DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention A – claims 1-18- in the reply filed on 6/18/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 19 and 20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (US 20210379757 A1) in view of Holmberg (US 9963331 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Schneider discloses a solar panel installation system comprising:
a solar panel unloading machine (Fig. 1; 140);
a solar panel carrier machine (130); and
a solar panel installation machine (110);
wherein:
the solar panel unloading machine is configured to interact with a shipping device (Fig. 1; truck) carrying a plurality of solar panels to unload the plurality of solar panels from the shipping device and transfer the plurality of solar panels to the solar panel carrier machine (para. 39);
the solar panel carrier machine is configured autonomously transport the plurality of solar panels to a location proximate where the plurality of solar panels are to be installed (para. 36); and
the solar panel installation machine is configured to autonomously pick up a respective solar panel of the plurality of solar panels from the solar panel carrier machine and autonomously provide the respective solar panel to an installation location where the respective solar panel can be secured to a solar panel support (para. 36).
Schneider fails to disclose:
where the solar panel unloading machine autonomously interacts with the shipping device and autonomously transfers the plurality of solar panels to the solar panel carrier machine.
Schneider does not state whether the solar panel unloading machine is manually or automatically operated. However, Holmberg teaches fully automating the unloading machine (Fig. 1A; 116). Holmberg further teaches where the unloading machine is configured to autonomously interact with the shipping device (118) (col. 5, lines 53-58 and col. 6, lines 12-15).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Schneider where the solar panel unloading machine is fully automated such that it autonomously interacts with the shipping device and autonomously transfers the plurality of solar panels to the solar panel carrier machine. The motivation to combine is to fully automate the system.
Regarding claim 2, modified Schneider discloses the solar panel installation system of Claim 1, wherein the shipping device is a shipping container or a trailer (Schneider; fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Schneider discloses the solar panel installation system of Claim 1, wherein the solar panel carrier machine includes a second wireless communications interface (Fig. 2; 132), and the solar panel installation machine includes a third wireless communications interface (each machine has a control system that wirelessly communicates with a central control system; para. 37), and wherein the second wireless communications interface and the third wireless communications interface are configured to facilitate second wireless communications between the solar panel carrier machine and the solar panel installation machine (the machines communicate with each other via the network);
EXCEPT wherein the solar panel unloading machine includes a first wireless communications interface, wherein the first wireless communications interface and the second wireless communications interface are configured to facilitate first wireless communications between the solar panel unloading machine and the solar panel carrier machine.
However, the various machines each have an interface that communicates via a network to a system controller 250, which means they all communicate with each other via the system controller and the network. It would have been obvious to modify the automated solar panel unloading machine to include a network interface so that it can be integrated into the network and controlled by the system controller.
As it relates to the claim, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Schneider wherein the solar panel unloading machine includes a first wireless communications interface, wherein the first wireless communications interface and the second wireless communications interface are configured to facilitate first wireless communications between the solar panel unloading machine and the solar panel carrier machine. The motivation to combine is so that the solar panel installation system can be fully automated.
Regarding claim 4, modified Schneider discloses the solar panel installation system of Claim 3, wherein at least a portion of at least one of the first wireless communications or the second wireless communications passes through a remote server (Schneider; para. 59).
Regarding claim 5, modified Schneider discloses (see Schneider) the solar panel installation system of Claim 3, wherein the second wireless communications include leader-follower signals to coordinate motion between the solar panel installation machine and the solar panel carrier machine as the solar panel installation machine picks up each solar panel of the plurality of solar panels from the solar panel carrier machine and provides each solar panel to a corresponding installation location. The system controller (250) can send leader signals to both the solar panel installation machine and the solar panel carrier machine to direct their movement. Each machine can provide follower signals from sensors 260 to the system controller to inform the system controller of its location (para. 42)
Regarding claim 17, modified Schneider discloses (see Schneider) the solar panel installation system of Claim1, wherein the solar panel installation machine includes:
a second boom (Fig. 3A; 212); and
an implement coupled to an end of the second boom, the implement including:
a track (220);
a robotic arm (230) coupled to and translatable along the track; and
a grabber assembly (240) coupled to the robotic arm, the grabber assembly configured to engage with and facilitate picking up the respective solar panel.
Regarding claim 18, modified Schneider discloses (see Schneider) the solar panel installation system of Claim 17, wherein the grabber assembly includes a plurality of suction interfaces (para. 50).
Claim(s) 6-10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (US 20210379757 A1) in view of Holmberg (US 9963331 B1), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Turnbull (US 20050220588 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Schneider discloses (see Schneider for citations unless otherwise noted) the solar panel installation system of Claim 1, wherein the solar panel unloading machine includes:
a pair of forks (240), the pair of forks configured to engage (indirectly engage) with a pallet or support structure upon which the plurality of solar panels (120A) are disposed;
EXCEPT a boom assembly; and a carriage pivotably coupled to an end of the boom assembly.
However, Turnbull teaches a forklift comprising a boom assembly (Fig. 4; 23); a carriage (Fig. 6; 25) pivotably coupled to an end of the boom assembly; and a pair of forks (27) coupled to the carriage (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify the solar panel unloading machine (forklift 140) of Schneider to include a boom assembly; a carriage pivotably coupled to an end of the boom assembly, and where the pair of forks are coupled to the carriage. The modification is a simple substitution of one type of forklift for another, and the results would have been predictable. Moreover, the boom would allow the forks to reach deep into the shipping device to retrieve the pallets.
Regarding claim 7, modified Schneider discloses (see Turnbull) the solar panel installation system of Claim 6, wherein the carriage includes:
a first portion (Fig. 12; two horizontally extending members directly attached to the forks 27) extending beneath the end of the boom assembly; and
a second portion (Fig. 12; portion behind the two horizontally extending members) extending substantially perpendicular to the first portion, wherein the second portion is pivotably coupled to the end of the boom assembly.
Regarding claim 8, modified Schneider discloses (see Turnbull) the solar panel installation system of Claim 7, wherein the pair of forks are pivotably coupled to the second portion (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 9, modified Schneider discloses (see Turnbull) the solar panel installation system of Claim 7, wherein the solar panel unloading machine includes an actuator extending between the end of the boom assembly and the second portion of the carriage (para. 50).
Regarding claim 10, modified Schneider discloses (see Turnbull) the solar panel installation system of Claim 7, wherein the carriage includes a plurality of rollers (Fig. 13; pivot points 69 inherently must have rollers, e.g., pins or bearings, that permit the linkages to pivot around the pivot points) coupled to the first portion. Note: even if rollers are not inherently disclosed, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify the forklift wherein the carriage includes a plurality of rollers (e.g., pins, bearings) coupled to the first portion. The motivation to combine is so that the linkages of the carriage can pivot about the different axes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762