DETAILED ACTION Acknowledgment is made of applicant's amendment filed 6/26/26.
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 6/26/26 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
5. Claims 1 – 5, 11 – 14 and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamoto et al. (2019/0145839, hereinafter Miyamoto - See IDS dated 1/17/24) in view of Nihei et al. (7,703,349, hereinafter Nihei).
Regarding claim 1, Miyamoto discloses an apparatus comprising a first
communication interface 53 configured to receive an analog output associated with a
sensor 30, a processor 40 configured to use the analog output associated with the sensor to generate a sequence of discrete or digital values derived from the analog output associated with the sensor; and a second communication interface 53 coupled to the processor and configured to send at least a subset of the sequence of discrete values derived from the analog output associated with the sensor to a control module, wherein the sensor 30 is located at or near a distal end of a robotic arm 10 and the sensor acquisition device 40 is located at or near a base 110 of the robotic arm (See Figs. 2 and 3, See Pg. 3, Paras. 0047 - 0051 and Pg. 4, Para. 0056). Miyamoto fails to disclose a first communication interface configured to receive via an analog signal cable an analog output, the sensor is located remotely from the sensor acquisition device and the sensor is connected to the sensor acquisition device via the analog signal cable, the analog signal cable having a first end connected to the sensor at or near the distal end of the robotic arm and a second end connected to the sensor acquisition device at or near the base of the robotic arm. However, Nihei discloses an apparatus comprising a first communication interface configured to receive via an analog signal cable CB an analog output, a sensor C/S located remotely from a sensor acquisition device 30, the sensor being connected to the sensor acquisition device via the analog signal cable, the analog signal cable having a first end connected to the sensor at or near the distal end of a robotic arm 47 and a second end connected to the sensor acquisition device at or near a base 11 of the robotic arm (See Fig. 2, See Col. 3, lines 7 – 10, 28 – 35 and 47 – 65 and Col. 4, lines 27 – 39). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Miyamoto according to the teachings of Nihei for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device is capable of preventing an interference with external devices in a periphery of a forearm of a robot (See Nihei, Col. 2, lines 3 – 5).
Regarding claim 2, in Miyamoto, the sensor comprises a force or torque sensor (See Pg. 3, Para. 0047). Regarding claim 3, in Miyamoto, the sensor comprises a load cell (See Pg. 3, Para. 0051).
Regarding claim 4, in Miyamoto, the sensor comprises a plurality of load cells (See Pg. 3, Para. 0051).
Regarding claim 5, in Miyamoto, each of the plurality of load cells comprises one or more strain gauges (See Pg. 3, Para. 0051).
Regarding claim 11, in Miyamoto, the control module is configured to use the discrete values to compute one or more of a force and a moment (See Pg. 3, Para. 0050).
Regarding claim 12, in Miyamoto, the control module is further configured to use one or both of the computed force and the computed moment to determine a control action to control a robotic device 100 the control module is configured to control (See Fig. 1, See Pg. 2, Para. 0044).
Regarding claim 13, in Miyamoto, the robotic device comprises a robotic arm 100 (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, in Miyamoto, the robotic arm is equipped with an end effector 17 at a free moving distal end of the robotic arm and the sensor 30 is mounted at or near a mount structure by which the end effector is mounted to the robotic arm (See Fig. 1, See Pg. 2, Para. 0045). Regarding claim 18, in Miyamoto, the sensor comprises a plurality of load cells that are each located at a corresponding position and are each oriented as a corresponding orientation (See Pg. 3, Para. 0051).
Regarding claim 19, in Miyamoto, an analog output associated with a sensor is received at a sensor acquisition device via a first communication interface 53, the analog output is used to generate a sequence of discrete or digital values derived from the analog output associated with the sensor; and at least a subset of the sequence of discrete values derived from the analog output associated with the sensor is sent to a control module via a second communication interface 53, wherein the sensor 30 is located at or near a distal end of a robotic arm 10 and the sensor acquisition device 40 is located at or near a base 110 of the robotic arm (See Figs. 2 and 3, See Pg. 3, Paras. 0047 0051 and Pg. 4, Para. 0056). Miyamoto fails to disclose a sensor that is located remotely from the sensor acquisition device and the sensor is connected to the sensor acquisition device via the analog signal cable, the analog signal cable having a first end connected to the sensor at or near the distal end of the robotic arm and a second end connected to the sensor acquisition device at or near the base of the robotic arm. However, Nihei discloses an apparatus comprising a first communication interface configured to receive via an analog signal cable CB an analog output, a sensor C/S located remotely from a sensor acquisition device 30, the sensor being connected to the sensor acquisition device via the analog signal cable, the analog signal cable having a first end connected to the sensor at or near the distal end of a robotic arm 47 and a second end connected to the sensor acquisition device at or near a base 11 of the robotic arm (See Fig. 2, See Col. 3, lines 7 – 10, 28 – 35 and 47 – 65 and Col. 4, lines 27 – 39). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Miyamoto according to the teachings of Nihei for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device is capable of preventing an interference with external devices in a periphery of a forearm of a robot (See Nihei, Col. 2, lines 3 – 5).
