DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a first office action on the merits. Claims 1-14, as filed are currently pending and have been considered below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the four rotational positions must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
At least claims 6-10 appear to establish 4 discrete rotational positions. It is unclear how this is reflected by the structures as shown and described in the original disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crotty III et al. (US 5,697,140).
Regarding claim 1, Crotty III et al. discloses an apparatus comprising:
a connecting element (30) to which the interior component (roof as shown in Fig. 1) is connectable; and
a retaining element (70) for retaining the connecting element on the body component (20),
wherein the retaining element comprises a base body (72) with a retaining region (Fig. 2 as shown) at a first end region of the base body, and the connecting element comprises a base body (32) with a receptacle opening (36) in which the retaining element is receivable, or through which the retaining region of the retaining element is insertable,
wherein the retaining element is configured to be rotated in relation to the connecting element and wherein, when the retaining element is rotated in relation to the connecting element, a force acting on the retaining element, is generated against the connecting element (Figs. 7a-7c as shown).
Regarding claim 2, Crotty III et al. further discloses wherein the retaining element comprises at least one clamping surface (provided on 90, 91, 92), which, in the state of being connected to the connecting element, interacts with a clamping surface (48, 49, 50) of the connecting element, such that when the retaining element is rotated in relation to the connecting element, the force acting on the retaining element, is generated (Figs. 7b and 7b as shown).
Regarding claim 3, Crotty III et al. further discloses wherein the base body of the retaining element is arranged in a rotationally symmetrical manner, wherein a crown region (Fig. 2 as shown), is formed at a second end region of the base body opposite the first end region, and wherein a fitted region is formed between the crown region and the retaining region (Fig. 2 as shown),
wherein the base body of the connecting element comprises a support surface that is adapted to a geometry or size of the crown region, on which the crown region of the holding element rests at least partially (Fig. 7c as shown).
Regarding claim 4, Crotty III et al. further discloses wherein the clamping surface is formed at least partially by the support surface (32) of the base body of the connecting element or at least partially by the surface facing the support surface of the base body of the connecting element of the crown region of the holding element (Fig. 7C as shown).
Regarding claim 5, Crotty III et al. further discloses wherein the retaining region of the retaining element is associated with at least one, wedge-shaped or ramp- shaped (Fig. 2 shows 90-92 being wedge/ramp shaped), clamping region or at least one, helix-shaped, clamping region, which, when the retaining element is rotated in relation to the connecting element, is screwed into a gap-shaped region, between the retaining region of the retaining element and an edge region of the body component surrounding a fastening opening of the body component, by exerting a leverage action (Fig. 7B-7C as shown).
Regarding claim 6, Crotty III et al. further discloses
wherein the retaining element or retaining region of the retaining element is configured to be rotated in relation to the connecting element around a rotational axis extending in the insertion direction of the retaining element (Figs. 7B-7C as shown), wherein the rotation is:
from a first rotational position (Fig. 7B) of the retaining element or retaining region of the retaining element, in which the retaining element is connectable to the connecting element for assembling the assembly, into a second rotational (between 7B and Fig. 7C) position of the retaining element or retaining region of the retaining element, in which the retaining element is connected to the connecting element and the assembly is in its pre-assembly or delivery state or in its pre-fixation state; and
from the second rotational position of the retaining element or retaining region of the retaining element into a third rotational position (Fig. 7C) of the retaining element or retaining region of the retaining element, in which the retaining element is located when the retaining region passes through the fastening opening of the body component (Fig. 7C as shown).
Regarding claim 7, Crotty III et al. further discloses wherein the assembly is configured to be transitioned from its pre-fixation state into a fixed state (Fig. 7C as shown), in which the retaining region of the retaining element that is inserted through the fastening opening of the body component exerts a force, which acts on an edge region of the body component surrounding the fastening opening against the insertion direction, in order to fix the connecting element to the body component (Fig. 7C as shown).
Regarding claims 8, Crotty III et al. further discloses wherein, in order to transition the assembly from its pre-fixation state into its fixed state, the retaining element or retaining region of the retaining element is further rotated from its second rotational position in relation to the connecting element into a fourth rotational position (the device as shown would able to be rotated to an additional transitional position).
