DETAILED ACTION
This final Office action is responsive to Applicant’s amendment filed October 14, 2026. Claims 1, 2, 9, 12, 13, and 18-22 have been amended. Claims 1-22 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101, Applicant argues that a human cannot install building equipment or modify at least one building; therefore, these are not mental processes (pages 9-10 of Applicant’s response). The Examiner points out that the limitations directed to installing building equipment and modifying at least one building were identified as examples of operations that a human could be instructed to perform, thereby exemplifying the organization of human activity. Even if the installation and modification steps imply the use of a tool, this interpretation is addressed in Step 2A – Prong 2 of the rejection.
On page 11 of the response, Applicant states, “The specification therefore provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. The Office Action does not appear to contest the existence of an improvement in the specification.” The claimed invention needs to present a technical solution to a technical problem. Applicant has not pointed to any specific details showing a technical solution to a technical problem.
Applicant continues to argue that “in the Interview, the Examiner mentioned guidance in the MPEP that uses the phrase ‘idea of a solution.’ Here, Claim 18 does not merely recite the general idea of "improving building sustainability" or the like, but instead recites a specific combination of steps (quoted above). Those of skill in the art would understand that the level of detail recited in the claim is commensurate with the specific approach of the present application which achieves the advantages outlined in the specification.” (Page 12 of the response) Again, Applicant has not pointed to any specific details showing a technical solution to a technical problem, which would be found in specific details regarding operations of the additional elements.
Applicant repeats these arguments for the other independent claims. The Examiner maintains her position.
Regarding the prior art rejections, Applicant argues that “Abramson is cited as disclosing ‘rank the target buildings.’ See, e.g., OA at 55. But, the ‘buildings’ are not ‘sustainable infrastructure projects.’ In this regard, Abramson provides no ability to execute different sustainable infrastructure projects for a given building (or campus, etc.) in a ranked order. At best, the user is provided with information on what building should be considered first for possible projects.” (Page 17 of Applicant’s response) The Examiner notes that the claims do not preclude projects from being ranked as groups of projects. The buildings are ranked based on energy and money savings that could be achieved “by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics” (Abramson: ¶ 135). The buildings are ranked in conjunction with associated operational adjustments and/or retrofits, which are examples of projects. By ranking the buildings based on recommended associated operational adjustments and/or retrofits, projects related to the buildings are being ranked as well. It is noted that amended claim 2 provides some more granularity to the ranking details and the Dufresne reference has been introduced into the rejection of claim 2 in order to help address these claim amendments.
On page 18 of the response, Applicant states, “With respect to the ranking being ‘based on utility information, climate data, building characteristics, and building operational data,’ the cited disclosure of Abramson does not appear to have all four. Page 55 of the Office Action cites Abramson for diagnostics "based on corresponding weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building" which appears to be four factors. In this regard, if the ‘energy usage data’ is mapped to the ‘building operational data,’ then no ‘utility information’ is disclosed as being used in Abramson. (See, e.g., Claim 19).” In ¶ 135, Abramson states, “The system may generate energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics for each of the target buildings based on corresponding weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building. The system may then rank the target buildings according to one or more predefined factors. For example, the system may rank the target buildings according to how much money and/or energy could be saved by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics.” Abramson further explains, “In an example embodiment, a method for providing virtual energy audits may include steps for retrieving, by a processor of an analytics server, weather data corresponding to at least one target building from a weather server coupled to the analytics server, receiving, by the processor, utility energy usage data corresponding to the at least one target building, obtaining a set of building-specific characteristic data corresponding to the at least one target building, combining the weather data, utility energy usage data, and building-specific characteristic data into an energy audit dataset, determining a plurality of building markers for the at least one target building based on the energy audit dataset, generating prognostics data based on the energy audit dataset and building markers, the prognostics data including energy conservation recommendations and estimated impacts of implementing the energy conservation recommendations, generating building efficiency diagnostics based on the plurality of building markers, and sending the building efficiency diagnostics and the energy conservation recommendations to be displayed on a user interface of a client device coupled to the analytics server.” (Abramson: ¶ 27) Also stated in ¶ 30 of Abramson is that “[i]n some embodiments, the at least one target building may include a plurality of target buildings. The building efficiency diagnostics may include a plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. The energy conservation recommendations may include a plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of building efficiency diagnostics of the plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of energy conservation recommendations of the plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. The method may further include steps for quantifying a respective savings opportunity value for each of the plurality of target buildings to produce a plurality of savings opportunity values, the energy conservation recommendations including the plurality of savings opportunity values, generating an ordered list of the plurality of target buildings that is ordered based on the plurality of savings opportunity values, identifying a subset of target buildings of the plurality of target buildings associated with the highest savings opportunity values of the plurality of savings opportunity values, and sending the ordered list and the identified subset of target buildings to be displayed via the user interface of the client device.”
In summary, in Abramson, the weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building are used to determine a ranking for buildings based on operational adjustments and/or retrofits (i.e., projects related to each building or a set of buildings that are ranked). The energy usage data conveys utility information as well as building operational data. The weather data contributes to an understanding of climate data. The predefined building characteristics are building characteristics. The energy audit, building markers, etc. provide data regarding operations of the building and, thus, also exemplify building operational data.
On page 18 of the response, Applicant asserts that “[p]age 60 of the Office Action additionally cites Takahashi for disclosure of selecting a priority order of ‘bases’ for energy reduction (where ‘bases’ appears to refer to different locations or buildings of a company). Takahashi relates to ‘a priority order of base selection,’ i.e., like Abramson is selecting which buildings to address, not executing sustainable infrastructure projects in a ranked order.” Abramson teachings that sustainable infrastructure projects may be ranked. Takahashi is mainly relied upon to demonstrate that ranked projects (including those related to installing energy savings equipment, which are also types of
sustainable infrastructure projects) are actively carried out in the priority order (i.e., in an order based on the ranking). A project is any assignment, plan, activity, etc. Installing retrofits (as disclosed by Abramson) and installing energy savings equipment (as disclosed by Takahashi) are all examples of projects.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claimed invention is directed to “increasing sustainability of buildings” and “obtaining building operational data from a plurality of building management systems and providing scores for a plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects by scoring the potential sustainable infrastructure projects based on at least one of utility information, climate data, building characteristics, or the building operational data” (Spec: ¶ 3) without significantly more.
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes – The claims fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter. Process (claims 1-11, 18-22), Article of Manufacture (claims 12-17)
Independent claims:
Step
Analysis
2A – Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes – Aside from the additional elements identified in Step 2A – Prong 2 below, the claims recite:
[Claim 1] A method for increasing sustainability of buildings, comprising:
obtaining building operational data from a plurality of building management sources;
providing scores for a plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects by scoring the potential sustainable infrastructure projects based on at least one of utility information, climate data, building characteristics, or the building operational data, wherein the scores are generated at least in part on the building operational data;
providing a ranking of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects based on the scores; and
executing a number of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order based on the ranking.
[Claim 12] obtaining building operational data from a plurality of building management sources;
displaying a ranking of potential sustainable infrastructure projects based on scores for a plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects calculated based on at least one of utility information, climate data, building characteristics, and the building operational data.
[Claim 18] A method of executing sustainable infrastructure projects, comprising:
installing building equipment or modifying at least one building to execute the sustainable infrastructure projects in an order indicated by a ranking of the sustainable infrastructure projects based on utility information, climate data, building characteristics, and building operational data associated with the sustainable infrastructure projects; and
operating the installed building equipment or the modified at least one building.
Aside from the additional elements, the aforementioned claim details exemplify the abstract idea(s) of a mental process (since the details include concepts performed in the human mind, including an observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion). As explained in MPEP § 2106(a)(2)(C)(III), “The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that ‘can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper’ to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, ‘methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’’ 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)).” The limitations reproduced above, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting the additional elements identified in Step 2A – Prong 2 below, nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind and/or by a human using a pen and paper. For example, but for the recitations of generic computer and other processing components (identified in Step 2A – Prong 2 below), the respectively recited steps/functions of the claims, as drafted and set forth above, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind and/or with the use of pen and paper. A human user can obtain data, provide scores, and rank projects based on scores. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (and/or with pen and paper) but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Aside from the additional elements, the aforementioned claim details exemplify a method of organizing human activity (since the details include examples of commercial or legal interactions, including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and/or business relations and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). More specifically, the evaluated process is related to “increasing sustainability of buildings” and “obtaining building operational data from a plurality of building management systems and providing scores for a plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects by scoring the potential sustainable infrastructure projects based on at least one of utility information, climate data, building characteristics, or the building operational data” (Spec: ¶ 3), which (under its broadest reasonable interpretation) is an example of business relations (i.e., organizing human activity); therefore, aside from the recitations of generic computer and other processing components (identified in Step 2A – Prong 2 below), the limitations identified in the more detailed claim listing above encompass the abstract idea of organizing human activity. A human user may be given instructions to perform the step of “executing a number of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order based on the ranking“ (claims 1, 12), which is another example of organizing human activity. Additionally, regarding the steps of “installing building equipment or modifying at least one building to execute the sustainable infrastructure projects in an order indicated by a ranking of the sustainable infrastructure projects based on utility information, climate data, building characteristics, and building operational data associated with the sustainable infrastructure projects” and “operating the installed building equipment or the modified at least one building” in claim 18, a human user could be instructed to install building equipment or modify at least one building and operate the installed building equipment of the modified at least one building, which is an example of organizing human activity.
Ranking projects based on scores (as recited throughout the claims) implies mathematical comparison, which is an example of a mathematical concept.
2A – Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No – The judicial exception(s) is/are not integrated into a practical application.
Claim 1 recites obtaining building operational data from a plurality of building management systems and providing, via a graphical user interface, a ranking of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects based on the scores.
Claim 12 recites one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing program instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, perform the recited operations. Claim 12 also recites obtaining building operational data from a plurality of building management systems and operating a display to display a ranking of potential sustainable infrastructure projects based on scores for a plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects.
Regarding claim 18, even if the step of “installing building equipment or modifying at least one building to execute the sustainable infrastructure projects in an order indicated by the ranking” is seen as requiring more than instructing a human to perform the installing or modifying, any implied additional elements would (at best) be a mere tool to apply the exception. This is akin to “a method of assigning hair designs to balance head shape with a final step of using a tool (scissors) to cut the hair, In re Brown, 645 Fed. App'x 1014, 1017 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (non-precedential).” (See MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2).)
The claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the abstract idea(s) in a computer environment. The claimed processing elements are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as a tool to perform the abstract idea(s). Simply implementing the abstract idea(s) on a general-purpose processor is not a practical application of the abstract idea(s); Applicant’s specification discloses that the invention may be implemented using general-purpose processing elements and other generic components (Spec: ¶¶ 30-34).
The use of a processor/processing elements (e.g., as recited in all of the claims) facilitates generic processor operations. The use of a memory or machine-readable media with executable instructions facilitates generic processor operations.
The additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic processing elements performing generic computer functions) such that the incorporation of the additional processing elements amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception(s) using generic computer components. There is no indication in the Specification that the steps/functions of the claims require any inventive programming or necessitate any specialized or other inventive computer components (i.e., the steps/functions of the claims may be implemented using capabilities of general-purpose computer components). Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea(s).
The processing components presented in the claims simply utilize the capabilities of a general-purpose computer and are, thus, merely tools to implement the abstract idea(s). As seen in MPEP § 2106.05(a)(I) and § 2106.05(f)(2), the court found that accelerating a process when the increased speed solely comes from the capabilities of a general-purpose computer is not sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality and it amounts to a mere invocation of computers or machinery as a tool to perform an existing process (see FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., 839 F.3d 1089, 1095, 120 USPQ2d 1293, 1296 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
There is no transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing recited in the claims.
Additionally, even when considering the operations of the additional elements as an ordered combination, the ordered combination does not amount to significantly more than what is present in the claims when each operation is considered separately.
The claims also generally receive, transmit, store, and/or output (e.g., display) data, which are examples of insignificant extra-solution activity.
2B: Claim(s) Provide(s) an Inventive Concept?
No – The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception(s). As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea(s) into a practical application, the use of the additional elements to perform the steps identified in Step 2A – Prong 1 above amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions using a generic computer component(s). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component(s) cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
As explained above, there is nothing in the claims as a whole that adds significantly more to the abstract idea(s). Evidence regarding operations of the additional elements that are well-understood, routine, and conventional is provided below.
MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II) sets forth the following:
The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec…; TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC…; OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc…; buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc…;
iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc…
;…
Dependent claims:
Step
Analysis
2A – Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes – Aside from the additional elements identified in Step 2A – Prong 2 below, the claims recite:
[Claim 2] wherein executing the subset of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order based on the ranking comprising installing a first type of equipment at a building and then installing a second type of equipment at the building.
[Claim 3] wherein:
the plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects comprise a first project for a first building and a second project for a second building;
the utility information comprises a first utility rate for the first building and a second utility rate for the second building; and
scoring the potential sustainable infrastructure projects comprises improving a first score for the first project relative to a second score for the second project if the first utility rate is higher than the second utility rate.
[Claim 4] wherein:
the plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects comprise a first project for a first building and a second project for a second building;
the utility information comprises a first grid emissions rate associated with energy generated for provision to the first building and a second grid emissions rate associated with energy generated for provision to the second building; and
scoring the potential sustainable infrastructure projects comprises improving a first score for the first project relative to a second score for the second project if the first grid emissions rate is higher than the second grid emissions rate.
[Claim 5] wherein the utility information indicates one or more of incentive program information, demand response program information, frequency regulation program information, demand charge information, and energy buy-back rates.
[Claim 6] wherein providing the scores is further based on historical pitch success rates for infrastructure projects.
[Claim 7] wherein providing the scores further comprises accounting for retrofit constraints indicated by the building characteristics.
[Claim 10] predicting savings expected to result from the plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects.
[Claim 11] wherein providing the scores further comprises determining prices for the plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects.
[Claim 22] installing building equipment or modifying at least one of the buildings to execute the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order indicated by the ranking.
[Claim 13] wherein the operations further comprise controlling equipment via execution at least some of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order based on the ranking.
