DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed 1/5/2026, are accepted and appreciated by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 1/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Kwon’055 does not teach setting a frame based on a command received from a primary node. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. As Applicant has noted Kwon’955 noted, Kwon’955 teaches
Therefore, Examiner notes that Kwon’055 does set the length based on the command received from the primary node. If Applicant specifies exactly what the command is such a limitation may overcome the current rejection. Furthermore, as shown in Figure 2 a single input stream is going into input interface 2010 representing the command and block 2000 performs the setting function of setting the length and thus Applicant is not persuasive. Examiner further notes that the claims have been amended to recite “configurable” which broadens the claim such that the limitation configurable has been interpreted as "capable of being configured" to perform a function which is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ. 138.)) Examiner recommends amending the claims to recite configured instead of configurable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 13, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2013/0271072 A1) in view of Kwon (US 2020/0274955 A1) Herein Kwon (US 2020/0274955 A1) will be referred to as Kwon’955
With respect to Claim 1 Lee teaches A device configurable to operate in a wireless battery management system (WBMS), the device comprising: (See Abstract A Wireless battery area network permits the wirelessly monitoring and controlling of individual batteries within large-scale battery applications. ) a communication interface configurable to receive a first command from a primary node in the WBMS; and (See Fig 3) (Examiner notes that the limitation configurable has been interpreted as "capable of being configured" to perform a function which is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ. 138.)) parameter values of one or more battery cells in the WBMS; and (See Fig 9 and 10) However Lee is silent to the language of frame preparation circuitry configurable to prepare a first frame that includes set a first length of the first frame based on the first command. Nevertheless Kwon’955 teaches frame preparation circuitry configurable to prepare a first frame that includes; and , (See Fig 1) (Examiner notes that the limitation configurable has been interpreted as "capable of being configured" to perform a function which is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ. 138.)) set a first length of the first frame based on the first command. (See Para[0227-[0229]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee and set a first length of the first frame based on the first command such as that of Kwon’955. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee, because setting the length would allow for appropriate data to be transferred. With respect to Claim 2 Lee is silent to the language of The device of claim 1, wherein the first command indicates the first length for the first frame. Nevertheless Kwon’955 teaches wherein the first command indicates the first length for the first frame. (See Para[0227]-[0229]]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee wherein the first command indicates the first length for the first frame such as that of Kwon’955. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee, because having a length would allow for appropriate data to be transferred.
With respect to Claim 3 Lee is silent to the language of The device of claim 1, wherein the frame preparation circuitry is configurable to set the first length of the first frame based on a value in a payload section of the first command. Nevertheless Kwon’955 teaches wherein the frame preparation circuitry is configured to set the first length of the first frame based on a value in a payload section of the first command. (See Para[0007 wherein the link layer packet includes a fixed header and a payload, wherein the signaling information includes information regarding a broadcast program and data and information needed for reception of the broadcast program and data, and the signaling information is contained in the payload of the link layer packet, wherein the fixed header includes a packet type element for identifying a category of data contained in the payload of the link layer packet and a signaling type element for identifying a format of the signaling information contained in the payload of the link layer packet; and transmitting the generated link layer packet.) (Examiner notes that the limitation configurable has been interpreted as "capable of being configured" to perform a function which is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ. 138.)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee and set the first length of the first frame based on a value in a payload section such as that of Kwon’955. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee, because using the payload section would allow for efficient data transfer. With respect to Claim 4 Lee is silent to the language of The device of claim 1, wherein the first command includes a command to read a number of bytes, and wherein the first length is equal to the number of bytes. Nevertheless Kwon’955 teaches wherein the first command includes a command to read a number of bytes, and wherein the first length is equal to the number of bytes. (See Para[01477]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee wherein the first length is equal to the number of bytes such as that of Kwon’955. