DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 10 -15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franson et al. (US 20250062527 A1) in view of Fink et al. (US 6903687 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Franson et al. further discloses a method of manufacturing an antenna assembly (Antenna apparatus 100/ 300 is made so its manufacturing method 1100 is inherent; Paragraph 37 as well as figure 1 and 9 of Franson et al.), the method comprising additively manufacturing an element (Method 1100 is a additively manufacturing method since it includes building the antenna structure layer by layer by forming a first part and then a second part and etc.; Paragraph 55-65 and figure 11 of Franson et al.)
(i) a ground plane (Ground plane is formed by a first metallization layer 44/367 which is connected to a second metallization layer 54/369 and can have a conductive filler 365 disposed in between wherein an opening 81/381 is formed between the upper and lower surfaces of said ground plane for a feed input; Paragraph 20-50 as well as figure 1 and 9 of Franson et al.),
(ii) a patch above the ground plane (Antenna element 20 is placed above the dielectric and may be a patch antenna; Paragraph 32 as well as figure 1 and 9 of Franson et al.), and
(iii) a structure having a first end in contact with the ground plane and a second end in contact with the patch( A structure in the form of probe feed 47 may have one end in contact with the patch and a second end in contact with metal pillars 44a and 54a which form the ground layer ; Paragraph 20-50 and figure 9 of Franson et al.).; applying a dielectric material between the ground plane and the patch(Dielectric layer 42 is formed and placed above the ground plane and below the patch antenna 20; Paragraph 38-41 and 56 as well as figure 2 and 9 of Franson et al.); and removing at least a section of the ground plane around the first end of the structure, such that the structure extends through the ground plane and is not in contact with the ground plane (Ground plane has an opening 81/381 wherein a portion of it was removes such that the structure can extend through it wherein probe 47 is connected to metal pillars 44a/54a formed as the same times as metallization layers serving as the ground plane in which openings would be formed to disconnect the structure of the probe such that is not in contact with the ground but still connects to the patch ; Paragraph 20-50 as well as figure 1 and 9 of Franson et al.)
wherein the removing forms an annular clearance between the structure and the ground plane that maintains a minimum threshold gap between sidewalls of an opening of the ground plane and the structure sufficient to maintain electrical and physical isolation (The clearance 81a/81b formed in the ground plane that disconnect the metal pillar structures 44a/54a and the probe are such that an isolation area 81 is made to have sufficient gap that would provide both electrical and physical isolation for the structure; Paragraph 30-50 as well as figure 1 and 9 of Franson et al. ).
Although Franson et al. fails to explicitly disclose an annular clearance between the structure and the ground plane that maintains a minimum threshold gap between sidewalls of an opening of the ground plane and the structure sufficient to maintain electrical and physical isolation to avoid electrical arcing and/or electrical shorting during operation. Franson et al. does suggest an annular clearance between the structure and the ground plane that maintains a minimum threshold gap between sidewalls of an opening of the ground plane and the structure sufficient to maintain electrical and physical isolation to avoid electrical arcing and/or electrical shorting during operation (The openings 81a/81b forming an isolation gap for the structure would inherently prevent electrical shorting by the probe to the ground during operation since it is sufficiently isolated; Paragraph 30-50 as well as figure 1 and 9 of Franson et al.).
However, Fink et al. does disclose an annular clearance between the structure and the ground plane that maintains a minimum threshold gap between sidewalls of an opening of the ground plane and the structure sufficient to maintain electrical and physical isolation to avoid electrical arcing and/or electrical shorting during operation (A structure in the form of a probe 18 passes through a hole 21 in the ground plane 10 wherein said hole is designed to prevent the probe form electrically shorting to the ground plane 10 during operation wherein the clearance 21 would be made with sufficient gap to accomplish this and similarly done for the embodiment in figure 1 wherein a clearance 7 in the ground plane 3 is made to prevent shorting the inner conductor 4; Paragraphs 2-9 and figure 1-2 of Fink et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franson et al. to have an annular clearance between the structure and the ground plane that maintains a minimum threshold gap between sidewalls of an opening of the ground plane and the structure sufficient to maintain electrical and physical isolation to avoid electrical arcing and/or electrical shorting during operation as taught by Fink et al. to prevent the structure from electrically shorting (Paragraphs 2-9 of Fink et al.).