Regarding claim 9, Crotty et al. further discloses wherein the retaining region of the retaining element, is associated with at least one, wedge-shaped or ramp-shaped, clamping region (Fig. 2 shows 90-92 being wedge/ramp shaped) or at least one, helix-shaped, clamping region ,which, when the assembly is transitioned into its fixed state, when the retaining element is rotated from its second rotational position into its fourth rotational position, is rotated into a gap-shaped region, between the retaining region of the retaining element, and the edge region of the body component surrounding the fastening opening of the body component, by exerting a leverage effect (Figs. 7A-7C as shown).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the base body of the connecting element comprises a base region (43, 44, 45) that is adapted to the size or geometry of the fastening opening of the body component (Fig. 2 as shown), which base region is received in the fastening opening of the body component in the pre-fixation state and in the fixed state of the assembly (Figs. 7A-7C as shown), wherein the base region is elastically deformable in the insertion direction, such that, when the in particular wedge-shaped or ramp-shaped clamping region is twisted in, it is elastically deformed due to the leverage effect exerted thereby (Fig. 7C as shown).
Regarding claim 11, Crotty III et al. further discloses wherein the support surface of the base body of the connecting element is adapted to the geometry or size of the edge region, such that, at least in a pre-assembly or delivery state of the assembly and further in a pre-fixation state of the assembly, the edge region of the retaining element rests on the support surface of the connecting element (Figs. 7B-7C as shown).
Regarding claim 12, Croty III et al. further discloses
wherein at least one recess (74) is formed in the crown region of the retaining element, and wherein the connecting element comprises a region (60) complementary to the at least one recess of the crown region and protruding in the direction of the receptacle opening of the connecting element, which region is formed such that, only in the first rotational position of the retaining element, the retaining element is connectable to the connecting element, such that the crown region of the retaining element rests on the support surface of the connecting element (Fig. 7C as shown),
wherein the at least one region protruding in the direction of the receptacle opening of the connecting element is arranged so that it is offset from the plane in which the crown region of the retaining element is located, such that the at least one region protruding in the direction of the receptacle opening of the connecting element blocks a release of the connection between the retaining element and the connecting element in the second rotational position of the retaining element (Fig. 7B as shown).
Regarding claim 13, Croty III et al. further disclose a locking or blocking element (100) for establishing a location or position of the retaining element in relation to the connecting element.
Regarding claim 14, Croty III et al. further discloses
wherein the retaining element comprises a base body (72) with a retaining region (Fig. 2 as shown) at a first end region of the base body, and the connecting element comprises a base body (32) with a receptacle opening (36) through which the retaining region of the retaining element, is insertable (Figs. 7a-7C as shown), or
wherein the assembly is configured to be transitioned from a pre-assembly state, in which the retaining region of the retaining element is insertable or inserted through a fastening opening in the body component, into a fixed state, in which the retaining region of the retaining element inserted through the fastening opening of the body component exerts a force, which acts on the edge region of the body component surrounding the fastening opening against the insertion direction, in order to fix the connecting element to the body component, or
wherein the assembly further comprises a locking or blocking element for establishing a location or position of the retaining element in relation to the connecting element,
wherein the locking or blocking element is configured to be transitioned from a first state, in which the assembly is in its pre-assembly state, into a second state, in which the assembly is in its fixed state,
wherein the assembly comprises at least one element formed, when the locking or blocking element is transitioned from its first state into its second state, in order to translate a movement, of the locking or blocking element in relation to the connecting element into a rotational movement of the retaining element in relation to the connecting element in order to transition the assembly into its fixed state.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has argued that Croty III et al. fails to disclose an interior component and body component. However, the claim construction does not appear to positively claim these components. Claim 1 includes the phrases “for fastening,” “is connectable,” and “for retaining” when describing the interior and body components. These appear to be examples of intended use failing to limit the structure of the claimed invention. The prior art must only be capable of performing said functional recitations to be applicable and in the instant case, the prior art of Croty III et al. is indeed capable. However, for the sake of argument Examiner has included structures within the prior art that read upon the interior and body component. Croty III et al. as demonstrated above, discloses all the limitations as claimed and all the limitations functionally intended.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments to the rejections under 112 regarding the rotational positions, references to passages in the Specification are not sufficient to overcome these rejections. These passages broadly describe these positions in functional terms but fail to link relative structural positions of the components to each of these positions. As previously noted and repeated herewith, the drawings fail to further clarify these rotational positions.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677