[Claim 14] wherein:
the plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects comprise a first project for a first building and a second project for a second building;
the utility information comprises a first utility rate for the first building and a second utility rate for the second building; and
the operations further comprise improving a first score for the first project relative to a second score for the second project if the first utility rate is higher than the second utility rate.
[Claim 15] wherein:
the plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects comprise a first project for a first building and a second project for a second building;
the utility information comprises a first grid emissions rate associated with energy generated for provision to the first building and a second grid emissions rate associated with energy generated for provision to the second building; and
the operations further comprise improving a first score for the first project relative to a second score for the second project if the first grid emissions rate is higher than the second grid emissions rate.
[Claim 16] wherein providing the scores further comprises accounting for retrofit constraints indicated by the building characteristics and comparing the utility information, the climate data, and the building characteristics.
[Claim 17] the operations further comprise predicting savings expected to result from the plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects, determining prices for the plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects, and comparing the savings with the prices.
[Claim 19] wherein:
the sustainable infrastructure projects comprise a first project for a first building and a second project for a second building;
the utility information comprises a first grid emissions rate associated with energy generated for provision to the first building and a second grid emissions rate associated with energy generated for provision to the second building; and
installing the building equipment or modifying at least one building comprises executing the first project before the second project based on the first grid emissions rate being higher than the second grid emissions rate.
[Claim 20] wherein installing the building equipment or modifying the at least one building comprises installing solar panels, heat pumps, and energy storage devices.
[Claim 21] displaying the ranking of the sustainable infrastructure projects based on the scoring.
The dependent claims further present details of the abstract ideas identified in regard to the independent claims.
Aside from the additional elements, the aforementioned claim details exemplify the abstract idea(s) of a mental process (since the details include concepts performed in the human mind, including an observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion). As explained in MPEP § 2106(a)(2)(C)(III), “The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that ‘can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper’ to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, ‘methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’’ 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)).” The limitations reproduced above, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting the additional elements identified in Step 2A – Prong 2 below, nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind and/or by a human using a pen and paper. For example, but for the recitations of generic computer and other processing components (identified in Step 2A – Prong 2 below), the respectively recited steps/functions of the claims, as drafted and set forth above, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind and/or with the use of pen and paper. A human user can obtain data, provide scores, and rank projects based on scores. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (and/or with pen and paper) but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Aside from the additional elements, the aforementioned claim details exemplify a method of organizing human activity (since the details include examples of commercial or legal interactions, including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and/or business relations and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). More specifically, the evaluated process is related to “increasing sustainability of buildings” and “obtaining building operational data from a plurality of building management systems and providing scores for a plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects by scoring the potential sustainable infrastructure projects based on at least one of utility information, climate data, building characteristics, or the building operational data” (Spec: ¶ 3), which (under its broadest reasonable interpretation) is an example of business relations (i.e., organizing human activity); therefore, aside from the recitations of generic computer and other processing components (identified in Step 2A – Prong 2 below), the limitations identified in the more detailed claim listing above encompass the abstract idea of organizing human activity. A human user may be given instructions to perform the step of “executing a number of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order based on the ranking“ (claims 1, 12), which is another example of organizing human activity. Additionally, regarding the steps of “installing building equipment or modifying at least one building to execute the sustainable infrastructure projects in an order indicated by a ranking of the sustainable infrastructure projects based on utility information, climate data, building characteristics, and building operational data associated with the sustainable infrastructure projects” and “operating the installed building equipment or the modified at least one building” in claim 18, a human user could be instructed to install building equipment or modify at least one building and operate the installed building equipment of the modified at least one building, which is an example of organizing human activity. Additionally, regarding the step of executing the subset of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order based on the ranking comprising installing a first type of equipment at a building and then installing a second type of equipment at the building in claim 2, a human user could be instructed to execute the subset of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order based on the ranking comprising installing a first type of equipment at a building and then installing a second type of equipment at the building. Claim 22 recites “installing building equipment or modifying at least one of the buildings to execute the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order indicated by the ranking” and a human user could be instructed to install building equipment or modify at least one of the buildings to execute the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order indicated by the ranking. Claim 13 recites “controlling equipment via execution at least some of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order based on the ranking” and a human user could be instructed to control equipment via execution at least some of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order based on the ranking. Claim 19 recites “installing the building equipment or modifying at least one building comprises executing the first project before the second project based on the first grid emissions rate being higher than the second grid emissions rate” and a human user could be instructed to install the building equipment or modify at least one building comprises executing the first project before the second project based on the first grid emissions rate being higher than the second grid emissions rate. Claim 20 recites “wherein installing the building equipment or modifying the at least one building comprises installing solar panels, heat pumps, and energy storage devices” and a human user could be instructed to install the building equipment or modify the at least one building comprising installing solar panels, heat pumps, and energy storage devices. Claim 22 recites “installing solar panels, heat pumps, and energy storage devices to execute the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order indicated by the ranking” and a human user could be instructed to install solar panels, heat pumps, and energy storage devices to execute the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order indicated by the ranking.
Ranking projects based on scores (as recited throughout the claims) implies mathematical comparison, which is an example of a mathematical concept.
2A – Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No – The judicial exception(s) is/are not integrated into a practical application.
The dependent claims include the additional elements of their independent claims.
Claim 1 recites obtaining building operational data from a plurality of building management systems and providing, via a graphical user interface, a ranking of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects based on the scores.
Regarding claim 2, even if the step of “executing a subset of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order based on the ranking” is seen as requiring more than instructing a human to perform the execution of projects, any implied additional elements would (at best) be a mere tool to apply the exception. This is akin to “a method of assigning hair designs to balance head shape with a final step of using a tool (scissors) to cut the hair, In re Brown, 645 Fed. App'x 1014, 1017 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (non-precedential).” (See MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2).)
Claim 8 recites wherein providing the scores further comprises grouping, by a neural network using the building characteristics, the potential sustainable infrastructure projects with historical project data associated with other buildings.
Claim 9 recites training a neural network to classify sets of the climate data and the building characteristics between being feasible and unfeasible for different types of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects, such that the neural network outputs a classification of feasible or unfeasible for the different types of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects.
Regarding claim 22, even if the step of “installing building equipment or modifying at least one of the buildings to execute the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order indicated by the ranking” is seen as requiring more than instructing a human to perform the installing or modifying, any implied additional elements would (at best) be a mere tool to apply the exception. This is akin to “a method of assigning hair designs to balance head shape with a final step of using a tool (scissors) to cut the hair, In re Brown, 645 Fed. App'x 1014, 1017 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (non-precedential).” (See MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2).)
Claim 12 recites one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing program instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, perform the recited operations. Claim 12 also recites obtaining building operational data from a plurality of building management systems and providing, via a graphical user interface, a ranking of potential sustainable infrastructure projects based on scores for a plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects.
Regarding claim 13, even if the step of “controlling equipment via execution at least some of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order based on the ranking” is seen as requiring more than instructing a human to perform the initiating, any implied additional elements would (at best) be a mere tool to apply the exception. This is akin to “a method of assigning hair designs to balance head shape with a final step of using a tool (scissors) to cut the hair, In re Brown, 645 Fed. App'x 1014, 1017 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (non-precedential).” (See MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2).)
Regarding claim 18, even if the steps of “installing building equipment or modifying at least one building to execute the sustainable infrastructure projects in an order indicated by a ranking of the sustainable infrastructure projects based on utility information, climate data, building characteristics, and building operational data associated with the sustainable infrastructure projects” and “operating the installed building equipment or the modified at least one building” are seen as requiring more than instructing a human to perform the installing, modifying, and/or operating, any implied additional elements would (at best) be a mere tool to apply the exception. This is akin to “a method of assigning hair designs to balance head shape with a final step of using a tool (scissors) to cut the hair, In re Brown, 645 Fed. App'x 1014, 1017 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (non-precedential).” (See MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2).)
Regarding claim 19, even if the step of “installing the building equipment or modifying at least one building comprises executing the first project before the second project based on the first grid emissions rate being higher than the second grid emissions rate” is seen as requiring more than instructing a human to perform the installing or modifying, any implied additional elements would (at best) be a mere tool to apply the exception. This is akin to “a method of assigning hair designs to balance head shape with a final step of using a tool (scissors) to cut the hair, In re Brown, 645 Fed. App'x 1014, 1017 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (non-precedential).” (See MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2).)
Regarding claim 20, even if the step of “installing the building equipment or modifying the at least one building comprises installing solar panels, heat pumps, and energy storage devices” is seen as requiring more than instructing a human to perform the installing or modifying, any implied additional elements would (at best) be a mere tool to apply the exception. This is akin to “a method of assigning hair designs to balance head shape with a final step of using a tool (scissors) to cut the hair, In re Brown, 645 Fed. App'x 1014, 1017 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (non-precedential).” (See MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2).).
Claim 21 recites operating a display device to display, via a graphical user interface, the ranking of the sustainable infrastructure projects based on the scoring.
Regarding claim 22, even if the step of “installing solar panels, heat pumps, and energy storage devices to execute the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order indicated by the ranking” is seen as requiring more than instructing a human to perform the installing, any implied additional elements would (at best) be a mere tool to apply the exception. This is akin to “a method of assigning hair designs to balance head shape with a final step of using a tool (scissors) to cut the hair, In re Brown, 645 Fed. App'x 1014, 1017 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (non-precedential).” (See MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2).)
The claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the abstract idea(s) in a computer environment. The claimed processing elements are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as a tool to perform the abstract idea(s). Simply implementing the abstract idea(s) on a general-purpose processor is not a practical application of the abstract idea(s); Applicant’s specification discloses that the invention may be implemented using general-purpose processing elements and other generic components (Spec: ¶¶ 30-34).
The use of a processor/processing elements (e.g., as recited in all of the claims) facilitates generic processor operations. The use of a memory or machine-readable media with executable instructions facilitates generic processor operations.
The additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic processing elements performing generic computer functions) such that the incorporation of the additional processing elements amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception(s) using generic computer components. There is no indication in the Specification that the steps/functions of the claims require any inventive programming or necessitate any specialized or other inventive computer components (i.e., the steps/functions of the claims may be implemented using capabilities of general-purpose computer components). Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea(s).
The processing components presented in the claims simply utilize the capabilities of a general-purpose computer and are, thus, merely tools to implement the abstract idea(s). As seen in MPEP § 2106.05(a)(I) and § 2106.05(f)(2), the court found that accelerating a process when the increased speed solely comes from the capabilities of a general-purpose computer is not sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality and it amounts to a mere invocation of computers or machinery as a tool to perform an existing process (see FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., 839 F.3d 1089, 1095, 120 USPQ2d 1293, 1296 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Claims 8 and 9 use a neural network at a high level of generality. Considering that the implementation of the machine learning model and/or the training of the model is performed using generic processing elements, such an implementation is presented as a generic recitation of machine learning in the claims and as a general link to technology. The machine learning-based processing elements are simply tools to generally automate the underlying process that could be performed by a human. It is further noted that, as described in Applicant’s Specification, the machine learning operations are generic machine learning operations (Spec: ¶¶ 123, 125). The Specification presents no assertion that there is any improvement in the automated machine learning process itself. Such a generic recitation of machine learning, as recited in the claims, is little more than automating an analogous process that can be performed by a human.
There is no transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing recited in the claims.
Additionally, even when considering the operations of the additional elements as an ordered combination, the ordered combination does not amount to significantly more than what is present in the claims when each operation is considered separately.
The claims also generally receive, transmit, store, and/or output (e.g., display) data, which are examples of insignificant extra-solution activity.
2B: Claim(s) Provide(s) an Inventive Concept?
No – The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception(s). As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea(s) into a practical application, the use of the additional elements to perform the steps identified in Step 2A – Prong 1 above amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions using a generic computer component(s). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component(s) cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
As explained above, there is nothing in the claims as a whole that adds significantly more to the abstract idea(s). Evidence regarding operations of the additional elements that are well-understood, routine, and conventional is provided below.
MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II) sets forth the following:
The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec…; TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC…; OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc…; buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc…;
iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc…
;…
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-8, 11-13, 16-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abramson et al. (US 2019/0347670) in view of Takahashi et al. (US 2011/0161131).
