DETAILED ACTION
This is an AIA application filed July 17, 2023.
The earliest effective filing date of this AIA application is seen as August 9, 2022, the date of the earliest priority application (United States provisional patent application serial number 63/396,507) for any claims which are fully supported under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) by the provisional application.
The effective filing date of this AIA application is seen as July 17, 2023, the actual filing date, for any claims that are not fully supported by the foregoing provisional or non-provisional application(s).
The claims originally filed July 17, 2023 are entered, currently outstanding, and subject to examination.
This action is in response to the filing of April 3, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and outstanding.
No claims have been amended, cancelled, withdrawn, or added.
Claims 1-20 are currently outstanding and subject to examination.
This is a non-final action and is the first action on the merits.
Allowable subject matter is not indicated below.
Often, in the substance of the action below, formal matters are addressed first, claim rejections second, and any response to arguments third.
Special Definitions for Claim Language - MPEP § 2111.01(IV)
No special definitions as defined by MPEP § 2111.01(IV) are seen as present in the specification regarding the language used in the claims. Consequently, the words and phrases of the claims are given their plain meaning. MPEP §§ 2173.01, 2173.05(a), and 2111.01.
If special definitions are present, Applicant should bring those to the attention of the examiner and the prosecution history with its next response in a manner both specific and particular. In doing so, there will be no mistake, confusion, and/or ambiguity as to what constitutes the special definition(s). Per above, such special definitions must conform to the requirements of MPEP § 2111.01(IV).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20180062347 of Hodges et al. (Hodges, cited by Applicant).
With respect to claim 1, Hodges discloses (Figs. 1A-E, ¶¶ 18 et seq.) an optical package (Figs. 1C/D) comprising:
a base plate (first cooling plate 102A and second cooling plate 102B as combined in the drawings/figures) with a first side (Fig. 1C) and a second side (Fig. 1D) opposite the first side (per the Figs.),
wherein the base plate (102A/B) has a coolant channel (channels 104A/B) positioned between the first side and the second side;
a first set of optics (first components 130A) coupled with the first side of the base plate (Fig. 1C; ¶ 27: "First components 130A or second components 130B may include any type of electronic or other devices known to a person of ordinary skill in the art, e.g., laser diode drivers, pump diodes, and the like."),
wherein at least one of the first set of optics (130A) is thermally coupled with the coolant channel (¶ 28, "In an embodiment, at least one first component 130A may be mounted over at least one first channel 104A and a corresponding at least one first tubing 106A to ensure that the at least one first component 130A maintains a substantially uniform temperature during operation."); and
a second set of optics (second components 130B) coupled with the second side of the base plate (Fig. 1D and ¶ 27 per above),
wherein at least one of the second set of optics (130B) is thermally coupled with the coolant channel (¶ 28, "Similarly, at least one second component 130B may be mounted over at least one second channel 104B and a corresponding at least one second tubing 106B to ensure that the at least one second component 130B maintains a substantially uniform temperature during operation)."
With respect to claim 2, Hodges as set forth above discloses the optical package of claim 1, including one wherein
the base plate is a unitary physical element.
¶ 24, "In an embodiment, first cooling plate 102A may be removably attached or secured to second cooling plate 102B back face 116A to back face 116B using any number or type of fasteners 120 known to a person of ordinary skill in the art, e.g., screws, bolts, nuts, and the like."
With respect to claim 3, Hodges as set forth above discloses the optical package of claim 1, including one wherein the base plate (102A/B) includes:
an input fluid port (inlet end 108A) by which liquid coolant can flow into the coolant channel; and
an output fluid port (outlet end 110A) by which the liquid coolant can flow out of the coolant channel.
With respect to claim 4, Hodges as set forth above discloses the optical package of claim 1, including one wherein the base plate includes
copper, aluminum, graphite, a ceramic material, or diamond.
¶ 19, "First cooling plate 102A or second cooling plate 102B may include any thermally conductive material known to a person of ordinary skill in the art. In an embodiment, first cooling plate 102A or second cooling plate 102B may be made of any thermally conductive metal known to a person of ordinary skill in the art, e.g., aluminum."
