DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments. The previous rejections are withdrawn. New rejections are set forth herein .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grether (US D542,105S) in view of Schuster (US 2019/0061114).
Regarding claim 1, Gerther discloses an aerator accessory, wherein:
the accessory comprises a handle (Item A) having a main body and a plurality of connecting joints surrounding the main body, a top end and a bottom of each connecting joint respectively connected to an aerator socket with a respective diameter, wherein the diameters of the aerator sockets are different, an axial direction of each aerator socket extending along a direction from the top end to the bottom end (best shown in Figure 6);
each aerator socket comprising an opening end and an inner sidewall,
one opening end of a first aerator socket of the aerator sockets has a first fastening portion with a plurality of engaging teeth disposed evenly around the opening end (Item B);
one inner sidewall of a second aerator socket of the aerator sockets has a second fastening portion with two opposite parallel tangent planes (Item C); and
one inner sidewall of a third aerator socket has a third fastening portion comprising at least two tapered fastening grooves on the inner sidewall partially extending in the inner sidewall along the axial direction (Item D).
Grether fails to explicitly disclose one inner sidewall of a fourth aerator socket of the aerator sockets has a fourth fastening portion, the inner sidewall being an internal cylindrical surface comprising a plurality of fastening grooves evenly disposed around the internal cylindrical surface and fully extending along the inner sidewall along the axial direction.
Schuster teaches a socket wherein one inner sidewall of a fourth aerator socket of the aerator sockets has a fourth fastening portion, the inner sidewall being an internal cylindrical surface comprising a plurality of fastening grooves evenly disposed around the internal cylindrical surface and fully extending along the inner sidewall along the axial direction (Item 118). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grether to have the grooves as taught by Schuster. Such a modification would allow a user to attach different types of aerator wrenches that are designed for different types of aerators (Paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 2, Gerther in view of Schuster disclose the aerator accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein the handle is a plane body (best shown in Gerther Figure 6).
Regarding claim 4, Gerther in view of Schuster disclose the aerator accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first fastening portion comprises six engaging teeth ringed around the opening end of the socket (best shown on Gerther Figures 7 on the left).
Regarding claim 5, Gerther in view of Schuster disclose the aerator accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first fastening portion comprises eight engaging teeth ringed around the opening end (Gerther Figures 7 on the bottom).
Regarding claim 6, Gerther in view of Schuster disclose the aerator accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein the third fastening portion comprises two tapered fastening grooves (Gerther – Enlarged Figure 7).
Regarding claim 7, Gerther in view of Schuster disclose the aerator accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein the third fastening portion comprises a plurality of fastening grooves ringed around the inner peripheral wall (Gerther – Enlarged Figure 7 shows two which is a plurality).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grether (US D542,105S) in view of Schuster (US 2019/0061114) in view of Correa (US D575,122S).
Regarding claim 3, Gerther discloses the aerator accessory as claimed in claim 1. Gerther fails to explicitly disclose further comprising five connecting joints arranged radially around the handle.
Correa teaches a multitool with at least five connecting joints arranged radially around the handle (Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the number of connecting joints around the handle to include a fifth joint as taught by Correa. Such a modification would allow another size of socket to be incorporated to the faucet tool of Gerther, thus allowing the user the ability to have another tool on the multi tool for added convenience. This is beneficial since there are several different fitting sizes and styles and the combinations between the common fittings and styles is limitless.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 9/2/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under Grether (US D542,105S) in view of Stolarczyk (US 4361412) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Grether (US D542,105S) in view of Schuster (US 2019/0061114).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723