[Claim 1] Abramson discloses a method for increasing sustainability of buildings (abstract – “The energy conservation prognostics may include one or more energy conservation measure recommendations and corresponding predicted cost/energy savings.”), comprising:
obtaining building operational data from a plurality of building management systems (figs. 3, 4 – Various types of data are retrieved from various sources.; ¶ 27 – “In an example embodiment, a method for providing virtual energy audits may include steps for retrieving, by a processor of an analytics server, weather data corresponding to at least one target building from a weather server coupled to the analytics server, receiving, by the processor, utility energy usage data corresponding to the at least one target building, obtaining a set of building-specific characteristic data corresponding to the at least one target building, combining the weather data, utility energy usage data, and building-specific characteristic data into an energy audit dataset, determining a plurality of building markers for the at least one target building based on the energy audit dataset, generating prognostics data based on the energy audit dataset and building markers, the prognostics data including energy conservation recommendations and estimated impacts of implementing the energy conservation recommendations, generating building efficiency diagnostics based on the plurality of building markers, and sending the building efficiency diagnostics and the energy conservation recommendations to be displayed on a user interface of a client device coupled to the analytics server. The building efficiency diagnostics may include estimated heating/cooling system characteristics of the at least one target building.”; ¶ 30 – “In some embodiments, the at least one target building may include a plurality of target buildings. The building efficiency diagnostics may include a plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. The energy conservation recommendations may include a plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of building efficiency diagnostics of the plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of energy conservation recommendations of the plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations.”);
providing scores for a plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects by scoring the potential sustainable infrastructure projects based on at least one of utility information, climate data, building characteristics, or the building operational data, wherein the scores are generated at least in part on the building operational data (fig. 3 – Information is displayed on the client device.; ¶ 135 – “The system may generate energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics for each of the target buildings based on corresponding weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building. The system may then rank the target buildings according to one or more predefined factors. For example, the system may rank the target buildings according to how much money and/or energy could be saved by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics. A predefined number of target buildings for which the most money/energy is estimated to be saved if such recommendations are implemented may then be sent to the client device. In this way, an individual or corporation owning many buildings may quickly and cheaply identify which of their buildings should be adjusted or retrofitted with the highest priority, compared to conventional auditing methods, which may require time consuming and expensive individual walkthroughs of each of the buildings being audited.”; ¶ 27 – “In an example embodiment, a method for providing virtual energy audits may include steps for retrieving, by a processor of an analytics server, weather data corresponding to at least one target building from a weather server coupled to the analytics server, receiving, by the processor, utility energy usage data corresponding to the at least one target building, obtaining a set of building-specific characteristic data corresponding to the at least one target building, combining the weather data, utility energy usage data, and building-specific characteristic data into an energy audit dataset, determining a plurality of building markers for the at least one target building based on the energy audit dataset, generating prognostics data based on the energy audit dataset and building markers, the prognostics data including energy conservation recommendations and estimated impacts of implementing the energy conservation recommendations, generating building efficiency diagnostics based on the plurality of building markers, and sending the building efficiency diagnostics and the energy conservation recommendations to be displayed on a user interface of a client device coupled to the analytics server.”; ¶ 30 – “In some embodiments, the at least one target building may include a plurality of target buildings. The building efficiency diagnostics may include a plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. The energy conservation recommendations may include a plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of building efficiency diagnostics of the plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of energy conservation recommendations of the plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. The method may further include steps for quantifying a respective savings opportunity value for each of the plurality of target buildings to produce a plurality of savings opportunity values, the energy conservation recommendations including the plurality of savings opportunity values, generating an ordered list of the plurality of target buildings that is ordered based on the plurality of savings opportunity values, identifying a subset of target buildings of the plurality of target buildings associated with the highest savings opportunity values of the plurality of savings opportunity values, and sending the ordered list and the identified subset of target buildings to be displayed via the user interface of the client device.”; In summary, in Abramson, the weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building are used to determine a ranking for buildings based on operational adjustments and/or retrofits (i.e., projects related to each building or a set of buildings that are ranked). The energy usage data conveys utility information as well as building operational data. The weather data contributes to an understanding of climate data. The predefined building characteristics are building characteristics. The energy audit, building markers, etc. provide data regarding operations of the building and, thus, also exemplify building operational data. The quantified savings and energy amounts are examples of scores.);
providing, via a graphical user interface, a ranking of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects based on the scores (fig. 3 – Information is displayed on the client device.; ¶ 135 – “The system may generate energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics for each of the target buildings based on corresponding weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building. The system may then rank the target buildings according to one or more predefined factors. For example, the system may rank the target buildings according to how much money and/or energy could be saved by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics. A predefined number of target buildings for which the most money/energy is estimated to be saved if such recommendations are implemented may then be sent to the client device. In this way, an individual or corporation owning many buildings may quickly and cheaply identify which of their buildings should be adjusted or retrofitted with the highest priority, compared to conventional auditing methods, which may require time consuming and expensive individual walkthroughs of each of the buildings being audited.”; ¶ 27 – “In an example embodiment, a method for providing virtual energy audits may include steps for retrieving, by a processor of an analytics server, weather data corresponding to at least one target building from a weather server coupled to the analytics server, receiving, by the processor, utility energy usage data corresponding to the at least one target building, obtaining a set of building-specific characteristic data corresponding to the at least one target building, combining the weather data, utility energy usage data, and building-specific characteristic data into an energy audit dataset, determining a plurality of building markers for the at least one target building based on the energy audit dataset, generating prognostics data based on the energy audit dataset and building markers, the prognostics data including energy conservation recommendations and estimated impacts of implementing the energy conservation recommendations, generating building efficiency diagnostics based on the plurality of building markers, and sending the building efficiency diagnostics and the energy conservation recommendations to be displayed on a user interface of a client device coupled to the analytics server.”; ¶ 30 – “In some embodiments, the at least one target building may include a plurality of target buildings. The building efficiency diagnostics may include a plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. The energy conservation recommendations may include a plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of building efficiency diagnostics of the plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of energy conservation recommendations of the plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. The method may further include steps for quantifying a respective savings opportunity value for each of the plurality of target buildings to produce a plurality of savings opportunity values, the energy conservation recommendations including the plurality of savings opportunity values, generating an ordered list of the plurality of target buildings that is ordered based on the plurality of savings opportunity values, identifying a subset of target buildings of the plurality of target buildings associated with the highest savings opportunity values of the plurality of savings opportunity values, and sending the ordered list and the identified subset of target buildings to be displayed via the user interface of the client device.”; The quantified savings and energy amounts are examples of scores.).
Abramson discloses recommendations to install building equipment or modify at least one building to execute the sustainable infrastructure projects in an order indicated by the ranking (fig. 3 – Information is displayed on the client device.; ¶ 135 – “The system may generate energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics for each of the target buildings based on corresponding weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building. The system may then rank the target buildings according to one or more predefined factors. For example, the system may rank the target buildings according to how much money and/or energy could be saved by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics. A predefined number of target buildings for which the most money/energy is estimated to be saved if such recommendations are implemented may then be sent to the client device. In this way, an individual or corporation owning many buildings may quickly and cheaply identify which of their buildings should be adjusted or retrofitted with the highest priority, compared to conventional auditing methods, which may require time consuming and expensive individual walkthroughs of each of the buildings being audited.”; ¶ 27 – “In an example embodiment, a method for providing virtual energy audits may include steps for retrieving, by a processor of an analytics server, weather data corresponding to at least one target building from a weather server coupled to the analytics server, receiving, by the processor, utility energy usage data corresponding to the at least one target building, obtaining a set of building-specific characteristic data corresponding to the at least one target building, combining the weather data, utility energy usage data, and building-specific characteristic data into an energy audit dataset, determining a plurality of building markers for the at least one target building based on the energy audit dataset, generating prognostics data based on the energy audit dataset and building markers, the prognostics data including energy conservation recommendations and estimated impacts of implementing the energy conservation recommendations, generating building efficiency diagnostics based on the plurality of building markers, and sending the building efficiency diagnostics and the energy conservation recommendations to be displayed on a user interface of a client device coupled to the analytics server.”; ¶ 30 – “In some embodiments, the at least one target building may include a plurality of target buildings. The building efficiency diagnostics may include a plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. The energy conservation recommendations may include a plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of building efficiency diagnostics of the plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of energy conservation recommendations of the plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. The method may further include steps for quantifying a respective savings opportunity value for each of the plurality of target buildings to produce a plurality of savings opportunity values, the energy conservation recommendations including the plurality of savings opportunity values, generating an ordered list of the plurality of target buildings that is ordered based on the plurality of savings opportunity values, identifying a subset of target buildings of the plurality of target buildings associated with the highest savings opportunity values of the plurality of savings opportunity values, and sending the ordered list and the identified subset of target buildings to be displayed via the user interface of the client device.”; The quantified savings and energy amounts are examples of scores.).
Abramson does not explicitly disclose actively executing a subset of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order based on the ranking. However, Abramson states, “For example, the system may rank the target buildings according to how much money and/or energy could be saved by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics. A predefined number of target buildings for which the most money/energy is estimated to be saved if such recommendations are implemented may then be sent to the client device. In this way, an individual or corporation owning many buildings may quickly and cheaply identify which of their buildings should be adjusted or retrofitted with the highest priority, compared to conventional auditing methods, which may require time consuming and expensive individual walkthroughs of each of the buildings being audited.” (Abramson: ¶ 135) In other words, Abramson makes recommendations that are intended to be implemented to realize desired benefits (such as saving money and/or energy).
Additionally, Takahashi describes the implementation of energy saving solutions at each of multiple bases in order of priority and explicitly states the following in paragraph 19:
[0019] (1) The present invention provides an energy saving assistance system that includes a program that runs on at least one computer, and creates an energy saving plan for defining time when to introduce an energy saving solution implemented by installing an energy saving equipment. The program includes: a user setting section for setting as users need a target reduction of energy consumption through all of plural bases for every year and a priority order of selecting from the plural bases a base where an energy saving solution is preferentially carried out; an elemental effect calculation section for calculating an energy effect of every energy saving solution for a base of interest among the bases where the energy saving solution is preferentially carried out in the priority order, with reference to a data base storing equipment information before installing the energy saving equipment for the base of interest and a data base storing specifications of the energy saving equipment for the base of interest, and this calculation of the energy saving effect of every energy saving solution being carried out for every base of the bases where the energy saving solution is preferentially carried out in the priority order, and outputting the calculated energy saving effect of every energy saving solution for every base in a form of an elemental effect table; a consolidation section for creating the energy saving plan in accordance with the users need, using the elemental effect table, and representing this energy saving plan to the user; and for every action year, the consolidation section adopts an energy saving solution set in the elemental effect table as the energy saving solution to be introduced in an action year of interest in the priority order of base selection for the energy saving solution, so that total energy saving effect due to the adopted energy saving solution can clear a target reduction to be achieved in a next year after a year when the energy saving solution is carried out, and represents to the user an energy saving plan that specifies an energy saving equipment to be installed and a year when to install the equipment. (Emphasis added)
The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Abramson to actively execute a subset of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order based on the ranking in an order indicated by the ranking in order to facilitate the active realization of the desired benefits (including money and/or energy savings) in a more cost-effective manner.
[Claim 7] Abramson discloses wherein providing the scores further comprises accounting for retrofit constraints indicated by the building characteristics (¶ 134 – “With additional metadata for, or an estimate of, window-to-wall ratio in the building, a parallel thermal resistance network analysis can be employed to determine the corresponding effective R-value of the windows in the building. Consequently, this analysis ultimately reveals the potential value of, and opportunity for, window replacement which is a common energy conservation measure (ECM) recommendation. For example, this analysis was applied to one real world buildings, and the resulting findings were then validated against an energy audit conducted by an on-site energy audit firm, to reveal that as-calculated low R-value buildings correspond well to those buildings which the company determined are in need of retro-commissioning or deep retrofit to achieve energy efficiency goals set by the building owner. The firm's on-site energy audit required engineers to access the building in-person, over several days per building and at a cost of thousands of dollars per building. The systems and methods disclosed herein are capable of diagnosing similar problems with the building within minutes and at a much reduced cost.”; ¶ 135 – “While the above examples have been provided in the context of analyzing a single building, it should be understood that multiple buildings may be similarly analyzed, with energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics and corresponding reports being generated, stored, and/or displayed for each. As an example, a system for providing virtual energy audits (e.g., the system 300 of FIG. 3) may receive a list of target buildings from a client device, along with predefined building characteristics for each of the target buildings. The system may generate energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics for each of the target buildings based on corresponding weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building. The system may then rank the target buildings according to one or more predefined factors. For example, the system may rank the target buildings according to how much money and/or energy could be saved by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics. A predefined number of target buildings for which the most money/energy is estimated to be saved if such recommendations are implemented may then be sent to the client device. In this way, an individual or corporation owning many buildings may quickly and cheaply identify which of their buildings should be adjusted or retrofitted with the highest priority, compared to conventional auditing methods, which may require time consuming and expensive individual walkthroughs of each of the buildings being audited.”).
[Claim 8] Abramson discloses wherein providing the scores further comprises grouping, by a neural network using the building characteristics, the potential sustainable infrastructure projects with historical project data associated with other buildings (¶ 96 – “For example, the analytics engine 320 may execute a Forecast-ml function to create a prediction/forecast of energy usage of the audited building for a period of time (e.g., one week) under a given set of conditions using a neural network approach. For example a multi-layer perceptron neural network (MLP-NN) may be implemented for the prediction of future energy usage of the audited building. For example, the MLP-NN may take as inputs feature vectors including variables derived from the energy usage data and the weather data. The MLP-NN may be trained specifically for the prediction of energy usage of a building based on historical energy usage for that building and historical weather data associated with that building. In alternate embodiments, a gradient-boosted regression trees (GBRT) algorithm may be applied instead of the MLP-NN to predict energy usage of the audited building given the defined circumstances. For example, the set of conditions may correspond to changes in the operation of or the retrofitting of one or more systems of the audited building. For example, the output of the Forecast-ml function may include predicted cost savings and/or predicted energy savings that may be achieved by following the recommendations associated with the set of conditions.”; ¶ 135 – “While the above examples have been provided in the context of analyzing a single building, it should be understood that multiple buildings may be similarly analyzed, with energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics and corresponding reports being generated, stored, and/or displayed for each. As an example, a system for providing virtual energy audits (e.g., the system 300 of FIG. 3) may receive a list of target buildings from a client device, along with predefined building characteristics for each of the target buildings. The system may generate energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics for each of the target buildings based on corresponding weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building.“; The quantified savings and energy amounts are examples of scores.).
[Claim 10] Abramson discloses predicting savings expected to result from the plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects (¶ 135 – “While the above examples have been provided in the context of analyzing a single building, it should be understood that multiple buildings may be similarly analyzed, with energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics and corresponding reports being generated, stored, and/or displayed for each. As an example, a system for providing virtual energy audits (e.g., the system 300 of FIG. 3) may receive a list of target buildings from a client device, along with predefined building characteristics for each of the target buildings. The system may generate energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics for each of the target buildings based on corresponding weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building. The system may then rank the target buildings according to one or more predefined factors. For example, the system may rank the target buildings according to how much money and/or energy could be saved by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics. A predefined number of target buildings for which the most money/energy is estimated to be saved if such recommendations are implemented may then be sent to the client device. In this way, an individual or corporation owning many buildings may quickly and cheaply identify which of their buildings should be adjusted or retrofitted with the highest priority, compared to conventional auditing methods, which may require time consuming and expensive individual walkthroughs of each of the buildings being audited.”).
[Claim 11] Abramson alludes to cost in reference to return-on-investment (ROI) estimates and future economic return (Abramson: ¶¶ 5-6); however, Abramson does not explicitly disclose wherein providing the scores further comprises determining prices for the plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects. Takahashi evaluates cost for energy saving projects and compares total installation cost of energy saving equipment to a total estimated budget to ensure that the installation cost does not exceed the budget (Takahashi: ¶ 20). The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Abramson wherein providing the scores further comprises determining prices for the plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects so that the economic feasibility of potential sustainable infrastructure projects may be taken into account when assessing which projects can actually be carried out within any budgetary constraints.
