DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 21, 28 and 35 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
As disclosed in paragraph [0004] of Bilic, insulators used on a boom, like those taught by Zeng et al., can deteriorate over time. Bilic teaches that maintaining the structure at the same electrical potential as the power line being worked on reduces the risk of operator shock and prevents damage to the robotic device. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Zeng in view of Bilic to achieve these safety and structural benefits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 23, 26, 27, 29, 30 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (CN 110978004A) in view of Bilic (2018/0313885), further in view of Gorghuber (10,908,228).
With respect to claim 21, Zeng et al. teaches a method of electrically bonding an aerial device (1; Fig. 1) to an energized power line (i.e. hot line), the aerial device (1) comprising: a boom assembly (2) and a remotely operated robotic device (as described in [0009]) supported at a distal end of the boom assembly (as seen in Fig. 1), the remotely operated robotic device [0009] comprising one or more robotic arms (6;’ Fig. 2); wherein the method comprises: establishing, using the one or more robotic arms (6) of the remotely operated robotic device [0009], an electrical connection between the energized power line (i.e. the hot line) and the remotely operated robotic device (i.e. a working portion of the robot arms for performing actions and tasks on the hot line of the power distribution network of interest; [0009] [0052]).
Zeng et al. remains silent regarding maintaining the remotely operated robotic device at an electrical potential associated with the energized power line via the electrical connection and monitoring an electrical bonding status of remotely operated robotic device.
Bilic et al. teaches a similar method that includes an electrical connection that maintains a remotely operated device (i.e. bucket 62) at an electrical potential associated with an energized power line (62, [0053]) via an electrical connection (via a bonding clamp 65; Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the electrical connection of Zeng et al. such that the remotely operated robotic device is maintained at the same electrical potential of the hot line and monitored, as taught in Bille et al., because Bille et al. teaches such electrical connections held at the same electrical potential aids in preventing high temperature electrical arcs which may endanger line personnel, cause power outages and damage equipment; [0004].
Zeng et al. as modified remains silent regarding monitoring an electrical bonding status of the aerial device.
Gorghuber teaches a similar method that includes monitoring an electrical bonding status of an aerial device (Gorghuber teaches in the abstract a device for monitoring conditions of electrical bonding of components on an aerial device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the method steps of Zeng et al. to include control steps and corresponding structure of Gorghuber to monitor the electrical bonding between the hot wire and components of the aerial robot because such a modification allows for a quicker diagnosis when performing maintenance, Col. 9 lines 26-30.
With respect to claim 23, Zeng et al. teaches the method wherein establishing the electrical connection includes directly grasping the energized power line with a gripping tool (as in Fig. 2, Zeng et al. depicts a gripping tool on arm 6) disposed at an end of the one or more robotic arms (6).
With respect to claim 26, Zeng et al. as modified teaches the method further comprising: temporarily powering down at least one electronic system (40 of Gorghuber) of the remotely operated robotic device during a bond-on event (as during a bonding event, if a signal is found to be outside an acceptable range, power is discontinued during the taught bonding event monitoring process; Fig. 6 of Gorghuber et al.).
With respect to claim 27, Zeng et al. as modified teaches the method further comprising: estimating an electrical voltage of at least one object within a remote operating environment of the aerial device using at least one voltage sensor disposed on the remotely operated robotic device (as Gorghuber et al. teaches using a feedback wire 34 and control module 38 for measuring voltage; Col. 5 lines 3-9); and transmitting at least one signal including information indicative of the electrical voltage (as sensed) of the at least one object across a dielectric gap on the aerial device (as the wired connection sensing data, taught by the communication as a whole, allows information to be communicated to the moule thereby reading on “an object across a dielectric gap on the aerial device).
With respect to claim 29, Zeng et al. remains silent regarding monitoring an electrical bonding status of the aerial device.
Gorghuber teaches a similar method that includes monitoring an electrical bonding status of an aerial device (Gorghuber teaches in the abstract a device for monitoring conditions of electrical bonding of components on an aerial device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the method steps of Zeng et al. to include control steps and corresponding structure of Gorghuber to monitor the electrical bonding between the wire and components of the aerial robot because such a modification allows for a quicker diagnosis when performing maintenance, Col. 9 lines 26-30.
With respect to claim 30, Zeng et al. as modified teaches the method wherein the electrical bonding status is monitored based at least in part by measuring a voltage potential of the aerial device (as Gorghuber et al. teaches using a feedback wire 34 and control module 38 for measuring voltage; Col. 5 lines 3-9).
