DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-4, and 11 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed April 13, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US20200096028A1), hereinafter "Li".
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a compensation nut assembly (Fig 1, fastener 100) for securing two components together (Fig 7, panels 701, 702), the compensation nut assembly (100) comprising:
a first nut (Fig 2, nut 101) comprising a first end (see Fig 2, Examiner notes an end of nut 101 adjacent opening 238 as comprising a first end) and a second end (see Fig 2, Examiner notes an end of nut 101 adjacent opening 236 as a second end) with a limiting tab (Fig 2, bump 217) extending (see Fig 2) from an outer surface (see Fig 2, Examiner notes an outer surface of sleeve 205 as an outer surface) of the first end (see Fig 2) thereof, wherein the limiting tab (217) is located (see Fig 2) at the first end (see Fig 2) and is axially spaced (see Fig 2) from the second end (see Fig 2);
a second nut (Fig 2, bolt 102) being in threaded connection (see Fig 7, Paragraphs 0032-0033, Examiner notes the outer surface of the adjustment bolt 102 is provided with an external thread for engaging with the internal thread of the mounting nut 101 as being in threaded connection) with the first nut (101) at (see Fig 8A) the second end (see Fig 2), wherein the first nut (101) is configured to be rotatable (capable of being rotated, i.e. this is a functional recitation; see Fig 1, Paragraphs 0030 and 0033) about a vertical axis (Fig 1, axis 120) relative to the second nut (102) in a first rotation direction (see Fig 1, Paragraphs 0030 and 0033) to increase a length (Paragraphs 0030 and 0033) of the compensation nut assembly (100) along the vertical axis (120) and to be rotatable (capable of being rotated, i.e. this is a functional recitation; see Fig 1, Paragraphs 0030 and 0033) in a second rotation direction (see Fig 1, Paragraphs 0030 and 0033) opposite (see Fig 1) to the first rotation direction (see Fig 1) relative to the second nut (102) to reduce the length (Paragraphs 0030 and 0033) of the compensation nut assembly (100) along the vertical axis (120); and
a limiting member (see Figs 3B and 6, Examiner notes with respect to Fig 3B, left and right portions 309 as a limiting member) being connected (see Fig 2) to the second nut (102) and comprising a first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B, Examiner notes with respect to Fig 2, an upper curved portion of left portion 309 as a first blocking arm) and a second blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B, Examiner notes with respect to Fig 2, a lower curved portion of right portion 309 as a second blocking arm), wherein the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) and the second blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) are configured such that:
when the compensation nut assembly (100) is in a pre-assembled state (Paragraphs 0042-0043, Examiner notes shortest position as a pre-assembled state), the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) and the second blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) retain (Paragraphs 0042-0043) the limiting tab (217) of the first nut (101) therebetween in a circumferential direction (see Figs 2 and 3B, Paragraphs 0042-0043, Examiner notes bump 217 can enter the groove 601, i.e. bump 217 being between the upper curved portion of left portion 309 and the lower curved portion of right portion 309, as in a circumferential direction) to maintain (Paragraphs 0042-0043) the length (Paragraphs 0030 and 0033) of the compensation nut assembly (100) within a predetermined range (Paragraph 0043, Examiner notes shortest position as within a predetermined range);
when a certain screwing force (Paragraphs 0042-0043, Examiner notes the retaining portion can be deformed such that the bump 217 on the outer side of the mounting nut 101 can enter the groove 601 as when a certain screwing force) is applied (Paragraphs 0042-0043) to the first nut (101) in the pre-assembled state (Paragraphs 0042-0043) in the first rotation direction (see Fig 1), as the first nut (101) is rotated (see Figs 8A-8B), the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) and the second blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) are at least partially deflected under an action (Paragraph 0042, Examiner notes the retaining portion 309 can be deformed as are at least partially deflected under an action) of the limiting tab (217) of the first nut (101) to allow the first nut (101) to rotate (see Figs 8A-8B, Paragraph 0042) in a direction (see Figs 8A-8B) away from the second nut (102) and out of the pre-assembled state (Paragraphs 0042-0043); and
when a certain screwing force (Paragraphs 0042-0043, Examiner notes providing the bump 217 on the outer side of the mounting nut 101 and the groove 601, the nut fastener can be prevented from getting longer or the adjustment bolt 102 can be prevented from releasing and separating from the mounting nut 101 due to the relative rotation between the adjustment bolt 102 and the mounting nut 101 during transportation as when a certain screwing force) is applied (Paragraphs 0042-0043) to the first nut (101) in the pre-assembled state (Paragraphs 0042-0043) in the second rotation direction (see Fig 1), the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) and the second blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) restrict (Paragraphs 0042-0043) the first nut (101) from rotating out (Paragraphs 0042-0043) of the pre-assembled state (Paragraphs 0042-0043).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches the compensation nut assembly (100) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein when the compensation nut assembly (100) is in the pre-assembled state (Paragraphs 0042-0043), in the first rotation direction (see Fig 1), the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) is in front (see Fig 2) of the limiting tab (217) and the second blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) is behind (see Fig 2) the limiting tab (217).