Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Perez-Collazo (US 6152061)
The limitations in the claims below are disclosed in Perez
1. A boat hull protection system, comprising: a frame (Abstract); a liner cable (31, 32, 33); and an adjustable liner 20, 21 Perez further discloses where the liner cable 31 secures the liner 21, 20 to the frame (upper portion of 20 – element 23).
2. The boat hull protection system of claim 1, wherein the frame (abstract – tubular) is formed from a material which allows the frame to float on a surface of a body of water into which the boat hull protection system is installed (the tubular frame inherently floats and also includes floating devices as well).
3. The boat hull protection system of claim 1, further comprising a gate system 21.
4, The boat hull protection system of claim 3, wherein an enclosed slip is formed within the boat hull protection system when the gate system is in a raised configuration (Clearly understood from figures 1, 2, 4 and 5).
5. The boat hull protection system of claim 3, wherein a boat may enter or leave a slip of the boat hull protection system when the gate system is in a lowered configuration (Clearly understood from figures 1, 2, 4 and 5).
6. The boat hull protection system of claim 1, wherein the adjustable liner comprises an anti- algae, or algae-resistant materials (“bacterial and fungal corrosion resistant, such as Pro-Liner 40.RTM”).
7. The boat hull protection system of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the adjustable liner is coated with an anti-algae or algae-resistant material (“bacterial and fungal corrosion resistant, such as Pro-Liner 40.RTM”).
8. The boat hull protection system of claim 1, wherein the adjustable liner is replaceable (inherently easily replaceable).
9. A gate system for a boat hull protection system, comprising: a gate member 21 secured to a portion of an adjustable liner 20 of a boat hull protection system; one or more gate cables 31 32 33; and one or more gate connection points (28, 38, 41) located about the boat hull protection system; wherein the gate member is configured to be raised or lowered by adjusting a configuration of the one or more gate cables in relation to the one or more gate connection points (See Fig. 1), thereby enclosing or opening a slip of the boat hull protection system (Clearly shown in Fig. 4 or 5).
10. The gate system of claim 9, wherein at least one of the one or more gate connection points is located on a structure (See 38 in Fig. 1) located adjacent to the boat hull protection system.
11. The gate system of claim 9, wherein the gate member is raised or lowered by manually (See man in Fig. 1).
13, 15. The rejections applied above are applied mutatis mutandis to the method limitations in claim 13, and 15.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez-Collazo (US 6152061).
12. Perez does not disclose The gate system of claim 9, wherein the gate member is raised or lowered based upon operation of an electric motor but does disclose manual operation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use an automatic or powered mechanism rather than a manual one, since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In this case it would be obvious to use an electric motor in order to provide for remote operation.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez-Collazo (US 6152061) in view of Jackson US 4280436.
14. Jackson discloses what Perez does not The method of claim 13, further comprising operating a pump to remove water from the slip. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the dewatering pump system of Jackson into the hull protection system of Perez I order to actively remove residual or accumulated water from the isolated slip region, thereby improving protective effect and reducing hull fouling
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 3/20/2026, with respect to the claims rejected using Perez have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Perez does not disclose a liner being attached to the frame using the ropes. The examiner points out and makes clear the frame includes the front portion (tube) of the gate as pointed out by the applicant, however the frame would also include the rigid structure 23 around the liner as well, the cables attached to blocks attach all points of the liner to each frame element and under the broadest interpretation would tension, position and secure the liner relative to the frame. Pulling outward as in Perez maintaining spacing performs the limitation in the independent claims.
Applicant further argues that the liner is not adjustable. The Examiner disagrees and points to a collapsible front portion, tension adjustment and the envelope moving relative to the hull as reasonable interpretation of the term adjustable liner.
In response to applicants’ argument that Perez does not disclose a gate. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out a gate member could be anything that acts as a gate, the collapsible portion o Perez clearly meeting this limitation.
Applicant argues that there is no motivation to combine Jackson with Perez. The examiner disagrees as Perez already teaches isolation, and fouling reduction, adding a pump enhances dryness, does not destroy the function of Perez while improving effectiveness.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN M. BENEDIK/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/JUSTIN M BENEDIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642