The person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention is seen to know all the materials listed in claim 4. See also MPEP § 2144.07 for the viewpoint that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination.
With respect to claim 5, Hodges as set forth above discloses the optical package of claim 1, including one wherein
the first set of optics has a same physical configuration as the second set of optics.
Per Figs. 1C and 1D, all the elements are square.
With respect to claim 6, Hodges as set forth above discloses the optical package of claim 1, including one wherein
the first set of optics has a different physical configuration than the second set of optics.
When placed back to back, the elements 130A/B would align in different directions.
With respect to claim 8, Hodges as set forth above discloses the optical package of claim 1, but not one wherein
the base plate has a height as measured from the first side to the second side of between 5 and 20 millimeters (mm).
Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A).
As the scope of claim 8 departs from that of claim 1 only with regards to the relative dimensions, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device of Hodges as set forth above.
The size of the Hodges device may be made to any specification without losing efficiency. Herein and below, this analysis is referred to as “relative dimensions/size”.
With respect to claim 15, Hodges as set forth above discloses a method of forming an optical package, wherein the method comprises:
identifying a base plate with a first side and a second side opposite the first side,
wherein the base plate has a coolant channel positioned between the first side and the second side;
physically coupling a first set of optics with the first side of the base plate such that at least one of the first set of optics is thermally coupled with the coolant channel; and
physically coupling a second set of optics with the second side of the base plate such that at least one of the second set of optics is thermally coupled with the coolant channel.
The method of claim 15 would naturally occur in the making of a device according to claim 1, above.
With respect to claim 17, Hodges as set forth above discloses the method of claim 15, including one wherein
the base plate is a unitary physical element.
The method of claim 17 above would naturally occur in the construction and/or manufacture of a device as set forth in claim 2, above.
With respect to claim 18, Hodges as set forth above discloses the method of claim 15, including one wherein,
subsequent to the physical coupling of the first and second sets of optics,
the first set of optics has a same physical configuration as the second set of optics.
The method of claim 18 above would naturally occur in the construction and/or manufacture of a device as set forth in claim 5, above.
Selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946), MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(C).
Below, this is referred to as “step selection”.
With respect to claim 19, Hodges as set forth above discloses the method of claim 15, including one wherein,
subsequent to the physical coupling of the first and second sets of optics,
the first set of optics has a different physical configuration than the second set of optics.
The method of claim 19 above would naturally occur in the construction and/or manufacture of a device as set forth in claim 6, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9-14, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hodges as set forth above in view of U.S. Patent No. 5222170 of Bargar et al. (Bargar, cited by Applicant).
With respect to claim 7, Hodges as set forth above discloses the optical package of claim 1, but not one wherein:
the first set of optics includes
a first diode,
a first optical component, and
a first optical fiber coupling; and
the second set of optics includes
a second diode,
a second optical component, and
a second optical fiber coupling.
Bargar discloses an optical fiber device fabrication that includes (Figs. 1-3):
a set of optics (package 100) that includes
a first diode (laser 6 is a semiconductor laser per claim 10; semiconductor lasers are laser diodes),
a first optical component (lens on the end of the optical fiber 16), and
a first optical fiber coupling ("An optical fiber pigtail 14 with an end portion mounted in a feedthrough tube 9 and secured by a crimp 15 is fixed in the package in optically coupled relationship with the laser 6." per col. 4, ll. 54 and adjacent).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an optical package along the lines of Hodges in a system according to Hodges as set forth above in order to provide temperature-regulated optical signals. This provides one rationale to combine the references.
Another completely independent and separately sufficient rationale arises as follows. In making the combination (above), prior art elements (listed above) are combined according to known methods (per the references) to yield predictable results (an optical signal system) would occur as each element merely performs the same function in combination as it does separately. MPEP § 2141(III). This additional rationale is a sufficient, a complete, and an explicitly-recognized rationale to combine the references and conclude that the claim is obvious both under the controlling KSR Supreme Court case and MPEP § 2141(III)(A). Current Office policy regarding the determination of obviousness is set forth in the Federal Register notice at 89 Fed. Reg. 14449 (Feb. 27, 2024).
Additionally, mere duplication of parts has no distinguishing significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B). Consequently, optical devices along the lines of Bargar may be duplicated as needed.
