DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-5 and 7-21 are pending and represent all claims currently under consideration.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Connick and Sieverding do not teach that the non-aqueous carrier and the active ingredient are bound together to form a plurality of particles, as required by the newly amended claim 1, because Connick teaches the bioactive materials are contained within the gel instead of bound together with the salt of the alginic acid, and further states that at the very most, Sieverding teaches that an active ingredient can be bound to a solid particulate matter, but not that the particulate matter is formed by a binding between the active ingredient and a non-aqueous carrier (Remarks, page 9-11). This argument is not persuasive, because Connick specifically teaches a reaction of the alginate/bioactive material (i.e., active ingredient as claimed)/water mixture with the gellant solution produces a distinct gel bead (i.e., particles as claimed; Connick, column 5, lines 25-27), suggesting the active ingredient is a part of the reaction (i.e., being bound together as claimed). Further, Sieverding teaches that it is possible to impregnate solid (i.e., non-aqueous) carriers with active ingredients (Sieverding, page 6, paragraph 0113), suggesting the non-aqueous carrier and active ingredient are bound together as claimed.
Applicant argues that Connick, Sieverding, and Tanaka do not teach that the ethylenediamine chelated copper and potassium polyacrylate are bound together to form a plurality of particles, as required by the newly amended claim 18 (Remarks, pages 12-13). This argument is not persuasive, because the references teach each component as described in the rejection of claim 18 below, and Connick teaches a reaction of the components to from a bead as stated above.
Applicant argues that potassium polyacrylate is not a reasonable alternative to ammonium polyacrylate, because copper is neither an alkali metal nor an alkaline-earth metal, and further that even if potassium polyacrylate were substituted for the ammonium polyacrylate taught by Tanaka, that the use of potassium polyacrylate in the product according to Connick, Sieverding, and Tanaka would be undesirable or disadvantageous. Applicant states that substituting the ammonium with a potassium salt will result in insolubility and gel formation (Remarks, pages 14-15 and 17-18). This argument is not persuasive, because copper was not stated to be an alkali metal or an alkaline-earth metal. As stated in the rejection of claim 18 below, Sieverding teaches the use of a surfactant such as ammonium polyacrylate (Sieverding, page 8, paragraph 0134), and Tanaka teaches a polymer which is an alkali metal or ammonium salt of polyacrylate (Tanaka, page 7, 4th paragraph). It would have been obvious to substitute an alkali metal salt such as potassium in place of the ammonium taught by Sieverding, because Tanaka teaches these compounds to be reasonable alternatives. It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06(I). Regarding the Applicant’s assertion that substituting the ammonium with a potassium salt will result in insolubility and gel formation, there is no evidence provided in support of this assertion. Arguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. See MPEP 716(c)(II).
Applicant argues that Connick does not teach copper as an active ingredient and teaches away from the use of ethylene diamine chelated copper because a copper alginate would break apart an ethylene diamine chelated copper (Remarks, pages 15-16). This argument is not persuasive, because as stated in the rejection of claim 18 below, Connick and Sieverding both teach an active ingredient which is a bactericide (Connick, column 4, line 14; Sieverding, claim 2), and Tanaka teaches a bactericidal ingredient which is a bisethylenediamine copper salt complex (i.e., an ethylenediamine chelated copper as claimed; Tanaka, page 7, 1st paragraph). Regarding the Applicant’s assertion that a copper alginate would break apart an ethylene diamine chelated copper, no evidence is provided in support of this assertion. Arguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. See MPEP 716(c)(II).
Applicant argues that Connick, Sieverding, and Tanaka do not teach that the endothall and potassium polyacrylate are bound together to form a plurality of particles, as required by the newly amended claim 20 (Remarks, pages 16-17). This argument is not persuasive, because the references teach each component as described in the rejection of claim 20 below, and Connick teaches a reaction of the components to from a bead as stated above.