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee because having the doing so would make sure the data is consistent. With respect to Claim 13 Lee teaches A wireless battery management system (WBMS) comprising: (See Abstract A Wireless battery area network permits the wirelessly monitoring and controlling of individual batteries within large-scale battery applications. ) a primary controller configurable to transmit a first command; (See Para[0028] The WiBaAN (400) consists of a single M-BMU (100) (for a large battery pack size with less than 500 battery cells) and a plurality of S-BMUs (200) for individual battery cell (10). Each M-BMU (100) includes an RF radio (110), antenna (150), microprocessor (120), memory (140), and various interfaces (130). Alternatively, the RF radio (110), microprocessor (120), and parts of memory (140), power management unit, and interfaces (130) can be integrated on a single silicon chip or die. Each S-BMU (210) includes analog sensors (240), an RF radio (220), on-board antenna (230), and battery control logic (250).); (Examiner notes that the limitation configurable has been interpreted as "capable of being configured" to perform a function which is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ. 138.)) a secondary node configurable to: (See Fig 6) (Examiner notes that the limitation configurable has been interpreted as "capable of being configured" to perform a function which is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ. 138.)) measure parameter values of one or more battery cells; (See Para[0028] The WiBaAN (400) consists of a single M-BMU (100) (for a large battery pack size with less than 500 battery cells) and a plurality of S-BMUs (200) for individual battery cell (10). Each M-BMU (100) includes an RF radio (110), antenna (150), microprocessor (120), memory (140), and various interfaces (130). Alternatively, the RF radio (110), microprocessor (120), and parts of memory (140), power management unit, and interfaces (130) can be integrated on a single silicon chip or die. Each S-BMU (210) includes analog sensors (240), an RF radio (220), on-board antenna (230), and battery control logic (250).); However Lee is silent to the language of prepare a first frame that includes the parameter values; and set a first length of the first frame based on the first command. Nevertheless Kwon’955 teaches prepare a first frame that includes the parameter values; and (See Fig 1) set a first length of the first frame based on the first command. (See Para[0227]-[0229]]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee and set a first length of the first frame based on the first command such as that of Kwon’955. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee, because setting the length would allow for appropriate data to be transferred. With respect to Claim 18 Lee teaches A method comprising: (See Abstract A Wireless battery area network permits the wirelessly monitoring and controlling of individual batteries within large-scale battery applications. ) measuring, by a secondary node in a wireless battery management system (WBMS), parameter values of one or more battery cells; (See Para[0028] The WiBaAN (400) consists of a single M-BMU (100) (for a large battery pack size with less than 500 battery cells) and a plurality of S-BMUs (200) for individual battery cell (10). Each M-BMU (100) includes an RF radio (110), antenna (150), microprocessor (120), memory (140), and various interfaces (130). Alternatively, the RF radio (110), microprocessor (120), and parts of memory (140), power management unit, and interfaces (130) can be integrated on a single silicon chip or die. Each S-BMU (210) includes analog sensors (240), an RF radio (220), on-board antenna (230), and battery control logic (250).); receiving, by the secondary node, a first command from a primary node in the WBMS; (See Fig 3) However Lee is silent to the language of preparing, by the secondary node, a first frame that includes the parameter values; and setting, by the secondary node, a first length of the first frame based on the first command. Nevertheless Kwon’955 teaches preparing, by the secondary node, a first frame that includes the parameter values; and setting, by the secondary node, a first length of the first frame based on the first command. (See Para[0227]-[0229]]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee and set a first length of the first frame based on the first command such as that of Kwon’955. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee, because setting the length would allow for appropriate data to be transferred.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 14, 15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2013/0271072 A1) in view of Kwon (US 2020/0274955 A1) and Kwon (US 2019/0261047 A1). Herein Kwon (US 2019/0261047 A1) will be referred to as Kwon’047. With respect to Claim 5 Lee is silent to the language of The device of claim 1, wherein the first frame includes a fixed payload portion and a variable payload portion, and wherein the frame preparation circuitry is configurable to set the first length of the first frame by setting a length of the variable payload portion of the first frame based on the first command.