[Claim 12] Abramson discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing program instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (¶¶ 43-47), perform operations comprising:
obtaining building operational data from a plurality of building management systems (figs. 3, 4 – Various types of data are retrieved from various sources.; ¶ 27 – “In an example embodiment, a method for providing virtual energy audits may include steps for retrieving, by a processor of an analytics server, weather data corresponding to at least one target building from a weather server coupled to the analytics server, receiving, by the processor, utility energy usage data corresponding to the at least one target building, obtaining a set of building-specific characteristic data corresponding to the at least one target building, combining the weather data, utility energy usage data, and building-specific characteristic data into an energy audit dataset, determining a plurality of building markers for the at least one target building based on the energy audit dataset, generating prognostics data based on the energy audit dataset and building markers, the prognostics data including energy conservation recommendations and estimated impacts of implementing the energy conservation recommendations, generating building efficiency diagnostics based on the plurality of building markers, and sending the building efficiency diagnostics and the energy conservation recommendations to be displayed on a user interface of a client device coupled to the analytics server. The building efficiency diagnostics may include estimated heating/cooling system characteristics of the at least one target building.”; ¶ 30 – “In some embodiments, the at least one target building may include a plurality of target buildings. The building efficiency diagnostics may include a plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. The energy conservation recommendations may include a plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of building efficiency diagnostics of the plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of energy conservation recommendations of the plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations.”);
operating a display device to display a ranking of potential sustainable infrastructure projects based on scores for a plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects calculated based on utility information, climate data, building characteristics, and the building operational data (fig. 3 – Information is displayed on the client device.; ¶ 135 – “The system may generate energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics for each of the target buildings based on corresponding weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building. The system may then rank the target buildings according to one or more predefined factors. For example, the system may rank the target buildings according to how much money and/or energy could be saved by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics. A predefined number of target buildings for which the most money/energy is estimated to be saved if such recommendations are implemented may then be sent to the client device. In this way, an individual or corporation owning many buildings may quickly and cheaply identify which of their buildings should be adjusted or retrofitted with the highest priority, compared to conventional auditing methods, which may require time consuming and expensive individual walkthroughs of each of the buildings being audited.”; ¶ 27 – “In an example embodiment, a method for providing virtual energy audits may include steps for retrieving, by a processor of an analytics server, weather data corresponding to at least one target building from a weather server coupled to the analytics server, receiving, by the processor, utility energy usage data corresponding to the at least one target building, obtaining a set of building-specific characteristic data corresponding to the at least one target building, combining the weather data, utility energy usage data, and building-specific characteristic data into an energy audit dataset, determining a plurality of building markers for the at least one target building based on the energy audit dataset, generating prognostics data based on the energy audit dataset and building markers, the prognostics data including energy conservation recommendations and estimated impacts of implementing the energy conservation recommendations, generating building efficiency diagnostics based on the plurality of building markers, and sending the building efficiency diagnostics and the energy conservation recommendations to be displayed on a user interface of a client device coupled to the analytics server.”; ¶ 30 – “In some embodiments, the at least one target building may include a plurality of target buildings. The building efficiency diagnostics may include a plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. The energy conservation recommendations may include a plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of building efficiency diagnostics of the plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of energy conservation recommendations of the plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. The method may further include steps for quantifying a respective savings opportunity value for each of the plurality of target buildings to produce a plurality of savings opportunity values, the energy conservation recommendations including the plurality of savings opportunity values, generating an ordered list of the plurality of target buildings that is ordered based on the plurality of savings opportunity values, identifying a subset of target buildings of the plurality of target buildings associated with the highest savings opportunity values of the plurality of savings opportunity values, and sending the ordered list and the identified subset of target buildings to be displayed via the user interface of the client device.”; In summary, in Abramson, the weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building are used to determine a ranking for buildings based on operational adjustments and/or retrofits (i.e., projects related to each building or a set of buildings that are ranked). The energy usage data conveys utility information as well as building operational data. The weather data contributes to an understanding of climate data. The predefined building characteristics are building characteristics. The energy audit, building markers, etc. provide data regarding operations of the building and, thus, also exemplify building operational data. The quantified savings and energy amounts are examples of scores.).
[Claim 13] Abramson discloses wherein the operations further comprise planning to initiate at least some of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order based on the ranking (fig. 3 – Information is displayed on the client device.; ¶ 135 – “The system may generate energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics for each of the target buildings based on corresponding weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building. The system may then rank the target buildings according to one or more predefined factors. For example, the system may rank the target buildings according to how much money and/or energy could be saved by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics. A predefined number of target buildings for which the most money/energy is estimated to be saved if such recommendations are implemented may then be sent to the client device. In this way, an individual or corporation owning many buildings may quickly and cheaply identify which of their buildings should be adjusted or retrofitted with the highest priority, compared to conventional auditing methods, which may require time consuming and expensive individual walkthroughs of each of the buildings being audited.”; ¶ 27 – “In an example embodiment, a method for providing virtual energy audits may include steps for retrieving, by a processor of an analytics server, weather data corresponding to at least one target building from a weather server coupled to the analytics server, receiving, by the processor, utility energy usage data corresponding to the at least one target building, obtaining a set of building-specific characteristic data corresponding to the at least one target building, combining the weather data, utility energy usage data, and building-specific characteristic data into an energy audit dataset, determining a plurality of building markers for the at least one target building based on the energy audit dataset, generating prognostics data based on the energy audit dataset and building markers, the prognostics data including energy conservation recommendations and estimated impacts of implementing the energy conservation recommendations, generating building efficiency diagnostics based on the plurality of building markers, and sending the building efficiency diagnostics and the energy conservation recommendations to be displayed on a user interface of a client device coupled to the analytics server.”; ¶ 30 – “In some embodiments, the at least one target building may include a plurality of target buildings. The building efficiency diagnostics may include a plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. The energy conservation recommendations may include a plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of building efficiency diagnostics of the plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of energy conservation recommendations of the plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. The method may further include steps for quantifying a respective savings opportunity value for each of the plurality of target buildings to produce a plurality of savings opportunity values, the energy conservation recommendations including the plurality of savings opportunity values, generating an ordered list of the plurality of target buildings that is ordered based on the plurality of savings opportunity values, identifying a subset of target buildings of the plurality of target buildings associated with the highest savings opportunity values of the plurality of savings opportunity values, and sending the ordered list and the identified subset of target buildings to be displayed via the user interface of the client device.”; The quantified savings and energy amounts are examples of scores.).
Abramson does not explicitly disclose wherein the operations further comprise actively controlling equipment installed via execution of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order based on the ranking. However, Abramson states, “For example, the system may rank the target buildings according to how much money and/or energy could be saved by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics. A predefined number of target buildings for which the most money/energy is estimated to be saved if such recommendations are implemented may then be sent to the client device. In this way, an individual or corporation owning many buildings may quickly and cheaply identify which of their buildings should be adjusted or retrofitted with the highest priority, compared to conventional auditing methods, which may require time consuming and expensive individual walkthroughs of each of the buildings being audited.” (Abramson: ¶ 135) In other words, Abramson makes recommendations that are intended to be implemented to realize desired benefits (such as saving money and/or energy).
Additionally, Takahashi describes the implementation of energy saving solutions at each of multiple bases in order of priority and explicitly states the following in paragraph 19:
[0019] (1) The present invention provides an energy saving assistance system that includes a program that runs on at least one computer, and creates an energy saving plan for defining time when to introduce an energy saving solution implemented by installing an energy saving equipment. The program includes: a user setting section for setting as users need a target reduction of energy consumption through all of plural bases for every year and a priority order of selecting from the plural bases a base where an energy saving solution is preferentially carried out; an elemental effect calculation section for calculating an energy effect of every energy saving solution for a base of interest among the bases where the energy saving solution is preferentially carried out in the priority order, with reference to a data base storing equipment information before installing the energy saving equipment for the base of interest and a data base storing specifications of the energy saving equipment for the base of interest, and this calculation of the energy saving effect of every energy saving solution being carried out for every base of the bases where the energy saving solution is preferentially carried out in the priority order, and outputting the calculated energy saving effect of every energy saving solution for every base in a form of an elemental effect table; a consolidation section for creating the energy saving plan in accordance with the users need, using the elemental effect table, and representing this energy saving plan to the user; and for every action year, the consolidation section adopts an energy saving solution set in the elemental effect table as the energy saving solution to be introduced in an action year of interest in the priority order of base selection for the energy saving solution, so that total energy saving effect due to the adopted energy saving solution can clear a target reduction to be achieved in a next year after a year when the energy saving solution is carried out, and represents to the user an energy saving plan that specifies an energy saving equipment to be installed and a year when to install the equipment. (Emphasis added)
The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Abramson wherein the operations further comprise actively controlling equipment installed via execution of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order based on the ranking in order to facilitate the active realization of the desired benefits (including money and/or energy savings) in a more cost-effective manner.
[Claim 16] Abramson discloses wherein providing the scores further comprises accounting for retrofit constraints indicated by the building characteristics and comparing the utility information, the climate data, and the building characteristics (¶ 134 – “With additional metadata for, or an estimate of, window-to-wall ratio in the building, a parallel thermal resistance network analysis can be employed to determine the corresponding effective R-value of the windows in the building. Consequently, this analysis ultimately reveals the potential value of, and opportunity for, window replacement which is a common energy conservation measure (ECM) recommendation. For example, this analysis was applied to one real world buildings, and the resulting findings were then validated against an energy audit conducted by an on-site energy audit firm, to reveal that as-calculated low R-value buildings correspond well to those buildings which the company determined are in need of retro-commissioning or deep retrofit to achieve energy efficiency goals set by the building owner. The firm's on-site energy audit required engineers to access the building in-person, over several days per building and at a cost of thousands of dollars per building. The systems and methods disclosed herein are capable of diagnosing similar problems with the building within minutes and at a much reduced cost.”; ¶ 135 – “While the above examples have been provided in the context of analyzing a single building, it should be understood that multiple buildings may be similarly analyzed, with energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics and corresponding reports being generated, stored, and/or displayed for each. As an example, a system for providing virtual energy audits (e.g., the system 300 of FIG. 3) may receive a list of target buildings from a client device, along with predefined building characteristics for each of the target buildings. The system may generate energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics for each of the target buildings based on corresponding weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building. The system may then rank the target buildings according to one or more predefined factors. For example, the system may rank the target buildings according to how much money and/or energy could be saved by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics. A predefined number of target buildings for which the most money/energy is estimated to be saved if such recommendations are implemented may then be sent to the client device. In this way, an individual or corporation owning many buildings may quickly and cheaply identify which of their buildings should be adjusted or retrofitted with the highest priority, compared to conventional auditing methods, which may require time consuming and expensive individual walkthroughs of each of the buildings being audited.”).
[Claim 17] Abramson alludes to cost in reference to return-on-investment (ROI) estimates and future economic return (Abramson: ¶¶ 5-6); however, Abramson does not explicitly disclose that the operations further comprise predicting savings expected to result from the plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects, determining prices for the plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects, and comparing the savings with the prices. Takahashi evaluates cost for energy saving projects and compares total installation cost of energy saving equipment to a total estimated budget to ensure that the installation cost does not exceed the budget (Takahashi: ¶ 20). Takahashi also determines a cost recovery period for an installation cost based on an energy saving cost divided by an annual cost reduction due to the energy saving solution (Takahashi: ¶ 128). The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Abramson such that the operations further comprise predicting savings expected to result from the plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects, determining prices for the plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects, and comparing the savings with the prices so that the economic feasibility and return on investment of potential sustainable infrastructure projects may be taken into account when assessing which projects can actually be carried out within any budgetary constraints and are worth the effort to carry out.
[Claim 18] Abramson discloses a method of executing sustainable infrastructure projects (abstract – “The energy conservation prognostics may include one or more energy conservation measure recommendations and corresponding predicted cost/energy savings.”), comprising:
ranking the sustainable infrastructure projects by scoring the sustainable infrastructure projects based on utility information, climate data, building characteristics, and building operational data associated with the sustainable infrastructure projects (fig. 3 – Information is displayed on the client device.; ¶ 135 – “The system may generate energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics for each of the target buildings based on corresponding weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building. The system may then rank the target buildings according to one or more predefined factors. For example, the system may rank the target buildings according to how much money and/or energy could be saved by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics. A predefined number of target buildings for which the most money/energy is estimated to be saved if such recommendations are implemented may then be sent to the client device. In this way, an individual or corporation owning many buildings may quickly and cheaply identify which of their buildings should be adjusted or retrofitted with the highest priority, compared to conventional auditing methods, which may require time consuming and expensive individual walkthroughs of each of the buildings being audited.”; ¶ 27 – “In an example embodiment, a method for providing virtual energy audits may include steps for retrieving, by a processor of an analytics server, weather data corresponding to at least one target building from a weather server coupled to the analytics server, receiving, by the processor, utility energy usage data corresponding to the at least one target building, obtaining a set of building-specific characteristic data corresponding to the at least one target building, combining the weather data, utility energy usage data, and building-specific characteristic data into an energy audit dataset, determining a plurality of building markers for the at least one target building based on the energy audit dataset, generating prognostics data based on the energy audit dataset and building markers, the prognostics data including energy conservation recommendations and estimated impacts of implementing the energy conservation recommendations, generating building efficiency diagnostics based on the plurality of building markers, and sending the building efficiency diagnostics and the energy conservation recommendations to be displayed on a user interface of a client device coupled to the analytics server.”; ¶ 30 – “In some embodiments, the at least one target building may include a plurality of target buildings. The building efficiency diagnostics may include a plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. The energy conservation recommendations may include a plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of building efficiency diagnostics of the plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of energy conservation recommendations of the plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. The method may further include steps for quantifying a respective savings opportunity value for each of the plurality of target buildings to produce a plurality of savings opportunity values, the energy conservation recommendations including the plurality of savings opportunity values, generating an ordered list of the plurality of target buildings that is ordered based on the plurality of savings opportunity values, identifying a subset of target buildings of the plurality of target buildings associated with the highest savings opportunity values of the plurality of savings opportunity values, and sending the ordered list and the identified subset of target buildings to be displayed via the user interface of the client device.”; In summary, in Abramson, the weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building are used to determine a ranking for buildings based on operational adjustments and/or retrofits (i.e., projects related to each building or a set of buildings that are ranked). The energy usage data conveys utility information as well as building operational data. The weather data contributes to an understanding of climate data. The predefined building characteristics are building characteristics. The energy audit, building markers, etc. provide data regarding operations of the building and, thus, also exemplify building operational data. The quantified savings and energy amounts are examples of scores.).
