DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 10-12, 14, 16, 17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh (US. Pub. No. 2015/0134863 A1) in view of Wu (US. Pub. No. 2023/0199988 A1), Tolentino et al. (US. Pub. No. 2011/0081858 A1; hereinafter “Tolentino”), Hassan et al. (US. Pub. No. 2017/0215102 A1; hereinafter “Hassan”)
Regarding claim 1, Hsieh teaches an information handling system (see Hsieh, fig. 2, 4) comprising:
a hardware processing device (see Hsieh, fig. 4, processor 401), a memory device (see Hsieh, para. [0025-26]);
a plurality of universal serial bus (USB) ports (see Hsieh, fig. 2, USB ports 202, 203);
a wireless dongle operatively coupled to the hardware processing device via a first USB port of the information handling system (see Hsieh, fig. 2, wireless 207) and wirelessly coupled to a wireless device (see Hsieh, fig. 2, mouse 208, para. [0015-16]), the wireless dongle via a wireless radiofrequency (RF) band comprising:
a wireless dongle to send and receive data wirelessly with the wireless device (see Hsieh, para. [0015]);
the hardware processing device, upon detection that the interference RSSI value is above a first threshold interference RSSI value (see Hsieh, fig. 3, 304, RSSI of USB, para. [0021-22]), executes computer readable program code instructions of a wireless interference determination system to determine that a wideband interference is occurring at a plurality of sampled channels in the wireless RF band (see Hsieh, fig. 1, para. [0013]).
Hsieh is silent to teaching that comprising
a power management unit (PMU) to provide power to the hardware processing device and the memory device;
a wireless dongle antenna;
a wireless dongle hardware processing device executing code instructions of a wireless dongle wireless interference detection firmware comprising a wireless interference detection algorithm to detect fail parameters from an interference received signal strength indicator (RSSI) value detected at the wireless dongle antenna, a received data packet RSSI signal value, and a number of resend data packets; and
the hardware processing device, upon detection that the interference RSSI value is above a first threshold interference RSSI value at one or more channels in the wireless RF band, the received data packet RSSI signal value is detected above a second threshold data packet RSSI signal value, and the number of resend data packets exceeds a threshold resend data packet value, executes computer readable program code instructions of a wireless interference determination system to determine that a wideband interference is occurring at a plurality of sampled channels in the wireless RF band when the plurality of sampled channels are above the first threshold interference RSSI.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches a system comprising
a power management unit (PMU) to provide power to the hardware processing device and the memory device (see Wu, fig. 5, power 408, para. [0034]);
a wireless dongle antenna (see Wu, fig. 5, antenna 412).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Hsieh with the teaching of Wu in order to provide wireless audio connection and Bluetooth communication (see Wu, para. [0003,11]).
The combination of Hsieh and Wu is silent to teaching that wherein
a wireless dongle hardware processing device executing code instructions of a wireless dongle wireless interference detection firmware comprising a wireless interference detection algorithm to detect fail parameters from an interference received signal strength indicator (RSSI) value detected at the wireless dongle antenna, a received data packet RSSI signal value, and a number of resend data packets; and
the hardware processing device, upon detection that the interference RSSI value is above a first threshold interference RSSI value at one or more channels in the wireless RF band, the received data packet RSSI signal value is detected above a second threshold data packet RSSI signal value, and the number of resend data packets exceeds a threshold resend data packet value, executes computer readable program code instructions of a wireless interference determination system to determine that a wideband interference is occurring at a plurality of sampled channels in the wireless RF band when the plurality of sampled channels are above the first threshold interference RSSI.
