DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorghuber (10,908,228) in view of Hashimoto et al. (2018/0243921).
With respect to claim 1, Gorghuber teaches in Fig. 6 a method of monitoring electrical bonding of an aerial device (10) operating in a work environment (i.e. defined by an environment encompassing the aerial device 10 and utility vehicle 70) adjacent to an energized power line (Col. 4 lines 35-38), the method comprising: determining an electrical bonding status (via an electric bonding detection system; Col. 7 lines 30-36) of the aerial device (10) with respect to the energized power line (Col. 11 lines 13-15; during operation, the energized power line may be electrically bonded to the aerial device 10); monitoring an electrical current leakage of the remotely operated aerial device (10; as Gorghuber teaches monitoring the collective resistance of the conductive components to monitor current leakage; Col. 2 lines 1-14); transmitting one or more signals (signal 1 and/or 2, Fig. 6) across a di-electric gap from the operated aerial device (10) to a user device (i.e. a smart phone) disposed in a distinct location from the aerial device (10; as the user holding the phone can be at a distinct location from the aerial device during testing; Col. 13 lines 35-42), the one or more signals (signal 1 and/or 2) comprising: an indication (via GPU 112, to create a screen display; Col. 12 lines 14-43) of the electrical bonding status (as determined via the steps of Fig. 6) of the operated aerial device (10); and an indication of the electrical current leakage (based on the monitored resistance) of the operated aerial device (10); and causing display (i.e. a screen on the display; Col. 12 lines 14-17), the indication of the electrical bonding status (via the GPU on the screen of the display of the user’s smart phone) of the operated aerial device (10) and the indication of the electrical current leakage (as determined via the steps of Fig. 6) of the operated aerial device (10) based on the one or more signals (signals 1 and/or 2).
Gorghuber remains silent regarding the aerial device being remotely operated in a remote work environment and the device being a head mounted display of the user device.
Hashimoto et al. teaches a similar method that includes a remotely operated aerial device (1) being remotely operated (via remote control device 2 and camera 51; [0049]) in a remote work environment (i.e. as seen in Fig. 1) and a user device being a head mounted display (52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify both the aerial device and user device of Gorghuber to be remotely operated using a camera and a head mounted display, as taught in Hashimoto et al. because Hashimoto et al. teaches such a modification provides a system that allows a user to be safely away from dangerous condition while ensuring a shorted education period for training; [0006].
With respect to claim 2, Gorghuber teaches in Fig. 6 the method wherein the indication of the electrical bonding status and the indication of the electrical current leakage (as determined via the electric bonding detection system and indication via the GPU of Gorghuber) are configured to be displayed within a user interface (a GUI displayed on the screen of the head mounted display 52 of Hashimoto) associated with the head mounted display (52 of Hashimoto et al.) of the user modified device.
With respect to claim 3, Gorghuber as modified teaches in Fig. 1 the method further comprising: capturing, via at least one camera (51 of Hashimoto et al.) disposed on the remotely operated aerial device (10 as modified), real-time visual data (as captured using the camera 51) associated with the remote work environment (as the camera is used to remotely transmit visual data of the power line from a safe distance away); causing display, within the user interface (GUI) associated with the head mounted display (52 of Hashimoto), of the real-time visual data (during remote control of the aerial device 10, as modified).
With respect to claim 4, Gorghuber as modified teaches in Fig. 1 the method further comprising: detecting, using at least one voltage sensor (as Gorghuber teaches in Col. 1 lines 59-65, monitoring voltage to determine the bonding status) disposed on the remotely operated aerial device (10 as modified), an electrical voltage associated with one or more objects within the remote work environment (i.e. conductive components found in the remote work environment having the power line), wherein the one or more signals (signal 1 and/or 2) further comprises an indication of the electrical voltage associated with the one or more objects (as the signals inform the modified user device of the bonding status based on the monitored voltage); and causing display, within the user interface (GUI) associated with the head mounted display (52 of Hashimoto), of the indication of the electrical voltage (via the display screen display numerical values representative of the condition; Col. 11 lines 57-63) associated with the one or more objects (i.e. conductive components).