With respect to claim 40, Zeng et al. teaches all that is claimed in the above rejection of claim 39 but remains silent regarding the method further comprising: displaying information indicative of an electrical bonding condition of the aerial device within the user interface with the real-time image data.
Gorghuber teaches a similar method that includes monitoring an electrical bonding status of an aerial device (Gorghuber teaches in the abstract a device for monitoring conditions of electrical bonding of components on an aerial device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the method steps of Zeng et al. to include display steps that includes displaying information indicative of the monitored electrical bonding conditions as taught by Gorghuber because such a modification allows for a quicker diagnosis when performing maintenance, Col. 9 lines 26-30.
Claim(s) 28, 31-37 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (CN 110978004A) in view of Bilic et al. (2018/0313885).
With respect to claim 28, Zeng et al. teaches a method of electrically bonding an aerial device (1; Fig. 1) to an energized power line (i.e. hot line), the method comprising: providing the aerial device (1) comprising: a boom assembly (2); and a remotely operated robotic device (as described in [0009]) supported at a distal end of the boom assembly (as seen in Fig. 1), the remotely operated robotic device [0009] comprising one or more robotic arms (6; Fig. 2) and establishing, using the one or more robotic arms (6; Fig. 2) of the remotely operated robotic device [0009], an electrical connection (occurring when the remotely operated robotic device is working on the hot line) between the energized power line (i.e. hot line) and the remotely operated robotic device (as described in [0009]).
Zeng et al. remains silent regarding maintaining the remotely operated robotic device at an electrical potential associated with the energized power line via the electrical connection.
Bilic et al. teaches a similar method that includes an electrical connection that maintains a remotely operated device (i.e. bucket 62) at an electrical potential associated with an energized power line (62, [0053]) via an electrical connection (via a bonding clamp 65; Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the electrical connection of Zeng et al. such that the remotely operated robotic device is maintained at the same electrical potential of the hot line, as taught in Bille et al., because Bille et al. teaches such electrical connections held at the same electrical potential aids in preventing high temperature electrical arcs which may endanger line personnel, cause power outages and damage equipment; [0004].
With respect to claim 31, Zeng et al. teaches the method further comprising: capturing real-time sensory data (as Zeng et al. teaches using a camera 9 for real-time visual data feedback) associated with a remote operating environment of the aerial device [0034] using at least one sensory capture device (i.e. camera 9; [0034]) disposed on the aerial device.
With respect to claim 32, Zeng et al. teaches the method further comprising: transmitting the real-time sensory data to a user device in a distinct location from the remote operating environment (as the method taught in Zeng et al. allows for wireless communication from the remote operating environment defined by the remote working environment of the robotic arms to a user device control system; [0048]).
With respect to claim 33, Zeng et al. teaches the method further comprising: displaying real-time image data from the real-time sensory data (as collected from the camera 9) within a user interface of the user device (as Zeng et al. teaches using a camera for displaying real-time image data from to the user via a user interface, i.e. display unit; [0034]).
With respect to claim 34, Zeng et al. teaches the method further comprising: augmenting (via the control room 3, with fuses together; [0052]) the real-time image data with an indicating one or more objects in the remote operating environment are at a different electrical potential than the remotely operated robotic device (as the method of Zeng et al. teaches monitoring, using an electric field sensor, a differential electrical protentional between the aerial device the power line to prevent electric shock, and displaying warnings; [0041]).
With respect to claim 35, Zeng et al. teaches a method of electrically bonding an aerial device (1; Fig. 1) to an energized power line (i.e. hot line), the method comprising; providing the aerial device (1) within a remote operating environment (i.e. a remote operating environment define remotely from a robotic arm environment working on the power line) adjacent to the energized power line, the aerial device (1) comprising; a boom assembly (2) including a distal end (as seen in Fig. 1); and a remotely operated robotic device (1) supported at the distal end of the boom assembly (as seen in Fig. 1), the remotely operated robotic device (1) comprising: one or more robotic arms (6: Fig. 2); and at least one sensory capture device (9) operable to capture real-time sensory data [0034] associated with the remote operating environment; capturing the real-time sensory data (via the camera 9) associated with the remote operating environment using the at least one sensory capture device (9); transmitting (wirelessly) a signal including the real-time sensory data to a user control device (a user device control system; [0048]; and establishing, using the one or more robotic arms (seen in Fig. 6) of the remotely operated robotic device (1), an electrical connection (i.e. a connection during maintenance) between the energized power line (i.e. the hot line) and the remotely operated robotic device (as described in [0009]).
Zeng et al. remains silent regarding maintaining the remotely operated robotic device at an electrical potential associated with the energized power line via the electrical connection.