Regarding Claim 2, Franson et al. further discloses providing dielectric material between the ground plane and the patch, the additive dielectric material at least in part supporting the patch above the ground plane (Dielectric layer 42 is formed before patch and placed above the ground plane wherein a patch antenna 20 is placed above it later and layer 42 supports the patch above the ground plane; Paragraph 38-41 and 56 as well as figure 9 and 11 of Franson et al.).
Regarding Claim 3, Franson et al. further discloses dielectric material comprises one or more of a dielectric foam, epoxy, and ceramic powder (Dielectric layer 42 is formed from fused silica which is a ceramic powder; Paragraph 22 of Franson et al.).
Regarding Claim 5, Franson et al. further discloses connecting an inner conductor of a coaxial cable connector to the first end of the structure, and an outer portion of the coaxial cable connector to the ground plane (Coaxial structure may be used in coupling element 85 such that the via may be an inner conductor portion connected to probe 47 with metal pillars 44a/54a and ground vias 72a-b with the circumferential edge 87 to form an outer portion of the coaxial structure connected to the ground plane; Paragraph 20-50 and figures 1-2 and 9 of Franson et al.).
Regarding Claim 10, Franson et al. further discloses wherein at least an exterior of the element comprises conductive material (Patch antenna 20 forms the upper exterior of the structure and would me made from conductive material; Paragraph 32 and figure 9 of Franson et al.).
Regarding Claim 11, Franson et al. further discloses a method of manufacturing an antenna assembly (Antenna apparatus 300 is made so its manufacturing method 1100 is inherent; Paragraph 37 as well as figure 1 and 9 of Franson et al. of Franson et al.), the method comprising:
forming a ground plane comprising conductive material (Ground plane is formed by a first metallization layer 44/367 which is connected to a second metallization layer 54/369 and has a conductive filler 365 disposed in between; Paragraph 39-41 as well as figure 1 and 9 of Franson et al. of Franson et al.);
forming a layer of dielectric material above the ground plane, wherein the ground plane has a first opening extending through the ground plane, and the layer of dielectric material has a second opening extending through the layer of dielectric material, such that the first opening is below and at least in part aligned with the second opening (Ground plane has an opening 81/ 381 which is formed between the upper and lower surfaces of said ground plane for a feed input and dialectic layer 42 is formed above the ground plane and comprises may include a an second opening for a feed probe between the upper surface of the dielectric and lower wherein said feed probe would extend into this opening; Paragraph 38-41 as well as figure 1 and 9 of Franson et al.) ; and
placing a patch on the layer of dielectric material, the patch having a probe on a lower surface of the patch, the probe extending within the first and second openings when the patch is placed on the layer of dielectric material (Patch 20 may be placed on top of the dielectric layer and include a feed probe 47 that may connect with metal pillars 44a-54a and signal via 70 to form a singular probe structure that may extend through the opening of the dielectric layer and the opening of the ground layer; (Paragraph 20-50 as well as figure 1 and 9 of Franson et al. of Franson et al.).
wherein the first opening is sized such that, when the probe extends through the first opening, an annular clearance is present that maintains a minimum threshold gap between sidewalls of the first opening and the probe sufficient to maintain electrical and physical isolation.(The clearance 81a/81b formed in the ground plane that disconnect the metal pillar structures 44a/54a with the probe 47 are such that an isolation area 81 is made to have sufficient gap that would provide both electrical and physical isolation for the structure; Paragraph 30-50 as well as figure 1 and 9 of Franson et al. ).
Although Franson et al. fails to explicitly disclose an annular clearance is present that maintains a minimum threshold gap between sidewalls of the first opening and the probe sufficient to maintain electrical and physical isolation and to avoid electrical arcing and/or electrical shorting during operation. Franson et al. does suggest an annular clearance is present that maintains a minimum threshold gap between sidewalls of the first opening and the probe sufficient to maintain electrical and physical isolation and to avoid electrical arcing and/or electrical shorting during operation (The openings 81a/81b forming an isolation gap for the structure would inherently prevent electrical shorting by the probe to the ground during operation since it is sufficiently isolated; Paragraph 30-50 as well as figure 1 and 9 of Franson et al.).