With respect to claim 5, Gorghuber as modified teaches in Fig. 1 the method further comprising: establishing, using one or more robotic arms (boom assembly 72, which, insofar as how the robotic arms are structurally define, reads on the claimed limitation; as the combination allows the booms to be remotely controlled) attached to the remotely operated aerial device (10, as modified), an electrical connection (via the conductive components; Col. 10 lines 63 to Col. 11 line 30, which details how the conductive components, using the boom assembly, make contact with the power line) to between a portion of the remotely operated aerial device (10, as modified) and the energized power line (i.e. power line).
With respect to claim 7, Gorghuber as modified teaches in Fig. 1 the method wherein the one or more signals (signals 1 and/or 2) are transmitted wirelessly using a wireless transceiver disposed on the remotely operated aerial device (as Gorghuber teaches in Col. 11 lines 37-40 signals can be transmitted wirelessly to the user device).
With respect to claim 8, Gorghuber teaches in Fig. 6 a method of monitoring electrical bonding of an aerial device (10), the method comprising: determining an electrical bonding status (via an electric bonding detection system; Col. 7 lines 30-36) of the aerial device (10) with respect to the energized power line (Col. 11 lines 13-15; during operation, the energized power line may be electrically bonded to the aerial device 10); monitoring an electrical current leakage of the remotely operated aerial device (10; as Gorghuber teaches monitoring the collective resistance of the conductive components to monitor current leakage; Col. 2 lines 1-14); transmitting one or more signals (signal 1 and/or 2, Fig. 6) across a di-electric gap from the operated aerial device (10) to a user device (i.e. a smart phone) disposed in a distinct location from the aerial device (10; as the user holding the phone can be at a distinct location from the aerial device during testing; Col. 13 lines 35-42), the one or more signals (signal 1 and/or 2) comprising: an indication (via GPU 112, to create a screen display; Col. 12 lines 14-43) of the electrical bonding status (as determined via the steps of Fig. 6) of the operated aerial device (10); and an indication of the electrical current leakage (based on the monitored resistance) of the operated aerial device (10); and causing display (i.e. screen or display; Col. 12 lines 14-17), the indication of the electrical bonding status (via the GPU displayed on the user’s smart phone) of the operated aerial device (10) and the indication of the electrical current leakage (as determined via the steps of Fig. 6) of the operated aerial device (10) based on the one or more signals (signals 1 and/or 2).
Gorghuber remains silent regarding the aerial device being remotely operated in a remote work environment and the device being a head mounted display of the user device.
Hashimoto et al. teaches a similar method that includes a remotely operated aerial device (1) being remotely operated (via remote control device 2 and camera 51; [0049]) in a remote work environment (i.e. as seen in Fig. 1) and a user device being a head mounted display (52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify both the aerial device and user device of Gorghuber to be remotely operated using a camera and head mounted display, as taught in Hashimoto et al. because Hashimoto et al. teaches such a modification provides a system that allows as user to be safely away from dangerous situations while ensuring a shorted education period for training; [0006].
With respect to claim 9, Gorghuber as modified teaches in Fig. 1 the method further comprising: capturing real-time sensory data (via the camera 51 taught in Hashimoto) associated with a remote work environment (i.e. an environment where the aerial device is operating) of the remotely operated aerial device (10, as modified to include the camera of Hashimoto) using at least one of a plurality of sensory capture devices disposed on the remotely operated aerial device (as the combination, as a whole, teaches a plurality of sensors, like a camera 51, voltage, current sensor, etc. on the aerial device 10).
With respect to claim 10, Gorghuber as modified teaches in Fig. 1 the method further comprising: receiving one or more control signals from the user device (as modified to include the robot control signals from the head mounted display of Hashimoto), the one or more control signals instructing an action of at least one robotic arm (i.e. an arm of a boom assembly 72 taught in Gorghuber) attached to the remotely operated aerial device (10).