Nevertheless Kwon’047 teaches wherein the first frame includes a fixed payload portion and a variable payload portion, and wherein the frame preparation circuitry is configurable to set the first length of the first frame by setting a length of the variable payload portion of the first frame based on the first command (See Para[0008]). (Examiner notes that the limitation configurable has been interpreted as "capable of being configured" to perform a function which is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ. 138.)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee wherein the first frame includes a fixed payload portion and a variable payload portion such as that of Kwon’047. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee, because including a variable portion would allow one to make modification if necessary and improve robustness. With respect to Claim 6 Lee is silent to the language of The device of claim 5, wherein the frame preparation circuitry is configurable to set the length of the variable payload portion by adding dummy reads to the first frame. wherein the frame preparation circuitry is configured to set the length of the variable payload portion by adding dummy reads to the first frame. Nevertheless Kwon’955 teaches wherein the frame preparation circuitry is configured to set the length of the variable payload portion by adding dummy reads to the first frame (See Para[0733). (Examiner notes that the limitation configurable has been interpreted as "capable of being configured" to perform a function which is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ. 138.)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee and add dummy reads such as that of Kwon’955. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee because adding dummy reads would be optional and result in a consistent size. With respect to Claim 14 Lee is silent to the language of The WBMS of claim 13, wherein the first frame includes a fixed payload portion and a variable payload portion, and wherein the secondary node is configurable to set the first length of the first frame by setting a length of the variable payload portion of the first frame based on the first command. Nevertheless Kwon’047 teaches wherein the first frame includes a fixed payload portion and a variable payload portion, and wherein the secondary node is configurable to set the first length of the first frame by setting a length of the variable payload portion of the first frame based on the first command. (See Para[0008]). (Examiner notes that the limitation configurable has been interpreted as "capable of being configured" to perform a function which is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ. 138.)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee wherein the first frame includes a fixed payload portion and a variable payload portion such as that of Kwon’047. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee, because including a variable portion would allow one to make modification if necessary and improve robustness. With respect to Claim 15 Lee is silent to the language of The WBMS of claim 14, wherein the secondary node is configurable to set the length of the variable payload portion by adding dummy reads to the first frame. Nevertheless Kwon’955 teaches wherein the secondary node is configurable to set the length of the variable payload portion by adding dummy reads to the first frame. (See Para[0733). (Examiner notes that the limitation configurable has been interpreted as "capable of being configured" to perform a function which is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ. 138.)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee and add dummy reads such as that of Kwon’955. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee because adding dummy reads would be optional and result in a consistent size.
Claim(s) 7-10, 16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2013/0271072 A1) in view of Kwon (US 2020/0274955 A1) and Li (US 2020/0322764 A1). With respect to Claim 7 Lee is silent to the language of The device of claim 1, wherein the communication interface is further configurable to receive a second command from the primary node, wherein the frame preparation circuitry is further configurable to prepare a second frame including a second length based on the second command, and wherein the first length is different from the second length. Nevertheless Li teaches wherein the communication interface is further configurable to receive a second command from the primary node, wherein the frame preparation circuitry is further configurable to prepare a second frame including a second length based on the second command, and wherein the first length is different from the second length. (See Para[0044]) (Examiner notes that the limitation configurable has been interpreted as "capable of being configured" to perform a function which is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ. 138.)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee and include a second length based on the second command, and wherein the first length is different from the second length such as that of Li. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee, because having a different length would allow for reduction in communication time and improve efficiency. With respect to Claim 8 Lee is silent to the language of The device of claim 7, wherein the first command indicates the first length for the first frame, and wherein the second command indicates the second length for the second frame. Nevertheless Li teaches wherein the first command indicates the first length for the first frame, and wherein the second command indicates the second length for the second frame (See Para[0045][0046]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee wherein the second command indicates the second length for the second frame such as that of Li. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee, because doing so would allow for variable lengths to adjust the communication delay and thus improve efficiency. With respect to Claim 9 Lee is silent to the language of The device of claim 7, wherein the frame preparation circuitry is configurable to: set the first length of the first frame based on a first value in a payload section of the first command; and set the second length of the second frame based on a second value in a payload section of the second command. Nevertheless Li teaches wherein the frame preparation circuitry is configurable to: set the first length of the first frame based on a first value in a payload section of the first command; set the second length of the second frame based on a second value in a payload section of the second command. (See Para[0045]-[0046]) (Examiner notes that the limitation configurable has been interpreted as "capable of being configured" to perform a function which is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ. 138.)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee set the second length of the second frame based on a second value such as that of Li. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee, because doing so would allow for variable lengths to adjust the communication delay and thus improve efficiency. With respect to Claim 10 Lee is silent to the language of The device of claim 7, wherein the first command includes a command to read a first number of bytes, wherein the second command includes a command to read a second number of bytes, wherein the first length is equal to the first number of bytes, and wherein the second length is equal to the second number of bytes Nevertheless Kwon’955 teaches wherein the first command includes a command to read a first number of bytes, wherein the second command includes a command to read a second number of bytes, wherein the first length is equal to the first number of bytes, wherein the second length is equal to the second number of bytes (See Para[01477]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee wherein the second length is equal to the second number of bytes such as that of Kwon’955. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee because having the doing so would make sure the data is consistent. With respect to Claim 16 Lee is silent to the language of The WBMS of claim 13, wherein the primary controller is further configurable to transmit a second command to the secondary node, wherein the secondary node is further configurable to prepare a second frame including a second length based on the second command, and wherein the first length is different from the second length. Nevertheless Li teaches wherein the primary controller is further configurable to transmit a second command to the secondary node, wherein the secondary node is further configurable to prepare a second frame including a second length based on the second command, and wherein the first length is different from the second length. (See Para[0044]) (Examiner notes that the limitation configurable has been interpreted as "capable of being configured" to perform a function which is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ. 138.)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee and include a second length based on the second command, and wherein the first length is different from the second length such as that of Li. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee, because having a different length would allow for reduction in communication time and improve efficiency. With respect to Claim 19 Lee is silent to the language of The method of claim 18, further comprising: receiving a second command from the primary node; and preparing a second frame including a second length based on the second command, wherein the first length is different from the second length. Nevertheless Li teaches receiving a second command from the primary node; and preparing a second frame including a second length based on the second command, wherein the first length is different from the second length. (See Para[0044]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee and include a second length based on the second command, and wherein the first length is different from the second length such as that of Li. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee, because having a different length would allow for reduction in communication time and improve efficiency.
