DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed November 24th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-9 have been cancelled by the applicant. Claims 10-12 are newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 10-11 have been considered but are moot because said claims are newly added and include new issues. New grounds of rejection have been issued.
Applicant argues that Luo (CN 215526843 U) fails to the disclose voice interaction control module of newly added claims 10 and 12, stating on pages 4 of the remarks filed November 24th, 2025 that “Luo's device can respond to voice commands but does not include a control circuit capable of autonomously generating and transmitting alarm signals through a dedicated voice interaction module.”
As cited in the previous Office Action and restated below, Luo explicitly teaches in figures 1-6 and at least paragraphs [n0014]-[n0015], [n0028], [n0030], and [n0032] a warning device comprising a voice interaction control module (fig. 1 and par.’s [n0014]-[n0015], [n0028], [n0030], and [n0032]: emergency call device connects to external warning devices via wifi and internet of things function as well as mobile phone operator card for intelligent voice services.) configured to send warning signals and communicate with IoT-enabled terminals (par. 14: “[…] the device has the Internet of Things function and contains intelligent voice services. Elderly people […] can also use the intelligent voice assistant to seek help when they need help. At the same time, when the elderly cannot speak, they can press the pressing plate, […] to activate the alarm device, which immediately alarms the elderly through the interconnected system, avoiding the situation where the elderly who are alone cannot get help in time when an accident occurs at home. It brings entertainment to the elderly in daily life and can also provide immediate help to the elderly when an accident occurs.”).
The words of the claims are given their plain meaning under the broadest reasonable interpretation as would be understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2111.01(I)). In the present instance one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the voice interaction control components and functionality of Luo’s device anticipate the voice interaction control module of new claims 10 and 12. Furthermore, the motivation to include as voice interaction and internet of things capability to facilitate emergency rescue is anticipated by Luo in paragraphs [n0014]-[n0015] and [n0030]-[n0032].
Accordingly, newly added claims 10 and 12 are rejected as cited below.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 line 12 “the voice interaction control module .is configured” appears to have a minor typographical error and should read “the voice interaction control module is configured”
Claim 11 line 2 “wherein the pull-cord switch is arranged along the bedside” should read “wherein the pull-cord switch is arranged along a bedside of a bed comprising the headboard”, “wherein the pull-cord switch is arranged along a side of the headboard”, or equivalent phrasing to properly align with the antecedent basis of the “headboard” established in claim 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luo (CN 215526843 U)1.
Regarding Claim 10: Luo discloses (in at least figures 1-6, the description, and the claims) a smart warning system for nursing beds (fig. 1 and par. [n004]: emergency call device), comprising:
a headboard (par. [n0013] and par. [n0028]: call device 1 can be installed near the head of a bed);
a main body shell fastened in the headboard (fig. 1 and par. [n0028]: main body 1. See also par. [n0013]: call device 1 can be installed near the head of a bed);
a control circuit board disposed in the main body shell (par.’s [n0015] and [n0032]: alarm circuit. See also par.’s [n0014], [n0028], and [n0030]: device includes processing for internet of things function and intelligent voice services);
a button switch disposed on the main body shell and electrically connected to the control circuit board (fig. 1 and par. [n003]: pressing plate 3. See also fig.’s 1 and 7 and par. [n00028]: pressing of pressing plate 3 compresses press trigger 7 to close alarm circuit activating alarm system);
a pull-cord switch disposed on a side of the main body shell (fig. 1 and par. [n0028]: pull switch 4 connected to pull rope 5. See also fig. 1 and par.’s [n0015]-[n0016] and [n0032]: pull rope 5 triggers pull switch 4 to close alarm circuit to activate alarm system);
a power module disposed in the main body shell and electrically connected to the control circuit board (fig. 1 and par.’s [n0028]-[n0029]: charging hole 12 connected to built-in internal battery); and
a warning device (fig. 1 and par.’s [n0014]-[n0015], [n0028], [n0030], and [n0032]: When activated, the emergency call device broadcasts audio through speakers in main body 1, sends a distress message to external devices over the internet, and call a mobile phone via the operator card installed in phone card slot 12 and the microphone/speaker assembly.) wirelessly connected to the control circuit board (fig. 1 and par.’s [n0014]-[n0015], [n0028], [n0030], and [n0032]: emergency call device connects to external warning devices via wifi and internet of things function as well as mobile phone operator card) and including a voice interaction control module (par. 30: “This device features IoT functionality and can connect to the internet via a mobile phone SIM card in slot 12 or via Wi-Fi. It includes intelligent voice services, allowing elderly people living alone to […] call for help by speaking, or dial emergency contacts via the mobile phone SIM card in slot 12, using the intelligent voice assistant for assistance […]This, along with the trigger rods 74 on both sides of the insertion rod 73, activates the alarm device, immediately alerting the elderly person through the interconnected system.” See also par. [n0028]: “A display light is fixedly installed on the outside of the speaker body 1, and a microphone hole is opened on the outside of the display light. A microphone assembly is fixedly installed on the bottom of the microphone hole, and the elderly can use the microphone assembly to call for help and communicate with rescuers by voice.”);
wherein the voice interaction control module .is configured to send warning signals (fig. 1 and par.’s [n0014]-[n0015], [n0028], [n0030], and [n0032]: emergency call device connects to external warning devices via wifi and internet of things function as well as mobile phone operator card for intelligent voice services. See par. 14: “the pressing plate is provided to realize that the device has the Internet of Things function and contains intelligent voice services. Elderly people […] can also use the intelligent voice assistant to seek help when they need help. At the same time, when the elderly cannot speak, they can press the pressing plate, […] to activate the alarm device, which immediately alarms the elderly through the interconnected system, avoiding the situation where the elderly who are alone cannot get help in time when an accident occurs at home. It brings entertainment to the elderly in daily life and can also provide immediate help to the elderly when an accident occurs.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Sakai (US 20070052538 A1).