Applicant argues that there would be no reason to modify Tanaka based on the teachings of Sieverding, because the tall oil of the claims is not an antifoaming agent, and further states that Connick and Sieverding do not teach that the non-aqueous carrier and the active ingredient are bound together to form a plurality of particles, as required by the newly amended claim 14 (Remarks, pages 18-19). This argument is not persuasive, because products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. See MPEP § 2112.01(II). Therefore, because tall oil is known in the art to be an antifoaming agent, it would be reasonable to use as the antifoaming agent of Sieverding as previously stated. Further, Connick teaches foam stabilizers can be added in the alginate/bioactive material/water mixture (Connick, column 5, lines 45-49), which as discussed above is reacted to form beads (i.e., particles as claimed).
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. PRO 63/394,353, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Regarding claim 9, there is no support for water being present in approximately 45.2%.
Regarding claim 17, there is no support for polydimethylsiloxane.
Regarding claim 21, there is no support for polydimethylsiloxane.
Claims 9, 17, and 21 are considered to have an effective filing date of 07/19/2023.
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-16, and 18-20 are considered to have an effective filing date of 08/02/2022.
New Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 1, “active ingredient; and” should read “active ingredient;”. Further, an article such as “a” or “an” should precede each individually listed ingredient (i.e., “synthetic polymer” should read “a synthetic polymer”).
Modified/Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connick (US 4401456 A), further in view of Sieverding (US 20070213226 A1). The references were cited previously by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 1, Connick teaches alginate beads for the controlled release of bioactive materials (i.e., active ingredients; Connick, abstract), which can be pesticides in the form of liquids (Connick, column 4, lines 12-19). Connick teaches the controlled release material can act as a carrier (Connick, column 6, line 29), and teaches the bead containing the bioactive material (i.e., the non-aqueous carrier and active ingredient together) has a bead (i.e., particle) size of 0.1-6 mm (i.e., 100-6000 micrometers; Connick, column 3, lines 35-37), which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I). Connick teaches the beads are made to sink and provide a controlled release of the bioactive material in aqueous environments (Connick, abstract), in order to kill submerged aquatic weeds (Connick, column 6, lines 33-35) suggesting the formulation is for use in a body of water and that the active ingredient would sink in the body of water when applied to the body of water as claimed.
Connick does not specifically teach a non-aqueous carrier from the claimed list, but teaches it may be desirable to add additives to the beads such as surfactants to alter the rate of release of the bioactive material (Connick, columns 5-6), and further teaches the additives are added in a alginate/bioactive material/water mixture (Connick, columns 5-6). Connick teaches a reaction of the alginate/bioactive material/water mixture with the gellant solution produces a distinct gel bead (Connick, column 5, lines 25-27), suggesting the active ingredient is a part of a bead-forming reaction (i.e., being bound together as claimed).
Sieverding teaches agrochemical compositions comprising one or more active ingredients and polysiloxanes (Sieverding, abstract), which can be formulated as a liquid pesticide (Sieverding, page 8, paragraph 0136), and teaches the active ingredient can be mixed with inorganic solid carriers (i.e., a non-aqueous carrier; Sieverding, page 6, paragraph 0112). Sieverding teaches its common practice to use surfactants in pesticide formulations (Sieverding, page 5, paragraph 0104), and teaches surfactants to include alkyl glucosides (i.e., glycerol-modified hydrocarbons which are suitable hydrocarbon non-aqueous carriers as defined by the instant claim 7; Sieverding, claim 6).
Connick does not specify the beads are suspended in an aqueous solution, but does teach the beads are added to water (i.e., an aqueous solution; Connick, column 9, lines 11-12). Sieverding teaches a formulation which is a water-dispersible granule (i.e., the granule can be suspended in water; Sieverding, page 6, paragraph 0110) and teaches granules are admixtures of the active ingredients and solid carrier particles (i.e., the active ingredients and the plurality of particles of the non-aqueous carrier are suspended in water; Sieverding, page 7, paragraph 0115).
Connick and Sieverding are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because Connick, Sieverding, and the instant invention are in the same field of pesticide formulations. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Connick to include the specific surfactant of Sieverding in the carrier, because Connick teaches it may be desirable to add additives to the beads such as surfactants to alter the rate of release of the bioactive material (Connick, columns 5-6), while Sieverding teaches its common practice to use surfactants in pesticide formulations (Sieverding, page 5, paragraph 0104) and teaches a hydrocarbon as claimed to be a known surfactant used in the field. Further, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Connick to be a water-dispersible granule taught by Sieverding, because Connick teaches a granular formulation as a controlled release formulation (Connick, column 6, lines 7-21), and Sieverding teaches water-dispersible granules to be a known formulation used for pesticides (Sieverding, page 6, paragraph 0110).