Consequently, the combination would then provide:
the first set of optics includes
a first diode,
a first optical component, and
a first optical fiber coupling; and
the second set of optics includes
a second diode,
a second optical component, and
a second optical fiber coupling.
With respect to claim 9, Hodges as set forth above (Figs. 1A-E, ¶¶ 18 et seq.) discloses a base plate (102A/B) for use in an optical package (Figs. 1C/D), wherein the base plate comprises:
a first side to physically couple with a first set of optics (per claim 1) that includes a first laser diode (per Bargar; see claim 7, above);
a second side to physically couple with a second set of optics that includes a second laser diode (per claim 1 and Bargar);
a coolant channel positioned between the first side and the second side (per claim 1, Hodges);
an input fluid port configured to allow liquid coolant to flow into the coolant channel (per claim 1); and
an output fluid port configured to allow the liquid coolant to flow from the coolant channel (per claim 1);
wherein the liquid coolant is to thermally couple with the first laser diode when the first laser diode is physically coupled with the first side (per claim 7), and
the liquid coolant is to thermally couple with the second laser diode when the second laser diode is physically coupled with the second side (per claim 7).
With respect to claim 10, Hodges in view of Bargar as set forth above discloses the base plate of claim 9, including one wherein
the base plate is a unitary physical element.
Per claim 2.
With respect to claim 11, Hodges in view of Bargar as set forth above discloses the base plate of claim 9, wherein the liquid coolant includes
water, a dielectric fluid, a mineral oil, or a refrigerant.
Hodges, ¶ 39, "The cooling fluid may be any fluid capable of cooling the cooling plate and thus, removing heat from the system, known to a person of ordinary skill in the art, e.g., water."
The person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention is seen to know all the materials listed in claim 11. See also MPEP § 2144.07 for the viewpoint that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination.
With respect to claim 12, Hodges in view of Bargar as set forth above discloses the base plate of claim 9, including one wherein the base plate includes
copper, aluminum, graphite, a ceramic material, or diamond.
¶ 19, "First cooling plate 102A or second cooling plate 102B may include any thermally conductive material known to a person of ordinary skill in the art. In an embodiment, first cooling plate 102A or second cooling plate 102B may be made of any thermally conductive metal known to a person of ordinary skill in the art, e.g., aluminum."
The person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention is seen to know all the materials listed in claim 4. See also MPEP § 2144.07 for the viewpoint that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination.
With respect to claim 13, Hodges in view of Bargar as set forth above discloses the base plate of claim 9, including one wherein:
the first set of optics further includes a first lens and a first optical fiber coupling; and
the second set of optics includes a second lens and a second optical fiber coupling.
Per claim 7, above.
With respect to claim 14, Hodges in view of Bargar as set forth above discloses the base plate of claim 9, including one wherein
the base plate has a height as measured from the first side to the second side of between 5 and 20 millimeters (mm).
Per claim 8, above. Relative dimensions/size.
With respect to claim 16, Hodges in view of Bargar as set forth above discloses the method of claim 15, including one further comprising
adjusting,
subsequent to the physical coupling of the first set of optics and prior to the physical coupling of the second set of optics,
a physical pose of a lens or mirror of the first set of optics.
Per claim 7, a lens is included which would require adjusting, or setting, its pose for the device to work properly. Step selection is not seen as a limiting distinction per claim 18, above
With respect to claim 20, Hodges in view of Bargar as set forth above discloses the method of claim 15, wherein:
the first set of optics includes
a first diode,
a first optical component, and
a first optical fiber coupling; and
the second set of optics includes
a second diode,
a second optical component, and
a second optical fiber coupling.
See claim 7, above.
The method of claim 20 above would naturally occur in the construction and/or manufacture of a device as set forth in claim 7, above.
Conclusion
Applicant’s publication US 20240053554 A1 published February 15, 2024 is cited.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references have elements related to Applicant’s disclosure and/or claims or are otherwise associated with the other cited references, particularly with respect to thermal regulation of optical systems and the like.
/Andrew Jordan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874
V: (571) 270-1571 (Pacific time)
F: (571) 270-2571
January 4, 2026