Regarding claim 20, in Miyamoto, an analog output associated with a sensor is received at a sensor acquisition device via a first communication interface 53, the analog output is used to generate a sequence of discrete or digital values derived from the analog output associated with the sensor; and at least a subset of the sequence of discrete values derived from the analog output associated with the sensor is sent to a control module via a second communication interface 53, wherein the sensor 30 is located at or near a distal end of a robotic arm 10 and the sensor acquisition device 40 is located at or near a base 110 of the robotic arm (See Figs. 2 and 3, See Pg. 3, Paras. 0047 - 0051 and Pg. 4, Para. 0056). Miyamoto fails to disclose a sensor that is located remotely from the sensor acquisition device and the sensor is connected to the sensor acquisition device via the analog signal cable, the analog signal cable having a first end connected to the sensor at or near the distal end of the robotic arm and a second end connected to the sensor acquisition device at or near the base of the robotic arm. However, Nihei discloses an apparatus comprising a first communication interface configured to receive via an analog signal cable CB an analog output, a sensor C/S located remotely from a sensor acquisition device 30, the sensor being connected to the sensor acquisition device via the analog signal cable, the analog signal cable having a first end connected to the sensor at or near the distal end of a robotic arm 47 and a second end connected to the sensor acquisition device at or near a base 11 of the robotic arm (See Fig. 2, See Col. 3, lines 7 – 10, 28 – 35 and 47 – 65 and Col. 4, lines 27 – 39). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Miyamoto according to the teachings of Nihei for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device is capable of preventing an interference with external devices in a periphery of a forearm of a robot (See Nihei, Col. 2, lines 3 – 5).
6. Claims 6 - 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Miyamoto and Nihei, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Reboulet et al. (FR2631118, hereinafter Reboulet).
Regarding claim 6, Miyamoto and Nihei fail to disclose that the plurality of load cells comprises three load cells, each arranged on a respective corresponding side of an equilateral triangle.
However, Reboulet discloses an apparatus comprising a plurality of load cells 5
that are arranged on a respective corresponding side of an equilateral triangle (See Fig.
4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Miyamoto and Nihei according to the teachings of Reboulet for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device is easily removable and repairable (See Reboulet, Pg. 2, lines 20 21).
Regarding claim 7, in Miyamoto, each of the three load cells is oriented to
measure force in a same z-axis direction (See Pg. 3, Para. 0050).
Regarding claim 8, in Miyamoto, the control module is configured to use the
discrete values to compute one or more of an associated force in the z-axis direction,
torque about an x-axis, and torque about a y-axis (See Pg. 3, Para. 0050).
Regarding claim 9, in Miyamoto, each of the three load cells is oriented to
measure force in a different direction along an axis that is orthogonal to a substantially
planar substrate of the load cell and which extends radially outward from a z-axis of
the sensor (See Pg. 3, Para. 0050).
Regarding claim 10, in Miyamoto, the control module is configured to use the
discrete values to compute one or more of an associated force in an x-axis direction,
an associated force in a y- axis direction, and a torque about the z-axis of the sensor
(See Pg. 3, Para. 0050).
7. Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Miyamoto and Nihei, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Otani et al. (2020/0033825, hereinafter Otani).
Regarding claim 15, Miyamoto and Nihei fail to disclose that the sensor comprises a first sensor, the analog output comprises a first analog output, and the device further comprises a third communication interface configured to receive a second analog output associated with a second sensor located remotely from the sensor acquisition device.
However, Otani discloses an apparatus comprising a sensor module 10 having a
first sensor 30X, an analog output comprising a first analog output, and a third
communication interface 96 configured to receive a second analog output associated
with a second sensor 40 located remotely from a sensor acquisition device (See Fig. 7,
See Pg. 9, Paras. 0108 - 0109, Pg. 10, Para. 0112 and Pg. 11, Para. 0119).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Miyamoto and Nihei according to the teachings of Otani for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since posture information can be obtained with high accuracy (See Otani, Pg. 20, Para. 0193).
Regarding claim 17, Miyamoto and Nihei fail to disclose that the sensor comprises a stack of sensors, each sensor in the stack comprising one or more load cells arranged and oriented in a manner associated with that sensor.
However, in Otani, the sensor module 10 includes a plurality of sensors evenly
applied in a package configuration (See Pg. 2, Para. 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Miyamoto and Nihei according to the teachings of Otani for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since posture information can be obtained with high accuracy (See Otani, Pg. 20, Para. 0193).
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments, on Pg. 5, Para. 3, with respect to these claims have
been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure.10. Grella (12,128,552) discloses a collaborative robot line management system. Hirata et al. (12,070,961) disclose a three-dimensional object printer. Lauzier et al. (10,866,150) disclose a force/torque sensor, apparatus and method for robot teaching and operation. 11. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON whose telephone number is (571)272-2176. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9am-5pm.
/OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 8/18/26