In the same field of endeavor, Tolentino teaches a system comprising
a wireless dongle hardware processing device executing code instructions of a wireless dongle wireless interference detection firmware comprising a wireless interference detection algorithm to detect fail parameters from an interference received signal strength indicator (RSSI) value detected at the wireless dongle antenna (see Tolentino, fig. 6, system noise floor), a received data packet RSSI signal value (see Tolentino, fig. 6, device RSSI); and
the hardware processing device, upon detection that the interference RSSI value is above a first threshold interference RSSI value at one or more channels in the wireless RF band (see Tolentino, fig. 6, 608, para. [0090]), the received data packet RSSI signal value is detected above a second threshold data packet RSSI signal value (See Tolentino, fig. 6, 602, para [0087]), executes computer readable program code instructions of a wireless interference determination system to determine that a wideband interference is occurring at a plurality of sampled channels in the wireless RF band when the plurality of sampled channels are above the first threshold interference RSSI (see Tolentino, fig. 6, 610, para. [0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Hsieh and Wu with the teaching of Tolentino in order to improve data communication and antenna performance (see Tolentino, para. [0016]).
The combination of Hsieh, Wu and Tolentino is silent to teaching that wherein
a wireless dongle hardware processing device executing code instructions of a wireless dongle wireless interference detection firmware comprising a wireless interference detection algorithm to detect fail parameters from a number of resend data packets; and
the hardware processing device, upon detection that the number of resend data packets exceeds a threshold resend data packet value, executes computer readable program code instructions of a wireless interference determination system.
In the same field of endeavor, Hassan taches a system wherein
a wireless dongle hardware processing device executing code instructions of a wireless dongle wireless interference detection firmware comprising a wireless interference detection algorithm to detect fail parameters from a number of resend data packets (see Hassan, para. [0030,52]); and
the hardware processing device, upon detection that the number of resend data packets exceeds a threshold resend data packet value, executes computer readable program code instructions of a wireless interference determination system (see Hassan, para. [0030,52], fig. 3A, 308,310, para. [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Hsieh, Wu and Tolentino with the teaching of Hassan in order to reduce interference and improve communication quality (see Hassan, para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hsieh, Wu, Tolentino and Hassan teaches the information handling system of claim 1 further comprising:
the hardware processor executing computer readable program code of the wireless interference determination system to determine that the plurality of sampled channels across the wireless RF band having the interference RSSI value that exceeds the first threshold interference RSSI value indicates that wideband interference is being caused by a USB device operatively coupled to a second USB port neighboring the first USB port and generating instructions to conduct a remedial action to reduce the wideband interference (see Hsieh, fig. 3, 304, para. [0021]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hsieh, Wu, Tolentino and Hassan teaches the information handling system of claim 1 further comprising:
the hardware processor executing the computer readable program code of the wireless interference determination system to generate instructions to a USB driver to disable, limit, or alternate operations of a second USB port having a USB device or a first USB port having the wireless dongle (see Hsieh, fig. 3, 304, para. [0021]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hsieh, Wu, Tolentino and Hassan teaches the information handling system of claim 1 further comprising:
the hardware processor executing computer readable program code of the wireless interference determination system determining that a single channel within the wireless band has the interference RSSI value that exceeds the first threshold interference RSSI value to determine that interference is being caused by interference of a wireless signal from a second wireless device (see Hassan, fig. 3A, 306, para. [0038]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hsieh, Wu, Tolentino and Hassan teaches the information handling system of claim 1 further comprising:
the hardware processor, in executing computer readable program code of the wireless interference determination system, determines that the interference RSSI value is not above the first threshold interference RSSI value at one or more channels in the wireless RF band (see Tolentino, fig. 6, 608, noise floor < T2), that the received data packet RSSI value is not above the second threshold data packet RSSI value (see Tolentino, fig. 6, 604, para. 0088]) and the number of resend data packets exceeds the threshold resend data packet value (see Hassan, para. [0030,52], fig. 3A, 308,310, para. [0040]), the hardware processor determines that a weak signal is present between the wireless device and the wireless dongle; and the hardware processor generates instructions to the wireless device, the wireless dongle, or both to increase wireless transmission power used to communicate data packets (see Tolentino, fig. 6, 610, new Tx power, para. [0105]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Hsieh, Wu, Tolentino and Hassan teaches the information handling system of claim 1, wherein the first threshold interference RSSI value is between -80 dBm and -90 dBm (see Tolentino, para. [0083], table 1, 2, isolation requirements).