Claim(s) 11-12, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2013/0271072 A1) in view of Kwon (US 2020/0274955 A1) and Li (US 2020/0322764 A1) and further in view of Kwon (US 2019/0261047 A1). With respect to Claim 11 Lee is silent to the language of The device of claim 7, wherein the first frame includes a first fixed payload portion and a first variable payload portion, wherein the second frame includes a second fixed payload portion and a second variable payload portion, wherein a length of the second fixed payload portion is equal to a length of the first fixed payload portion, and wherein the frame preparation circuitry is configurable to: set the first length of the first frame by setting a length of the first variable payload portion of the first frame based on the first command; and set the second length of the second frame by setting a length of the second variable payload portion of the second frame based on the second command. Nevertheless Kwon’955 teaches wherein a length of the second fixed payload portion is equal to a length of the first fixed payload portion, and wherein the frame preparation circuitry is configurable to: set the first length of the first frame by setting a length of the first variable payload portion of the first frame based on the first command; and set the second length of the second frame by setting a length of the second variable payload portion of the second frame based on the second command. (See Para[01477]) (Examiner notes that the limitation configurable has been interpreted as "capable of being configured" to perform a function which is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ. 138.)) However Kwon’955 is silent to the language of wherein the first frame includes a first fixed payload portion and a first variable payload portion, wherein the second frame includes a second fixed payload portion and a second variable payload portion Nevertheless Kwon’047 teaches wherein the first frame includes a first fixed payload portion and a first variable payload portion, wherein the second frame includes a second fixed payload portion and a second variable payload portion, (See Para[0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee wherein a length of the second fixed payload portion is equal to a length of the first fixed payload portion such as that of Kwon’955. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee because having the doing so would make sure the data is consistent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee wherein the first frame includes a first fixed payload portion and a first variable payload portion, wherein the second frame includes a second fixed payload portion and a second variable payload portion such that of Kwon’955. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee because having the doing so would make sure the data is consistent. With respect to Claim 12 Lee is silent to the language of The device of claim 11, wherein the frame preparation circuitry is configurable to: set the length of the first variable payload portion by adding dummy reads to the first frame; and set the length of the second variable payload portion without adding dummy reads to the second frame. Nevertheless Kwon’955 teaches wherein the frame preparation circuitry is configurable to: set the length of the first variable payload portion by adding dummy reads to the first frame; and set the length of the second variable payload portion without adding dummy reads to the second frame. (See Para[0733]) (Examiner notes that the limitation configurable has been interpreted as "capable of being configured" to perform a function which is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ. 138.)) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee and set the length of the first variable payload portion by adding dummy reads to the first frame; and set the length of the second variable payload portion without adding dummy reads to the second frame such as that of Kwon’955. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee because adding dummy reads can be inserted to be consistent and without them the data may be more efficiently transmitted. Examiner notes that such situation would be obvious to try since there are only a finite may solutions and Kwon’955 teaches both options are possible. With respect to Claim 17 Lee is silent to the language of The WBMS of claim 16, wherein the first frame includes a first fixed payload portion and a first variable payload portion, wherein the second frame includes a second fixed payload portion and a second variable payload portion, wherein a length of the second fixed payload portion is equal to a length of the first fixed payload portion, and wherein the secondary node is configurable to: set the first length of the first frame by setting a length of the first variable payload portion of the first frame based on the first command, and set the second length of the second frame by setting a length of the second variable payload portion of the second frame based on the second command. Nevertheless Kwon’955 teaches wherein a length of the second fixed payload portion is equal to a length of the first fixed payload portion, and wherein the secondary node is configurable to: set the first length of the first frame by setting a length of the first variable payload portion of the first frame based on the first command, and set the second length of the second frame by setting a length of the second variable payload portion of the second frame based on the second command. (See Para[01477]) (Examiner notes that the limitation configurable has been interpreted as "capable of being configured" to perform a function which is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ. 