene (Col. 3, ln 30-32).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plant holding tubes of Massey as modified by Aldokimov, VETTESE and Raymond to be made of plastic materials comprising PVC, hard plastic, or high-density polyethylene as taught by Moffitt, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (the hard plastic would provide more stability while holding the plant saplings). In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 9, Massey as modified by Aldokimov, VETTESE and Raymond teaches the hydroponic plant growth system of Claim 8, but is silent about wherein the plant containers are constructed from a material comprising urethane, rubber, plastic or combinations thereof.
Moffitt teaches wherein the plant containers (Col. 3, ln 26-29) are constructed from a material comprising urethane, rubber, plastic or combinations thereof (Col. 3, ln 26-29 as the plant containers can be made of any material such as urethane, rubber, or plastic).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plant containers of Massey as modified by Aldokimov, VETTESE and Raymond to be made of urethane, rubber, plastic or combinations thereof as taught by Moffitt, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (depending on the user’s preference, they may want to use a flexible material such as rubber). In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues “Applicant has amended claims 1, 11, and 20 to include subject matter neither taught nor disclosed by Massey, Raymond, and Vettese. Specifically, Massey, Raymond, and Vettese do not disclose "plant holding tubes comprises a plurality of angled inlet provisions cut into the tube body to secure one or more plant saplings in place without external fasteners; at least one reservoir positioned beneath the plant holding tubes for storing water or liquid” and
“mounted adjacent to the plant holding tubes, wherein the at least one light source emit light required for the growth of the one or more plant saplings.
Accordingly, Massey, Raymond, and Vettese do not render the subject matter of claims 1, 11, and 20 obvious, as no prima facie case of obviousness exists where the cited references do not disclose all the elements or limitations within claims 1, 11, and 20. Withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1, 11, and 20 is respectfully requested. ".
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Please see rejection above as Massey teaches a plurality of angled inlet provisions (59 and figs. 3 and 4a), at least one reservoir (63 and 57) positioned beneath the plant holding tubes (fig. 3), and mounted adjacent to the plant holding tubes (fig. 2 and [0038]).
All other claims with arguments are similarly unpersuasive as they relate to claim 1 and the art used for those claims were used for other features that are not claimed in claim 1.
Conclusion
/SAHAR ALMATRAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643