Abramson discloses recommendations to install building equipment or modify at least one building to execute the sustainable infrastructure projects in an order indicated by the ranking (fig. 3 – Information is displayed on the client device.; ¶ 135 – “The system may generate energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics for each of the target buildings based on corresponding weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building. The system may then rank the target buildings according to one or more predefined factors. For example, the system may rank the target buildings according to how much money and/or energy could be saved by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics. A predefined number of target buildings for which the most money/energy is estimated to be saved if such recommendations are implemented may then be sent to the client device. In this way, an individual or corporation owning many buildings may quickly and cheaply identify which of their buildings should be adjusted or retrofitted with the highest priority, compared to conventional auditing methods, which may require time consuming and expensive individual walkthroughs of each of the buildings being audited.”; ¶ 27 – “In an example embodiment, a method for providing virtual energy audits may include steps for retrieving, by a processor of an analytics server, weather data corresponding to at least one target building from a weather server coupled to the analytics server, receiving, by the processor, utility energy usage data corresponding to the at least one target building, obtaining a set of building-specific characteristic data corresponding to the at least one target building, combining the weather data, utility energy usage data, and building-specific characteristic data into an energy audit dataset, determining a plurality of building markers for the at least one target building based on the energy audit dataset, generating prognostics data based on the energy audit dataset and building markers, the prognostics data including energy conservation recommendations and estimated impacts of implementing the energy conservation recommendations, generating building efficiency diagnostics based on the plurality of building markers, and sending the building efficiency diagnostics and the energy conservation recommendations to be displayed on a user interface of a client device coupled to the analytics server.”; ¶ 30 – “In some embodiments, the at least one target building may include a plurality of target buildings. The building efficiency diagnostics may include a plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. The energy conservation recommendations may include a plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of building efficiency diagnostics of the plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of energy conservation recommendations of the plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. The method may further include steps for quantifying a respective savings opportunity value for each of the plurality of target buildings to produce a plurality of savings opportunity values, the energy conservation recommendations including the plurality of savings opportunity values, generating an ordered list of the plurality of target buildings that is ordered based on the plurality of savings opportunity values, identifying a subset of target buildings of the plurality of target buildings associated with the highest savings opportunity values of the plurality of savings opportunity values, and sending the ordered list and the identified subset of target buildings to be displayed via the user interface of the client device.”; The quantified savings and energy amounts are examples of scores.).
Abramson does not explicitly disclose actively installing building equipment or modifying at least one building to execute the sustainable infrastructure projects in an order indicated by the ranking of the sustainable infrastructure projects based on utility information, climate data, building characteristics, and building operational data associated with the sustainable infrastructure projects; and operating the installed building equipment or the modified at least one building. However, Abramson states, “For example, the system may rank the target buildings according to how much money and/or energy could be saved by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics. A predefined number of target buildings for which the most money/energy is estimated to be saved if such recommendations are implemented may then be sent to the client device. In this way, an individual or corporation owning many buildings may quickly and cheaply identify which of their buildings should be adjusted or retrofitted with the highest priority, compared to conventional auditing methods, which may require time consuming and expensive individual walkthroughs of each of the buildings being audited.” (Abramson: ¶ 135) In other words, Abramson makes recommendations that are intended to be implemented to realize desired benefits (such as saving money and/or energy).
Additionally, Takahashi describes the implementation of energy saving solutions at each of multiple bases in order of priority (which implies that the implemented energy saving solutions will be operated) and explicitly states the following in paragraph 19:
[0019] (1) The present invention provides an energy saving assistance system that includes a program that runs on at least one computer, and creates an energy saving plan for defining time when to introduce an energy saving solution implemented by installing an energy saving equipment. The program includes: a user setting section for setting as users need a target reduction of energy consumption through all of plural bases for every year and a priority order of selecting from the plural bases a base where an energy saving solution is preferentially carried out; an elemental effect calculation section for calculating an energy effect of every energy saving solution for a base of interest among the bases where the energy saving solution is preferentially carried out in the priority order, with reference to a data base storing equipment information before installing the energy saving equipment for the base of interest and a data base storing specifications of the energy saving equipment for the base of interest, and this calculation of the energy saving effect of every energy saving solution being carried out for every base of the bases where the energy saving solution is preferentially carried out in the priority order, and outputting the calculated energy saving effect of every energy saving solution for every base in a form of an elemental effect table; a consolidation section for creating the energy saving plan in accordance with the users need, using the elemental effect table, and representing this energy saving plan to the user; and for every action year, the consolidation section adopts an energy saving solution set in the elemental effect table as the energy saving solution to be introduced in an action year of interest in the priority order of base selection for the energy saving solution, so that total energy saving effect due to the adopted energy saving solution can clear a target reduction to be achieved in a next year after a year when the energy saving solution is carried out, and represents to the user an energy saving plan that specifies an energy saving equipment to be installed and a year when to install the equipment. (Emphasis added)
The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Abramson to actively install building equipment or modify at least one building to execute the sustainable infrastructure projects in an order indicated by the ranking of the sustainable infrastructure projects based on utility information, climate data, building characteristics, and building operational data associated with the sustainable infrastructure projects; and operating the installed building equipment or the modified at least one building in order to facilitate the active realization of the desired benefits (including money and/or energy savings) in a more cost-effective manner.
[Claim 21] Abramson discloses operating a display device to display, via a graphical user interface, the ranking of the sustainable infrastructure projects based on the scoring (fig. 3 – Information is displayed on the client device.; ¶ 135 – “The system may generate energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics for each of the target buildings based on corresponding weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building. The system may then rank the target buildings according to one or more predefined factors. For example, the system may rank the target buildings according to how much money and/or energy could be saved by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics. A predefined number of target buildings for which the most money/energy is estimated to be saved if such recommendations are implemented may then be sent to the client device. In this way, an individual or corporation owning many buildings may quickly and cheaply identify which of their buildings should be adjusted or retrofitted with the highest priority, compared to conventional auditing methods, which may require time consuming and expensive individual walkthroughs of each of the buildings being audited.”; ¶ 27 – “In an example embodiment, a method for providing virtual energy audits may include steps for retrieving, by a processor of an analytics server, weather data corresponding to at least one target building from a weather server coupled to the analytics server, receiving, by the processor, utility energy usage data corresponding to the at least one target building, obtaining a set of building-specific characteristic data corresponding to the at least one target building, combining the weather data, utility energy usage data, and building-specific characteristic data into an energy audit dataset, determining a plurality of building markers for the at least one target building based on the energy audit dataset, generating prognostics data based on the energy audit dataset and building markers, the prognostics data including energy conservation recommendations and estimated impacts of implementing the energy conservation recommendations, generating building efficiency diagnostics based on the plurality of building markers, and sending the building efficiency diagnostics and the energy conservation recommendations to be displayed on a user interface of a client device coupled to the analytics server.”; ¶ 30 – “In some embodiments, the at least one target building may include a plurality of target buildings. The building efficiency diagnostics may include a plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. The energy conservation recommendations may include a plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of building efficiency diagnostics of the plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of energy conservation recommendations of the plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. The method may further include steps for quantifying a respective savings opportunity value for each of the plurality of target buildings to produce a plurality of savings opportunity values, the energy conservation recommendations including the plurality of savings opportunity values, generating an ordered list of the plurality of target buildings that is ordered based on the plurality of savings opportunity values, identifying a subset of target buildings of the plurality of target buildings associated with the highest savings opportunity values of the plurality of savings opportunity values, and sending the ordered list and the identified subset of target buildings to be displayed via the user interface of the client device.”; The quantified savings and energy amounts are examples of scores.).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abramson et al. (US 2019/0347670) in view of Takahashi et al. (US 2011/0161131), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Dufresne et al. (US 2009/0150201).
[Claim 2] Abramson ranks projects (Abramson: ¶¶ 30, 135). Abramson does not explicitly disclose wherein executing the subset of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order based on the ranking comprises installing a first type of equipment at a building and then installing a second type of equipment at the building. Dufresne describes how criteria for ranking projects, including to (in effect) account for trade-offs among criteria and including infrastructure projects, are used to prioritize various projects within a building and across multiple buildings, as seen in the following excerpts:
[0047] Referring now to FIG. 3, an illustration of one of the project criteria (e.g. Category 118) is shown. In this example, Category 118 comprises the following possible values: Other 124, Air and Water Quality 126, Energy 128, Environmental 130, Functionality 132, Grandfathered Code 134 and Life Safety 136. Accordingly, a user has the option to quantify the importance of each the various criteria in Category 118. As can be seen from FIG. 3, the user has the option to rank each criteria versus each of the other criteria in Category 118. For example, Energy 128 is ranked directly against each of the other criteria in Category 118 and Environmental is ranked directly against each of the other criteria. While Energy 128 and Environmental 130 are illustrated, it should be noted that each criteria may be directly ranked against other criteria in Category 118.
[0048] This allows the user to create rules on a global level so that the user can specify which criteria is more important to the user (or organization) relative to the other categories. For example, in the screen shot illustrated, the user has selected Life Safety 136 as the most important criteria to be maintained (replaced/improved/etc.), followed by Environmental 130 and Energy 128. This allows the user complete control in creating a Set of Rules that reflects the specific ideals or mission plan of the organization.
[0049] Referring now to FIG. 4, an Overview of all the various project criteria is illustrated. For clarity, a description of each of the various project criteria will be provided, however, it should be noted that virtually any type of project criteria may be used and the particular criteria shown is for illustration purposes only and should not limit the scope of the invention.
[0050] FCI 112 is provided with five possible values including: Great, Good, Fair, Worse and Poor. FCI is a number that is assigned to a building that provides an overall estimated rank for the current condition of the building. Therefore, while FCI 112 is divided into five possible values, it is contemplated that any number of values may be used, or simply the FCI number itself could be used. In this example, the lower the FCI ranking (e.g. the poorer condition the building is in) the higher in importance each project associated with that building is assigned. For example, if a Life Safety system in two different buildings is in need of repair/replacement, the Life Safety system in the building with the lower FCI will be ranked higher on the Ranked List that is eventually generated by the system 100.
[0051] The next project criteria listed is Redundancy 114, which is provided with four possible values including: Common Operations, Secondary Facility Available, Unique and Other. In this way, the user can rank the relative importance of projects in various facilities based on whether the facility is relatively common facility or a unique facility for the organization. For example, it could be that a city has a number of projects to complete over the course of a fiscal year. One of the projects is in one of the city's eight fire stations and the other is in the city's only waste water treatment plant. If the operations at one of the city's fire stations were interrupted, it is understood that seven other facilities are on-line so-to-speak to handle the temporarily interrupted operations of the eighth facility. However, if the operations of the unique facility were interrupted, there is absolutely no other facility available to perform the function. Accordingly, real properties that are designated "unique" are given the highest priority so the interruption in services are avoided.
[0052] The next project criteria listed is Use 116, which is provided with six possible values including: Other, Medical, Sites and Storage, Essential Services, Housing and Recreational. This allows the user to provide a relative ranking to the importance of the use a particular real property is put to. As can be seen in this particular example, the use a particular real property is put to is ranked relatively lower in importance than, for example, the redundancy classification of the real property. Again, while six criteria are listed under Use 116, it is contemplated that virtually any number of criteria may be specified.
[0053] The next project criteria listed is Category 118, which is provided with possible values previously described in connection with FIG. 3.
[0054] The next project criteria listed is Floors 120, which is provided with two possible values including: Single Story and Multi-Story. Again, as stated above, virtually any number of criteria may be included such that the Set of Rules generated by system 100 will reflect the goals and mission of the organization.
[0055] Finally, the last project criteria listed is Prime System 122, which is provided with possible values including: Exterior, Plumbing, Finishes, Electrical, Interior and Roof. This again allows the user to provide a relative ranking for the importance of various criteria listed in Prime System 122. For example, it can be seen that Roof projects are provided with greater importance than, for example, Finishes. In this particular example, the user may be concerned about collateral damage to the building if the roof leaks and therefore has provided a higher importance to such projects. However, any number of criteria may by listed or provided under this listing, such as, for example but not limited to, HVAC, communications systems including voice and data, etc.
Possible projects within a building may include installation types of projects, such as Exterior, Plumbing, Finishes, Electrical, Interior and Roof projects (as seen in ¶ 55 of Dufresne, cited above). A calculated score may also be used to specify a chronology for completion of the ranked list of projects (Dufresne: ¶ 65 – “Referring to FIG. 11, it can be seen that the user is allowed to tag various requirements (projects) with information and/or data. This may allow the project to be ranked out of order such as is depicted in FIG. 14. This allows the system to apply the Set of Rules to the real property information to generate the Ranked List, but also allows the user to specify particular requirement (projects) to be completed earlier (e.g. within a fiscal year) rather than having to wait a number of years based on the calculated score. As can be seen in FIG. 14, at the bottom of the list the calculated rank of the projects ends at thirty-seven (37) and then jumps to three hundred fifteen (315). The system 100 will determine how many of the requirements on the Ranked List can be completed in the fiscal year depending upon the available funds. In this case, the system included a number of lower ranked projects in the fiscal year funding as these projects were tagged meaning an override was placed on the ranking thereby forcing these projects into the current year queue to be completed ahead of higher ranked projects allowing complete control over the process.”).