138.)) However Kwon’955 is silent to the language of wherein the first frame includes a first fixed payload portion and a first variable payload portion, wherein the second frame includes a second fixed payload portion and a second variable payload portion, wherein a length of the second fixed payload portion is equal to a length of the first fixed payload portion Nevertheless Kwon’047 teaches wherein the first frame includes a first fixed payload portion and a first variable payload portion, wherein the second frame includes a second fixed payload portion and a second variable payload portion, wherein a length of the second fixed payload portion is equal to a length of the first fixed payload portion (See Para[0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee wherein a length of the second fixed payload portion is equal to a length of the first fixed payload portion such as that of Kwon’955. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee because having the doing so would make sure the data is consistent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee wherein the first frame includes a first fixed payload portion and a first variable payload portion, wherein the second frame includes a second fixed payload portion and a second variable payload portion such that of Kwon’955. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee because having the doing so would make sure the data is consistent. With respect to Claim 20 Lee is silent to the language of The method of claim 19, wherein the first frame includes a first fixed payload portion and a first variable payload portion, wherein the second frame includes a second fixed payload portion and a second variable payload portion, wherein a length of the second fixed payload portion is equal to a length of the first fixed payload portion, and wherein the method further comprises: setting the first length of the first frame by setting a length of the first variable payload portion of the first frame based on the first command; and setting the second length of the second frame by setting a length of the second variable payload portion of the second frame based on the second command. Nevertheless Kwon’955 teaches wherein a length of the second fixed payload portion is equal to a length of the first fixed payload portion, and wherein the method further comprises: setting the first length of the first frame by setting a length of the first variable payload portion of the first frame based on the first command; and setting the second length of the second frame by setting a length of the second variable payload portion of the second frame based on the second command. (See Para[01477]) However Kwon’955 is silent to the language of wherein the first frame includes a first fixed payload portion and a first variable payload portion, wherein the second frame includes a second fixed payload portion and a second variable payload portion
Nevertheless Kwon’047 teaches wherein the first frame includes a first fixed payload portion and a first variable payload portion, wherein the second frame includes a second fixed payload portion and a second variable payload portion, (See Para[0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee wherein a length of the second fixed payload portion is equal to a length of the first fixed payload portion such as that of Kwon’955. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee because having the doing so would make sure the data is consistent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee wherein the first frame includes a first fixed payload portion and a first variable payload portion, wherein the second frame includes a second fixed payload portion and a second variable payload portion such that of Kwon’955. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Lee because having the doing so would make sure the data is consistent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sakabe (US 20090087722 A1) teaches a communication circuit 127 via which communication commands are transmitted/received is installed within the integrated circuit 3A shown in FIG. 2. FIG. 7 is a circuit diagram showing the circuit structure and the operation of the communication circuit 127. A communication command transmitted from the battery controller 20 and received at a reception terminal RX of the communication circuit 127 is constituted with a total of five data segments each corresponding to an 8-bit unit and its basic structure includes five bytes. However, a communication command may sometimes be longer than five bytes, as explained later, and accordingly, the length of communication commands is not limited to five bytes. The communication command is input to a reception register 322 from the terminal RX and is held at the communication register 322. It is to be noted that the reception register 322 is a shift register at which signals input serially from the terminal RX are shifted in sequence in the order with which the signals are input to the reception register 322. The leading segment of the communication command is held as a break field segment 324 at the leading segment of the register and the subsequent segments of the communication command are held in sequence.
Assuming each segment is constituted with a single byte of data, the overall communication command is constituted with five bytes. While communication commands basically adopt this five-byte structure, the length of the data 330 may be other than one byte. In other words, the length may be increased as necessary.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
YOSHIHISA . ISHIZUKA
Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/YOSHIHISA ISHIZUKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857