However, Fink et al. does disclose an annular clearance is present that maintains a minimum threshold gap between sidewalls of the first opening and the probe sufficient to maintain electrical and physical isolation and to avoid electrical arcing and/or electrical shorting during operation (A structure in the form of a probe 18 passes through a hole 21 in the ground plane 10 wherein said hole is designed to prevent the probe form electrically shorting to the ground plane 10 during operation wherein the clearance 21 would be made with sufficient gap to accomplish this and similarly done for the embodiment in figure 1 wherein a clearance 7 in the ground plane 3 is made to prevent shorting the inner conductor 4; Paragraphs 2-9 and figure 1-2 of Fink et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franson et al. to have an annular clearance is present that maintains a minimum threshold gap between sidewalls of the first opening and the probe sufficient to maintain electrical and physical isolation and to avoid electrical arcing and/or electrical shorting during operation as taught by Fink et al. to prevent the structure from electrically shorting (Paragraphs 2-9 of Fink et al.).
Regarding Claim 12, Franson et al. further discloses forming the ground plane comprises forming the ground plane with the first opening therewithin and the layer of dielectric material, forming the second opening within the layer of dielectric material (Ground plane has an opening 81/381 which is formed between the upper and lower surfaces of said ground plane for a feed input and dialectic layer 42 is formed above the ground plane and comprises may include a an opening for a feed probe between the upper surface of the dielectric and lower; Paragraph 38-41 as well as figure 1 and 9 of Franson et al.).
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to subsequent the forming the layer of dielectric material, forming the second opening within the layer of dielectric material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). The motivation stems from the fact that it would be obvious to make or form components using different known techniques to meet production requirements and that order of operations in the method of making is not critical and can be changed as desired (Paragraph 55 of Franson et al.).
Regarding Claim 13, Franson et al. further discloses, forming the first opening within the ground plane and the second opening within the layer of dielectric material (Ground plane has an opening 81 381 which is formed between the upper and lower surfaces of said ground plane for a feed input and dialectic layer 42 is formed above the ground plane and comprises may include an opening for a feed probe between the upper surface of the dielectric and lower; Paragraph 38-41 as well as figure 1 and 9).
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to subsequent to forming the layer of dielectric material, forming the first opening within the ground plane and the second opening within the layer of dielectric material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). The motivation stems from the fact that it would be obvious to make or form components using different known techniques to meet production requirements and that order of operations in the method of making is not critical and can be changed as desired (Paragraph 55 of Franson et al.).
Regarding Claim 14, Franson et al. further discloses wherein forming the ground plane comprises additively manufacturing the ground plane with the first opening therewithin (Ground plane is formed by metalized layer that are manufactured additively by a metal build up process and it includes an opening 381 which is formed between the upper and lower surfaces of said ground plane; Paragraph 38-41, 56 and figure 9 of Franson et al.).
Regarding Claim 15, Franson et al. further discloses connecting an inner conductor of a coaxial cable connector to a probe, and an outer portion of the coaxial cable connector to the ground plane (Coaxial structure may be used in coupling element 85 such that the via may be an inner conductor portion connected to probe 47 and ground vias 72a-b with the circumferential edge 87 to form an outer portion connected to the ground plane; Paragraph 27-31 and figures 2 and 9 of Franson et al.).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franson et al. (US 20250062527 A1) in view of Fink et al. (US 6903687 B1) and Alam et al. (US 11329373 B1).
Regarding Claim 4, Franson et al. further discloses the element is monolithic (Patch 20, Ground plane formed by metallization layers, and structure for feeding the antenna can all be formed from conducive materials using a metal build up process; Paragraph 56-58 of Franson et al.).
Franson et al. and Fink et al. fail to disclose wherein additively manufacturing the element comprises printing the element using a three-dimensional (3D) printer.
However, Alam et al. does disclose wherein additively manufacturing the element comprises printing the element using a three-dimensional (3D) printer (Conducting foil used for elements in the antenna structure may be employed by 3D printing; Paragraph 11-20 and figure 1-2 of Alam et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franson et al. and Fink et al. to print the element using a three-dimensional (3D) printer as taught by Alam et al., since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). The motivation stems from the fact that it would be obvious to make or form components using different known techniques to meet production requirements.
Claim(s) 6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franson et al. (US 20250062527 A1) in view of Fink et al. (US 6903687 B1) and Kim et al. (WO 2008032960 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Franson et al. and Fink et al. fails to explicitly disclose the structure is a first structure; the element further comprises a second structure having a corresponding first end in contact with the ground plane and a corresponding second end in contact with the patch and the method further comprises removing at least another section of the ground plane around the first end of the second structure, and/or removing at least a part of the second structure.
