DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments. The previous rejections are withdrawn. New rejections are set forth herein and are made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grether (US D542,105S) in view of Vines (US 2008/0066584).
Regarding claim 1, Gerther discloses an aerator accessory, wherein:
the accessory comprises a handle (Item A) having a main body and a plurality of connecting joints surrounding the main body, a top end and a bottom of each connecting joint respectively connected to a socket with a respective diameter, wherein the diameters of the sockets are different, an axial direction of each socket extending from the top end to the bottom end (best shown in Figure 6);
each socket comprising an opening end and an inner sidewall, and one opening end of at least one of the sockets has a first fastening portion with a plurality of engaging teeth disposed evenly around the opening end (Item B);
one inner sidewall of at least one of the sockets has a second fastening portion with two opposite parallel tangent planes (Item C); and
one inner sidewall of at least another socket has a third fastening portion comprising at least two fastening grooves on the inner sidewall (Item D).
Grether fails to explicitly disclose a third fastening portion comprising at least two fastening grooves on the inner sidewall extending in the inner sidewall along the axial direction.
Vines teaches an accessory tool wherein a socket has at least two fastening grooves on the inner sidewall extending in the inner sidewall along the axial direction (Items 16 or Items 8, 18, and 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a socket of Grether to have the grooves as taught by Vines. Such a modification would allow a user to fit a variety of nuts and other threaded fasteners to easily tighten and loosen the fasteners without the need for additional tools (Paragraphs 10-11)
Regarding claim 2, Gerther in view of Vines disclose the aerator accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein the handle is a plane body (best shown in Figure 6).
Regarding claim 4, Gerther in view of Vines disclose the aerator accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first fastening portion comprises six engaging teeth ringed around the opening end of the socket (best shown on Figures 7 on the left).
Regarding claim 5, Gerther in view of Vines disclose the aerator accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first fastening portion comprises eight engaging teeth ringed around the opening end (Figures 7 on the bottom).
Regarding claim 6, Gerther in view of Vines disclose the aerator accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein the third fastening portion comprises two tapered fastening grooves (Vines Item 16 is at least two tapered grooves best shown in Figure 5).
Regarding claim 7, Gerther in view of Vines disclose the aerator accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein the third fastening portion comprises a plurality of fastening grooves ringed around the inner peripheral wall (Vines Figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grether (US D542,105S) in view of Vines (US 2008/0066584) in view of Correa (US D575,122S).
Regarding claim 3, Gerther discloses the aerator accessory as claimed in claim 1. Gerther fails to explicitly disclose further comprising five connecting joints arranged radially around the handle.
Correa teaches a multitool with at least five connecting joints arranged radially around the handle (Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the number of connecting joints around the handle to include a fifth joint as taught by Correa. Such a modification would allow another size of socket to be incorporated to the faucet tool of Gerther, thus allowing the user the ability to have another tool on the multi tool for added convenience. This is beneficial since there are several different fitting sizes and styles and the combinations between the common fittings and styles is limitless.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723