RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Amendments to the claims, filed on October 13, 2025, have been entered in the above-identified application.
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
The 35 U.S.C. §102 and §103 rejections made of record in the office action mailed July 11, 2025 has been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments in filed October 13, 2025.
REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 10, 11, 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gu et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0349241).
Regarding Applicant’s claims 1, 10 and 16, Gu discloses an electronic device that comprises a housing, a display positioned within the housing and a cover glass disposed over the display and attached to the housing (para. [0085] and figure 24).
Gu further discloses the method of forming the cover glass (figure 22) comprising (1) providing a glass sheet (ref. #60, para. [0063]), (2) depositing a first hard coat layer on the glass sheet (ref. #20’), (3) depositing a first gradient layer (ref. #30’) on the first hard coat layer, (4) depositing a second hard coat layer (ref. #20) on the first gradient layer and (5) depositing a second gradient layer (ref. #10) disposed on the second hard coat layer.
The first hard coat layer (silicon nitride, para. [0049]) has a hardness greater than a hardness of the glass sheet, since silicon nitride has a greater hardness than glass.
The first gradient has a composition that transitions from a first composition at the first hard coat layer to a second composition at a top surface of the first gradient layer (para. [0049] and figure 3). The first composition (SiO0.2N0.8, para. [0049]) is predominantly a composition of the first hard coat layer (SiO0Nx, para. [0049]) and the second composition (SiO0.7N0.3, para. [0049]) is different than the first composition. The second gradient layer disposed on the second hard coat layer and having a composition that transitions from a third composition at the second hard coat layer to a fourth composition at a top surface of the first gradient layer (para. [0049] and figure 3). The third composition (SiO0.2N0.8, para. [0049]) is predominantly a composition of the second hard coat layer (SiO0Nx, para. [0049]) and the fourth composition (SiO0.7N0.3, para. [0049]) is different than the third composition.
Regarding Applicant’s claims 2, 11 and 17, Gu discloses the second composition is predominantly SiO2 (SiO0.7N0.3, para. [0049]).
Regarding Applicant’s claims 5, 6, 14, 15 and 20, Gu discloses the method of forming the cover glass (figure 22) comprises depositing a third gradient layer between the glass sheet and the first hard coat layer (ref. #10’). The third gradient layer transitions from a composition that is predominantly SiO2 (SiO0.7N0.3, para. [0049]) at the glass sheet to a composition that is predominantly SiON (SiO0.2N0.8, para. [0049]) at the first hard coat layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 7, 8 12, 13, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0349241) in view of Bellman et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2018/0011225).
Gu is relied upon as described above.
Regarding Applicant’s claims 3, 4, 12, 14, 18 and 19, Gu further discloses the first gradient layer transitions from the first composition that is predominantly SiON (SiO0.2N0.8, para. [0049]) at the first hard coat layer to the second composition that is predominantly SiO2 (SiO0.7N0.3, para. [0049]) at the top surface.
Gu fails to disclose the first hard coat layer comprises SiON.
Bellman teaches an electronic device (4100) that comprises a housing (4102), a display (4110) positioned within the housing, and a cover glass (4112) disposed over the display and attached to the housing (para. [0142] and figures 43A and 43B).
Bellman further discloses the method of forming the cover glass (figure 25) comprising (1) providing a glass sheet (substrate, para. [0061], [0090], [0123] and [0125]), (2) depositing a first gradient layer (lower gradient layer, ref. # 170, para. [0090]), (3) depositing a hard coat layer (scratch-resistant layer, ref. #150, para. [0090]) and (4) depositing a second gradient layer (upper gradient layer, ref. #160, para. [0090]).
Bellman discloses that the hard coat layer can be dielectric materials, such as SiNx or SiON (para. [0090]).
Therefore, since Bellman discloses silicon nitride and silicon oxynitride were art-recognized equivalents for dielectric layers at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the silicon oxynitride for the silicon nitride of the hard layer. MPEP 2144.06 II
Regarding Applicant’s claims 7 and 8, Gu also fails to disclose an exterior layer of SiN.
Bellman further discloses the cover glass further comprises an exterior layer disposed on the top surface of the gradient layer, since Bellman an optional top most air-side layer of an additional coating (ref. #140, figure 6, para. [0079]). The additional coating is Si3N4 and easy to clean (para. [0079] and [0085]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add an exterior layer of Si3N4 as taught by Bellman to Gu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated as an exterior layer of Si3N4 in order to improve the easy of cleaning the cover glass.
The exterior layer is deemed to have a hardness that is greater than the gradient layer, because Si3N4 exhibits high hardness values than SiON.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0349241) in view of Koch, III et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2014/0377522).
Gu is relied upon as described above.
Gu fails to disclose the glass sheet comprises SiO2.
Koch teaches a scratch-resistant article/cover article used to protect critical devices within electronic products, to provide a user interface for input and/or display, and/or many other functions. Such products include mobile devices, such as smart phones, mp 3 players and computer tablets. Cover articles also include architectural articles, transportation articles (e.g., articles used in automotive applications, trains, aircraft, sea craft, etc.), appliance articles, or any article that requires some transparency, scratch-resistance, abrasion resistance or a combination thereof (para [0003]).
The article comprises at least a substrate and a gradient layer (figure 4 and 4a). The substrate comprises a glass composition that comprises SiO2, such glass compositions may be characterized as ion exchangeable (para. [0017]). This allows that glass substrate to be strengthened to form a strengthened glass substrate (para. [0011]-[0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the glass composition of Koch as the glass substrate in Gu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the strengthened glass substrate of Koch to improve the strength of the cover glass of Gu.
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments in the response filed October 13, 2025 regarding the 35 U.S.C. §102 and §103 rejections made of record in the office action mailed July 11, 2025 have been considered but are moot since the rejections have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alicia Chevalier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1788 01/09/2026