DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
Claims 1-24 are currently pending, of which claims 5, 13 and 18-22 are withdrawn. Claims 1, 6-9, and 14-15 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 6 recites that the overlapping layers of fabric comprise superimposed layers of fabric however, in order for the first and second layers of fabric to overlap they will necessarily be superimposed. Thus, claim 6 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 1 from which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 7 is rejected as being dependent upon not further limiting claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-12, 15-17 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poppe (US 2008/0271250) in view of Blazar (US 2014/0082846) in view of Alletto (US 2014/0096323).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Poppe discloses a pillow comprising a sleeve (11) made of fabric (0037) and forming a primary receptacle. The sleeve having overlapping/superimposed layers of fabric e.g., a first/top layer coupled to a second/bottom layer, and having first and second side surfaces, respectfully (Fig. 1). A comfort layer (5) formed of a compressible resilient temperature-sensitive elastic material (instant gel material; 0014 and 0022), and protruding from the first and second surfaces of the first and second sides of the first and second fabric (e.g., top and bottom; Fig. 1). The comfort material defining a plurality of interconnected walls (Fig. 2) where the plurality of interconnected walls comprises a central region at an approximate middle of the first cushion (Fig. 1).
Poppe does not teach the comfort layer fixed to the surface of the first and second side of the fabric or that the height of the walls gradually tapers from the central region toward an outer periphery of the plurality of interconnected walls located at or near an edge of the first cushion.
Regarding the fixing of the comfort material, Blazar, in the analogous field of pillows (0004), teaches a fabric cover firmly fixed to at least one surface of a cushion element (0026, 0031-0035).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the comfort layer of Poppe to be fixed to a surface of the fabric, as taught by Blazar, to afford more stability to allow the pillow to be washed more frequently without deterioration thereby extending the life and its overall value to a consumer (0026).
Regarding the height of the comfort layers walls, Alletto, in the analogous field of pillows (0006), teaches an embodiment in which fill material is located both outside of an inner cover (48) and inside of an outer cover (12), where the fill material (52) is a solid foam layer in which the shape gradually tapers from a central region toward an outer periphery of the edge of the pillow (Fig. 6 and 7, 0031).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have adapted the shape of Alletto’s fill material, for the shape of the comfort layer of Poppe, to impart the overall shape of a pillow which supports the head and neck of a person (0005 and 0031).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Poppe teaches a plurality of first and second interconnected walls having first and second array of voids (Fig. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 4, Poppe teaches the first and second plurality of interconnected walls are aligned (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Poppe teaches the sleeve fabric layers are superimposed where the first comfort layer protrudes from the first layer of the superimposed layer of fabric and the second cushion protrudes from a second layer of the superimposed layer of fabric (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Poppe discloses a pillow comprising a sleeve (11) made of fabric (0037) and forming a primary receptacle. The sleeve having overlapping layers of fabric e.g., a first/top layer coupled to a second/bottom layer, and having first and second side surfaces, respectfully (Fig. 1). A comfort layer (5) formed of a compressible resilient temperature-sensitive elastic material (instant gel material; 0014 and 0022), and protruding from the first and second surfaces of the first and second sides of the fabric (e.g., top and bottom; Fig. 1). The comfort material defining a plurality of interconnected walls (Fig. 2) where the plurality of interconnected walls comprises a central region at an approximate middle of the first cushion (Fig. 1).
Poppe does not teach the comfort layer fixed to the surface of the first and second side of the fabric or that the height of the walls gradually tapers from the central region toward an outer periphery of the plurality of interconnected walls located at or near an edge of the first cushion.
Regarding the fixing of the comfort material, Blazar, in the analogous field of pillows (0004), teaches a fabric cover firmly fixed to at least one surface of a cushion element (0026, 0031-0035).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the comfort layer of Poppe to be fixed to a surface of the fabric, as taught by Blazar, to afford more stability to allow the pillow to be washed more frequently without deterioration thereby extending the life and its overall value to a consumer (0026).