The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Abramson wherein executing the subset of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order based on the ranking comprises installing a first type of equipment at a building and then installing a second type of equipment at the building in order to “[allow] the user to create rules on a global level so that the user can specify which criteria is more important to the user (or organization) relative to the other categories. For example, in the screen shot illustrated, the user has selected Life Safety 136 as the most important criteria to be maintained (replaced/improved/etc.), followed by Environmental 130 and Energy 128. This allows the user complete control in creating a Set of Rules that reflects the specific ideals or mission plan of the organization.” (Dufresne: ¶ 48) Additionally, Dufresne discusses benefits related to budget planning, as seen in ¶ 14 of Dufresne, which explains that “[m]ultiple budgets may be defined, as many organizations have more than one source of funding and different classes of capital assets that may need their own prioritization strategy. The multiple budget scenarios may further be compared to see the impact on the future condition of the portfolio due to different investment levels and help the organization define the appropriate level of funding. Based on the agreed-upon assigned priorities, a multi-year capital budget for capital funding may be produced that will achieve the organization's facility and business objectives.” Furthermore, Dufresne explains that “[r]ather that providing a list including subjective analysis, the Ranked List generated by the system provides a global Set of Rules that is applied across the board to all projects. This allows for review of the ranked projects in a fair and objective manner, which provides a higher comfort level to those performing the review and a more efficient review process.” (Dufresne: ¶ 66)
Claims 3-5 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abramson et al. (US 2019/0347670) in view of Takahashi et al. (US 2011/0161131), as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, in view of Volkman et al. (CA-2650178-A1).
[Claims 3, 14] Abramson discloses wherein:
the plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects comprise a first project for a first building and a second project for a second building (fig. 3 – Information is displayed on the client device.; ¶ 135 – “The system may generate energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics for each of the target buildings based on corresponding weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building. The system may then rank the target buildings according to one or more predefined factors. For example, the system may rank the target buildings according to how much money and/or energy could be saved by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics. A predefined number of target buildings for which the most money/energy is estimated to be saved if such recommendations are implemented may then be sent to the client device. In this way, an individual or corporation owning many buildings may quickly and cheaply identify which of their buildings should be adjusted or retrofitted with the highest priority, compared to conventional auditing methods, which may require time consuming and expensive individual walkthroughs of each of the buildings being audited.”; ¶ 27 – “In an example embodiment, a method for providing virtual energy audits may include steps for retrieving, by a processor of an analytics server, weather data corresponding to at least one target building from a weather server coupled to the analytics server, receiving, by the processor, utility energy usage data corresponding to the at least one target building, obtaining a set of building-specific characteristic data corresponding to the at least one target building, combining the weather data, utility energy usage data, and building-specific characteristic data into an energy audit dataset, determining a plurality of building markers for the at least one target building based on the energy audit dataset, generating prognostics data based on the energy audit dataset and building markers, the prognostics data including energy conservation recommendations and estimated impacts of implementing the energy conservation recommendations, generating building efficiency diagnostics based on the plurality of building markers, and sending the building efficiency diagnostics and the energy conservation recommendations to be displayed on a user interface of a client device coupled to the analytics server.”; ¶ 30 – “In some embodiments, the at least one target building may include a plurality of target buildings. The building efficiency diagnostics may include a plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. The energy conservation recommendations may include a plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of building efficiency diagnostics of the plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of energy conservation recommendations of the plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. The method may further include steps for quantifying a respective savings opportunity value for each of the plurality of target buildings to produce a plurality of savings opportunity values, the energy conservation recommendations including the plurality of savings opportunity values, generating an ordered list of the plurality of target buildings that is ordered based on the plurality of savings opportunity values, identifying a subset of target buildings of the plurality of target buildings associated with the highest savings opportunity values of the plurality of savings opportunity values, and sending the ordered list and the identified subset of target buildings to be displayed via the user interface of the client device.”; The quantified savings and energy amounts are examples of scores.);
the utility information comprises a first utility rate for the first building and a second utility rate for the second building (fig. 3 – Information is displayed on the client device.; ¶ 135 – “The system may generate energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics for each of the target buildings based on corresponding weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building. The system may then rank the target buildings according to one or more predefined factors. For example, the system may rank the target buildings according to how much money and/or energy could be saved by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics. A predefined number of target buildings for which the most money/energy is estimated to be saved if such recommendations are implemented may then be sent to the client device. In this way, an individual or corporation owning many buildings may quickly and cheaply identify which of their buildings should be adjusted or retrofitted with the highest priority, compared to conventional auditing methods, which may require time consuming and expensive individual walkthroughs of each of the buildings being audited.”; ¶ 27 – “In an example embodiment, a method for providing virtual energy audits may include steps for retrieving, by a processor of an analytics server, weather data corresponding to at least one target building from a weather server coupled to the analytics server, receiving, by the processor, utility energy usage data corresponding to the at least one target building, obtaining a set of building-specific characteristic data corresponding to the at least one target building, combining the weather data, utility energy usage data, and building-specific characteristic data into an energy audit dataset, determining a plurality of building markers for the at least one target building based on the energy audit dataset, generating prognostics data based on the energy audit dataset and building markers, the prognostics data including energy conservation recommendations and estimated impacts of implementing the energy conservation recommendations, generating building efficiency diagnostics based on the plurality of building markers, and sending the building efficiency diagnostics and the energy conservation recommendations to be displayed on a user interface of a client device coupled to the analytics server.”; ¶ 30 – “In some embodiments, the at least one target building may include a plurality of target buildings. The building efficiency diagnostics may include a plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. The energy conservation recommendations may include a plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of building efficiency diagnostics of the plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of energy conservation recommendations of the plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. The method may further include steps for quantifying a respective savings opportunity value for each of the plurality of target buildings to produce a plurality of savings opportunity values, the energy conservation recommendations including the plurality of savings opportunity values, generating an ordered list of the plurality of target buildings that is ordered based on the plurality of savings opportunity values, identifying a subset of target buildings of the plurality of target buildings associated with the highest savings opportunity values of the plurality of savings opportunity values, and sending the ordered list and the identified subset of target buildings to be displayed via the user interface of the client device.”; The quantified savings and energy amounts are examples of scores. Energy usage is an example of a utility rate. The energy usage of each building is evaluated.).
Abramson does not explicitly disclose that the step of scoring the potential sustainable infrastructure projects comprises improving a first score for the first project relative to a second score for the second project if the first utility rate is higher than the second utility rate. However, Volkman explains that utility data (including energy usage) may be obtained from the respective utility companies of various users for comparison purposes and in order to make appropriate recommendations for reducing a carbon footprint, energy usage, etc., as seen in the following excerpts:
[0029] The users l 20A-N may register for a service for providing actions to reduce a carbon footprint provided by the service provider 110. The users l 20A-N may provide personal information to the service provider 110, such as name, address, social security number, or generally any information that may be used to obtain energy use data from the utility providers 140. The users 120A-N may manually enter energy use information used to determine a carbon footprint of the users 120A-N. The energy use information may be specific to the user. For example, the users 120A-N may enter information about the square footage of their home, the number of bedrooms, the vehicles they own, the vehicle usage, the types of appliances in the home, the sources of energy to the home, such as electricity, natural gas, propane, coal, solar panels, and any other information. Depending on an implementation, energy use information may also be gathered in other ways, such as directly via the utility providers 140. For example, the utility network control systems 330 may provide an application programming interface (API) to allow the service provider 110 to receive energy use information from the utility providers 140. The service provider 110 may use the information provided by the users 120A-N and/or other sources, for example the transaction data providers 140 and reference data providers 145, to determine energy use and a carbon footprint of the users 120A-N.
[0032] Since the use of a particular type of energy may vary depending upon the geographic location of the users 120A-N, the energy use of the user A 120A may be compared against the energy use of users 120B-N located within the same geographic area as the user A 120A. Alternatively or in addition, the users 120BN may be located in a geographic area with the same climate as the user A 120A, or within an area where the electric energy providers use the same fuel mix to provide electricity, such as a mix of renewable energy, nuclear energy, natural gas, coal, and/or generally any type of energy capable of producing electricity. The carbon footprint data may also include a trend analysis. The trend analysis may display the historical emissions data of the users 120A-N and may indicate whether the users 120A-N are increasing or decreasing their emissions.
[0050] At block 440 the service provider 110 may determine carbon reducing actions relating to the energy use/emission data of the user A 120A. The actions may be tailored to each user such as based on actual energy uses of the user. The
actions may be prioritized in accordance with a relative impact that the action has on a carbon footprint of the user. Actions that provide a greater impact on the carbon footprint may be emphasized. Alternatively and/or additionally, the service provider 110 may compare the emissions data of the user A 120A to the emissions data of the users 120B-N. The set of users 120B-N may be the users 1208-N located in the same geographic region as the user A 120A, the users 1208-N located in a similar climate as the user A 120A, the users 120B-N with similar size/age homes as the user A 120A, or generally any segment of the users 120B-N which may indicate the relative emissions of the user A 120A. The service provider 110 may determine relative emissions of the user A 120A for each energy use type. The service provider 110 may provide recommended actions to the user A 120A geared towards the energy use types where the user A 120A is generating relatively large amounts of carbon emissions.
[0053] At block 455 the service provider 110 may display the emission data and the recommended actions to the user A 120A. The emission data may be displayed in a bar graph, a pie chart, or generally any method of displaying the data so as to convey the carbon emissions of the user A 120A. The emissions data of the user A 120A may be compared against users 1208-N with similar energy needs of the user A 120A in order to provide a relative perspective of the energy consumption of the user A 120A.
[0057] At block 520 the service provider 110 may determine whether the user A 120A should be recommended actions to reduce their emissions due to electricity usage. If the emissions due to the electricity use of the user A 120A are higher than the emissions due to the electricity use of similar users 120B-N, the system may move to block 525. If the emissions due to the electricity use of the user A 120A are less than or equal to emissions due to the electricity use of similar users 120B-N, the system 200 may move to block 530.
(0058] At block 525 the service provider 110 may determine a carbon reducing action related to electricity use. For example, the service provider 110 may recommend that the user A 120A replace energy consuming appliances, such as a washer/dryer, with more efficient appliances. Alternatively or in addition, the service provider 110 may recommend the user A 120A unplug unneeded appliances, such as a third refrigerator. (Emphasis added)
The home of each of Volkman’s users is analogous to each of the buildings in Abramson. Volkman looks are relative usage to identify areas in greater need of being addressed to reduce carbon emissions, including those related to electricity use (which implies that higher electricity use is associated with a larger carbon footprint and greater carbon emissions). When a user uses more energy than comparable users, as gleaned from utility data for each of multiple users, then a recommendation is made for that user to reduce carbon emissions, electricity use, etc. In effect, the claim limitation “scoring the potential sustainable infrastructure projects comprises improving a first score for the first project relative to a second score for the second project if the first utility rate is higher than the second utility rate” adds a consideration of greater criticality when one utility rate (such as energy usage) is relatively higher than another utility rate. The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Abramson such that the step of scoring the potential sustainable infrastructure projects comprises improving a first score for the first project relative to a second score for the second project if the first utility rate is higher than the second utility rate in order to allow for areas of greater criticality (such as above average carbon footprints, energy usage, etc.) to be emphasized when ranking projects by greatest impact, urgency, etc., thereby allowing for projects deemed to be of greater importance to be given higher priority relative to less critical projects.
[Claims 4, 15] Abramson discloses wherein:
the plurality of potential sustainable infrastructure projects comprise a first project for a first building and a second project for a second building (fig. 3 – Information is displayed on the client device.; ¶ 135 – “The system may generate energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics for each of the target buildings based on corresponding weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building. The system may then rank the target buildings according to one or more predefined factors. For example, the system may rank the target buildings according to how much money and/or energy could be saved by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics. A predefined number of target buildings for which the most money/energy is estimated to be saved if such recommendations are implemented may then be sent to the client device. In this way, an individual or corporation owning many buildings may quickly and cheaply identify which of their buildings should be adjusted or retrofitted with the highest priority, compared to conventional auditing methods, which may require time consuming and expensive individual walkthroughs of each of the buildings being audited.”; ¶ 27 – “In an example embodiment, a method for providing virtual energy audits may include steps for retrieving, by a processor of an analytics server, weather data corresponding to at least one target building from a weather server coupled to the analytics server, receiving, by the processor, utility energy usage data corresponding to the at least one target building, obtaining a set of building-specific characteristic data corresponding to the at least one target building, combining the weather data, utility energy usage data, and building-specific characteristic data into an energy audit dataset, determining a plurality of building markers for the at least one target building based on the energy audit dataset, generating prognostics data based on the energy audit dataset and building markers, the prognostics data including energy conservation recommendations and estimated impacts of implementing the energy conservation recommendations, generating building efficiency diagnostics based on the plurality of building markers, and sending the building efficiency diagnostics and the energy conservation recommendations to be displayed on a user interface of a client device coupled to the analytics server.”; ¶ 30 – “In some embodiments, the at least one target building may include a plurality of target buildings. The building efficiency diagnostics may include a plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. The energy conservation recommendations may include a plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of building efficiency diagnostics of the plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of energy conservation recommendations of the plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. The method may further include steps for quantifying a respective savings opportunity value for each of the plurality of target buildings to produce a plurality of savings opportunity values, the energy conservation recommendations including the plurality of savings opportunity values, generating an ordered list of the plurality of target buildings that is ordered based on the plurality of savings opportunity values, identifying a subset of target buildings of the plurality of target buildings associated with the highest savings opportunity values of the plurality of savings opportunity values, and sending the ordered list and the identified subset of target buildings to be displayed via the user interface of the client device.”; The quantified savings and energy amounts are examples of scores.).
Abramson does not explicitly disclose the following:
the utility information comprises a first grid emissions rate associated with energy generated for provision to the first building and a second grid emissions rate associated with energy generated for provision to the second building; and
scoring the potential sustainable infrastructure projects comprises improving a first score for the first project relative to a second score for the second project if the first grid emissions rate is higher than the second grid emissions rate.
However, Volkman explains that utility data (including energy usage) may be obtained from the respective utility companies of various users for comparison purposes and in order to make appropriate recommendations for reducing a carbon footprint, energy usage, etc., as seen in the following excerpts:
[0029] The users l 20A-N may register for a service for providing actions to reduce a carbon footprint provided by the service provider 110. The users l 20A-N may provide personal information to the service provider 110, such as name, address, social security number, or generally any information that may be used to obtain energy use data from the utility providers 140. The users 120A-N may manually enter energy use information used to determine a carbon footprint of the users 120A-N. The energy use information may be specific to the user. For example, the users 120A-N may enter information about the square footage of their home, the number of bedrooms, the vehicles they own, the vehicle usage, the types of appliances in the home, the sources of energy to the home, such as electricity, natural gas, propane, coal, solar panels, and any other information. Depending on an implementation, energy use information may also be gathered in other ways, such as directly via the utility providers 140. For example, the utility network control systems 330 may provide an application programming interface (API) to allow the service provider 110 to receive energy use information from the utility providers 140. The service provider 110 may use the information provided by the users 120A-N and/or other sources, for example the transaction data providers 140 and reference data providers 145, to determine energy use and a carbon footprint of the users 120A-N.
