DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The NINE information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/14/2026 were filed after the mailing date of the notice of allowance mailed on 5/15/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
4. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 28-44 and 49 in the reply filed on 2/2/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 35-48 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 28-29, 34-35, 38-44 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2014/0037573 A1) to Eliasof et al. (hereinafter Eliasof) in view of the teachings of (US 2002/0076441 A1) to Shih et al. (hereinafter Shih) and in further view of (US 2014/0271885 A1) to Sill et al. (hereinafter Sill).
Eliasof is directed toward nanoparticles encapsulating water soluble actives comprising a triblock copolymer shell. Eliasof discloses at paragraph [0284] that the cargo is water soluble. Eliasof discloses at paragraph [0378] that the cargo is a therapeutic peptide. Eliasof discloses at paragraph [0360] that the copolymers are made of block copolymers that are hydrophilic and hydrophobic. Eliasof discloses at paragraph [0388] that the copolymer may be a triblock. Eliasof discloses at paragraph [0352] that crosslinking controls the rate of degradability. Eliasof discloses each and every element, but is silent regarding a triblock polymer having two hydrophilic end blocks.
Shih is directed toward nanoparticles encapsulating water soluble actives comprising a triblock copolymer shell. Eliasof and Shih are both directed toward nanoparticles encapsulating water soluble actives comprising a triblock copolymer shell and therefore are analogous art. Shih teaches at paragraph [0049] that the suitable polymeric gel for use with the present invention comprises ABA-or BAB-type block copolymers, where the A-blocks are relatively hydrophobic A polymer blocks comprising a biodegradable polyester, and the B-blocks are relatively hydrophilic and teaches that the blocks can be functionally equivalent.
Sill is directed toward nanoparticles encapsulating water soluble actives comprising a triblock copolymer shell. Eliasof and Sill are both directed toward nanoparticles encapsulating water soluble actives comprising a triblock copolymer shell and therefore are analogous art. Sill teaches at paragraph [0015] that the nanoparticle triblock copolymer shell has hydrophilic ends. Sill teaches at paragraph [0113] that the block copolymer may comprise aspartic acid. Sill teaches at paragraph [0308] that the hydrophobic shell is crosslinked.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Eliasof in view of the teachings of Shih and Sill to create a triblock nanoparticle that forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 28-29, 34-35, 38-44 and 49.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766