Regarding claim 2, Connick and Sieverding together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Sieverding further teaches the formulation can be a wettable powder wherein the carrier can be suspended in a liquid (Sieverding, page 7, paragraph 0114), and further teaches solid carriers can include siloxanes (i.e., a polymer; Sieverding, page 6, paragraph 0113). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Connick to include a polymer as taught by Sieverding, because Connick teaches it may be desirable to add additives to the beads such as surfactants to alter the rate of release of the bioactive material (Connick, columns 5-6), while Sieverding teaches its common practice to use surfactants in pesticide formulations (Sieverding, page 5, paragraph 0104) and teaches polysiloxanes as known surfactants (Sieverding, page 6, paragraph 0105).
Regarding claim 3, Connick and Sieverding together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. As above, Connick teaches the bioactive material can be pesticides (Connick, column 4, lines 12-13). Sieverding further teaches the active ingredient can be a pesticide (Sieverding, page 4, paragraph 0082).
Regarding claim 4, Connick teaches all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Connick teaches the bioactive material can be algicides (Connick, column 4, lines 12-14). Sieverding further teaches the active ingredient can be a pesticide which is an algicide (Sieverding, page 4, paragraph 0082).
Regarding claim 5, Connick and Sieverding together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Connick teaches the bioactive material can be endothall (Connick, column 4, line 45). Sieverding further teaches the active ingredient can be endothall (Sieverding, page 4, paragraph 0084).
Regarding claim 7, Connick and Sieverding together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 6. As above, Connick does not specifically teach a non-aqueous carrier from the claimed list, but teaches it may be desirable to add additives to the beads such as surfactants to alter the rate of release of the bioactive material (Connick, columns 5-6). Sieverding teaches surfactants to include alkyl glucosides (i.e., glycerol-modified hydrocarbons; Sieverding, claim 6). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Connick to include the specific surfactant of Sieverding in the carrier, because Connick teaches it may be desirable to add additives to the beads such as surfactants to alter the rate of release of the bioactive material (Connick, columns 5-6), while Sieverding teaches its common practice to use surfactants in pesticide formulations (Sieverding, page 5, paragraph 0104) and teaches a hydrocarbon derivative as claimed to be a known surfactant used.
Regarding claim 8, Connick and Sieverding together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Connick does not specify the beads are suspended in water, but does teach the beads are added to water (Connick, column 9, lines 11-12). Sieverding teaches a formulation which is a water-dispersible granule (i.e., the granule can be suspended in water; Sieverding, page 6, paragraph 0110) and teaches granules are admixtures of the active ingredients and solid carrier particles (i.e., the active ingredients and the plurality of particles of the non-aqueous carrier are suspended in water; Sieverding, page 7, paragraph 0115). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Connick to be a water-dispersible granule taught by Sieverding, because Connick teaches a granular formulation as a controlled release formulation (Connick, column 6, lines 7-21), and Sieverding teaches water-dispersible granules to be a known formulation used for pesticides (Sieverding, page 6, paragraph 0110).
Regarding claim 10, Connick and Sieverding together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Connick teaches the beads are made to sink and provide a controlled release of the bioactive material in aqueous environments (Connick, abstract), in order to kill submerged aquatic weeds (Connick, column 6, lines 33-35) suggesting the active ingredient would accumulate in a bottom of water as claimed.
Regarding claim 13, Connick and Sieverding together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Connick teaches controlled release as the dispensing of active ingredients into the environment over a period of time (Connick, column 6, lines 7-9), but does not specify the purpose as claimed. Sieverding teaches formulations for controlled release (Sieverding, page 7, paragraph 0117) and teaches the use of drift control agents as common practice in the art (Sieverding, page 5, paragraph 0104). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to formulate the composition such that the controlled release formulation reduces off-site drift. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the formulation of Connick as taught by Sieverding, because both are formulated for a similar purpose.