However, Kim et al. does disclose the element further comprises a second structure having a corresponding first end in contact with the ground plane and a corresponding second end in contact with the patch (Patch 20 can have a first structure formed by feed going through hole 70a-90a connecting the patch to the ground and may further include holes 95 in the patch which may be formed to pass through the dielectric layer 130 and come into contact with the ground on the lower surface of the dielectric wherein the holes may be filled with conductive material or a conductive metal pillar thus forming a second structure Paragraph 21 and 95 and Figure 7 of Kim et al.) and the method further comprises removing at least another section of the ground plane around the first end of the second structure, and/or removing at least a part of the second structure (Holes may be formed to not pass through the dielectric layer thus removing that part of the second structure and resulting in one where only holes in patches; Paragraph 86 of Kim et al.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franson et al. and Fink et al. to have the element further comprises a second structure having a corresponding first end in contact with the ground plane and a corresponding second end in contact with the patch and the method further comprises removing at least another section of the ground plane around the first end of the second structure, and/or removing at least a part of the second structure as taught by Kim et al. to create a patch antenna with a smaller size and desired resonance frequency (Paragraph 39 and 86 of Kim et al.).
Regarding Claim 8, Franson et al. and Fink et al. fails to disclose a void within the dielectric material; and applying dielectric material within the void.
Kim et al. does disclose a disclose a void within the dielectric material; and applying dielectric material within the void (Hole 95 may be formed through patch and dielectric creating a void and a method to not create the void/hole in the dielectric layer thus leaving it with dielectric material applied; Paragraph 86 of Kim et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franson et al. and Fink et al. to have a void within the dielectric material; and applying further dielectric material within the void as taught by Kim et al. to create a dielectric with a consistent dielectric constant throughout the layer. Furthermore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to remove at least a part of the second structure resulting in a void within the dielectric material and applying further dielectric material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). The motivation stems from the fact that it would be obvious to make or form components using different known techniques to meet production requirements.
Regarding Claim 9, Franson et al. and Fink et al. fails to disclose a void within the patch; and the method further comprises one of filling the void with conductive material, or applying further dielectric material within the void.
However, Kim et al. does disclose a void within the patch; and the method further comprises one of filling the void with conductive material, or applying further dielectric material within the void (Hole 95 or 132 may exist in the patch antenna and be filled with a conductive material or conductive metal pillar; Paragraph 21, 78, 103, and 124 as well as figure 7 and 11 of Kim et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franson et al. and Fink et al. to have a void within the patch; and the method further comprises one of filling the void with conductive material, or applying further dielectric material within the void as taught by Kim et al. to have a patch antenna with a smaller size and desired resonance frequency (Paragraph 39 of Kim et al.). Furthermore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to remove at least a part of the second structure resulting in a void within the patch, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). The motivation stems from the fact that it would be obvious to make or form components using different known techniques to meet production requirements.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franson et al. (US 20250062527 A1) in view of Fink et al. (US 6903687 B1), Kim et al. (WO 2008032960 A1), and Alam et al. (US 11329373 B1).
Regarding Claim 7, Franson et al., Fink et al., and Kim et al. fail to explicitly disclose a void within the ground plane, and wherein the method further comprises one of :filling the void with conductive material; or applying further dielectric material within the void.
However, Alam et al. discloses a void within the ground plane, and wherein the method further comprises one of :filling the void with conductive material; or applying further dielectric material within the void (Patch antenna structure includes a ground plane 300 with defect areas 360 and 362 which are evacuated portions forming a void which may be filled with a dielectric material in the form of a substrate or insulating filler; Paragraph 21 and 25 as well as figure 3 of Alam et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franson et al., Fink et al., and Kim et al. to a void within the ground plane, and wherein the method further comprises one of :filling the void with conductive material; or applying further dielectric material within the void as taught by Alam et al. to decrease reflection and expand the bandwidth (Paragraph 24-25 of Alam et al.). Furthermore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to remove the at least another section of the ground plane around the first end of the second structure resulting in a void within the ground plane, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). The motivation stems from the fact that it would be obvious to make or form components using different known techniques to meet production requirements.
Claim(s) 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franson et al. (US 20250062527 A1) in view of Rokita et al. (GB 2281661 A) and Fink et al. (US 6903687 B1).