Regarding Claim 11: Luo discloses smart warning system of claim 10, wherein the pull-cord switch is arranged along the bedside and is operable by a user in a lying posture (fig. 1, par. [n0013] and par. [n0028]: call device 1 with pull switch 4 connected to pull rope 5 can be installed and operate near the head of a bed. It is implicit from Luo’s teaching of device 1 with pull cord switch 4 being installed near the head of a bed can be operated by a person lying in said bed.
Luo does not explicitly disclose wherein the pull-cord switch is horizontally arranged.
Sakai discloses an analogous art (fig. 1, fig. 5, and par.’s 50-53: alarm device 1. See also par. 59) comprising a pull-cord switch (fig. 1, fig. 6 and par.’s 50-52: string 2) wherein the pull-cord switch is horizontally arranged along the bedside and is operable by a user in a lying posture (fig. 6 and par. 59: string 2 arranged horizontally between casing 1 and fixing means 7. See also fig. 5: alarm device 1 installed along the bedside with user in a lying posture.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Luo’s pull cord switch to, as taught by Sakai, be arranged horizontally thereby allowing the device to remain in a consistent and predictable location within reach of a sick or elderly person lying in bed in the event of an emergency or accident (Sakai fig.’s 5-6 and par. 59).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Zheng (CN 110299211 A)2.
Regarding Claim 12: Luo discloses the smart warning system of claim 10, wherein the voice interaction control module communicates with loT-enabled terminals to automatically activate smart home devices to facilitate emergency rescue (fig. 1, par.’s [n0028]-[n0030]: device includes automatic processing for internet of things function and intelligent voice services and par. [n0032]: When activated, the emergency call device broadcasts audio through speakers in main body 1 automatically sends a distress message to external devices over the internet, and call a mobile phone via the operator card installed in phone card slot 12 and the microphone/speaker assembly See also par.’s [n0014]-[n0015]: device connects to external monitoring devices via internet of things in the event of an accident or emergency).
Luo does not explicitly disclose wherein the smart home devices explicitly include lighting and smart door lock modules.
Zheng discloses an analogous art (fig. 2 and par.’s 47- 52: intelligent sickbed and ward safety nursing system 100) wherein an interaction control module communicates with loT-enabled terminals to automatically activate smart home devices including lighting and door lock modules to facilitate emergency rescue (par. 49: lighting module 117. See also par. 53: system connects to smart internet of things devices including also includes indicator light 120 and bathroom light 130 and IoT door locks.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the lighting and smart door lock modules, as taught by Zhen, to be included as smart home devices in the system of Luo thereby increasing the system’s ability to control the environment of the nursing bed and allow for greater safety and control in a patient’s environment (Zheng par.’s [0049] and [0053]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes:
Lu (CN 205068650 U) discloses the smart warning system for nursing beds according to claims 1, 3, 5, and certain aspects of claims 6-9.
Ahn (KR 20180045313 A) discloses the smart warning system for nursing beds according to certain aspects of claims 6-7.
Jaques (US 20020067273 A1) discloses the smart warning system for nursing beds according to claims 1, 3, 5, and certain aspects of claims 6-9.
Hime (US 7962979 B1) discloses the smart warning system for nursing beds according to certain aspects of claims 8-9.
Wright (US 5767774 A) discloses the smart warning system for nursing beds according to claims 1, 3, 5, and certain aspects of claims 6-9.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVAN MANCINI/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855 3/9/26
1 Citations made to attached translations of description.
2 Citations made to attached translation of description.