Regarding claim 11, Hsieh teaches a wireless dongle operatively coupled to an information handling system at a universal serial bus (USB) port, comprising:
a wireless dongle to send and receive data wirelessly with a wirelessly coupled wireless device via a wireless radiofrequency (RF) band (see Hsieh, para. [0015]);
the wireless dongle hardware processing device to send data to the information handling system to determine, via execution of computer readable program code instructions of a wireless interference determination system, that the interference RSSI is above a first threshold interference RSSI value at one or more channels in the wireless RF band (see Hsieh, fig. 3, 304, RSSI of USB, para. [0021-22]); and
the computer readable program code instructions of the wireless interference determination system generates instructions to remediate interference (see Hsieh, fig. 3, 310).
Hsieh is silent to teaching that wherein comprising a wireless dongle antenna; and wherein
a wireless dongle hardware processing device executing computer readable program code instructions of a wireless dongle wireless interference detection firmware system comprising a wireless interference detection algorithm to, when executed by the wireless dongle hardware processing device, detect fail parameters from an interference received signal strength indicator (RSSI) value at the wireless dongle antenna, a received data packet RSSI value, and a number of resend data packets detected;
the wireless dongle hardware processing device to send data to the information handling system to determine, via execution of computer readable program code instructions of a wireless interference determination system, that the interference RSSI is above a first threshold interference RSSI value at one or more channels in the wireless RF band, the received data packet RSSI value is above s second threshold data packet RSSI value, and the number of resend data packets exceeds a threshold resend data packet value indicates that one of a wideband interference or a specific channel interference is degrading wireless performance at a channel in the wireless RF band; and
the computer readable program code instructions of the wireless interference determination system generates instructions to remediate interference depending on whether the wideband interference or the specific channel interference is degrading wireless performance at the channel.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches a system comprising
a wireless dongle antenna (see Wu, fig. 5, antenna 412).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Hsieh with the teaching of Wu in order to provide wireless audio connection and Bluetooth communication (see Wu, para. [0003,11]).
The combination of Hsieh and Wu is silent to teaching that wherein
a wireless dongle hardware processing device executing computer readable program code instructions of a wireless dongle wireless interference detection firmware system comprising a wireless interference detection algorithm to, when executed by the wireless dongle hardware processing device, detect fail parameters from an interference received signal strength indicator (RSSI) value at the wireless dongle antenna, a received data packet RSSI value, and a number of resend data packets detected;
the wireless dongle hardware processing device to send data to the information handling system to determine, via execution of computer readable program code instructions of a wireless interference determination system, that the interference RSSI is above a first threshold interference RSSI value at one or more channels in the wireless RF band, the received data packet RSSI value is above s second threshold data packet RSSI value, and the number of resend data packets exceeds a threshold resend data packet value indicates that one of a wideband interference or a specific channel interference is degrading wireless performance at a channel in the wireless RF band; and
the computer readable program code instructions of the wireless interference determination system generates instructions to remediate interference depending on whether the wideband interference or the specific channel interference is degrading wireless performance at the channel.
In the same field of endeavor, Tolentino teaches a system comprising
a wireless dongle hardware processing device executing code instructions of a wireless dongle wireless interference detection firmware comprising a wireless interference detection algorithm to detect fail parameters from an interference received signal strength indicator (RSSI) value detected at the wireless dongle antenna (see Tolentino, fig. 6, system noise floor), a received data packet RSSI signal value (see Tolentino, fig. 6, device RSSI); and
the wireless dongle hardware processing device to send data to the information handling system to determine, via execution of computer readable program code instructions of a wireless interference determination system, that the interference RSSI value is above a first threshold interference RSSI value at one or more channels in the wireless RF band (see Tolentino, fig. 6, 608, para. [0090]), the received data packet RSSI signal value is detected above a second threshold data packet RSSI signal value (See Tolentino, fig. 6, 602, para [0087]), indicates that one of a wideband interference or a specific channel interference is degrading wireless performance at a channel in the wireless RF band (see Tolentino, fig. 6, 610, para. [0087]);
the computer readable program code instructions of the wireless interference determination system generates instructions to remediate interference depending on whether the wideband interference or the specific channel interference is degrading wireless performance at the channel (see Tolentino, fig. 6, 610, para. [0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Hsieh and Wu with the teaching of Tolentino in order to improve data communication and antenna performance (see Tolentino, para. [0016]).