Claims 9, 11-12, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connick (US 4401456 A) and Sieverding (US 20070213226 A1) as applied to claims 1-5, 7-8 10, and 13, further in view of Tanaka (JP 2019099569 A). The references were cited previously by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 9, Connick and Sieverding together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Sieverding does not specify a carrier which is tall oil, but does teach an active ingredient which can be fluridone (Sieverding, page 4, paragraph 0084), additives which include calcium carbonate (Sieverding, page 8, paragraph 0130, and the use of additional antifoams (Sieverding, page 5, paragraph 0104). Sieverding further teaches a typical formulation can comprise 1-50% by weight of the active ingredient (Sieverding, page 7, paragraph 0116), which includes the claimed weight of an active ingredient; and teaches additives and carriers in amounts of from 0.5-99.5% (Sieverding, page 6, paragraph 0111), which includes the claimed amounts of each additional component. Sieverding teaches typical formulations within these ranges to be used for biological testing which serves to guide the formulator in preparing the most effective formulations (Sieverding, page 6, paragraph 0111), suggesting routine experimentation is necessary. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP § (II)(A).
Tanaka teaches an agrochemical composition comprising an active ingredient which can be fluridone (Tanaka, page 5, 5th paragraph), an antifoaming agent which can be tall oil (Tanaka, page 10, 5th paragraph), a polymer which can be xanthan gum (Tanaka, page 9, 10th paragraph), and 1-90% of calcium carbonate (Tanaka, claim 6), which includes the claimed amount.
Connick, Sieverding, and Tanaka are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because Connick, Sieverding, Tanaka, and the instant invention are in the same field of pesticide formulations. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Connick and Sieverding to utilize the antifoam agent of Tanaka, because Sieverding teaches the use of an antifoam which would be known to one in the art to help reduce foam (Sieverding, page 5, paragraph 0104), and Tanaka teaches tall oil as a specific antifoaming agent (Tanaka, page 10, 5th paragraph).
Regarding claim 11, Connick and Sieverding together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Connick and Sieverding do not specify an active ingredient which is ethylenediamine chelated copper or a carrier which is potassium polyacrylate, but Connick teaches a bactericide (Connick, column 4, line 14) and the addition of surfactants (Connick, column 5, line 48), and Sieverding teaches an active ingredient which is a bactericide (Sieverding, claim 2) and the use of a surfactant such as ammonium polyacrylate (Sieverding, page 8, paragraph 0134). Tanaka teaches a bactericidal ingredient which is a bisethylenediamine copper salt complex (i.e., ethylenediamine chelated copper; Tanaka, page 7, 1st paragraph) and teaches a polymer which is an alkali metal or ammonium salt of polyacrylate (Tanaka, page 7, 4th paragraph). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Connick and Sieverding to include the copper complex as a bactericide, because Sieverding does not specify a bactericide, while Tanaka teaches the claimed compound to be a preferable bactericidal agent (Tanaka, page 7, 1st paragraph). It would have been obvious to substitute an alkali metal salt such as potassium in place of the ammonium salt taught by Sieverding, because Tanaka teaches these compounds to be reasonable alternatives.
Regarding claim 12, Connick, Sieverding, and Tanaka together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 11. Connick teaches foam stabilizers can be added in the alginate/bioactive material/water mixture (Connick, column 5, lines 45-49), and Sieverding teaches it is common practice to add antifoams (i.e., antifoaming agents) to the pesticide formulation (Sieverding, page 5, paragraph 0104).
Regarding claim 14, Connick and Sieverding together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Sieverding does not specify a carrier which is tall oil, but does teach an active ingredient which can be fluridone (Sieverding, page 4, paragraph 0084), and the use of additional antifoams (Sieverding, page 5, paragraph 0104). Tanaka teaches an agrochemical composition comprising an active ingredient which can be fluridone (Tanaka, page 5, 5th paragraph), an antifoaming agent which can be tall oil (Tanaka, page 10, 5th paragraph), and calcium carbonate (Tanaka, claim 6). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Connick and Sieverding to utilize the antifoam agent of Tanaka, because Sieverding teaches the use of an antifoam which would be known to one in the art to help reduce foam (Sieverding, page 5, paragraph 0104), and Tanaka teaches tall oil as a specific antifoaming agent (Tanaka, page 10, 5th paragraph).
Regarding claim 15, Connick, Sieverding, and Tanaka together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 14. As above, Sieverding teaches the addition of antifoams (Sieverding, page 5, paragraph 0104).