Regarding the height of the comfort layers walls, Alletto, in the analogous field of pillows (0006), teaches an embodiment in which fill material is located both outside of an inner cover (48) and inside of an outer cover (12), where the fill material (52) is a solid foam layer in which the shape gradually tapers from a central region toward an outer periphery of the edge of the pillow (Fig. 6 and 7, 0031).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have adapted the shape of Alletto’s fill material, for the shape of the comfort layer of Poppe, to impart the overall shape of a pillow which supports the head and neck of a person (0005 and 0031).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Poppe teaches a plurality of first and second interconnected walls having first and second array of voids (Fig. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 12, Poppe teaches the first and second plurality of interconnected walls are aligned (Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 15 and 23-24, Poppe discloses a pillow comprising a sleeve (11) made of fabric (0037) and forming a primary receptacle. The sleeve having overlapping layers of fabric e.g., a first/top layer coupled to a second/bottom layer, and having first and second side surfaces, respectfully (Fig. 1). A comfort layer (5) formed of a compressible resilient temperature-sensitive elastic material (instant gel material; 0014 and 0022), and protruding from the first and second surfaces of the first and second sides of the fabric (e.g., top and bottom; Fig. 1). The comfort material defining a plurality of interconnected walls (Fig. 2) where the plurality of interconnected walls comprises a central region at an approximate middle of the first cushion (Fig. 1).
Poppe does not teach the comfort layer fixed to the surface of the first and second side of the fabric or that the height of the walls gradually tapers from the central region toward an outer periphery of the plurality of interconnected walls located at or near an edge of the first cushion.
Regarding the fixing of the comfort material, Blazar, in the analogous field of pillows (0004), teaches a fabric cover firmly fixed to at least one surface of a cushion element (0026, 0031-0035).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the comfort layer of Poppe to be fixed to a surface of the fabric, as taught by Blazar, to afford more stability to allow the pillow to be washed more frequently without deterioration thereby extending the life and its overall value to a consumer (0026).
Regarding the height of the comfort layers walls, Alletto, in the analogous field of pillows (0006), teaches an embodiment in which fill material is located both outside of an inner cover (48) and inside of an outer cover (12), where the fill material (52) is a solid foam layer in which the shape gradually tapers from a central region toward an outer periphery of the edge of the pillow (Fig. 6 and 7, 0031).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have adapted the shape of Alletto’s fill material, for the shape of the comfort layer of Poppe, to impart the overall shape of a pillow which supports the head and neck of a person (0005 and 0031).
Due to the taper from the central region, the height of the interconnected walls at the outer periphery will necessarily be shorter than at the center.
Regarding claims 16, Poppe teaches a plurality of first and second interconnected walls having first and second array of voids (Fig. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 17, Poppe teaches the first and second plurality of interconnected walls are aligned (Fig. 1).
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poppe in view of Blazar in view of Alletto as applied to claims 1 or 9 above, and further in view of Pearce et al. (US 2005/0017396).
Regarding claims 8 and 14, modified Poppe discloses the limitations of claim 1 or claim 9 as discussed above. Poppe does not teach the fabric sleeve comprising cotton.
Pearce, in the analogous field of cushioning devices (0002), teaches a cushion comprising a cover of fabric like cotton (0159).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the fabric of Poppe to include cotton, as taught by Pearce, as this is a durable and attractive fabric for a cover (0159).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the sleeve of Poppe does not teach of suggest overlapping layers of fabric comprising and first fabric coupled with a second fabric, and forming a primary receptacle.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. A sleeve necessarily comprises a structure of a first (top) layer of fabric coupled with a second (bottom) layer of fabric and which forms a receptacle.
Applicant argues that Poppe does not teach the fabrics are fixed to the first and second cushions.
The examiner agrees Poppe does not teach this structure. The examiner directs applicant to the rejection above in which Blazar was cited for teaching firmly fixing a fabric cover to the cushion elements.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781