The combination of Hsieh, Wu and Tolentino is silent to teaching that wherein
a wireless dongle hardware processing device executing computer readable program code instructions of a wireless dongle wireless interference detection firmware system comprising a wireless interference detection algorithm to, when executed by the wireless dongle hardware processing device, detect fail parameters from a number of resend data packets detected;
the wireless dongle hardware processing device to send data to the information handling system to determine, via execution of computer readable program code instructions of a wireless interference determination system, that the number of resend data packets exceeds a threshold resend data packet value.
In the same field of endeavor, Hassan taches a system wherein
a wireless dongle hardware processing device executing computer readable program code instructions of a wireless dongle wireless interference detection firmware system comprising a wireless interference detection algorithm to, when executed by the wireless dongle hardware processing device, detect fail parameters from a number of resend data packets detected (see Hassan, para. [0030,52]);
the wireless dongle hardware processing device to send data to the information handling system to determine, via execution of computer readable program code instructions of a wireless interference determination system, that the number of resend data packets exceeds a threshold resend data packet value indicates that one of a wideband interference or a specific channel interference is degrading wireless performance at a channel in the wireless RF band (see Hassan, para. [0030,52], fig. 3A, 308,310, para. [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Hsieh, Wu and Tolentino with the teaching of Hassan in order to reduce interference and improve communication quality (see Hassan, para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 12, 14 and 16, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claims 2, 4 and 8, respectively.
Regarding claim 17, Hsieh teaches a method of detecting and troubleshooting wireless interference at a wireless dongle operatively coupled to an information handling system via a universal serial bus (USB) port comprising:
transceiving data packets between the wireless dongle and an operatively coupled wireless device for the information handling system in a wireless radio frequency (RF) band (see Hsieh, fig. 2, 207 to 208);
determining with a hardware processor at an information handling executing computer readable program code of a wireless interference determination system a type of wireless interference at a wireless dongle selected from a wideband interference from a second USB port neighboring a first USB port having the wireless dongle and a specific channel interference from a competing, nearby second wireless device based on a number of sampled channels having the interference RSSI value detected at the wireless dongle (see Hsieh, fig. 3, 303, interference from nearby USB, para. [0021]); and
generating instructions, via the wireless interference determination system, to perform a remedial action to correct the wireless device signal interference identified based on the type of wireless interference determined (see Hsieh, fig. 3, 304).
Hsieh is silent to teaching that comprising a wireless dongle antenna; and
receiving from a wireless dongle hardware processing device, executing computer readable program code instructions of a wireless dongle wireless interference detection firmware system comprising a wireless interference detection algorithm to detect an interference received signal strength indicator (RSSI) value at the wireless dongle antenna, a received data packet RSSI value, and a number of resend data packets within a period of time.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches a method comprising a wireless dongle antenna (see Wu, fig. 5, antenna 412).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Hsieh with the teaching of Wu in order to provide wireless audio connection and Bluetooth communication (see Wu, para. [0003,11]).
The combination of Hsieh and Wu is silent to teaching that comprising
receiving from a wireless dongle hardware processing device, executing computer readable program code instructions of a wireless dongle wireless interference detection firmware system comprising a wireless interference detection algorithm to detect an interference received signal strength indicator (RSSI) value at the wireless dongle antenna, a received data packet RSSI value, and a number of resend data packets within a period of time.
In the same field of endeavor, Tolentino teaches a method comprising
receiving from a wireless dongle hardware processing device, executing computer readable program code instructions of a wireless dongle wireless interference detection firmware system comprising a wireless interference detection algorithm to detect an interference received signal strength indicator (RSSI) value at the wireless dongle antenna (see Tolentino, fig. 6, system noise floor), a received data packet RSSI signal value (see Tolentino, fig. 6, device RSSI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Hsieh and Wu with the teaching of Tolentino in order to improve data communication and antenna performance (see Tolentino, para. [0016]).