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches the compensation nut assembly (100) according to claim 2 and further teaches wherein the second blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) comprises a longitudinal arm (see Fig 6, Paragraph 0035, Examiner notes portion 309 extends out from the inner surface of the flanged edge 304 (i.e., the surface that faces the support flange 252), as comprises a longitudinal arm) extending (Paragraph 0035) substantially along the vertical axis (120) and a transverse arm (see Figs 2, 3B, and 6, Examiner notes an upper portion of right portion 309 extending transversely as a transverse arm) extending (see Fig 6) from the longitudinal arm (see Fig 6) towards (see Figs 2, 3B, and 6) the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B), the transverse arm (see Figs 2, 3B, and 6) comprising a blocking face (see Fig 6, Examiner notes a face of the upper portion of right portion 309 extending transversely and facing a threaded shaft of bolt 102 as a blocking face) provided at a free distal end (see Fig 6) thereof and an operating face (see Fig 6, Examiner notes an upper outer face adjacent the upper portion of right portion 309 and extending transversely to the threaded shaft of bolt 102 as an operating face) provided on a top (see Fig 6) thereof, the blocking face (see Fig 6) facing (see Figs 2, 3B, and 6) the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B), and the operating face (see Fig 6) extending (see Fig 6) at an angle (see Fig 6) relative to the vertical axis (120) in a direction away (see Fig 6) from the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) towards (see Figs 2, 3B, and 6) the longitudinal arm (see Fig 6).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the compensation nut assembly (100) according to claim 3 and further teaches wherein the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) extends (see Fig 3B, Paragraph 0035) substantially along the vertical axis (120), and the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) has a thickness (see Figs 1 and 4, Examiner notes a width of left portion 309 extending perpendicular to axis 120 as a thickness) less than the thickness (see Figs 1 and 4, Examiner notes a width of right portion 309 extending parallel to axis 120 as the thickness) of the longitudinal arm (see Fig 6) of the second blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches the compensation nut assembly (100) according to claim 3 and further teaches wherein the operating face (see Fig 6) is connected (see Fig 6) with the blocking face (see Fig 6) at one end (see Fig 6) thereof.
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches the compensation nut assembly (100) according to claim 3 and further teaches wherein the operating face (see Fig 6) forms a part (see Fig 6) of a surface (see Fig 6) of a top (see Fig 6) of the transverse arm (see Figs 2, 3B, and 6).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches the compensation nut assembly (100) according to claim 3 and further teaches wherein the longitudinal arm (see Fig 6) extends (see Fig 6) in a circumferential direction (see Fig 6).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches the compensation nut assembly (100) according to claim 2 and further teaches wherein the limiting member (see Figs 3B and 6) further comprises a connecting ring (Figs 2 and 4, bushing 203, Paragraphs 0033 and 0038), wherein the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) and the second blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) are provided on the connecting ring (203), and the connecting ring (203) is sleeved (see Figs 2 and 4, Paragraphs 0033 and 0038) on the second nut (102).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches the compensation nut assembly (100) according to claim 4 and further teaches wherein a lower portion (Fig 4, waist 492) of the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) is widened (see Fig 4) to increase strength (see Fig 4, Paragraph 0037, Examiner notes waist 492 located inside the hole 470 as to increase strength) of the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches the compensation nut assembly (100) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first nut (101) comprises a shaft (see Fig 2, Examiner notes an upper portion of sleeve 205 adjacent substrate 202 as comprises a shaft) and a collar (see Fig 2, Examiner notes a lower portion of sleeve 205 having bump 217 as a collar) provided at one end (see Fig 2) of the shaft (see Fig 2), wherein the limiting tab (217) protrudes (see Fig 2) radially from the collar (see Fig 2).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches a compensation nut assembly (Fig 1, fastener 100) for securing two components together (Fig 7, panels 701, 702), the compensation nut assembly (100) comprising:
a first nut (Fig 2, nut 101) comprising a limiting tab (Fig 2, bump 217) extending (see Fig 2) from an outer surface (see Fig 2, Examiner notes an outer surface of sleeve 205 as an outer surface) at a first end (see Fig 2, Examiner notes an end of nut 101 adjacent opening 238 as a first end) thereof, wherein the limiting tab (217) is located (see Fig 2) at the first end (see Fig 2) and is axially spaced (see Fig 2) from a second end (see Fig 2, Examiner notes an end of nut 101 adjacent opening 236 as a second end) of the first nut (101) opposite (see Fig 2) the first end (see Fig 2);
a second nut (Fig 2, bolt 102) in threaded engagement (see Fig 7, Paragraphs 0032-0033, Examiner notes the outer surface of the adjustment bolt 102 is provided with an external thread for engaging with the internal thread of the mounting nut 101 as in threaded engagement) with the first nut (101) at the second end (see Fig 2) of first nut (101), wherein the first nut (101) is rotatable (capable of being rotated, i.e. this is a functional recitation; see Fig 1, Paragraphs 0030 and 0033) about an axis (Fig 1, axis 120) relative to the second nut (102) in a first rotational direction (see Fig 1, Paragraphs 0030 and 0033) to increase a length (Paragraphs 0030 and 0033) of the compensation nut assembly (100) along the axis (120) and is rotatable (capable of being rotated, i.e. this is a functional recitation; see Fig 1, Paragraphs 0030 and 0033) in a second rotational direction (see Fig 1, Paragraphs 0030 and 0033), opposite (see Fig 1) the first rotational direction (see Fig 1), to decrease the length (Paragraphs 0030 and 0033) of the compensation nut assembly (100) along the axis (120); and
