DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23 and 26 recites the limitation "the RAN network element". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 21-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ryu et al. (hereinafter “Ryu”, WO2020185949).
As per claim 1, Ryu disclosed an information processing method, wherein the method is performed by a radio access network (RAN) network element (see at least fig. 27, base station) and comprises receiving fifth information (see at least fig. 27, paging message) from an access and mobility management function (AMF), wherein the fifth information comprises at least one of indication information indicating to send a paging cause (see at least 00349-0350); and performing a fifth operation based on the fifth information, wherein the fifth operation comprises sending a paging cause (see at least 0348-0350).
As per claims 2, 22, and 25, Ryu disclose the fifth information operation further comprises a paging cause value (see at least 0318-0323); an operation of determining the paging cause value comprises determining the paging cause value based on a differentiated services code point (DSCP) value in a data packet (see 0309-0311 and 0327); and an operation of sending the paging cause comprises comprising determined paging cause value in a first message (see at least 0319 and 0348-0350).
As per claims 3, 23, and 26, Ryu disclose the sending a paging cause comprises sending the paging cause in a case that a twelfth condition is satisfied (see 0349-0352), wherein the twelfth condition comprises at least one of that the determined paging cause value is a voice (see at least0329, 0349, 0378-0379).
As per claims 21 and 26, as rejected above in claim 1, Ryu disclosed a network side device (see at least fig. 27, UE), comprising a processor and memory comprising program or instruction (inherently).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/03/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant’s stated that, “Ryu does not disclose or suggest comprises receiving fifth information from an access and mobility management function (AMF), wherein the fifth information comprises at least one of indication information indicating to send a paging cause”. In response to the Applicant, Ryu disclose that the receiving fifth information (see at least fig. 27, paging message) from an access and mobility management function (AMF), wherein the fifth information comprises at least one of indication information indicating to send a paging cause (see at least 00349-0350). Also, The Applicant’s stated that, “Ryu is completely silent on receiving from the AMF any indication information indicating that a paging cause function is supported”. In response to the Applicant, Ryu has teach at least one of the claimed limitation as required. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1, 21, and 26 are proper.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Pablo Tran whose telephone number is (571)272-7898. The examiner normal hours are 9:30 -5:00 (Monday-Friday). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jinsong Hu, can be reached at (571)272-3965. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) System. Status information for
Published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see httpr//pair-directauspto.gov. Should
You have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (in USA or CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
June 12, 2026
/PABLO N TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643