DETAILED ACTIONAcknowledgment is made of applicant’s amendment filed 12/19/25.Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is
incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA )
for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied
upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either
status.
that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1 - 5, 11 - 14 and 18 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as
being anticipated by Miyamoto et al. (2019/0145839, hereinafter Miyamoto - See IDS
dated 1/17/24).
Regarding claim 1, Miyamoto discloses an apparatus comprising a first
communication interface 53 configured to receive an analog output associated with a
sensor 30 located remotely from a sensor acquisition device 40, a processor 40
configured to use the analog output associated with the sensor to generate a sequence
of discrete or digital values derived from the analog output associated with the sensor;
and a second communication interface 53 coupled to the processor and configured to
send at least a subset of the sequence of discrete values derived from the analog
output associated with the sensor to a control module, wherein the sensor 30 is located at or near a distal end of a robotic arm 10 and the sensor acquisition device 40 is located at or near a base 110 of the robotic arm (See Figs. 2 and 3, See Pg. 3, Paras. 0047 – 0051 and Pg. 4, Para. 0056).
Regarding claim 2, the sensor comprises a force or torque sensor (See Pg. 3,
Para. 0047).
Regarding claim 3, the sensor comprises a load cell (See Pg. 3, Para. 0051).
Regarding claim 4, the sensor comprises a plurality of load cells (See Pg. 3,
Para. 0051).
Regarding claim 5, each of the plurality of load cells comprises one or more
strain gauges (See Pg. 3, Para. 0051).
Regarding claim 11, the control module is configured to use the discrete values
to compute one or more of a force and a moment (See Pg. 3, Para. 0050).
Regarding claim 12, the control module is further configured to use one or
both of the computed force and the computed moment to determine a control action
to control a robotic device 100 the control module is configured to control (See Fig.
1, See Pg. 2, Para. 0044).
Regarding claim 13, the robotic device comprises a robotic arm 100 (See Fig.
1).
Regarding claim 14, the robotic arm is equipped with an end effector 17 at a
free moving distal end of the robotic arm and the sensor 30 is mounted at or near a
mount structure by which the end effector is mounted to the robotic arm (See Fig. 1,
See Pg. 2, Para. 0045).
Regarding claim 18, the sensor comprises a plurality of load cells that are each
located at a corresponding position and are each oriented as a corresponding
orientation (See Pg. 3, Para. 0051).
Regarding claim 19, an analog output associated with a sensor located remotely
from the sensor acquisition device is received at a sensor acquisition device via a first
communication interface 53, the analog output is used to generate a sequence of
discrete or digital values derived from the analog output associated with the sensor;
and at least a subset of the sequence of discrete values derived from the analog output
associated with the sensor is sent to a control module via a second communication interface 53, wherein the sensor 30 is located at or near a distal end of a robotic arm 10 and the sensor acquisition device 40 is located at or near a base 110 of the robotic arm (See Figs. 2 and 3, See Pg. 3, Paras. 0047 – 0051 and Pg. 4, Para. 0056).
Regarding claim 20, an analog output associated with a sensor located remotely
from the sensor acquisition device is received at a sensor acquisition device via a first
communication interface 53, the analog output is used to generate a sequence of
discrete or digital values derived from the analog output associated with the sensor;
and at least a subset of the sequence of discrete values derived from the analog output
associated with the sensor is sent to a control module via a second communication
interface 53, wherein the sensor 30 is located at or near a distal end of a robotic arm 10 and the sensor acquisition device 40 is located at or near a base 110 of the robotic arm (See Figs. 2 and 3, See Pg. 3, Paras. 0047 – 0051 and Pg. 4, Para. 0056).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is
incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA )
for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied
upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either
status.
7. Claims 6 - 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Miyamoto in view of Reboulet et al. (FR2631118, hereinafter Reboulet).
Regarding claim 6, Miyamoto discloses an apparatus comprising a first
communication interface 53 configured to receive an analog output associated with a
sensor 30 located remotely from a sensor acquisition device 40, a processor 40
configured to use the analog output associated with the sensor to generate a sequence
of discrete or digital values derived from the analog output associated with the sensor;
and a second communication interface 53 coupled to the processor and configured to
send at least a subset of the sequence of discrete values derived from the analog
output associated with the sensor to a control module (See Figs. 2 and 3, See Pg. 3,
Paras. 0047 - 0051).
Miyamoto fails to disclose that the plurality of load cells comprises three load
cells, each arranged on a respective corresponding side of an equilateral triangle.
However, Reboulet discloses an apparatus comprising a plurality of load cells 5
that are arranged on a respective corresponding side of an equilateral triangle (See Fig.