The combination of Hsieh, Wu and Tolentino is silent to teaching that comprising
receiving from a wireless dongle hardware processing device, executing computer readable program code instructions of a wireless dongle wireless interference detection firmware system comprising a wireless interference detection algorithm to detect a number of resend data packets within a period of time.
In the same field of endeavor, Hassan taches a method comprising
receiving from a wireless dongle hardware processing device, executing computer readable program code instructions of a wireless dongle wireless interference detection firmware system comprising a wireless interference detection algorithm to detect a number of resend data packets within a period of time (see Hassan, para. [0030,52]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Hsieh, Wu and Tolentino with the teaching of Hassan in order to reduce interference and improve communication quality (see Hassan, para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claims 4 and 8, respectively.
Claim(s) 3, 6, 13, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh, Wu, Tolentino and Hassan as applied to claims 1, 11 and 17 above, and further in view of Greenbush (US. 9,584,927 B2).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hsieh, Wu, Tolentino and Hassan teaches the information handling system of claim 1 further comprising:
the hardware processor executing the computer readable program code of the wireless interference determination system to generate instructions to conduct a remedial action to generate a graphical user interface (GUI) message to be presented a user on a video display device of the information handling system instructing the user move the wireless dongle away from an interfering wireless source.
In the same field of endeavor, Greenbush teaches a system comprising:
the hardware processor executing the computer readable program code of the wireless interference determination system to generate instructions to conduct a remedial action to generate a graphical user interface (GUI) message to be presented a user on a video display device of the information handling system instructing the user move the wireless dongle away from an interfering wireless source (see Greenbush, fig. 3, 304, col. 6, lines 35-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Hsieh, Wu, Tolentino and Hassan with the teaching of Greenbush in order to mitigate wireless interference and improve communication quality (see Greenbush, col. 1, lines 55-60).
Regarding claims 6, 13, 15, and 18, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claim 3.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh, Wu, Tolentino and Hassan as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Epstein (US. 8,340,580 B1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hsieh, Wu, Tolentino and Hassan teaches the information handling system of claim 4.
The combination of Hsieh, Wu, Tolentino and Hassan is silent to teaching that further comprising:
the hardware processor executing the computer readable program code of the wireless interference determination system to generate to the wireless dongle, wireless device, or both to switch from the single channel in the wireless band where interference is detected to another channel in the wireless RF band.
In the same field of endeavor, Epstein teaches a system comprising
the hardware processor executing the computer readable program code of the wireless interference determination system to generate to the wireless dongle, wireless device, or both to switch from the single channel in the wireless band where interference is detected to another channel in the wireless RF band (see Epstein, fig. 7, S750, S780, col. 9, lines 15-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Hsieh, Wu, Tolentino and Hassan with the teaching of Epstein in order to prevent wireless interference and improve communication quality (see Epstein, col. 1, lines 20-30).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh, Wu, Tolentino and Hassan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chia-Chun (US. Pub. No. 2006/0020723 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hsieh, Wu, Tolentino and Hassan teaches the information handling system of claim 1.
The combination of Hsieh, Wu, Tolentino and Hassan is silent to teaching that further comprising:
a docking station operatively coupled to the information handling system, the docking station including the plurality USB ports and the wireless dongle being operatively coupled into the first USB port of the plurality of USB ports with another USB device being operatively coupled to a second USB port of the other plurality of USB ports.
In the same field of endeavor, Chia-Chun teaches a system comprising
a docking station operatively coupled to the information handling system, the docking station including the plurality USB ports and the wireless dongle being operatively coupled into the first USB port of the plurality of USB ports with another USB device being operatively coupled to a second USB port of the other plurality of USB ports (see Chia-Chun, fig. 1, 10, para. [0019,26]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Hsieh, Wu, Tolentino and Hassan with the teaching of Chia-Chun in order to improve USB communication and reduce interference (see Chia-Chun, para. [0004-5]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schaefer (2021/0349844), and Kawai (2020/0226086) teach wireless systems.
/WEN W HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648