[0032] Since the use of a particular type of energy may vary depending upon the geographic location of the users 120A-N, the energy use of the user A 120A may be compared against the energy use of users 120B-N located within the same geographic area as the user A 120A. Alternatively or in addition, the users 120BN may be located in a geographic area with the same climate as the user A 120A, or within an area where the electric energy providers use the same fuel mix to provide electricity, such as a mix of renewable energy, nuclear energy, natural gas, coal, and/or generally any type of energy capable of producing electricity. The carbon footprint data may also include a trend analysis. The trend analysis may display the historical emissions data of the users 120A-N and may indicate whether the users 120A-N are increasing or decreasing their emissions.
[0050] At block 440 the service provider 110 may determine carbon reducing actions relating to the energy use/emission data of the user A 120A. The actions may be tailored to each user such as based on actual energy uses of the user. The
actions may be prioritized in accordance with a relative impact that the action has on a carbon footprint of the user. Actions that provide a greater impact on the carbon footprint may be emphasized. Alternatively and/or additionally, the service provider 110 may compare the emissions data of the user A 120A to the emissions data of the users 120B-N. The set of users 120B-N may be the users 1208-N located in the same geographic region as the user A 120A, the users 1208-N located in a similar climate as the user A 120A, the users 120B-N with similar size/age homes as the user A 120A, or generally any segment of the users 120B-N which may indicate the relative emissions of the user A 120A. The service provider 110 may determine relative emissions of the user A 120A for each energy use type. The service provider 110 may provide recommended actions to the user A 120A geared towards the energy use types where the user A 120A is generating relatively large amounts of carbon emissions.
[0053] At block 455 the service provider 110 may display the emission data and the recommended actions to the user A 120A. The emission data may be displayed in a bar graph, a pie chart, or generally any method of displaying the data so as to convey the carbon emissions of the user A 120A. The emissions data of the user A 120A may be compared against users 1208-N with similar energy needs of the user A 120A in order to provide a relative perspective of the energy consumption of the user A 120A.
[0057] At block 520 the service provider 110 may determine whether the user A 120A should be recommended actions to reduce their emissions due to electricity usage. If the emissions due to the electricity use of the user A 120A are higher than the emissions due to the electricity use of similar users 120B-N, the system may move to block 525. If the emissions due to the electricity use of the user A 120A are less than or equal to emissions due to the electricity use of similar users 120B-N, the system 200 may move to block 530.
(0058] At block 525 the service provider 110 may determine a carbon reducing action related to electricity use. For example, the service provider 110 may recommend that the user A 120A replace energy consuming appliances, such as a washer/dryer, with more efficient appliances. Alternatively or in addition, the service provider 110 may recommend the user A 120A unplug unneeded appliances, such as a third refrigerator. (Emphasis added)
The home of each of Volkman’s users is analogous to each of the buildings in Abramson. Volkman looks are relative usage to identify areas in greater need of being addressed to reduce carbon emissions, including those related to electricity use (which implies that higher electricity use is associated with a larger carbon footprint and greater carbon emissions). When a user uses more energy than comparable users, as gleaned from utility data for each of multiple users, then a recommendation is made for that user to reduce carbon emissions, electricity use, etc. In effect, the claim limitation “scoring the potential sustainable infrastructure projects comprises improving a first score for the first project relative to a second score for the second project if the first utility rate is higher than the second utility rate” adds a consideration of greater criticality when one utility rate (such as energy usage) is relatively higher than another utility rate. The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Abramson to incorporate the following:
the utility information comprises a first grid emissions rate associated with energy generated for provision to the first building and a second grid emissions rate associated with energy generated for provision to the second building; and
scoring the potential sustainable infrastructure projects comprises improving a first score for the first project relative to a second score for the second project if the first grid emissions rate is higher than the second grid emissions rate
in order to allow for areas of greater criticality (such as above average carbon footprints, energy usage, etc.) to be emphasized when ranking projects by greatest impact, urgency, etc., thereby allowing for projects deemed to be of greater importance to be given higher priority relative to less critical projects.
[Claim 5] Abramson does not explicitly disclose wherein the utility information indicates one or more of incentive program information, demand response program information, frequency regulation program information, demand charge information, and energy buy-back rates.
Volkman offers users awards and incentives for exchanging surplus carbon emissions credits, which are obtained by decreasing emissions (Volkman: ¶¶ 51-52). The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Abramson wherein the utility information indicates one or more of incentive program information, demand response program information, frequency regulation program information, demand charge information, and energy buy-back rates in order to encourage users to perform desirable behavior, such as reducing emissions.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abramson et al. (US 2019/0347670) in view of Takahashi et al. (US 2011/0161131), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Yendigeri et al. (US 2023/0141408).
[Claim 6] Abramson does not explicitly disclose wherein providing the scores is further based on historical pitch success rates for infrastructure projects. However, like Abramson, Yendigeri makes client solution recommendations. Additionally, Yendigeri evaluates historical success rates in order to continue to weigh recommendations based on confidence scores (Yendigeri: ¶¶ 69-72). For example, Yendigeri explains:
[0071] In some implementations, processing the historical project data and the client data, with the one or more machine learning models, to generate the recommendations for the problem of the client and the confidence scores for the recommendations includes applying weights to the recommendations based on historical success rates associated with the recommendations, and generating the confidence scores for the recommendations based on applying the weights to the recommendations. In some implementations, each of the recommendations includes a template structure, one or more content sections for the template structure, a design for the template structure, and one or more templates generated by subject matter experts.
The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Abramson wherein providing the scores is further based on historical pitch success rates for infrastructure projects in order to glean past knowledge that is useful in modifying assumptions for future predictions of project recommendation success, thereby continuously improving the accuracy of the predictive recommendation models for greater satisfaction related to the recommended infrastructure projects.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abramson et al. (US 2019/0347670) in view of Takahashi et al. (US 2011/0161131), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Patel et al. (US 2020/0136898).
[Claim 9] Abramson discloses training a neural network to classify sets of the climate data and the building characteristics between being feasible and unfeasible for different types of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects, wherein the scoring is performed using the neural network (¶ 96 – “For example, the analytics engine 320 may execute a Forecast-ml function to create a prediction/forecast of energy usage of the audited building for a period of time (e.g., one week) under a given set of conditions using a neural network approach. For example a multi-layer perceptron neural network (MLP-NN) may be implemented for the prediction of future energy usage of the audited building. For example, the MLP-NN may take as inputs feature vectors including variables derived from the energy usage data and the weather data. The MLP-NN may be trained specifically for the prediction of energy usage of a building based on historical energy usage for that building and historical weather data associated with that building. In alternate embodiments, a gradient-boosted regression trees (GBRT) algorithm may be applied instead of the MLP-NN to predict energy usage of the audited building given the defined circumstances. For example, the set of conditions may correspond to changes in the operation of or the retrofitting of one or more systems of the audited building. For example, the output of the Forecast-ml function may include predicted cost savings and/or predicted energy savings that may be achieved by following the recommendations associated with the set of conditions.”; ¶ 135 – “While the above examples have been provided in the context of analyzing a single building, it should be understood that multiple buildings may be similarly analyzed, with energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics and corresponding reports being generated, stored, and/or displayed for each. As an example, a system for providing virtual energy audits (e.g., the system 300 of FIG. 3) may receive a list of target buildings from a client device, along with predefined building characteristics for each of the target buildings. The system may generate energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics for each of the target buildings based on corresponding weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building.“; The quantified savings and energy amounts are examples of scores.; ¶ 134 – “With additional metadata for, or an estimate of, window-to-wall ratio in the building, a parallel thermal resistance network analysis can be employed to determine the corresponding effective R-value of the windows in the building. Consequently, this analysis ultimately reveals the potential value of, and opportunity for, window replacement which is a common energy conservation measure (ECM) recommendation. For example, this analysis was applied to one real world buildings, and the resulting findings were then validated against an energy audit conducted by an on-site energy audit firm, to reveal that as-calculated low R-value buildings correspond well to those buildings which the company determined are in need of retro-commissioning or deep retrofit to achieve energy efficiency goals set by the building owner. The firm's on-site energy audit required engineers to access the building in-person, over several days per building and at a cost of thousands of dollars per building. The systems and methods disclosed herein are capable of diagnosing similar problems with the building within minutes and at a much reduced cost.”; Recommended and validated solutions are examples of feasible projects (as opposed to solutions and projects that are not recommended and/or validated).).
Abramson does not explicitly disclose that the neural network outputs a classification of feasible or infeasible for the different types of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects. However, Patel plans for capital projects, particularly network infrastructure projects (Patel: ¶¶ 2, 22). Various options or plans for change are assessed using neural networks and only feasible options are recommended (Patel: ¶ 47 – “The rules may serve to provide limitations to the optimization block 212 such that an option is not recommended that would not be feasible in the network (e.g., install an entirely new type of technology that would not fit with the rest of the network). The rules 214 may also represent the preferences of the entity managing the network and/or any number of other parameters, such as budgeting limitations. As mentioned previously, the optimization block 212 may initially require the rules input of the application of rules block 210, but may eventually operate independently without the use of the application of rules block 210. This may be because the optimization block 212 may involve the use of artificial intelligence, such as machine learning or neural networks. The rules associated with the application of rules block 210 may be used to initially train the optimization block 212 until the optimization block 212 is able to make optimal decisions without the assistance of the application of rules block 210.”).
Both Abramson and Patel utilize neural networks to determine which project-related options to recommend. Patel explicitly determines if certain options would not be feasible (implying that recommended options are feasible). The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Abramson such that the neural network outputs a classification of feasible or infeasible for the different types of the potential sustainable infrastructure projects so that only reasonable options are recommended as opposed to options that might seem optimal on the surface, but cannot reasonably be implemented.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abramson et al. (US 2019/0347670) in view of Takahashi et al. (US 2011/0161131), as applied to claim 18 above, in view of Volkman et al. (CA-2650178-A1).
[Claim 19] Abramson discloses wherein:
the sustainable infrastructure projects comprise a first project for a first building and a second project for a second building (fig. 3 – Information is displayed on the client device.; ¶ 135 – “The system may generate energy conservation prognostics and building efficiency diagnostics for each of the target buildings based on corresponding weather data and energy usage data in combination with the predefined building characteristics for each building. The system may then rank the target buildings according to one or more predefined factors. For example, the system may rank the target buildings according to how much money and/or energy could be saved by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics. A predefined number of target buildings for which the most money/energy is estimated to be saved if such recommendations are implemented may then be sent to the client device. In this way, an individual or corporation owning many buildings may quickly and cheaply identify which of their buildings should be adjusted or retrofitted with the highest priority, compared to conventional auditing methods, which may require time consuming and expensive individual walkthroughs of each of the buildings being audited.”; ¶ 27 – “In an example embodiment, a method for providing virtual energy audits may include steps for retrieving, by a processor of an analytics server, weather data corresponding to at least one target building from a weather server coupled to the analytics server, receiving, by the processor, utility energy usage data corresponding to the at least one target building, obtaining a set of building-specific characteristic data corresponding to the at least one target building, combining the weather data, utility energy usage data, and building-specific characteristic data into an energy audit dataset, determining a plurality of building markers for the at least one target building based on the energy audit dataset, generating prognostics data based on the energy audit dataset and building markers, the prognostics data including energy conservation recommendations and estimated impacts of implementing the energy conservation recommendations, generating building efficiency diagnostics based on the plurality of building markers, and sending the building efficiency diagnostics and the energy conservation recommendations to be displayed on a user interface of a client device coupled to the analytics server.”; ¶ 30 – “In some embodiments, the at least one target building may include a plurality of target buildings. The building efficiency diagnostics may include a plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. The energy conservation recommendations may include a plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of building efficiency diagnostics of the plurality of subsets of building efficiency diagnostics. Each of the plurality of target buildings may correspond to a respectively different subset of energy conservation recommendations of the plurality of subsets of energy conservation recommendations. The method may further include steps for quantifying a respective savings opportunity value for each of the plurality of target buildings to produce a plurality of savings opportunity values, the energy conservation recommendations including the plurality of savings opportunity values, generating an ordered list of the plurality of target buildings that is ordered based on the plurality of savings opportunity values, identifying a subset of target buildings of the plurality of target buildings associated with the highest savings opportunity values of the plurality of savings opportunity values, and sending the ordered list and the identified subset of target buildings to be displayed via the user interface of the client device.”; The quantified savings and energy amounts are examples of scores.).
Abramson does not explicitly disclose the following:
the utility information comprises a first grid emissions rate associated with energy generated for provision to the first building and a second grid emissions rate associated with energy generated for provision to the second building; and
installing the building equipment or modifying the at least one building comprises executing the first project before the second project based on the first grid emissions rate being higher than the second grid emissions rate.
However, Volkman explains that utility data (including energy usage) may be obtained from the respective utility companies of various users for comparison purposes and in order to make appropriate recommendations for reducing a carbon footprint, energy usage, etc., as seen in the following excerpts:
[0029] The users l 20A-N may register for a service for providing actions to reduce a carbon footprint provided by the service provider 110. The users l 20A-N may provide personal information to the service provider 110, such as name, address, social security number, or generally any information that may be used to obtain energy use data from the utility providers 140. The users 120A-N may manually enter energy use information used to determine a carbon footprint of the users 120A-N. The energy use information may be specific to the user. For example, the users 120A-N may enter information about the square footage of their home, the number of bedrooms, the vehicles they own, the vehicle usage, the types of appliances in the home, the sources of energy to the home, such as electricity, natural gas, propane, coal, solar panels, and any other information. Depending on an implementation, energy use information may also be gathered in other ways, such as directly via the utility providers 140. For example, the utility network control systems 330 may provide an application programming interface (API) to allow the service provider 110 to receive energy use information from the utility providers 140. The service provider 110 may use the information provided by the users 120A-N and/or other sources, for example the transaction data providers 140 and reference data providers 145, to determine energy use and a carbon footprint of the users 120A-N.