4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Miyamoto
according to the teachings of Reboulet for the purpose of, advantageously providing
an improved device since this type of device is easily removable and repairable (See
Reboulet, Pg. 2, lines 20 - 21).
Regarding claim 7, in Miyamoto, each of the three load cells is oriented to
measure force in a same z-axis direction (See Pg. 3, Para. 0050).
Regarding claim 8, in Miyamoto, the control module is configured to use the
discrete values to compute one or more of an associated force in the z-axis direction,
torque about an x-axis, and torque about a y-axis (See Pg. 3, Para. 0050).
Regarding claim 9, in Miyamoto, each of the three load cells is oriented to
measure force in a different direction along an axis that is orthogonal to a substantially
planar substrate of the load cell and which extends radially outward from a z-axis of
the sensor (See Pg. 3, Para. 0050).
Regarding claim 10, in Miyamoto, the control module is configured to use the
discrete values to compute one or more of an associated force in an x-axis direction,
an associated force in a y- axis direction, and a torque about the z-axis of the sensor
(See Pg. 3, Para. 0050).
8. Claims 15 - 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Miyamoto in view of Otani et al. (2020/0033825, hereinafter Otani).
Regarding claim 15, Miyamoto fails to disclose that the sensor comprises a first
sensor, the analog output comprises a first analog output, and the device further
comprises a third communication interface configured to receive a second analog
output associated with a second sensor located remotely from the sensor acquisition
device.
However, Otani discloses an apparatus comprising a sensor module 10 having a
first sensor 30X, an analog output comprising a first analog output, and a third
communication interface 96 configured to receive a second analog output associated
with a second sensor 40 located remotely from a sensor acquisition device (See Fig. 7,
See Pg. 9, Paras. 0108 - 0109, Pg. 10, Para. 0112 and Pg. 11, Para. 0119).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Miyamoto
according to the teachings of Otani for the purpose of, advantageously providing an
improved device since posture information can be obtained with high accuracy (See
Otani, Pg. 20, Para. 0193).
Regarding claim 16, Miyamoto fails to disclose that the sensor interface device
comprises a first sensor interface device, the sensor comprises a first sensor, and the
analog output comprises a first analog output; and wherein the first sensor interface
device further comprises a third communication interface coupled to the processor
and configured to receive from a second sensor interface a network communication
comprising data generated by the second sensor interface based on a second analog
output received by the second sensor interface from a second sensor associated with
the second sensor interface.
However, Otani discloses an apparatus comprising a sensor module 10 having a
first sensor 30X, an analog output comprising a first analog output, and a third
communication interface 96 configured to receive a second analog output associated
with a second sensor 40 located remotely from a sensor acquisition device (See Fig. 7,
See Pg. 9, Paras. 0108 - 0109, Pg. 10, Para. 0112 and Pg. 11, Para. 0119).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Miyamoto
according to the teachings of Otani for the purpose of, advantageously providing an
improved device since posture information can be obtained with high accuracy (See
Otani, Pg. 20, Para. 0193).
Regarding claim 17, Miyamoto fails to disclose that the sensor comprises a
stack of sensors, each sensor in the stack comprising one or more load cells arranged
and oriented in a manner associated with that sensor.
However, in Otani, the sensor module 10 includes a plurality of sensors evenly
applied in a package configuration (See Pg. 2, Para. 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Miyamoto
according to the teachings of Otani for the purpose of, advantageously providing an
improved device since posture information can be obtained with high accuracy (See
Otani, Pg. 20, Para. 0193).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, on Pg. 6, lines 9 – 15 and Pg. 7, lines 1 – 8, filed
12/19/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s arguments that the references do not disclose a sensor located at or near a distal end of a robotic arm and a sensor acquisition device located at or near a base of the robot arm, it is the Examiner’s position that in Miyamoto, the control device 50 comprises the communication interfaces 53 and is disposed outside of the base 110, the force sensor 30 includes the force sensor 20 that is located at or near a distal end of the robotic arm 10 (See Figs. 1 and 2), and the sensor 30 is located remotely from the sensor acquisition device 40 since the sensor acquisition device is enabled to be configured separately from the sensor and is enable to be located at or near the base 110 of the robotic arm (See Pg. 4, Para. 0056), thus the reference still stands.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure.
Sun et al. (12,285,872) disclose a robotic system simulation engine. Su et al. (2021/0122039) disclose detecting slippage from robotic grasp.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented
in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.13. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON whose telephone number is (571)272-2176. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9am-5pm.
/OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 4/1/26