Regarding Claim 16, Franson et al. discloses an antenna structure (Antenna apparatus 300; Paragraph 37 and figure 9 of Franson et al.) comprising
a ground plane having a first opening extending from an upper surface of the ground plane to a lower surface of the ground plane (Ground plane is formed by a first metallization layer 367 which is connected to a second metallization layer 369 and has a conductive filler 365 disposed in between wherein an opening 381 is formed between the upper and lower surfaces of said ground plane for a feed input; Paragraph 20-49 and figure 9 of Franson et al.);
a dielectric material above the ground plane, the dielectric material having a second opening extending from an upper surface of the dielectric material to a lower surface of the dielectric material (Dielectric layer 42 is placed above the ground plane and the substrate may include a feed probe 47 between the upper surface of the dielectric and lower surface wherein an opening would be inherent to placing the probe; Paragraph 38-41 and 56 as well as figure 2 and 9 of Franson et al.);
a patch above the dielectric material (Antenna element 20 is placed above the dielectric and may be a patch antenna; Paragraph 32 and figure 9 of Franson et al.); and
a probe comprising conductive material extending from the patch and through the second opening wherein the patch and the probe form a monolithic structure (Probe 47 and patch 20 are made from the same conductive metal forming a monolithic structure wherein the probe extends through the second opening in the dielectric ; Paragraph 20-49 and 55-60 and figure 9 of Franson et al.) ; and
wherein an annular clearance between the probe and sidewalls of the first opening maintains a minimum threshold gap sufficient to maintain electrical and physical isolation (The clearance 81a/81b formed in the ground plane that disconnect the metal pillar structures 44a/54a and the probe are such that an isolation area 81 is made to have sufficient gap that would provide both electrical and physical isolation for the structure; Paragraph 30-50 as well as figure 1 and 9 of Franson et al. ).
Although Franson et al. fails to explicitly disclose a probe extending from the patch and through the first and second openings such that the probe extends through the first opening of the ground plane without making a physical contact with the ground plane and an annular clearance between the probe and sidewalls of the first opening maintains a minimum threshold gap sufficient to maintain electrical and physical isolation and to avoid electrical arcing and/or electrical shorting during operation. Franson et al. does teach an annular clearance between the probe and sidewalls of the first opening maintains a minimum threshold gap sufficient to maintain electrical and physical isolation and to avoid electrical arcing and/or electrical shorting during operation (The openings 81a/81b forming an isolation gap for the structure would inherently prevent electrical shorting by the probe to the ground during operation since it is sufficiently isolated; Paragraph 30-50 as well as figure 1 and 9 of Franson et al.).
However, Rokita et al. discloses a probe extending from the patch and through the first and second openings such that the probe extends through the first opening of the ground plane without making a physical contact with the ground plane (Patch Antenna 102 has a monolithic probe 104 that extends through a second opening in the dielectric layer and through the first opening in the ground layer such that it does not make physical contact with the ground as seen in figure 2 of Rokita et al.) .
Fink et al. also discloses an annular clearance between the probe and sidewalls of the first opening maintains a minimum threshold gap sufficient to maintain electrical and physical isolation and to avoid electrical arcing and/or electrical shorting during operation (A structure in the form of a probe 18 passes through a hole 21 in the ground plane 10 wherein said hole is designed to prevent the probe form electrically shorting to the ground plane 10 during operation wherein the clearance 21 would be made with sufficient gap to accomplish this and similarly done for the embodiment in figure 1 wherein a clearance 7 in the ground plane 3 is made to prevent shorting the inner conductor 4; Paragraphs 2-9 and figure 1-2 of Fink et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franson et al. to have a probe extending from the patch and through the first and second openings such that the probe extends through the first opening of the ground plane without making a physical contact with the ground plane to allow the probe to connect to the feed while being isolated from the ground plane (Pg. 4-9 of Rokita et al.). it would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franson et al. and Rokita et al. to have an annular clearance between the probe and sidewalls of the first opening maintains a minimum threshold gap sufficient to maintain electrical and physical isolation and to avoid electrical arcing and/or electrical shorting during operation as taught by Fink et al. to prevent the structure from electrically shorting (Paragraphs 2-9 of Fink et al.).