With respect to claim 13, Gorghuber as modified teaches in Fig. 1 the method wherein the one or more signals (signals 1 and/or 2) are transmitted through a fiber optic cable (Col. 14 lines 20-25) disposed between insulated portions of the remotely operated aerial device (10).
With respect to claim 14, Gorghuber as modified teaches in Fig. 1 the method wherein the user device (head mounted display of Hashimoto) is disposed on at a ground location beneath the remotely operated aerial device (10, as seen the user is shown positioned away from the remote-controlled robot in Hashimoto).
With respect to claim 15, Gorghuber teaches in Fig. 6 a method of monitoring electrical bonding of an operated aerial device (10) configured to operate in a work environment (i.e. an environment encompassing the aerial device 10, utility vehicle 70 and power lines), the method comprising: capturing real-time sensory data (i.e. as Gorghuber teaches monitoring voltage in real-time of a feedback wire, conductive components, and respective resistances of electrical components; Col. 1 line 47 to Col. 2 line 13) associated with the remote work environment (i.e. the environment containing the power lines being worked upon) using at least one of a plurality of sensory capture devices disposed on the remotely operated aerial device (i.e. as teaches monitoring voltage and resistance); determining an electrical bonding status (via an electric bonding detection system; Col. 7 lines 30-36) of the aerial device (10) with respect to an energized power line (Col. 11 lines 13-15; during operation, the energized power line may be electrically bonded to the aerial device 10 for monitoring voltage and respective resistance); transmitting one or more signals (signal 1 and/or 2, Fig. 6) across a di-electric gap from the operated aerial device (10) to a user device (i.e. a smart phone) disposed in a distinct location from the aerial device (10; as the user holding the phone can be at a distinct location from the aerial device during testing; Col. 13 lines 35-42), the one or more signals (signal 1 and/or 2) comprising: the real-time sensory data (i.e. voltage and resistance data) associated with the work environment (as monitored); and an indication (via GPU 112, to create a screen display; Col. 12 lines 14-43) of the electrical bonding status (as determined via the steps of Fig. 6) of the operated aerial device (10); and causing display, on at least one display of the user device (i.e. screen or display; Col. 12 lines 14-17), the indication of the electrical bonding status (via the GPU on the screen of the user’s smart phone) of the operated aerial device (10) and visual data (Col 11 lines 52-67) associated with the real-time sensory data (i.e. voltage and resistance values, for example) based on the one or more signals (signals 1 and/or 2).
Gorghuber remains silent regarding the aerial device being remotely operated in a remote work environment and the device being a head mounted display of the user device.
Hashimoto et al. teaches a similar method that includes a remotely operated aerial device (1) being remotely operated (via remote control device 2 and camera 51; [0049]) in a remote work environment (i.e. as seen in Fig. 1) and a user device being a head mounted display (52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify both the aerial device and user device of Gorghuber to be remotely operated using a camera and head mounted display, as taught in Hashimoto et al. because Hashimoto et al. teaches such a modification provides a system that allows as user to be safely away from dangerous situations while ensuring a shorted education period for training; [0006].
With respect to claim 16, Gorghuber as modified teaches in Fig. 1 the method wherein the plurality of sensory capture devices comprises: a camera (as Hashimoto teaches a cameras 51) configured to capture image data associated with the remote work environment (as the camera is used to remotely transmit visual data of what is being worked upon from a safe distance away); and one or more microphones ([0088] of Hashimoto et al.) configured to capture audio data associated with the remote work environment [0088].
With respect to claim 17, Gorghuber as modified teaches in Fig. 1 the method further comprising: receiving one or more control signals from the user device (as modified to include the robot control signals from the head mounted display of Hashimoto), the one or more control signals instructing an action of at least one robotic arm (i.e. an arm of a boom assembly 72 taught in Gorghuber) attached to the remotely operated aerial device (10).
With respect to claim 18, Gorghuber as modified teaches in Fig. 1 the method further comprising: executing the action (as Gorghuber teaches the user operates the boom assembly based on control signals) of the at least one robotic arm (i.e. the arm of the boom assembly) based on the one or more control signals (as inputted by the user to move the device 10 closer to the power lines).
