DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement of 08/01/2023 has been received and reviewed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 16-17, 19-20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 1847564 to Hood.
Regarding claim 1, Hood discloses:
A device (fig 1) for opening of a door panel (2), the device comprising: a bracket (4) mounted to a door frame (1); a rail (22) slidably mounted to the bracket that slides along the bracket in a vertical direction (up/down direction); and a latch (36) mounted on the door panel, the latch biased towards the door frame (via spring seen in fig 7), wherein based on the door panel being in a closed position (fig 1), the latch engages and is held in place by a notch (corner notch 44) in the rail (via 17, see fig 4), wherein based on the rail being slidably moved in the vertical direction, an opening (29, opening where 36 exists 44) on the rail adjacent the notch aligns with and releases the latch, thereby causing the door panel to swing open toward an open position (fig 6).
Regarding claim 2, Hood discloses:
The device of claim 1 further comprising a release actuator (26) connected to the rail to slidably move the rail in the vertical direction.
Regarding claim 3, Hood discloses:
The device of claim 2, wherein the release actuator is one of a motion sensor or a push button (26 is a push button to be pushed via foot).
Regarding claim 5, Hood discloses:
The device of claim 2, wherein the release actuator includes a foot pedal (26) attached to the rail, wherein based on a user lifting up on the foot pedal (after pushing it down), the rail is slidably moved in the vertical direction (the rail slides up when 26 is lifted up).
Regarding claim 6, Hood discloses:
(Original) The device of claim 1, wherein the opening on the rail is below the notch (fig 7, 44 is above 29).
Regarding claim 8, Hood discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein the rail mounted to the bracket defines a vertical channel (25) between the rail and the bracket (fig 1).
Regarding claim 9, Hood discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein the door frame includes a pilaster (front face of 1 seen in fig 1 that has 2, 3, and 4 mounted on it) and the bracket is mounted to the pilaster of the door frame (fig 1).
Regarding claim 16, Hood discloses:
A kit for retro-fit installation (fig 1) for door opening (opening of 2) on a door panel (2), the kit comprising: a bracket (4) configured to be mounted to a door frame (1) adjacent a door panel (fig 1); a rail (22) configured to be slidably mounted to the bracket and configured to slide along the bracket in a vertical direction (up/down direction), the rail including a catch assembly (6) located within the rail (via 17), the catch assembly including a notch (corner notch 44) and an opening (opening 29 where 36 exits 44) aligned adjacent the notch on the rail (fig 4); a latch (36) configured to be mounted on the door panel, the latch including a bolt biased towards the notch (via spring seen in fig 7) and is configured to engage with and be held in place by the notch on the catch assembly based on the door panel being in a closed position (fig 7); and a release actuator (26) connected to the rail and configured to slidably move the rail in the vertical direction, wherein the release actuator includes a foot pedal (26) attached to a bottom portion (fig 1) of the rail and configured to slidably move the rail in the vertical direction based on a user lifting up (downwards in the y axis as seen in fig 1) on the foot pedal thereby causing the opening in the catch assembly to align with and release the bolt to allow the door panel to swing open and move toward an open position (fig 6).
Regarding claim 17, Hood discloses:
The kit of claim 16, wherein the opening on the rail is below the notch (fig 7, 44 is above 29).
Regarding claim 19, Hood discloses:
The kit of claim 16, wherein the rail is configured to define a vertical channel (channel of 25 that 22 enters) between the rail and the bracket based on the rail being mounted to the bracket (fig 1).
Regarding claim 20, Hood discloses:
The kit of claim 16, wherein the door frame includes a pilaster (front face of 1 seen in fig 1 that has 2, 3, and 4 mounted on it) and the bracket is configured to be mounted to the pilaster of the door frame (fig 1).
Regarding claim 22, Hood discloses:
The kit of claim 16, wherein the bolt is a spring-loaded bolt (see fig 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, 10-15, 18, 21, and 23-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Y.S./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675