a limiting member (see Figs 3B and 6, Examiner notes with respect to Fig 3B, left and right portions 309 as a limiting member) coupled (see Fig 2) to the second nut (102) and comprising a first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B, Examiner notes with respect to Fig 2, an upper curved portion of left portion 309 as a first blocking arm) and a second blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B, Examiner notes with respect to Fig 2, a lower curved portion of right portion 309 as a second blocking arm),
wherein:
when the compensation nut assembly (100) is in a pre-assembled state (Paragraphs 0042-0043, Examiner notes shortest position as a pre-assembled state), the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) and the second blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) retain (Paragraphs 0042-0043) the limiting tab (217) of the first nut (101) therebetween in a circumferential direction (see Figs 2 and 3B, Paragraphs 0042-0043, Examiner notes bump 217 can enter the groove 601, i.e. bump 217 being between the upper curved portion of left portion 309 and the lower curved portion of right portion 309, as in a circumferential direction) to maintain (Paragraphs 0042-0043) the length (Paragraphs 0030 and 0033) of the compensation nut assembly (100) within a predetermined range (Paragraph 0043, Examiner notes shortest position as within a predetermined range);
when a threshold screwing force (Paragraphs 0042-0043, Examiner notes the retaining portion can be deformed such that the bump 217 on the outer side of the mounting nut 101 can enter the groove 601 as when a threshold screwing force) is applied (Paragraphs 0042-0043) to the first nut (101) in the pre-assembled state (Paragraphs 0042-0043) in the first rotational direction (see Fig 1), the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) and the second blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) are at least partially deflected under engagement (Paragraph 0042, Examiner notes the retaining portion 309 can be deformed as are at least partially deflected under engagement) with the limiting tab (217) to permit rotation (see Figs 8A-8B, Paragraph 0042) of the first nut (101) relative to the second nut (102) and out of the pre-assembled state (Paragraphs 0042-0043); and
when a threshold screwing force (Paragraphs 0042-0043, Examiner notes providing the bump 217 on the outer side of the mounting nut 101 and the groove 601, the nut fastener can be prevented from getting longer or the adjustment bolt 102 can be prevented from releasing and separating from the mounting nut 101 due to the relative rotation between the adjustment bolt 102 and the mounting nut 101 during transportation as when a threshold screwing force) is applied (Paragraphs 0042-0043) to the first nut (101) in the pre-assembled state (Paragraphs 0042-0043) in the second rotational direction (see Fig 1), the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) and the second blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) restrict rotation (Paragraphs 0042-0043) of the first nut (101) out (Paragraphs 0042-0043) of the pre-assembled state (Paragraphs 0042-0043).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches the compensation nut assembly (100) of claim 11 and further teaches wherein, in the pre-assembled state (Paragraphs 0042-0043), the limiting tab (217) is positioned (see Fig 2) between the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) and the second blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches the compensation nut assembly (100) of claim 12 and further teaches wherein the second blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) comprises a longitudinal arm (see Fig 6, Paragraph 0035, Examiner notes portion 309 extends out from the inner surface of the flanged edge 304 (i.e., the surface that faces the support flange 252), as comprises a longitudinal arm) extending (Paragraph 0035) substantially along the axis (120) and a transverse arm (see Figs 2, 3B, and 6, Examiner notes an upper portion of right portion 309 extending transversely as a transverse arm) extending (see Fig 6) from the longitudinal arm (see Fig 6) toward (see Figs 2, 3B, and 6) the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B), the transverse arm (see Figs 2, 3B, and 6) comprising a blocking face (see Fig 6, Examiner notes a face of the upper portion of right portion 309 extending transversely and facing a threaded shaft of bolt 102 as a blocking face) at a distal end (see Fig 6) thereof and an operating face (see Fig 6, Examiner notes an upper outer face adjacent the upper portion of right portion 309 and extending transversely to the threaded shaft of bolt 102 as an operating face) on a top surface (see Fig 6) thereof, the blocking face (see Fig 6) facing (see Figs 2, 3B, and 6) the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B), and the operating face (see Fig 6) extending (see Fig 6) at an angle (see Fig 6) relative to the axis (120) in a direction away (see Fig 6) from the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) toward (see Figs 2 and 3B) the longitudinal arm (see Fig 6).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches the compensation nut assembly (100) of claim 13 and further teaches wherein the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) extends (see Fig 3B, Paragraph 0035) substantially along the axis (120) and has a thickness (see Figs 1 and 4, Examiner notes a width of left portion 309 extending perpendicular to axis 120 as a thickness) less than a thickness (see Figs 1 and 4, Examiner notes a width of right portion 309 extending parallel to axis 120 as a thickness) of the longitudinal arm (see Fig 6) of the second blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches the compensation nut assembly (100) of claim 13 and further teaches wherein the operating face (see Fig 6) is connected (see Fig 6) to the blocking face (see Fig 6) at one end (see Fig 6) thereof.