With respect to claim 19, Gorghuber as modified teaches in Fig. 1 the method further comprising wherein the action of the at least one robotic arm (i.e. the arm of the boom assembly 72) comprises: positioning a conductive clamp (as Gorghuber teaches in Col. 4 lines 6-17, some of the conductive components being clamps) respective to the energized power line, wherein the conductive clamp (as taught in Col. 4 lines 6-17) comprises a robot interface adapter (i.e. as Gorghuber indirectly teaches an adapter adapting the clamp to the arm portion of the device 10, thereby reading on claimed “adapter”, insofar as how the “adapter” is structurally defined) configured to be actuated by the at least one robotic arm (i.e. the arm of the boom assembly) to thereby electrically bond at least a portion of the remotely operated aerial device (10) to the energized power line (for testing).
With respect to claim 20, Gorghuber as modified teaches in Fig. 1 the method wherein the electrical bonding status is determined based at least in part on actuation of the conductive clamp by the at least one robotic arm (as the bonding status, as taught by Gorghuber, occurs when the clamp is actuated from the arm of the beam assembly 72 to attached the clamp to the power line, therefore).
Claim(s) 6, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorghuber (10,908,225) in view of Hashimoto et al. (2018/0243921), as applied to claims 5 and 10, further in view of Zeng et al. (CN 110978004A).
With respect to claim 6, Gorghuber as modified teaches all that is claimed in the above rejection of claim 5, but remains silent regarding positioning, using the one or more robotic arms, an insulating cover over an additional power line distinct from the energized power line to thereby provide electrical insulation from the additional power line.
Zeng et al. teaches a similar method that includes the step of positioning, using one or more robotic arms (1), an insulating cover [00041] over an additional power line distinct from the energized power line to thereby provide electrical insulation from the additional power line (as Zeng teaches robot arms being used to place a shielding cover; [00041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to further modify Gorghuber et al. to include the steps of applying an insulating cover over respective power lines, as taught in Zeng et al., because Zeng et al. teaches such a modification ensures safe protection while working on power lines; [00042].
With respect to claim 11, Gorghuber as modified teaches all that is claimed in the above rejection of claim 10, but remains silent regarding executing the action of the at least one robotic arm based on the one or more control signals (from the user), wherein executing the action comprises: positioning the at least one robotic arm with respect to an energized object (i.e. power line) to secure an insulating cover over the energized object.
Zeng et al. teaches a similar method that includes the step of positioning, using one or more robotic arms (1), an insulating cover [00041] over an energized object (i..e power line) to secure an insulating cover over the energized object (as Zeng teaches robot arms being used to place a shielding cover over the power line; [00041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to further modify Gorghuber et al. to include the actions of controlling the boom assembly of Gorghuber such that the control signals cause the boom arm to position assembly such that an insulating cover is secured over a respective power line, as taught in Zeng et al., because Zeng et al. teaches such a modification ensures safe protection while working on power lines; [00042].
With respect to claim 12, Gorghuber as modified teaches in Fig. 1 the method further comprising: detecting, using at least one voltage sensor (as Gorghuber teaches in Col. 1 lines 59-65, monitoring voltage to determine the bonding status) disposed on the remotely operated aerial device (10 as modified), an electrical voltage associated with the energized object (i.e. conductive components found in the remote work environment having the power line), and wherein the one or more signals (signal 1 and/or 2) further comprises an indication of the electrical voltage associated with the energized object (as the signals inform the modified user device of the bonding status based on the voltage); and causing display, within the at least one display of the user device (via the GUI of the head mounted display 52 of Hashimoto) of the indication of the electrical voltage (via the display screen display numerical values representative of the condition; Col. 11 lines 57-63) associated with the energized object (i.e. power line).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Allen (6,507,163) which teaches a robotic aerial device with robot arms taking measurements of an object.
/MATTHEW G MARINI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853