[0032] Since the use of a particular type of energy may vary depending upon the geographic location of the users 120A-N, the energy use of the user A 120A may be compared against the energy use of users 120B-N located within the same geographic area as the user A 120A. Alternatively or in addition, the users 120BN may be located in a geographic area with the same climate as the user A 120A, or within an area where the electric energy providers use the same fuel mix to provide electricity, such as a mix of renewable energy, nuclear energy, natural gas, coal, and/or generally any type of energy capable of producing electricity. The carbon footprint data may also include a trend analysis. The trend analysis may display the historical emissions data of the users 120A-N and may indicate whether the users 120A-N are increasing or decreasing their emissions.
[0050] At block 440 the service provider 110 may determine carbon reducing actions relating to the energy use/emission data of the user A 120A. The actions may be tailored to each user such as based on actual energy uses of the user. The
actions may be prioritized in accordance with a relative impact that the action has on a carbon footprint of the user. Actions that provide a greater impact on the carbon footprint may be emphasized. Alternatively and/or additionally, the service provider 110 may compare the emissions data of the user A 120A to the emissions data of the users 120B-N. The set of users 120B-N may be the users 1208-N located in the same geographic region as the user A 120A, the users 1208-N located in a similar climate as the user A 120A, the users 120B-N with similar size/age homes as the user A 120A, or generally any segment of the users 120B-N which may indicate the relative emissions of the user A 120A. The service provider 110 may determine relative emissions of the user A 120A for each energy use type. The service provider 110 may provide recommended actions to the user A 120A geared towards the energy use types where the user A 120A is generating relatively large amounts of carbon emissions.
[0053] At block 455 the service provider 110 may display the emission data and the recommended actions to the user A 120A. The emission data may be displayed in a bar graph, a pie chart, or generally any method of displaying the data so as to convey the carbon emissions of the user A 120A. The emissions data of the user A 120A may be compared against users 1208-N with similar energy needs of the user A 120A in order to provide a relative perspective of the energy consumption of the user A 120A.
[0057] At block 520 the service provider 110 may determine whether the user A 120A should be recommended actions to reduce their emissions due to electricity usage. If the emissions due to the electricity use of the user A 120A are higher than the emissions due to the electricity use of similar users 120B-N, the system may move to block 525. If the emissions due to the electricity use of the user A 120A are less than or equal to emissions due to the electricity use of similar users 120B-N, the system 200 may move to block 530.
(0058] At block 525 the service provider 110 may determine a carbon reducing action related to electricity use. For example, the service provider 110 may recommend that the user A 120A replace energy consuming appliances, such as a washer/dryer, with more efficient appliances. Alternatively or in addition, the service provider 110 may recommend the user A 120A unplug unneeded appliances, such as a third refrigerator. (Emphasis added)
The home of each of Volkman’s users is analogous to each of the buildings in Abramson. Volkman looks at relative usage to identify areas in greater need of being addressed to reduce carbon emissions, including those related to electricity use (which implies that higher electricity use is associated with a larger carbon footprint and greater carbon emissions). When a user uses more energy than comparable users, as gleaned from utility data for each of multiple users, then a recommendation is made for that user to reduce carbon emissions, electricity use, etc. In effect, the claim limitation “scoring the potential sustainable infrastructure projects comprises improving a first score for the first project relative to a second score for the second project if the first utility rate is higher than the second utility rate” adds a consideration of greater criticality when one utility rate (such as energy usage) is relatively higher than another utility rate.
Specifically regarding the active installation of the building equipment or modification of the at least one building, Takahashi describes the implementation of energy saving solutions at each of multiple bases in order of priority and explicitly states the following in paragraph 19:
[0019] (1) The present invention provides an energy saving assistance system that includes a program that runs on at least one computer, and creates an energy saving plan for defining time when to introduce an energy saving solution implemented by installing an energy saving equipment. The program includes: a user setting section for setting as users need a target reduction of energy consumption through all of plural bases for every year and a priority order of selecting from the plural bases a base where an energy saving solution is preferentially carried out; an elemental effect calculation section for calculating an energy effect of every energy saving solution for a base of interest among the bases where the energy saving solution is preferentially carried out in the priority order, with reference to a data base storing equipment information before installing the energy saving equipment for the base of interest and a data base storing specifications of the energy saving equipment for the base of interest, and this calculation of the energy saving effect of every energy saving solution being carried out for every base of the bases where the energy saving solution is preferentially carried out in the priority order, and outputting the calculated energy saving effect of every energy saving solution for every base in a form of an elemental effect table; a consolidation section for creating the energy saving plan in accordance with the users need, using the elemental effect table, and representing this energy saving plan to the user; and for every action year, the consolidation section adopts an energy saving solution set in the elemental effect table as the energy saving solution to be introduced in an action year of interest in the priority order of base selection for the energy saving solution, so that total energy saving effect due to the adopted energy saving solution can clear a target reduction to be achieved in a next year after a year when the energy saving solution is carried out, and represents to the user an energy saving plan that specifies an energy saving equipment to be installed and a year when to install the equipment. (Emphasis added)
The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Abramson to incorporate the following:
the utility information comprises a first grid emissions rate associated with energy generated for provision to the first building and a second grid emissions rate associated with energy generated for provision to the second building; and
installing the building equipment or modifying the at least one building comprises executing the first project before the second project based on the first grid emissions rate being higher than the second grid emissions rate
in order to allow for areas of greater criticality (such as above average carbon footprints, energy usage, etc.) to be emphasized when ranking projects by greatest impact, urgency, etc., thereby allowing for projects deemed to be of greater importance to be given higher priority relative to less critical projects as well as to facilitate the active realization of the desired benefits (including money and/or energy savings) in a more cost-effective manner.
Claims 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abramson et al. (US 2019/0347670) in view of Takahashi et al. (US 2011/0161131), as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, in view of Suzuki et al. (JP-2005321123-A, referencing the English translation).
[Claim 20] Abramson does not explicitly disclose wherein installing the building equipment or modifying at least one building comprises installing solar panels, heat pumps, and energy storage devices. Suzuki compares scenarios involving the installation of solar panels, heat pumps, and energy storage devices, as seen in the following excerpts:
Due to the configuration of the solar system of the present embodiment, the heat capacity (capacity capable of absorbing heat) is increased by the amount of slurry stored in the solar heat collector 1 and the solar heat collector 1 in the daytime period. Since the temperature of the solar cell panel 2 at this time is lower than when the solar cell panel 2 is installed alone, the power generation efficiency is increased. In addition, since the amount of power generation increased with this is all sold during the daytime hours, and the equivalent amount is generated as income, an effect of reducing utility costs can be obtained.
In addition, during the midnight hours, the heat pump cycle is operated alone by operating the heat pump cycle using the slurry that collects solar heat higher than the outside air temperature during the day as the heat sink (the heat radiation source for the refrigerant). Since the heat pump efficiency (COP) is improved more than the case, an effect of reducing the utility cost can be obtained.
Thus, the circulation of the slurry is stopped in the daytime (or a minute amount of the slurry is circulated) and heat is stored in the slurry, and the heat storage can be used by circulating the slurry at night. The solar system's heat collection cycle configuration and its operating method can both improve efficiency and reduce utility costs.
That is, when the heat pump cycle is operated simultaneously with the power generation in the solar cell panel 2 during the daytime period as in the past, the efficiency is improved as compared with the case where the solar cell panel 2 and the heat pump cycle are installed individually, Since the price difference between the daytime hours and the midnight hours cannot be used, the problem of increased utility costs can be solved, and the running cost of the solar system can be further reduced.
Furthermore, in the configuration of the present embodiment, maintainability can be improved by allowing the slurry to circulate. That is, in order to obtain the same power generation efficiency improvement effect as the present configuration, in the conventional configuration in which the phase change material is installed on the back surface of the solar cell panel 2, the maintenance of the phase change material was substantially impossible. In this embodiment, the phase change material in the slurry can be obtained by circulation, so that the replacement work of the deteriorated phase change material or the like is not performed on the roof, and the solar battery panel 2 The solar system can be easily maintained without removing the battery. (Suzuki: p. 7)
…
Furthermore, it is not always necessary to install the solar battery panel 2, and even when only the solar heat collector 1 is installed and the heat storage of the slurry is used for the heat pump cycle, compared to the case where the heat pump cycle is installed alone, In the same manner as described above, the effects of reducing utility costs and improving maintainability can be obtained. (Suzuki: p. 8)
The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Abramson wherein installing the building equipment or modifying at least one building comprises installing solar panels, heat pumps, and energy storage devices in order to enhance Abramson’s ability to meet goals related to energy conservation with greater options. Additionally, the substitution of Suzuki’s energy conservation equipment for Abramson’s energy conservation equipment would have been well within the technical capability of those skilled in the art prior to Applicant’s invention and such a substitution would have yielded predictable and expected results.
[Claim 22] Abramson does not explicitly disclose installing solar panels, heat pumps, and energy storage devices to execute the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order indicated by the ranking. Suzuki compares scenarios involving the installation of solar panels, heat pumps, and energy storage devices, as seen in the following excerpts:
Due to the configuration of the solar system of the present embodiment, the heat capacity (capacity capable of absorbing heat) is increased by the amount of slurry stored in the solar heat collector 1 and the solar heat collector 1 in the daytime period. Since the temperature of the solar cell panel 2 at this time is lower than when the solar cell panel 2 is installed alone, the power generation efficiency is increased. In addition, since the amount of power generation increased with this is all sold during the daytime hours, and the equivalent amount is generated as income, an effect of reducing utility costs can be obtained.
In addition, during the midnight hours, the heat pump cycle is operated alone by operating the heat pump cycle using the slurry that collects solar heat higher than the outside air temperature during the day as the heat sink (the heat radiation source for the refrigerant). Since the heat pump efficiency (COP) is improved more than the case, an effect of reducing the utility cost can be obtained.
Thus, the circulation of the slurry is stopped in the daytime (or a minute amount of the slurry is circulated) and heat is stored in the slurry, and the heat storage can be used by circulating the slurry at night. The solar system's heat collection cycle configuration and its operating method can both improve efficiency and reduce utility costs.
That is, when the heat pump cycle is operated simultaneously with the power generation in the solar cell panel 2 during the daytime period as in the past, the efficiency is improved as compared with the case where the solar cell panel 2 and the heat pump cycle are installed individually, Since the price difference between the daytime hours and the midnight hours cannot be used, the problem of increased utility costs can be solved, and the running cost of the solar system can be further reduced.
Furthermore, in the configuration of the present embodiment, maintainability can be improved by allowing the slurry to circulate. That is, in order to obtain the same power generation efficiency improvement effect as the present configuration, in the conventional configuration in which the phase change material is installed on the back surface of the solar cell panel 2, the maintenance of the phase change material was substantially impossible. In this embodiment, the phase change material in the slurry can be obtained by circulation, so that the replacement work of the deteriorated phase change material or the like is not performed on the roof, and the solar battery panel 2 The solar system can be easily maintained without removing the battery. (Suzuki: p. 7)
…
Furthermore, it is not always necessary to install the solar battery panel 2, and even when only the solar heat collector 1 is installed and the heat storage of the slurry is used for the heat pump cycle, compared to the case where the heat pump cycle is installed alone, In the same manner as described above, the effects of reducing utility costs and improving maintainability can be obtained. (Suzuki: p. 8)
Regarding the ranking, Abramson states, “For example, the system may rank the target buildings according to how much money and/or energy could be saved by implementing recommended operational adjustments and/or retrofits (e.g., ECM recommendations) based on the energy conservation prognostics. A predefined number of target buildings for which the most money/energy is estimated to be saved if such recommendations are implemented may then be sent to the client device. In this way, an individual or corporation owning many buildings may quickly and cheaply identify which of their buildings should be adjusted or retrofitted with the highest priority, compared to conventional auditing methods, which may require time consuming and expensive individual walkthroughs of each of the buildings being audited.” (Abramson: ¶ 135) In other words, Abramson makes recommendations that are intended to be implemented to realize desired benefits (such as saving money and/or energy).
Additionally, Takahashi describes the implementation of energy saving solutions at each of multiple bases in order of priority and explicitly states the following in paragraph 19:
[0019] (1) The present invention provides an energy saving assistance system that includes a program that runs on at least one computer, and creates an energy saving plan for defining time when to introduce an energy saving solution implemented by installing an energy saving equipment. The program includes: a user setting section for setting as users need a target reduction of energy consumption through all of plural bases for every year and a priority order of selecting from the plural bases a base where an energy saving solution is preferentially carried out; an elemental effect calculation section for calculating an energy effect of every energy saving solution for a base of interest among the bases where the energy saving solution is preferentially carried out in the priority order, with reference to a data base storing equipment information before installing the energy saving equipment for the base of interest and a data base storing specifications of the energy saving equipment for the base of interest, and this calculation of the energy saving effect of every energy saving solution being carried out for every base of the bases where the energy saving solution is preferentially carried out in the priority order, and outputting the calculated energy saving effect of every energy saving solution for every base in a form of an elemental effect table; a consolidation section for creating the energy saving plan in accordance with the users need, using the elemental effect table, and representing this energy saving plan to the user; and for every action year, the consolidation section adopts an energy saving solution set in the elemental effect table as the energy saving solution to be introduced in an action year of interest in the priority order of base selection for the energy saving solution, so that total energy saving effect due to the adopted energy saving solution can clear a target reduction to be achieved in a next year after a year when the energy saving solution is carried out, and represents to the user an energy saving plan that specifies an energy saving equipment to be installed and a year when to install the equipment. (Emphasis added)
The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Abramson to install solar panels, heat pumps, and energy storage devices to execute the potential sustainable infrastructure projects in an order indicated by the ranking in order to enhance Abramson’s ability to meet goals related to energy conservation with greater options and in order to facilitate the active realization of the desired benefits (including money and/or energy savings) in a more cost-effective manner. Additionally, the substitution of Suzuki’s energy conservation equipment for Abramson’s energy conservation equipment would have been well within the technical capability of those skilled in the art prior to Applicant’s invention and such a substitution would have yielded predictable and expected results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Peters (US 2021/0295225) – Allows for projects to be ranked, including by school and by school system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUSANNA M. DIAZ/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3625A