Bilic et al. teaches a similar method that includes an electrical connection that maintains a remotely operated device (i.e. bucket 62) at an electrical potential associated with an energized power line [0053] via an electrical connection (via a bonding clamp 65; Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the electrical connection of Zeng et al. such that the remotely operated robotic device is maintained at the same electrical potential of the hot line, as taught in Bille et al., because Bille et al. teaches such electrical connections held at the same electrical potential aids in preventing high temperature electrical arcs which may endanger line personnel, cause power outages and damage equipment; [0004].
With respect to claim 36, Zeng et al. teaches the method further comprising: receiving one or more control signals from the user control device (as Zeng et al. teaches using a remote-control system for controlling the aerial robot 1), the one or more control signals including control information operable to instruct movement of the one or more robotic arms [0048]).
With respect to claim 37, Zeng et al. teaches the method wherein the electrical connection between the energized power line and the remotely operated robotic device [0009] is established responsive to the one or more control signals (as the control system is used by the user to establishing the electrical connection between the hot line the portion of the aerial device 1 that makes contact with the line).
With respect to claim 39, Zeng et al. teaches the method wherein the at least one sensory capture device includes a camera (9), and wherein the real-time sensory data includes real-time image data of the remote operating environment [0046], the method further comprising: displaying the real-time image data within a user interface (i.e. a display) of the user control device [0034].
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (CN 110978004A) in view of Bilic et al. (2018/0313885) and Gorghuber (10,908,228), as applied to claim 21, further in view of Xia et al. (CN 111181064A).
With respect to claim 22, Zeng et al. as modified teaches all that is claimed in the above rejection of claim 21 but remains silent regarding establishing the electrical connection includes securing a bonding rod onto the energized power line.
Xia et al. teaches a similar method that includes structure that allows for includes securing a bonding rod onto the energized power line (as Xia et al. teaches a locating and derived rods 38B and 47b that allowing for electrical bonding via a robot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the Zeng et al. to include the structure to allow for securing a bonding rob to the power line taught in Xia et al. because Xia et al. teaches such structure and steps ensures the safety of the operation, thereby improving the overall process taught in Zeng et al.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (CN 110978004A) in view of Bilic et al. (2018/0313885) and Gorghuber (10,908,228), as applied to claim 21, further in view of Sykes et al. (2021/0331321).
With respect to claim 24, Zeng et al. as modified teaches all that is claimed in the above rejection of claim 21 but remains silent regarding wherein establishing the electrical connection includes securing an electrical bonding cable to the energized power line using the one or more robotic arms.
Sykes et al. teaches a similar method that includes establishing an electrical connection includes securing an electrical bonding cable (92) to an energized power line (102) using one or more robotic arms (16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the method of Zeng et al. to include the step of attaching an electrical bonding cable the power line, as taught by Sykes et al. because such a modification ensures the safety of the user while operating the robot device of Zeng et al.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (CN 110978004A) in view of Bilic et al. (2018/0313885), Gorghuber (10,908,228) and further in view of Sykes et al. (2021/0331321), as applied to claim 24, further in view of Xia et al. (CN 111181064A).
With respect to claim 25, Zeng et al. as modified teaches all that is claimed in the above rejection of claim 24 but remains silent regarding the electrical bonding cable being secured to the energized power line using a conductive clamp configured to be actuated by the one or more robotic arms.
Xia et al. teaches a robotic arm configured to attach a conductive clamp (2b and 12b) to the power line (as seen in Fig. 9b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the method of Zeng et al. to include the clamps taught in Xia et al. because the clamps of Xia et al. ensure proper and secure connection to the power line, thereby improving the overall operation of the aerial device.
Claim 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (CN 110978004A) in view of Bilic et al. (2018/0313885), as applied to claim 35, further in view of Hashimoto et al. (2018/0243921).
With respect to claim 38, Zeng et al. teaches all that is claimed in the above rejection of claim 35 but remains silent regarding the user control device comprises a head-mounted display.
Hashimoto et al. teaches a similar method that includes a remotely operated aerial device (1) being remotely operated (via remote control device 2 and camera 51; [0049]) in a remote work environment (i.e. as seen in Fig. 1) and a user device being a head mounted display (52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify both the aerial device and user device of Gorghuber to be remotely operated using a head mounted display, as taught in Hashimoto et al. because Hashimoto et al. teaches such a modification provides a system that allows a user to be safely away from dangerous condition while ensuring a shorted education period for training; [0006].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Allen (6,507,163) which teaches a robotic aerial device with robot arms taking measurements of an object.
/MATTHEW G MARINI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853