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches the compensation nut assembly (100) of claim 13 and further teaches wherein the operating face (see Fig 6) forms at least a portion (see Fig 6) of a top surface (see Fig 6) of the transverse arm (see Figs 2, 3B, and 6).
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches the compensation nut assembly (100) of claim 13 and further teaches wherein the longitudinal arm (see Fig 6) extends (see Fig 6) in a circumferential direction (see Fig 6) about the axis (120).
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches the compensation nut assembly (100) of claim 12 and further teaches wherein the limiting member (see Figs 3B and 6) further comprises a connecting ring (Figs 2 and 4, bushing 203, Paragraphs 0033 and 0038), and wherein the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) and the second blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) extend (see Figs 2 and 4) from the connecting ring (203), the connecting ring (203) being disposed (see Figs 2 and 4, Paragraphs 0033 and 0038) on the second nut (102).
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches the compensation nut assembly (100) of claim 11 and further teaches wherein a lower portion (Fig 4, waist 492) of the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B) is widened (see Fig 4) to increase structural strength (see Fig 4, Paragraph 0037, Examiner notes waist 492 located inside the hole 470 as to increase strength) of the first blocking arm (see Figs 2 and 3B).
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches the compensation nut assembly (100) of claim 11 and further teaches wherein the first nut (101) comprises a shaft (see Fig 2, Examiner notes an upper portion of sleeve 205 adjacent substrate 202 as comprises a shaft) and a collar (see Fig 2, Examiner notes a lower portion of sleeve 205 having bump 217 as a collar) at one end (see Fig 2) of the shaft (see Fig 2), the limiting tab (217) protruding (see Fig 2) radially outward (see Fig 2) from the collar (see Fig 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to amended claims 1 and 11 on Pgs 8-10 of Applicant’s Remarks filed July 9, 2026, Applicant argues that the Examiner designated the end of the mounting nut 101 adjacent opening 238 as the “first end” and the reduced diameter section bearing bump 217 as the “second end”; even under that mapping, bump 217 and the threaded engagement would both be at the designated “second end”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as set forth above and notes that Li in Paragraph 0032 indicates that an inner wall of the sleeve 205 has an internal thread (not shown) to form a nut receiving passage 215. Further, Li in Paragraph 0033, indicates that adjustment bolt 102 can be screwed into the mounting nut 101 from the lower opening 238 of the sleeve 205 and enter the nut receiving passage 215.
Further, with respect to amended claims 1 and 11 on Pgs 8-10 of Applicant’s Remarks filed July 9, 2026, Applicant indicates that the first and second blocking arms are at least partially deflected under an action of the limiting tab when a screwing force is applied in the first rotation direction, permitting the first nut to rotate out of the pre-assembled state, while the same blocking arms restrict rotation of the first nut when a screwing force is applied in the second rotation direction which is a direction-sensitive, asymmetric behavior of the blocking arms - yielding in one rotational direction and blocking in the other. In response to Applicant's argument that the blocking arms are direction-sensitive and provide asymmetric behavior - yielding in one rotational direction and blocking in the other, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Further, the Examiner respectfully notes, Li in at least Figs 2, 3B, and 6 illustrates head 491 of portion 309 having groove 601 with an asymmetric shape and in Paragraph 0042 indicates that portion 309 can be deformed such that the bump 217 on the outer side of the mounting nut 101 can enter the groove 601 of the retaining portion 309, so that the adjustment bolt 102 can be prevented from moving (e.g. rotating) with respect to the mounting nut 101 by the fitting between the bump 217 and the groove 601 of the retaining portion 309.
Conclusion
/J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675