Regarding claim 16, Connick and Sieverding together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Sieverding does not specify a carrier which is potassium polyacrylate, but does teach an active ingredient which is endothall (Sieverding, page 4, paragraph 0084) and the use of a surfactant such as ammonium polyacrylate (Sieverding, page 8, paragraph 0134). Tanaka teaches a polymer which is an alkali metal or ammonium salt of polyacrylate (Tanaka, page 7, 4th paragraph). It would have been obvious to substitute an alkali metal salt such as potassium in place of the ammonium salt taught by Sieverding, because Tanaka teaches these compounds to be reasonable alternatives.
Regarding claim 17, Connick, Sieverding, and Tanaka together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 16. Sieverding teaches a formulation comprising xanthan gum (Sieverding, page 8, paragraph 0128).
Regarding claim 18, Connick teaches alginate beads for the controlled release of bioactive materials (i.e., active ingredients; Connick, abstract), which can be pesticides in the form of liquids (Connick, column 4, lines 12-19). Connick teaches the controlled release material can act as a carrier (Connick, column 6, line 29), and teaches the bead containing the bioactive material (i.e., the non-aqueous carrier and active ingredient together) has a bead (i.e., particle) size of 0.1-6 mm (i.e., 100-6000 micrometers; Connick, column 3, lines 35-37), which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I). Connick teaches the beads are made to sink and provide a controlled release of the bioactive material in aqueous environments (Connick, abstract), in order to kill submerged aquatic weeds (i.e., aquatic macrophytes; Connick, column 6, lines 33-35) suggesting the formulation is for use in a body of water and should sink and accumulate at the sediment-water interface as claimed.
Sieverding teaches agrochemical compositions comprising one or more active ingredients (Sieverding, abstract). Sieverding further teaches the composition can be formulated as a liquid pesticide (Sieverding, page 8, paragraph 0136), and teaches the active ingredient can be mixed with inorganic solid carriers (i.e., a non-aqueous carrier) with an average particle size of less than 45 micrometers (Sieverding, page 6, paragraph 0112), which overlaps the claimed size range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I). Sieverding teaches the formulation can be in granules (i.e., pellets; Sieverding, page 7, paragraph 0115) and that the solid composition can be used in a spray tank mix (i.e., the mix is sprayable; Sieverding, page 8, paragraph 0136).
Connick and Sieverding do not specify an active ingredient which is ethylenediamine chelated copper or a carrier which is potassium polyacrylate, but do teach an active ingredient which is a bactericide (Connick, column 4, line 14; Sieverding, claim 2) and Sieverding further teaches the use of a surfactant such as ammonium polyacrylate (Sieverding, page 8, paragraph 0134). Connick further teaches additives are added in a alginate/bioactive material/water mixture (Connick, columns 5-6), and teaches a reaction of the alginate/bioactive material/water mixture with the gellant solution produces a distinct gel bead (Connick, column 5, lines 25-27), suggesting the active ingredient and additives are a part of a bead-forming reaction (i.e., being bound together as claimed).
Tanaka teaches a bactericidal ingredient which is a bisethylenediamine copper salt complex (i.e., ethylenediamine chelated copper; Tanaka, page 7, 1st paragraph) and teaches a polymer which is an alkali metal or ammonium salt of polyacrylate (Tanaka, page 7, 4th paragraph). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Connick and Sieverding to include the copper complex as a bactericide, because Connick and Sieverding do not specify a bactericide, while Tanaka teaches the claimed compound to be a preferable bactericidal agent (Tanaka, page 7, 1st paragraph). It would have been obvious to substitute an alkali metal salt such as potassium in place of the ammonium salt taught by Sieverding, because Tanaka teaches these compounds to be reasonable alternatives.
Regarding claim 19, Connick, Sieverding, and Tanaka together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 18. Sieverding teaches a formulation comprising water in 1-90% by weight (Sieverding, page 9, paragraph 0140), which encompasses the claimed range. Sieverding teaches the use of additional antifoams (Sieverding, page 5, paragraph 0104). Sieverding further teaches a typical formulation can comprise 1-50% by weight of the active ingredient (Sieverding, page 7, paragraph 0116), which includes the claimed weight of an active ingredient; and teaches additives and carriers in amounts of from 0.5-99.5% (Sieverding, page 6, paragraph 0111), which includes the claimed amounts of each additional component. Sieverding teaches typical formulations within these ranges to be used for biological testing with serves to guide the formulator in preparing the most effective formulations (Sieverding, page 6, paragraph 0111), suggesting routine experimentation is necessary. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP § (II)(A).
