DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected apparatus, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/3/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
locking mechanism (e.g. claim 4) - e.g. a nut engages a recess in a pivotable clamp arm, and a finger of the clamp arm engages the depth rod (paragraphs 70, 80)
clamping element (e.g. claim 5) - e.g. a clamp arm
indexing mechanism (e.g. claim 14) - e.g., a circumferential indexing surface with a plurality of spaced teeth, where a spring biased pin engages the indexing surface (paragraphs 89-90)
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “claims 1”, but should be amended to recite --claim 1--.
Claim 3 recites “wherein locking knob” but should be amended to recite --wherein the locking knob--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the distance” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites “the circumferential indexing surface” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The remaining claims are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8-9, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCurry (U.S. Patent 5,191,921).
Claim 1: McCurry discloses a power tool (plunge router 10) comprising: a housing (12); a motor (14) assembly arranged to rotate a cutting tool (column 2, lines 29-33), the motor being mounted in the housing (column 2, lines 26-27); at least one guide post (28, 30) slidably mounted to the housing (column 2, lines 37-42); a base (20) fixed to the at least one guide post (Id.); and a depth adjustment mechanism (46) arranged to adjust the distance the cutting tool projects through the base, the depth adjustment mechanism comprises: a depth rod (38) adjustably mounted to the housing and arranged to engage the base when the housing is plunged towards the base (column 2, lines 59-67); a depth adjustment knob (70) mechanically coupled to the depth rod being arranged to move the depth rod with respect to the housing (column 3, lines 33-38); a locking knob (76) for selectively locking the depth rod (column 3, lines 41-45), wherein one of the depth adjustment knob and the locking knob is at least partially nested within the other of the depth adjustment knob and the locking knob (evident in Fig. 3; see also column 4, lines 8-10 and 15-16).
Claim 3: The locking knob (76) is mounted on a rotatable shaft (62).
Claim 8: The depth adjustment knob comprises a sleeve portion (e.g. the sleeve-like inner or outer cylindrical portions of the knob 70 evident but not labeled in Fig. 3) mountable on at least a portion of the locking knob (the term “mountable” suggests the mere ability to be mounted in some unspecified way, such that the knob 70 or sleeve portions thereof are technically “mountable” on at least a portion of the locking knob even if not intended to be used as such).
Claim 9: The sleeve portion is mountable on the rotatable shaft (as shown in Fig. 3).
Claim 17: The power tool is a plunge router (e.g. title).
Claim 18: McCurry discloses a depth adjustment mechanism (46) for a power tool (plunge router 10) for adjusting a distance a cutting tool projects through a base (20) of the power tool, the depth adjustment mechanism comprising: a depth rod (38) adjustably mounted to a housing (12) and arranged to engage the base when the housing is plunged towards the base (column 2, lines 59-67); a depth adjustment knob (70) mechanically coupled to the depth rod being arranged to move the depth rod with respect to the housing (column 3, lines 33-38); a locking knob (76) for selectively locking the depth rod (column 3, lines 41-45), wherein one of the depth adjustment knob and the locking knob is at least partially nested within the other of the depth adjustment knob and the locking knob (evident in Fig. 3; see also column 4, lines 8-10 and 15-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCurry.
Referring to McCurry, the locking knob is not nested within the depth adjustment knob. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have nested the locking knob within the depth adjustment knob since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Additionally or alternatively, it has been held that the mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955). Please note that in the instant application, e.g. paragraph 62, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for this arrangement (noting a preference is not criticality) and contemplates the reverse arrangement.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCurry in view of Zaiser et al. (U.S. Patent 7,950,882).
Claim 11: McCurry discloses a power tool substantially as claimed except for wherein the depth adjustment mechanism comprises a rotatable scale collar. However, Zaiser teaches a similar power tool wherein the depth adjustment mechanism (28) comprises a rotatable scale collar (56 - column 4, lines 57-58). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a rotatable scale collar in order to have helped indicate the adjustment amount of the knob.
Claim 12: The rotatable scale collar is rotatable with respect to the depth adjustment knob (52 - as cited above).
Claim 13: The housing comprises a scale mark for aligning with the rotatable scale collar (it is noted that the term “scale mark” does not necessarily have a particular meaning or structural denotation and could practically refer to any feature of the housing which one could align with the scale marks). Alternatively, Zaiser shows what appears to be a scale mark on the housing corresponding with a similar knob on the upper-left portion in Fig. 1, and the examiner submits it would have been obvious to have similarly provided a scale mark for the depth adjustment knob to indicate the rotational position thereof.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCurry in view of Watanabe (WO 2017122642, with reference to translation).
Claim 14: McCurry discloses a power tool substantially as claimed except for wherein the depth adjustment knob comprises an indexing mechanism configured to index rotation of the depth adjustment knob. However, Watanabe discloses a knob comprising an indexing mechanism (knob 16 has teeth 18A/18B around a circumference thereof, which engage with spring-biased pins 30/32) configured to index rotation of the depth adjustment knob (see pages 7 and 10-11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an indexing mechanism in order to have allowed the knob to sit at discrete rotational positions and have a sense of detent to the user (Id.)
Claim 15: Referring to Watanabe, the indexing mechanism comprises a circumferential indexing surface (18) mounted on a portion (underside) of the knob.
Claim 16: The indexing mechanism comprises a spring (32) biased pin (30) arranged to engage the circumferential indexing surface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
McCurry is considered the closest prior art of record. Regarding claim 4, McCurry does not disclose a “locking mechanism” per the interpretation under 112(f). Claims 5-7 depend therefrom.
Regarding claim 10, the sleeve portion does not comprise a pinion engageable with a reciprocal rack mounted on the depth rod. Instead, the pinion 60 is mounted to the opposite end of the shaft 62.
Contact Information
/Matthew P Travers/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726