Regarding Claim 20, Franson et al. further discloses the ground plane comprises (i) a first section (The ground plane includes metallization layers 44/367 and 54/369 which may have metal pillars forming a first section; Paragraph 50 as well as figure 1 and 9 of Franson et al.), and (ii) a second section around the first section (The ground plane also includes a conductive filler material layer which forms a second section that surrounds the first section; Paragraph 37 as well as figure 1 and 9 of Franson et al.), wherein the first and second sections comprise conductive material, with an interface between the conductive material of the first section and the conductive material of the second section (Metallization layers and there pillars may be formed from conductive material of copper and nickel while the filler material may be a conductive epoxy which would cause an interface between the first section and the second section due to different conductive materials; Paragraph 39 and 58 of Franson et al.).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franson et al. (US 20250062527 A1) in view of Rokita et al. (GB 2281661 A), Fink et al. (US 6903687 B1), and Woo et al. (KR 20050043520 A).
Regarding Claim 17, Franson et al., Rokita et al., and Fink et al. fails to disclose the patch has a third opening therewithin, the third opening comprises dielectric material.
However, Woo et al. does disclose a patch has a third opening therewithin, the third opening comprising dielectric material (Patch 20 is separated from the ground 10 by a dielectric layer in the form of air layer and patch 20 further comprises openings formed between the protrusion members 24 wherein a new dielectric material 42 may be inserted in 3 locations of the patch openings along the corners and center thereby creating an opening filled with dielectric material; Pg. 4-5 and Figure 1 and 2 of Woo et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franson et al., Rokita et al., and Fink et al. to the patch have a third opening therewithin, the third opening comprising dielectric material as taught by Woo et al. to eliminate the need for using dielectric with a high dielectric constant and reduce manufacturing cost (Pg. 11, Paragraph 1 of Woo et al.).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franson et al. (US 20250062527 A1) in view of Rokita et al. (GB 2281661 A), Fink et al. (US 6903687 B1), and Alam et al. (US 11329373 B1).
Regarding Claim 18, Franson et al., Rokita et al., and Fink et al. fails to disclose the ground plane has a third opening different from the first opening, and wherein the third opening is filled with the dielectric material, without any probe extending through the third opening.
However, Alam et al. discloses a ground plane has a third opening different from the first opening, and wherein the third opening is filled with the dielectric material, without any probe extending through the third opening (Patch antenna structure includes a ground plane 300 with a third defect area 364 serving as a first opening with a feedline and 2 other defect areas 360 and 362 which may serve as a third opening which may be filled with a dielectric material in the form of a substrate or insulating filler; Paragraph 21 and 25 as well as figure 3 of Alam et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franson et al., Rokita et al., and Fink et al. to have the ground plane have a third opening different from the first opening, and wherein the third opening is filled with the dielectric material, without any probe extending through the third opening as taught by Alam et al. to decrease reflection and expand the bandwidth (Paragraph 24-25 of Alam et al.).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franson et al. (US 20250062527 A1) in view of Rokita et al. (GB 2281661 A), Fink et al. (US 6903687 B1), and Kim et al. (WO 2008032960 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Franson et al., Rokita et al., and Fink et al. fails to disclose the patch comprises (i) a first section, and (ii) a second section around the first section, wherein the first and second sections comprise conductive material, with an interface between the conductive material of the first section and the conductive material of the second section.
However, Kim et al. does disclose a the patch comprises (i) a first section (Patch antenna 110 may comprise openings 134 which define a first section in figure 11 and 12 of Kim et al.), and (ii) a second section around the first section (The Rest of the patch antenna 110 forms a second section that surrounds the first section as seen in figure 11 and 12 of Kim et al.), wherein the first and second sections comprise conductive material, with an interface between the conductive material of the first section and the conductive material of the second section (Conductive material like gold may be applied into the holes thus causing an interface to exist between the first and second sections since the rest of the patch may be formed by a different conductive material like cooper or silver (Paragraph 78, 103, and 124 of Kim et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franson et al., Rokita et al., and Fink et al. to have the patch comprise (i) a first section, and (ii) a second section around the first section, wherein the first and second sections comprise conductive material, with an interface between the conductive material of the first section and the conductive material of the second section as taught by Kim et al. to have a patch antenna with a smaller size and desired resonance frequency (Paragraph 39 of Kim et al.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220368028 A1 (Govoni; Mark A. et al.) relates to a configuration of a patch antenna array that comprises a patch antenna on a dielectric and ground plane fed by a coaxial cable.
US 9196951 B2 (Baks; Christian W. et al.) relates to a configuration of a patch antenna structure with a ground layer and dielectric layer
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845