As above, Sieverding does not teach ethylenediamine chelated copper or potassium polyacrylate, but Sieverding but does teach an active ingredient which is a bactericide (Sieverding, claim 2) and the use of a surfactant such as ammonium polyacrylate (Sieverding, page 8, paragraph 0134). Tanaka teaches a bactericidal ingredient which is a bisethylenediamine copper salt complex (i.e., ethylenediamine chelated copper; Tanaka, page 7, 1st paragraph) and teaches a polymer which is an alkali metal or ammonium salt of polyacrylate (Tanaka, page 7, 4th paragraph). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Connick and Sieverding to include the copper complex as a bactericide, because Connick and Sieverding do not specify a bactericide, while Tanaka teaches the claimed compound to be a preferable bactericidal agent (Tanaka, page 7, 1st paragraph). It would have been obvious to substitute an alkali metal salt such as potassium in place of the ammonium salt taught by Sieverding, because Tanaka teaches these compounds to be reasonable alternatives.
Regarding claim 20, Connick teaches alginate beads for the controlled release of bioactive materials (i.e., active ingredients; Connick, abstract), which can be pesticides in the form of liquids (Connick, column 4, lines 12-19). Connick teaches the controlled release material can act as a carrier (Connick, column 6, line 29), and teaches the bead containing the bioactive material (i.e., the non-aqueous carrier and active ingredient together) has a bead (i.e., particle) size of 0.1-6 mm (i.e., 100-6000 micrometers; Connick, column 3, lines 35-37), which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I). Connick teaches the bioactive material can be endothall (Connick, column 4, line 45). Connick teaches the beads are made to sink and provide a controlled release of the bioactive material in aqueous environments (Connick, abstract), in order to kill submerged aquatic weeds (i.e., aquatic macrophytes; Connick, column 6, lines 33-35) suggesting the formulation is for use in a body of water and should sink and accumulate at the sediment-water interface as claimed.
Sieverding teaches agrochemical compositions comprising one or more active ingredients (Sieverding, abstract). Sieverding further teaches the composition can be formulated as a liquid pesticide (Sieverding, page 8, paragraph 0136), and teaches the active ingredient can be mixed with inorganic solid carriers (i.e., a non-aqueous carrier) with an average particle size of less than 45 micrometers (Sieverding, page 6, paragraph 0112), which overlaps the claimed size range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I). Sieverding teaches the active ingredient can be endothall (Sieverding, page 4, paragraph 0084).
Connick and Sieverding do not specify a carrier which is potassium polyacrylate, but Sieverding does teach the use of a surfactant such as ammonium polyacrylate (Sieverding, page 8, paragraph 0134). Tanaka teaches a polymer which is an alkali metal or ammonium salt of polyacrylate (Tanaka, page 7, 4th paragraph). Connick further teaches additives are added in a alginate/bioactive material/water mixture (Connick, columns 5-6), and teaches a reaction of the alginate/bioactive material/water mixture with the gellant solution produces a distinct gel bead (Connick, column 5, lines 25-27), suggesting the active ingredient and additives are a part of a bead-forming reaction (i.e., being bound together as claimed). It would have been obvious to substitute an alkali metal salt such as potassium in place of the ammonium salt taught by Sieverding, because Tanaka teaches these compounds to be reasonable alternatives.
Regarding claim 21, Connick, Sieverding, and Tanaka together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 20. Connick exemplifies a formulation comprising 40.3% endothall dipotassium salt (i.e., an endothall; Connick, column 9, example 12) and teaches the bioactive material by weight % (Connick, column 4, lines 58-60). Connick teaches the addition of gums, such as xanthan gum, to an alginate/bioactive material/water mixture (Connick, column 5, lines 45-50), suggesting both water and xanthan gum as ingredients in the formulation.
Conclusion
/C.P.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613