DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the PCT international search report by the China National Intellectual Property Administration have been considered, but will not be listed on any patent resulting from this application because they were not provided on a separate list in compliance with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1). In order to have the references printed on such resulting patent, a separate listing, preferably on a PTO/SB/08 form, must be filed within the set period for reply to this Office action.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In paragraphs [0011], [0020], [0041], [0042], [0050], [0061] and [0066], the recitation “clothes” should be corrected to recite “cloths”. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 5 recites “clothes” in steps 505, 510 and 515 which should be corrected to recite “cloths”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation “clothes” should be corrected to recite “cloths”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ciparro et al. (US 2021/0396495A1) [hereinafter Ciparro].
Regarding claim 1, Ciparro discloses a composite sheet (Figs. 1 and 5A-5C) comprising one or more outer fiber reinforcement layers (woven fabric layer(s)106), wherein at least one surface of the composite sheet is a first outer fiber reinforcement layer of the one or more outer fiber reinforcement layers (Figs. 1 and 5A-5C, layer 106), and one or more intermediate structural support layers (unidirectional fabric layer(s) 108), wherein the one or more intermediate structural support layers (108) comprise at least one of a carbon fiber cloth layer and a carbon glass fiber blend layer (paragraph [0025]), wherein a toughness of the one or more outer fiber reinforcement layers is higher than a toughness of the one or more intermediate structural support layers, since the outer fiber reinforcement layer(s) is a bi-directional woven fabric layer whereas the intermediate structural support layer(s) is unidirectional fabric layer which is substantially identical structure to that of the claimed composite sheet, and wherein a color of the one or more outer fiber reinforcement layers (106) is dyed or is different from a color of the one or more intermediate structural support layers (paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 2, Ciparro discloses another surface of the composite sheet is a second outer fiber reinforcement layer of the one or more outer fiber reinforcement layers (Fig. 1, layer 106).
Regarding claims 3-4, Ciparro discloses the one or more outer fiber reinforcement layers (106) comprise at least one of an aramid fiber cloth layer, an aramid carbon fiber blend layer, an aramid glass fiber blend layer and natural plant fiber layer (paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 5, the toughness of the one or more outer fiber reinforcement layers (106) is higher than two times of the toughness of the one or more intermediate structural support layers (108), since the one or more outer fiber reinforcement layers are bidirectional woven fabric layers which comprise at least one of aramid fiber cloth, an aramid carbon fiber blend or an aramid glass fiber blend and the one or more intermediate structural support layers are unidirectional woven layer which comprise either carbon fiber cloth or carbon glass fiber blend which is substantially identical to the structure of the claimed composite sheet.
Regarding claim 6, Ciparro discloses two adjacent layers are glued together by a thermoplastic resin coating or a thermosetting resin coating (paragraphs [0028] and [0031]).
Regarding claim 7, Ciparro discloses the first outer fiber reinforcement layer (106) is a bi-directional woven outer fiber reinforcement layer (Fig. 3; paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 8, Ciparro discloses a second outer fiber reinforcement layer of the one or more outer fiber reinforcement layers is a unidirectional woven outer fiber reinforcement layer (Figs. 5A-5C, layer 108; paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 9, Ciparro discloses the one or more intermediate structural support layers (layers 108) are unidirectional woven intermediate structural support layers (paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 10, Ciparro discloses wherein, except for the first outer fiber reinforcement layer, all other layers are stacked in such a way that first weaving directions of each pair of adjacent layers differ by no less than 0o and no greater than 180o (Figs. 1 and 5A-5C).
Regarding claim 11, Ciparro discloses the first weaving directions of each pair of adjacent layers differ by 45o (Figs. 1 and 5A-5C).
Regarding claim 12, Ciparro discloses an isotropic stacking is used on a set of layers that are to be cut (Figs. 1 and 5A-5C).
Regarding claim 13, Ciparro discloses bi-directional woven fabrics (layers 106) are used on a set of layers that are to be cut (Figs. 1 and 5A-5C).
Claims 14-17 define the product by how the product was made. The limitations recited in claims 14-17 are deemed process limitations. Thus, claims 14-17 are product-by-process claims. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a composite sheet comprising one or more outer fiber reinforcement layers comprising aramid fiber, wherein at least one surface of the composite sheet is a first outer fiber reinforcement layer of the one or more outer fiber reinforcement layers, and one or more intermediate structural support layers, wherein the one or more intermediate structural support layers comprise at least one of a carbon fiber cloth layer and a carbon glass fiber blend layer, wherein a toughness of the one or more outer fiber reinforcement layers is higher than a toughness of the one or more intermediate structural support layers, and wherein a color of the one or more outer fiber reinforcement layers is dyed or is different from a color of the one or more intermediate structural support layers. As shown above, Ciparro suggests such a product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself. MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 18, Ciparro discloses a composite sheet (Figs. 1 and 5A-5C) comprising one or more outer fiber reinforcement layers (woven fabric layer(s)106), wherein at least one surface of the composite sheet is a first outer fiber reinforcement layer of the one or more outer fiber reinforcement layers (Figs. 1 and 5A-5C, layer 106), and one or more intermediate structural support layers (unidirectional fabric layer(s) 108), wherein the one or more intermediate structural support layers (108) comprise at least one of a carbon fiber cloth layer and a carbon glass fiber blend layer (paragraph [0025]), wherein a toughness of the one or more outer fiber reinforcement layers is higher than a toughness of the one or more intermediate structural support layers, since the outer fiber reinforcement layer(s) is a bi-directional woven fabric layer whereas the intermediate structural support layer(s) is unidirectional fabric layer which is substantially identical structure to that of the claimed composite sheet, and wherein a color of the one or more outer fiber reinforcement layers (106) is dyed or is different from a color of the one or more intermediate structural support layers (paragraph [0024]).
The limitation “a section of a watch strap” in claim 18 has not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. The preamble “a section of a watch strap” is merely reciting the intended use of the claimed structure and a preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See MPEP 2111.02.
Regarding claim 19, Ciparro discloses the first outer fiber reinforcement layer (106) is an aramid fiber cloth layer, wherein the aramid fiber cloth layer is a bi-directional woven fabric (paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 20, Ciparro discloses the one or more intermediate structural support layers (layers 108) are unidirectional woven intermediate structural support layers (paragraph [0025]).
Conclusion
CATHERINE A. SIMONE
Examiner
Art Unit 1781
/Catherine A. Simone/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781